PrideInn Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
About PrideInn Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
- high speed internet in room
- swimming pool
- free internet
- bar lounge
- fitness center
- free parking
- business services
- public wifi
- free wireless internet in room
- air conditioning
- room service
- smoking rooms available
- dry cleaning
- meeting room
- non smoking rooms
- laundry service
- flatscreen tv
- concierge desk
- banquet room
- family rooms
- multilingual staff
- breakfast buffet
- airport transportation
- outdoor pool
- conference facilities
- private balcony
- breakfast available
- paid internet
- kids activities
- poolside bar
- kids club
18 Traveller reviews from Holiday Watchdog
avoid at all costs
"two weeks of dirty smelly towels [changed once during stay}dirty bed linen filthy mossie nets bathroom disgusting no hot water for two weeks food terrible same desserts every evening flies all over food at breakfast same dirty table cloth for a week watered down milk and fruit juice sad could be lovely with money spent on it yes v cheap but pay a bit more or don,t go"
- Travel date: Mon 24th of January 2011
Don't go!! The worst hotel I have ever stayed at!!!
"This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at and I have stayed in many 2* hotels in 3rd world countries. We knew we were in a nightmare hotel when the bus that picked us up from the airport was falling apart and covered in insects! There was no water and/or electricity in our room and the hotel staff were useless, complained 5 times and each time were told someone will come to fix it in 10mins 2 hrs later no one came. The next day we had water finally but it was cold water! Our phone did not work, so had to keep on going back and forth to reception to complain, in the end we gave up and put up with cold salted water! Went on a brilliant safari with wildlife sun safaris our driver Jonas was excellent and would definitely recommend them. When we arrived back from our safari our driver was not allowed to driver us up the hill to the entrance of the hotel, when I complained the security manager came out and was very rude and lectured me on using safari companies outside of the hotel!! We heard horror stories regarding their safaris and our glad we never booked with them!! When we got back our room was infested with red ants and their were nests in our beds, the towels were never cleaned and they just put the dirty towels on the hanging rail. Also, we were told that the staff have not been paid for 10 months and we saw them walk out twice and the police were called to bring them back and because they are not being paid they expect tips all of the time. Also, had a run in with the accounts manager and they refused to print off our bill halfway through the holiday, as soon as he spoke to us he said 'what is your problem?' In the end we just avoided the hotel and we had a lovely couple of days. The rep is useless and all of the hotel managers were rude, I would never ever recommend anyone to stay at this hotel!!!! "
- Travel date: Tue 20th of July 2010
A health hazard with a lovey view
"I stayed at the Flamingo Beach Hotel in Shanzu with my family including 3 children.We, as a number of guests during the first week of our stay payed a hefty price to stay at this "5 shields " hotel run by African Safari Club .
We quickly discovered that it was barely deserving of a 1*. Electricity was absent for most of our first week which meant that there was no water(pumped electrically) for washing,toilet flushing, room cleaning, public area cleaning, cleaning of linen and most importantly HAND WASHING.This was the whole hotel including staff hand washing who serve food and drinks!
ASC were noticably unapologetic.Although many areas had power cuts all of the local shops and bars and restaurants appeared well lit and able to serve food which was hot as well as not raw.
We have previously visited Kenya and more recently The Gambia and have never experienced such disregard to paying guests health.Yes we were in Africa and expected the 5 shields rating to be rather generous on their part but never expected it to be like this. Dont think this is acceptable for Africa, it just isnt. African Safari Club need to pay their bills and their staff instead of being dillusional and putting money in their own pockets.Kenya and its people are great. THIS HOTEL IS A HEALTH HAZZARD dont waste your money."
- Travel date: Thu 17th of September 2009
What a fantastic holiday. We spent 6 nig...
"What a fantastic holiday. We spent 6 nights on Safari and 8 nights at the Flamingo Beach hotel. I could not recommend it enough both as value for money and for the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The hotel is 5 shields but this is Kenya, a third world country so should not to be confused with 5 stars (but neither is the price). The ensuite rooms are large and clean with a balcony. Linen is changed daily. The food is OK and plentiful but not Cordon Bleu. The gourmet pass we paid for was well worth it as it gave a choice of 4 restaurants for evening dining.
Our safari in 3 different game reserves was absolutely fantastic. The guides/drivers are very knowledgeable and know where to find the animals. We saw all the big 5 and many more. Flying from one camp to another in a small plane gave an excellent view from the air.
Kenya is poor and I wish I had known beforehand how much they would appreciate any clothing you no longer have need of. The generous luggage allowance of 30kgs would have allowed for this. The schools are also in desperate need of books, paper and pens. Use your luggage allowance they will be incredible grateful.
We found an excellent taxi driver and guide just beyond the boundary of the hotel called John. Very resonably priced and with good english. And for the best massage you have ever had ask for Jennifer in the shops just outside the hotel. Cost about Â£7 for and hour including tip. The surroundings are basic but the massage was wonderful!
- Travel date: Sat 4th of October 2008
The worst holiday (almost) I have ever h...
