Canary Islands Holidays

aerial view of Las Teresitas beach, Tenerife
aerial view of Las Teresitas beach, Tenerife
The Canary Islands consist of seven Spanish islands situated in the Atlantic Ocean, just off the west coast of Africa.

Of the seven islands five are main holiday destinations visited each year by millions of tourists, especially Europeans in search of winter sun. Tenerife is the largest of the islands and home to Spain’s highest peak: Mount Tiede, and the resort of Playa De Las Americas well known for its vibrant nightlife. Gran Canaria is known for its mix of different landscapes with snow-capped mountains, lush forests and desert areas. This is also where the capital of the Canary Islands, Las Palmas, is located. Lanzarote has stunning landscapes, created by the hundreds of volcanoes that cover the island, as well as the longest volcanic tunnel in the world. Fuerteventura benefits from strong trade winds making it a windsurfer’s paradise and playing host to the windsurfing world championships that take place each year. La Palma is set apart from the other four main holiday islands in that the development of the island for tourism has been tightly controlled. Most visitors to La Palma come in search of relaxation and to admire its stunning natural beauty, away from the noisy nightclubs and crowded resorts that are prevalent on the neighbouring islands.

With year round sunshine and average temperatures ranging from 17 to 25°C the Canary Islands are an ideal destination for a beach holiday no matter what month of the year it happens to be.

Search for holiday destinations in Canary Islands

View Canary Islands map