This hotel is now closed.

Strand Village

, 63085

4 star hotel

Hotels near Strand Village

Strand Village

Reviews summary

3
Average
7 reviews
Brilliant
0
Good
4
Average
1
Poor
2
Awful
0

7 Traveller reviews from Holiday Watchdog

How the Thomson brochure rates this as 4...

2
Poor
by
Reviewed 28th September 2006

"How the Thomson brochure rates this as 4 STAR is beyond me. In fact when we arrived and saw our room, my wife initially wanted to go home! The rooms were indeed spacious - their only positive point in my eyes. Not only were there were stains on the bedding but the sheets were frayed and at the edges, and were thin enough to filter coffee. How we managed to spot any of this in the poor lighting provided is an amazement still. Being self catering we expected to be able to cater for ourselves, but how can you with no oven, grill, or kettle, or even a full set of crockery or cutlery. In fact all we had to cook on were 2 hobs that were so close you couldn't use them both at the same time. I guess when they say self catering what they mean is bringing your own! As catering for ourselves was problematic, we sampled "Goofy's Restaurant" by the pool - just the once! Unfortunately the bad taste left by the poor food offering deterred us from trying the other buffet/restaurant, so I can't comment on that! The pool itself was very small with no lounge area, but the hotel is practically on the beach, which compensates. In all our holiday was not a complete disappointment. We found the reception and bar staff at the Strand to be friendly and helpful to counter the shabby conditions of the hotel itself. And the Strand Village IS located right on the beach as I mentioned and just 5 minutes walk from the bustling square in Hanioti, which is filled with bars and pleasant restaurants. That 4 STAR rating is frankly absurd, but if you can get a really cheap deal then this could be a place from which to base your holiday. I suggest you don't go with any expectations and make sure you spend most of your holiday time elsewhere. I recommend a day on the beach followed by a "boujourdi" or a "meze" from a local restaurant (Tropicana is good), finished off with plenty of ouzo before heading back to the hotel! "

Holiday details

  • Travel date: 28th September 2006

Don't worry nothing to worry about, room...

4
Good
by
Reviewed 23rd September 2006

"Don't worry nothing to worry about, rooms are spacious and clean, but would rate the hotel as 3* if in the UK. I was worried about the bad reviews posted regarding the strand but had no problems. Negative points * Small swimming pool * Few many sunbeds * Only a few rooms have a seafront view * Shingle beach next to hotel. Head towards right for sandy beach Positive points * Clean * Spacious rooms * Next to the beach * Excellent courtyard * 5 mins away from the town square * Excellent for couples young or old * Many restaurants Generally Hanioti is great place for a fun and relaxing holiday and the strand village is good hotel to stay at. I would advise to rent a car locally and go exploring yourself rather than pay far too much for over hyped excursions. Those who like to party, there are plenty of bars but not many clubs, I came across to 2 clubs, noo no and bubbles, both are on the main rd and noo no's is 5 euros in a taxi and the music is dance and rnb was a lot more cooler than bubbles which was smaller and played more cheese. Drinks in both places were around 7 euros (expensive). Try Tropicana for food in the town square next to the doctors make sure you try their mousaka. Great place to visit and did not really notice the fire damage, most of it on the other side of the main rd. "

Holiday details

  • Travel date: 23rd September 2006

Cons In 10 days they did not exchange th...

4
Good
by
Reviewed 9th September 2006

"Cons In 10 days they did not exchange the sheets once. Also the towels. They did not sweep the room once. They only took out, daily, the garbage. In the restaurant they were not very attentive when something was running out so we were forced to stay and wait until they refilled the food and beverages. The beach does not have fine sand but consists of rather large pebbles of sand. There are also large pebbles and rocks in the water. After 10 m the water gets 3-4m deep and the floor is made of fine sand. Among the rocks near the shore you can find lots of sea urchin (so you better wear some shoes when you enter into the water). We had to pay each day 6 EUROs for 2 sun beds and 1 umbrella. The swimming pool is small, without sun beds. From 6 persons we were there, 3 got back infected with something that affected our ears, but I do not know for sure if there was something in the water of the hotel swimming pool or in the water of the aqua park from Salonic were we went one day. I did not see at any time that the water is changed in the swimming pool. Pros Otherwise, it is a quiet and pleasant hotel. The rooms are large enough and quiet. The beach is near the hotel. The sea water is very clear and in the rocks near the shore there is a lot of (friendly) fish and other aquatic animals can be seen. The centre of Hannioti is in a 3-5 minutes walk. There are some nice restaurants in the centre of Hannioti. The food was Ok. "

Holiday details

  • Travel date: 9th September 2006

Cons In 10 days they did not exchange th...

