H10 Estepona Palace

Avda del Carmen 99 Playa del Guadalobon, 29680, Estepona Spain
4 star hotel

Reviews summary

4
Good
( 1696 reviews)
Brilliant
606
Good
613
Average
298
Poor
113
Awful
66
  • 2 room
  • 5 pool
  • 2 beach
  • 1 service
  • 3 value
  • 4 food
  • 5 cleanliness
  • 3 location
 

17 Traveller reviews from Holiday Watchdog

shame it rained all week and the spa was closed down

3
Average
by
Reviewed Fri 26th of October 2012

"arrived on the sunday at 2.30pm and went and sat on a lounger had a lovely sunny three hours and then it went down hill from then on.

dinner is a buffet style affair great fro oldies but we found it very disruptive having to keep getting up for each item, rather had waitress service in a four star hotel.

next day it started raining and it hasnt stopped yet, we thought as we copuldnt go outside we would us the Wellness spa, but the hotel has decided to close it for the winter, no gym, no sauna, no steam room, or no jacuzi , only items that you need to pay for like treatments, or even if you fancy a game of scrabble to keep you occupied it will cost you 24euros and a 10 euro deposit, this hotel is costly for deposits, they like to charge deposits for everything and you need to keep tabs on all the reciepts as you will need them on departing to claim back your deposits, staff are okay, Gloria on reception is helpful, she ordered our taxis as the hotel has nothing to offer if it is raining .

we stayed in room 573 and we had a lovely view of the large building site next door which starts up at around 7.30am or maybe you could make friends with the dog that continually barks in the derelict rubbish tip to the side of the hotel.

All in all we needed a break as we work long hours ourselves but we would not recommend H10 estapona for a holiday it is more for corporate business men not English tourists wanting a nice beach holiday or use of the advertised fascilities in your holiday brochure, beware the hotel may have decidied to close them down for a hoiliday. Our recomendation is eat out of the hotel, the port has a couple of nice bars etc, breakfast is okay at the hotel , but everything else is awful"

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Wed 18th of October 2006

Comedy Breakfast!

4
Good
by
Reviewed Tue 23rd of October 2012

"My boyfriend and I stayed at the Estepona Palace for a week in September. The hotel is really nice, and rooms have a great sea view, and are very spacious and always kept clean. The pool area was never busy, and finding a sunbed never proved to be a problem, though the temperature of the pool was ice cold!
We stayed on a half board basis, and breakfast was a comedy of errors. Whilst there was great choice of food, the service was horrendous! Very rarely did we find a table that was set and ready for us to sit down at. More often than not we had to clear up from the previous guests! There was one poor woman behind the counter serving the hot breakfasts, and she was trying but failing to serve a long line of people with eggs, bacon etc. By the time you'd got these, the rest of your breakfast was cold! Dinner wasn't quite so bad, as it was less busy, and food was of a decent quality with lots of variety.
Beware of drinks prices in the hotel. They are very expensive, and as the hotel is not central, they seem to have a license to charge whatever they want. If Gin is your tipple, opt for Larios as opposed to Gordons or Bombay Sapphire, as they are about 3 euros more than Larios!
I would recommend that you get a taxi into Estepona on an evening. This only costs 5 euros each way, and drinks are much cheaper.
We both decided to have a massage in the Wellness centre in the hotel. Whilst my boyfriend loved his Sports massage, I am still recovering from my Slimming massage, which was excrutiatingly painful and left my legs black and blue, which is never a good look when you're wearing a bikini most of the time!
Needless to say, we had a great relaxing time."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Tue 26th of September 2006

Shame about the service

4
Good
by
Reviewed Thu 25th of October 2012

"Everthing was great about this hotel...the pool, the food, the location, the rooms plus more. However the big big negative was the quality of service. In fact it was terrible. For example, there was never anyone at the information desk, and when asked of the staffs whereabouts we were told she was on a three hour lunch break. I know this is Spain but that is unacceptable. The hotel bar actually ran out of beer one night, and often there wasnt anyone there to serve in the first place. The mini bar was empty on arrival, and when a request was put forward to get it filled, it simply never took place. Another complaint was one of the cleaners threw away some important medication while cleaning my room. All rather bizarre and unacceptable. Shame because I dont expect royaly treatment, the basics would have been just fine."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Mon 11th of September 2006

A Mixed Bag

3
Average
by
Reviewed Tue 4th of December 2012

"We lucked out in that I notice reviewers complaining about having to walk to the Puerto or downtown, but our travel agent booked us a rental car so we were able to drive. The guidebooks generally list Estepona as the best (or least objectionable) of the coastal towns.
The downtown is not fascinating but it is authentic.

I agree with the reviewer who said avoid rooms that end in '79. We had such a room which had a skimpy view of the sea but lengthy shuttered windows which blocked a huge hillside under construction
across the street. The hotel and rooms were very clean.