"The worst holiday (almost) I have ever had, mainly due to food poisoning. The hotel was more or less what we expected for Kenya basic for a 5 shield. The kenyan people were extremely friendly. The people who work for AFC (reps) not so good. Hygeine concerning food was appalling, hence the "Mombassa Express" problems.....everyone had the same problems whilst we were there . The pool was filthy even first thing in the morning, cleaning consisted of a man in the pool with a broom sweeping the bottom, in other words just dispersing anything in there. There were copious amounts of dead flies and large ants in the pool even after being "cleaned". Several guests had ear infections. AFC are just out to con you out of money however they can, even to the point of making "mistakes" on the final bill for purchases, which we experienced and were consequently reimbursed for the overcharges.
It was a welcome relief to go on Safari (which was booked independantly NOT with AFC) if only to get us out of the Hotel "prison". The Safari as it happened was very good, thankfully.
Neither of us would ever go to Kenya again, AFC have put us off for life!! Wish now we had read reviews for AFC before we booked our holiday. We had that many complaints it would have been a full time job to voice them (and we are not particularly fussy people).
Incidentally the Flamingo was the 3rd hotel we had been offered before we had even left the UK. The first hotel we had booked had been closed down and so had the one we were subsequently offered. Flamingo was the only hotel owned by AFC that was still open, but for how much longer?
- Travel date: Wed 23rd of July 2008
Myself and my husband had the most amazi...
"Myself and my husband had the most amazing time with are 3 children, we got married at Flamingo beach hotel and we got treated like royalty, staff were fantastic and we made some great friends at the hotel. The accomadation was very clean, staff always smiling, fantastic with children especially our 3 year old daughter! Food was lovely but after the first week we did crave for something different! The beach was lovely but do beware of the beach salers when you first arrive when they get to know you they will leave you alone and become friends, can be a bit in your face when you first arrive! Would be a good idea to take pens , pencils, old clothes to give and trade to the people on the beach as we would of if we had known what we have at home in binbags!!! It was great experience for my children who are aged 13, 8, and 3 who became friends with the locals and want to re visit. It the sort of place where you can keep youself to yourself or get to know the local pepole which is what we wanted to do. "
- Travel date: Wed 23rd of January 2008
I booked on the internet with lastminute...
"I booked on the internet with lastminute.com and had a few problems with them, so I was dreading the holiday by the time it came to going. But it was wonderful and we will definitely be going again.
The hotel was beautiful and the staff so helpful. My birthday was made very special by the hotel, as they had noted the date from my passport and decorated our doorway with flowers also my chair in the dining room, they sung happy birthday and made me a cake.
We didn't go on safari partly the cost but partly because we were enjoying relaxing at the hotel and beach so much we didn't want to do anything else.
On the down side the food became a bit boring, as I am not a great meat eater I found it dull.
Also beware when leaving the country the luggage allowance includes hand luggage which means 23kg for case plus hand luggage also the scales at the airport are NOT ACCURATE!
so very few people came home without paying. In our case Â£25 excess baggage in some cases Â£40 or more.
But all in all it was great and I would recommend it highly."
- Travel date: Wed 26th of September 2007
This was the 2nd time we had been to thi...
"This was the 2nd time we had been to this Hotel and again it was fantastic.
Friends accompanied us this year & they too thought it was fabulous & incredible value for money.
The staff are absolutely wonderful & cannot do enough for you (& always with a smile).
The food is very good, with plenty of choice, both hot & cold & service in the restaurant also excellent.
The rooms are basic (as the brochure states) but are very clean & tidy. We had new towels & they & the bed linen were changed more or less daily.
A bank of plugs is worth taking as there is only 1 plug in the average room & you will need more if you need to charge camera batteries, use hairdryer, etc.
Also take a torch especially if you go on safari.
We went last year & it was fantastic, but this year we just chilled out - except for a taxi trip to Mombasa & also a deep-sea fishing trip. We managed to catch a 100lb. black marlin & the chefs in the restaurant cooked us the most amazing meal from some of it.
The weather was fabulous, although rather humid at times & the swimming pools were very inviting. Yes, you do have to pay for sun beds, as the brochure states, but the price is nominal - much lower than other resorts.
Yes you have to pay for drinks, incl. water & coffee, but the brochure tells you this also.
Prices for these are also reasonable. There is waiter service around the pool & on the beach so you donât even have to leave your sunbed if you don't want to!
All I can say is that it is amazing value for money & I/we can highly recommend it.
We shall certainly be going again - hopefully next year. Can't wait!"
- Travel date: Sun 29th of April 2007
Don't Do It ! Worst Holiday Ever !
"We went to the Flamingo Beach Hotel for 2 weeks in October having booked direct with African Safari Club (ASC). This hotel is supposed to be the jewel in thier crown and ASC are supposed to be experts in Safaris.
The rooms were damp and dirty, with mould in between the grouting in the bathroom. Our bed sheets had mould on them and my books went wobbly with damp! We have since written to ASC who said that this was caused by the humid conditions - we have been to Mexico in June which is v Humid and hadnt had any problems !