4
Good
by
Reviewed 9th September 2006

"Cons In 10 days they did not exchange the sheets once. Also the towels. They did not sweep the room once. They only took out, daily, the garbage. In the restaurant they were not very attentive when something was running out so we were forced to stay and wait until they refilled the food and beverages. The beach does not have fine sand but consists of rather large pebbles of sand. There are also large pebbles and rocks in the water. After 10 m the water gets 3-4m deep and the floor is made of fine sand. Among the rocks near the shore you can find lots of sea urchin (so you better wear some shoes when you enter into the water). We had to pay each day 6 EUROs for 2 sun beds and 1 umbrella. The swimming pool is small, without sun beds. From 6 persons we were there, 3 got back infected with something that affected our ears, but I do not know for sure if there was something in the water of the hotel swimming pool or in the water of the aqua park from Salonic were we went one day. I did not see at any time that the water is changed in the swimming pool. Pros Otherwise, it is a quiet and pleasant hotel. The rooms are large enough and quiet. The beach is near the hotel. The sea water is very clear and in the rocks near the shore there is a lot of (friendly) fish and other aquatic animals can be seen. The centre of Hannioti is in a 3-5 minutes walk. There are some nice restaurants in the centre of Hannioti. The food was Ok. "

Holiday details

  • Travel date: 9th September 2006

Booked the holiday through Thomson. Sta...

3
Average
by
Reviewed 2nd September 2006

"Booked the holiday through Thomson. Stayed on the third/top floor. Rooms were spacious, no oven, only microwave, no kettle. Maid service was excellent, but that was it. The pool is very small for the amount of rooms in the strand village, no sun beds around the pool. The beach is very close and there are plenty of sun beds, but you will have to pay for them, and the parasols. There was a bar and plenty of seating areas outside, but no waiter service if you wanted a drink or something to eat, you had to go and order it and then fetch it when it was ready. Supermarket underneath was well stocked, but it wouldn’t hurt for the staff to smile maybe a little more. But here comes the killer. If you are staying on the top floor like we and many other people we’ve spoken too did, you will have a nightmare with the water supply. My wife and three kids would go to have a shower, soap themselves up and the water would stop mid shower, I phoned down to reception to alert the staff of the problem, they would then say that they would turn the pressure up! Why wasn’t it up anyway? After that the problem was not any better. This happened every night, so we tried to shower earlier, but that was no better, we were told this was a problem in the whole town, but we spoke to people in the hanioti palace (Far better hotel, go there instead), and they had no problem. Also when the pressure dropped, the taps would run dry, and the toilet would not flush! Disgraceful. Considering this hotel/apartment is rated 4T by Thomson its scandalous, I have complained to Thomson and are awaiting a reply. I would go to hanioti again, it is a lovely place, a bit small, but still nice, but I would stay in the hanioti palace, no way would I ever go in the strand village for the money they are asking for the service that they give. "

Holiday details

  • Travel date: 2nd September 2006

We were not pleased when we had arrived ...

2
Poor
by
Reviewed 31st July 2006

"We were not pleased when we had arrived at the strand village. The pictures and the information we received from Thomson were very different from the actual place itself. The photo's they had in the brochure had been taken about 7 years ago. And everything had changed. The hotel was also taken over by Russians a year before. And they got the benefit of everything. They got everything free, like the sun beds (which we had to pay for, because there was no sun beds around the pool at all) and the best rooms were given to them. Also, for saying it is a self catering hotel they didn’t even provide a kettle or oven! However the hotel was very near the sea, and near to a lot of good entertainment and restaurants."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: 31st July 2006

Had a lovely holiday. rooms are large an...

4
Good
by
Reviewed 31st July 2005

"Had a lovely holiday. rooms are large and very clean. All staff from cleaners, bar staff, reception, shop etc are all fantastic. Excellent location. Pool is fairly small and no sunbeds but you are on the beach and many sunbeds there. 5 Minute walk from Hanioti Square which is great, restaurants and bars, many shops etc. Very good for all age groups."

Holiday details

  • Travel date: 31st July 2005

Hotels near Strand Village

Strand Village is also called

  • strand village hanioti
  • strand village hotel hanioti

Similar hotels around Strand Village

  • 4
    Good
    182 reviews
    Bomo Olympic Kos...
    Hanioti, Kassandra, Halkidiki Region, Central Macedonia
  • Ammon Garden
    4
    Good
    72 reviews
    Ammon Garden
    Pefkohori, Kassandra, Halkidiki Region, Central Macedonia
  • Crousou Beach
    3
    Average
    42 reviews
    Vicky Hotel Hani...
    Hanioti, Kassandra, Halkidiki Region, Central Macedonia