The food from room service was very bad. The staff seemed to have trouble understanding that I wanted a bucket of ice on a number of occasions and once refused me because it was past 2200 hours.
They suggested I go to the piano bar who considerately filled two paper cups with ice for me.

The desk staff is officious but friendly but overwhelmed. There were no beach towels one day ($15 deposit per towel) because it was too late. The next day they weren't back from the cleaners.
There is a mountain of deposits and receipts to keep track of.
The towels, deposit and receipt for the key to the room safe, parking permit, hotel "passport" to allow you to charge things.
The most fun was going to the pool and there is a public beach right below where the Mediterranean was just great.
Overall, they seemed to have trouble running a hotel that size.
It reminded me of the Fontainebleau Hotel in Miami Beach except at the Fontainebleau everyone speaks Spanish and at the Estepona they speak English!"

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Thu 24th of August 2006

Excellent all round

5
Brilliant
by
Reviewed Fri 26th of October 2012

"We have just returned from a wonderful fortnight at the H10 Estepona Palace. From as you walk in to the beautiful reception area, to the minute you leave, you are served by friendly, efficient staff; in fact, they are easily the best staff we have ever encountered at a hotel. We stayed half board, and the food was just first class: breakfasts comprised plenty of fresh fruit, full cooked, cereals, toast, salads, yoghurts... you name it. Dinner again offered a fantastic choice, easily the best we've seen. There must have been a choice of ten main courses, plus delicious vegetables, salads and desserts. Included in the main courses, every day, there were at least two fish options (eg sole, hake, salmon, trout, tuna, swordfish). We had a magnificent room, overlooking the Med, with balcony, and went to bed every night with the sound of the waves breaking on the beach. The rooms are spacious, clean and tastefully furnished in modern Spanish style (lots of light-coloured marble). The location of the hotel is right on the beach, and is about 20 minutes' (fast) walk from Estepona town centre. If you need things like drinking water or snacks, there is a garage about 100 metres if you turn left outside the hotel. If you turn right and walk fairly fast for 15 minutes along the same road that the hotel is in, towards the port, you will find an OpenCor supermarket, open seven days a week till about 2am. For a better supermarket, at the same location as the OpenCor, look up over the top of the roundabout, and up an embankment, partially hidden, is a superSol. This is open six days a week, 9/9, and closed Sundays. Lastly, if you have any problems at all, the hotel has an excellent PR lady called Anna, who will sort out anything and everything for you."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Sun 21st of May 2006

very bad service

2
Poor
by
Reviewed Wed 28th of November 2012

"The service in this hotel is the worst we have ever experienced. We stayed there for 5 nights. When we checked in, we were shown to our room which was bright, modern and clean with a good view. The adjoining door to the next room was open on both sides, there were people arriving in that room also! We had to wait for 20 mins for them to send up someone to close it. The mini bar was completely empty (we only wanted some cold water) and we had to ask 4 times over 2 days for it to be filled. Eventually it was filled and we discovered that the fridge was broken and everything was warm. When it was filled the manager left a note in the room to say he was sorry for the delay and to attend the PR desk if we had any other problems.
Friends of ours were staying in the hotel on their honeymoon at the same time and we wanted to send them a bottle of cava to their room. We went straight to the PR desk to order it in the hope that the service would be better. We asked that it would be in their room at 1pm when they were due to arrive. It of course was not there when they arrived so we asked again and they said it would be there at 3pm, it did not appear and then they said it would be sent up at 7pm. Eventually, it was delivered to an empty room as our friends went out for dinner at 8pm and they returned to warm cava and melted ice! Incidentally, when we checked out 3 days later, they tried to charge us for 2 bottles of cava!
Breakfast is served until 10.30am. Each morning we would go down at 10am or slightly before and there was NEVER a clean, set table ready. The dining room would be less than half full with the remaining tables dirty or without any table settings. The dining room manager did not seem to care! At night time when we went into the bar for a drink, the service was extremely slow (due to understaffing) and you could be waiting 20 mins for a drink each time you ordered one.
It is such a pity that this modern, clean hotel is so poorly staffed and managed."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Sun 30th of April 2006

Great Hotel - Just sort out Credit Card bills in non Euros!

3
Average
by
Reviewed Mon 26th of November 2012

"I have stayed several times at the H10 in Estepona. It’s is a modern hotel with wonderful views, good quality rooms, service, food and pleasingly representative on the quality offered by all H10 hotels. The only downside is Mini-bar prices & the location on the western extremes of Estepona -a good 20 - 30 minutes walk from the edge of the town.