The in resort staff who worked in the tourist office (ASC reps) were rude and unhelpful. The bottled water is branded ASC and tasted of chemicals so I asked the rep for an alternative source. I was told she would not tell me as she worked for ASC not against them....so much for customer relations !
The transport from the airport to the hotel is in old battered buses with smashed windows. The vehicles on safari were just as bad. ASC blame this on rough turraine, however we took a trip out with a local tour company and the buses were in a perfect condition.
In the brouchure they talk of small fees for sunbeds and safes. Lets just say the fees are not small. In the 2 weeks we were there they also failed to have the reasonably priced wine available which forces you to spend more in resort. They also talk in the brouchure of enjoying a meal at thier shared tables in the resturant - they dont mention this is forced seating with the same people every night....so don't dream of a romantic meal for 2 !
We went on thier 4 night safari. The range of animals we saw was great...however the lodges were of a very poor standard. At the final camp we had brown water, no mosquiteo nets and the shower didnt work ! They ran out of food at breakfast including bread and the dinners were stews of bone and scraps of meat !
Paying the bill at the end of the holiday (and during as they impose a spending limit on you !) is a nightmare. You can only pay at the cashiers desk - which is only open for certain hours of the day and has only 1 or 2 people working the desk. We spent 8 man hours queueing at this desk in our 2 weeks ! IYou cant even get a copy of your bill printed at reception, so have to queue once to get the bill...then queue again to pay !
Don't do it.....book with anyone other than them !"
- Travel date: Tue 21st of November 2006
Tired but functional
"Stayed for 2 weeks in this hotel. Arrived back on 25 March 2006.
First the bad points :
The luggage scrum on arrival in Mombasa. DO NOT give more than Â£1 per case, the porters want Â£5 to move your luggage 100 yards, laugh in their face!! The buses, well...bald tyres and chunks missing. No air conditioning and the windows are just about to drop out.ASC need to spend some maney on their transport for health and safety purposes.
The moneyless system that the company uses is good in theory but in practice its not so good. When you are ready to leave there are long queues to pay what could be just a few Euros. Beware of the currency exchange rates as they are very dubious as they can be several months out of date, ensure you have enough Euros to pay in full. The last bill was paid in sterling converted to Euros this worked out at the equivilent of Â£1 = 1 euro, change is given in local currency.
European management appalling, the rep did the welcome chat wholly to sell the ASC products, no local information given and the rep was not visual around the complex after the first meeting.
Thats enough whinging, now the good points:
Local staff helpful and friendly, nothing was too much for them to do for you, tips are appreciated as their wages are low.
The food was excellent and varied each evening. portions did not look large but there was a salad bar that you could help yourself to. You were never left hungry.
Whilst the room was not modern and stylish it was clean and comparatively large. At the end of the day the room is somewhere to sleep and was fit for the purpose.
The pool and surrounding areas were excellent, a massive clean pool and manicured grounds to walk around. Yes, you do have to pay for the sunbeds but don`t be surprised as this information is in the brochure.
ASC need to sort out the archaic payment system and need to spend some money on their transport and this would be a perfectly good honest hotel."
- Travel date: Sun 26th of March 2006
"Let's face it, this is at the economy end of the holiday scale. I stayed at the Flamingo for two weeks with my wife and 2 young children, and we loved the overall experience. True, the room was rickety and the bathroom/shower was in need of redecoration. True, there were 1 or 2 powercuts and the air-con didn't always work.There was no Tv. You would have to give a maximum 3 stars to the accomodation.
But you don't go to Kenya to sit in a room, and the pool,bars and other facilities were all great.
The food was a pleasant surprise as my expectations were very low after reading other reviews. It was varied, and although it was never hot enough, that doesn't really matter in the heat.
The service was great, and all the staff were genuinely pleasant.
There was barely anything for the kids in terms of entertainment, but we wern't led to expect anything.
So, overall a great holiday. Just don't expect a super luxury experience at these prices.
Also, it is well worth going to the Flamingo rather than the other ASC hotels in the area as it was clearly much nicer."
- Travel date: Sat 25th of March 2006
Not up to scratch...
"Visited ASC 10 years earlier - now a poor shadow of its former gory. The grounds are beautiful - thats the positive bit. Lots of extras and upgrades to pay for - it gets tiring (and expensive), staff over eager for tips and have many apparently innocent scams running including saying they haven't been paid or paid late (this may or may not be true). Room was old fashioned (pink candlewick bedspread with holes), bathrooms shabby - broken tiles, dirty etc. No water for a few hours on a couple of occassions. There are plenty of good Hotels nearby offering much better standards at similar prices - heard first timers to Kenya passing off poor standards of service and maintenance as being a third world country 'what can you expect' attitude, who had no comparisons and may explain some positive review's hereunder! Overheard lots of complaints at service desk. The Safari vehicles are old and one of our group lost a whole precious day sat in the heat due to a burst tire (the spare was also flat - thus the wait - inexcusable). Could go on but you get the picture. In need of investment and overhaul."
- Travel date: Tue 21st of March 2006