Apart from location the only word of warning I would offer is if you attempt to pay your bill with a non-euro credit card (billed in Sterling, Dollars, etc.);

In common with many retailers in southern Spain when you present you’re non-Euro credit card you will be offered to sign-off the amount in either Euro’s or converted into your normal home currency - the default will be your home currency. The catch is if you choose your home currency you will be billed with allegedly 0% commission. BUT with a mark-up of anything between 2% & 4%. OUCH! Irrespective, if you choose the Euro option the currency conversion will be applied by your home credit card issuer and you can avail yourself of much better deals on the conversion. The problem with the H10 Estepona Place is when asked they don’t seem to know how to alter the credit card transaction to your home currency - despite the fact the credit card receipt asks you to sign and confirm you have been offered a choice of currencies. When this initially happened with my Sterling based credit card, I asked that the matter be sorted out for my next visit. On my next visit the problem remained and there appears to be little interest in addressing the issue.

This is otherwise is ruining the reputation of a good chain and hotel."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Wed 19th of October 2005

Very Good

4
Good
by
Reviewed Tue 4th of December 2012

"I stayed here in Oct 04 and was very impressed for the money we paid approx 90 euros per night, very cheap.
The hotel has lots of huge lounges with very modern art, lots of space.
The breafast was excellent lots of choice.
I didnt eat dinner so cannot comment.
The bedrooms were of a good size with a very good size balcony.
Not top end in terms of finish but very clean, bit like ikea furniture, toilettes ample and average.
The swimming pool is nice but as were slightly out of season the pool bar was very poor.
Ate lunch at the hotel and that was very good.
Bar area very nice.
I found the staff to be fine, the hotel was quiet
for this time of year.
In summary a well priced hotel for southern spain, deserves 3.5/4 stars all though rooms could do with a bit more luxury."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Sat 15th of October 2005

Very regal!

5
Brilliant
by
Reviewed Wed 28th of November 2012

"This hotel was superb in every way. The rooms - the pool - the people. I am not sure if it is for families with small children and the 23+ but the older couple and by that I mean 40+ who enjoy a bit of luxury.
The rooms were in a contempory style and very spacious. Our room overlooked the sea - although this was not a special request.

The pool area is worth seeing with its waterfalls and sea views. The hotel is right on the beach with lovely views along the coast.

The breakfast was fab and worth the cost.

We would stay there again in a heart beat!"

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Wed 5th of October 2005

Not Impressed

2
Poor
by
Reviewed Mon 26th of November 2012

"We have travelled quite a bit mainly in 5 or 4 star hotels and this one, unfortunately, did not come up to standard.

We have stayed in Estepona before (at the Andalucia Princess) so we knew how far this hotel was from the centre of Estepona and that it was in a residential location. We like a good hotel, with good facilities, don't mind a bit of a stroll to bars etc, we like a bit of entertainment but nothing too hectic, so this hotel looked ideal. However the blurb in the brochures and on the Internet about the hotel facilities was a little creative to say the least!

The hotel is quite new, and the main areas were attractive and clean. However when we arrived we were allocated the most appalling room on the side of the hotel, which had shuttered windows around 2 sides of the room. The shutters were there so you couldn't see the road outside, but you could certainly hear it! When I looked at the windows they were not sealed properly at the top and daylight was coming through big gaps at the top. When we went back to reception and politely explained that we were not happy with the room, and could we possibly have one away from the road, the reception staff were surly and hostile. We did get moved, but with a very bad grace, and I did struggle to maintain my politeness. If you get allocated a room with '79' on the end, be warned.

The rooms are quite spacious and clean, with plenty of storage space. The english speaking TV channels were limited to Disney and SKY News. The mini bar prices are extortionate.

The food in the restaurant was quite good but repetitive. The chef will cook meat or fish to order in front of you, but this means a bit of a wait at times.
While we were there, there was quite a large business group there, and they were also eating in the main restaurant, so it got quite busy and sometimes it was hard to find a table because there were not enough staff to cope with the numbers in the restaurant.

There is also supposed to be an a la carte restaurant, but this only opens at lunchtimes, not in the evening. There is also a terrace bar above this which was not open at all while we stayed, which was a disappointing waste as it had the most fantastic views. There was nowhere to get a snack or a drink for most of the day - the kiosk by the pool was only open for an hour in the morning and afternoon and stocked a limited selection of ice creams and drinks. The a la carte restaurant opened for snacks late in the afternoon, which was a bit too late for anyone not wanting a full a la carte lunch. Most people walked 2 minutes up the road to the garage shop, which has pretty much everything you need, including a good selection of snacks, beer and wine, and even bags of ice.

If you like a pre-dinner drink, then you won't get one here because the main bar doesn't open until 9 p.m. The drinks are not cheap, but you do get plenty. The Bar service was appalling because there were not enough staff, it took at least 5 or 10 minutes to get served each time we wanted a drink, and that was when we went and stood at the bar, if you waited at your table it was painfully slow.

The blurb also states that the hotel provides nightly entertainment, which is unintentionally hilarious. This 'entertainment' consists of one bloke playing the piano, and occasionally a female singer murdering 'show tunes'. We ended up making our own entertainment by having a 'guess that tune' competition and taking bets on how long their next break would be from the exhausting task of 'entertaining' us. There was no other entertainment at all.

The hotel also claims to have a daily activities programme, but we only saw the entertainment team twice. Once they came out and sat by the pool for 10 minutes and then disappeared again, and another morning they organised 2 activities when it was a bit cloudy and then disappeared when the sun came out again.

The pool area is nice, the pool itself is freezing but that was a nice cool off after sitting in the sun. There is also a small childrens pool. I think that the pool area was quite small for the hotel, and a few people were taking loungers or towels down to the beach area because there was no space around the pool. The beach is not fantastic, but there is a better one about 10 minutes walk up the coast towards Estepona.

The walk to Estepona marina takes about 20- 25 minutes if you keep up a reasonable pace, not to be done in heels! Lovely marina with lots of bars and restaurants, and a big supermarket too. Its a nice place for a drink, and the prices are much more reasonable than in the hotel.

We were also leaving on a very early morning flight, and our holiday rep recommeded that we request a packed breakfast from reception. When we asked the reception staff they told us that this was not possible and that coffee and cakes would be provided before we left. When we checked out, lots of people had picked up packed breakfasts, and unsurprsingly there was no coffee etc provided either. The staff just couldn't be bothered to sort this out for us when we asked, and unfortunately this is the level of 'service' we came to expect.
Be warned that there is building work going on alongside the hotel, and across the road. Also, I believe that there is more construction going on in the hotel soon.

The Spa was closed while we were there, and there were some worrying rumours about why. We were not told why the Spa was closed, or when it was due to re-open.

Overall, we were not really happy with this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. The impression we came away with was that the H10 Estepona Palace was not interested in providing good holiday facilities or customer service for its foreign visitors."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Fri 16th of September 2005

Disappointed

3
Average
by
Reviewed Thu 26th of May 2016

"The hotel is amazing, food is really good. It's clean and could potentially be a 5 star. But such a shame about the staff. The managers are rude, bar staff are moody. Only interested if your paying for your meals so they can get their tips. So if your all inclusive, no chance of a good service and not to mention 'privilege', doesn't mean anything, you might as well have a standard room. We went privilege on the 6th floor. The room was tiny and didn't have much of a balcony. We complained but they wouldn't move us. "

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Thu 26th of May 2016

Rating breakdown

  • 3 Location
  • 2 Beach
  • 2 Room
  • 5 Pool
  • 1 Service
  • 3 Value
  • 4 Food
  • 5 Cleanliness

First impressions, huge reception area,...

3
Average
by
Reviewed Sat 14th of June 2008

"First impressions, huge reception area, very spacious and clean. Offered a glass of Cava on arrival which was welcome as the journey from the airport takes over 1and a half hrs by private taxi! Imagine what it would take by coach transfer. The room was also huge, but very dark. Sea view, but no sun at all on the balcony. Bed was hard but all very clean. Went for a walk on the 'beach' that was our first disaapointment. The beach is grit, very dirty and large stones, there is nothing either side of the hotel to walk to, on the beach. By road, the marina is a good half hour walk away, and the town another half hour. The buses are cheap but do get a timetable as they vary each day. Taxi is the best option. There are no 'shops' in or near the hotel at all. You can't even buy a postcard! There is a fridge in the room but unless you buy from the bar or room service, there are two vending machines selling sot drinks ony. There is a Shell petrol station south of the hotel, about a 10mins walk away and you can get cans of beer, snacks and even wine from there. Walking towards Estapona there is a sign to your left saying Supermarket. Don't be fooled it is still along walk away.

At night is the biggest problem, after dinner, unless you feel like another hike, or splash the cash on taxis, there really is nothing to do near by.

The meals in the hotel are OK, not great but OK, all buffet only, and coffee is not included with dinner. Trip to Gibralter was good, and we went by bus to Marbella and Peurto Banus, but allow a whole day for each trip.

The pool area is very nice, we did manage to get sunbeds most of the time. The pool is cold though! Also for a 4star hotel, there is no poolside drinks service. There is a small restaurant/bar, but poorly staffed and expensive. A waiter coming round the captive audience on sun beds would have made a fortune, and plastic glasses would be acceptable I'm sure!

Would we go again...what do you think!"

Holiday details

  • Travel date: Sat 14th of June 2008

Hotels near H10 Estepona Palace

Stayed at H10 Estepona Palace? Share your insight.

Top traveller tips for H10 Estepona Palace

  • James B by James B

    "No point being privilege "

H10 Estepona Palace is also called

  • H10 Hotel Estepona
  • Estepona Palace
  • H10 Estepona

Similar hotels around H10 Estepona Palace