Caleta Garden

Hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(107 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
47
Good
36
Average
8
Poor
4
Awful
11

Rating by feature

Room: 5.5/10
Service: 6.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Caleta Garden

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 39 »
Dark depressing ill equipped room, Low Cost Holidays big mistake

"We originally booked in the sister hotel Puerto Caleta with Low Cost Holidays. Big Mistake! On arrival we were told no rooms were available and systematically ushered to the Caleta Garden, presented with a typed declaration to waiver our rights to complain if we accepted and signed for free breakfasts. After speaking with at least half a dozen other guests it became apparent that this practice was endemic. The hotel is mediocre at best, the staff rude and the food fodder. Our North facing room received no sunshine at all and the patio doors could not be secured. There were live electrical cables under the kitchen sink. Self catering means no toaster or kettle. Low Cost Holidays have offered £33 compensation off a £700+ holiday and there appears to be no arbitration (not ABTA). Their website says they are members of the Spanish equivalent. Book at your peril"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Take a
by
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Gone down the pan!!

"Stayed here for Christmas and boy what a let down! holiday was not cheap! Place is in need of total overhaul its a mess.Food terrible, pool and outside bar very small and grubby,cushions missing off half the chairs. All drinks even in the club were served in small plastic cups! Our room had threadbare\ripped settee and curtains.Bar closed at 11pm.Seemingly around 3yrs ago it was great hotel!Hope they sort it as the location is perfect."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2014, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Dont book the hopper transfer.
  • Good For: Beach
by
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We Have Found Cockroaches In Our Room

"We have just found cockroaches in our room, we spoke to reception who gave us a can of spray and told us we have to remain in the room. Can anyone help? We have been told the room will be 'cleaned' tomorrow at some point. We have only been here 3 days."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, booked with On The Beach
  • Advice: We Have Found Cockroaches In Our Room
  • Good For: Beach
by
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not book with Low Cost Holidays

"Having enjoyed the resort of Caleta de Fuste back in April 2012 we decided to have a late break in November back again.

We stayed at the Blue Sea Caleta Garden. The hotel was ok, a bit tired and run down but the obvious problems were being solved as they came to light:- broken locks, crumbling masonry on the balconies and general cleaning, the staff were busy 24/7 so any problems took a while to sort out.

The biggest mistake we made was to book through Low Cost Holidays.

Their wonderful way of dealing with any problems is to, firstly ignore it, then when you write to remind them you get told that if you chase them it will take longer to sort out your genuine complaint. We were told they had 28 days to reply, we wrote in November and they eventually e-mailed us in February with a flat refusal to look into any refund due, (various taxi fares as a result of their transfer transport not turning up on time, after we had paid for and not received the transport)

Proof if needed that you usually get what you get ripped off for.

Hotel ok, staff stretched, food so-so. Low cost rubbish
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012, booked with Low cost holidayys
  • Advice: Use it as a base
  • Good For: Beach
by
4 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

poor food

"good location close to beach and shops and bars. cannot comment on the rooms as we only ate at this hotel. the food was poor, a good variety of choice but always cold. staff very helpful very quick to clear tables.

graham from leeds
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012, booked with lowcost holidays
  • Advice: keep the food warm
  • Good For: Beach
by
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not quite 4*

"We have just returned from a family holdiday - 2 adults, 1 5 year old who loved it.

Location - Good

The location of this hotel is good - easy walking distance to beach, promenade (you may see the lovely chipmonks) and harbour, shops and other facitilites ie car anbd bike hire. There is a small indoor shopping centre about 20-30 mins amble away where you will find a variety of eateries including McDonalds and Burger King.

There was also a little train everyday (9 - 5) from the harbour, around the town and up to the Costa Dorada Hotel where I believe there is a Saturday street market. The cost of this was 1 euro per person for a single trip and 2 euros per person for a return trip.

Service.

Service at the hotel for the bar could be quite slow and I observed that if you were female or a younger guest attempting to aquire a drink or ice cream you would fare less well than the gentleman - result my poor husband kept having to go the bar - I gave up in the end.

The quality of the food was OK but very repetitive - every evening meal featured chips, rice, choice of potatoes and some kind of meat or fish - puddings were unimaginative especially for anybody with specific dietry requirements. Again at breakfast food was good and fairly typical but what punctuated all mealtimes was the total disorganisation of food counters - they were very close together and people were trying to get food from both sides on their plates with other people attemting a contraflow down the middle - chaos! Additionally lack of cutlery was an issue -espcially knives and the poor waiting staff were rushed off their feet! The daily sunbed debacle tended to lead to most people arriving at the restaurant in the last hour of breakfast which led to an already overstretched restaurant being left unable to cope.

Room & Amenities.

We were in a studio apartment at the back of the complex which we found to be very quiet unfortunately the room just felt a bit rundown and in need of some tlc. We did have an uninvited guest the first evening (cockroach - lovely!)but once we had sorted him out we had no further trouble - apart from the mozzies! We were lucky, I did see quite a few of our little friends on the ground floor and I beleive that quite a few other guests were very bothered by them.

Obviously there were the sunbeds which had to be battled for every morning compounded by the fact that they were not put out at a consistent time and not monitored to ensure that people did not take beds that they did then not use!

Liked

Very much liked the location of the hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the very relaxed and comfortable feeling we all had during our stay. As other people have commented Tony, the entertanments manager was excelled and all the children loved him.

Disliked

Whilst this and my comments above would not destract from how much we all enjoyed our holiday, this is very much a 4 star accommodation has been and could be again if sufficient work was put in to updating and tidying ie: there is more than one jacuzzi on the roof and there are more in the basement and a sauna which sadly do not work. This could be a great hotel again - it certainly has the staff to make it so.

Helpful hints: Lots to see and do ie; rock pooling, cycling, bowling, mini golf. The Beach cafe is very good and excellent value for money. One of the car hire shops was advertising VW Golf or similar for approx £18/day. Always use your own taxi or private transfer - some people using the transfer coaches found themselves waiting in a very hot coach for a very long time until the coach was full!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Hire a bike to explore the area!
  • Good For: Beach
by
5 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Bargain holiday

"We have just had a great week away at the calleta garden. Hotel was tired looking but clean. Rooms cleaned 4 times in a week. We stayed in a stuio but it was a good size and have everything you needed. We were slightly worried about his place after reading the reviews but don't know what people expect for the money!! We were all inclusive. Snacks were basic, Toasties and hot dogs only but they were nice enough. Main meals, not alot to choose from but what was there was good. One night we had Steak and another we had leg of lamb (melted in your mouth=gorgeous). Drinks were god too!! The only down side was the pool but only because the water was soooooo cold, only the kids braved it!!!

Tony was the entertainment and he was a really good bloke. The kids loved him.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2012, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by
8 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very Good

"A group of 4 of us went, mixed age groups (61, 36, 36 and 14 years old)and found the holiday very good.

It was very clean, staff worked hard and very friendly.

Food was fine, something for everyone.

Even the entertainment was O.K. better if you have younger kids but we really enjoyed the holiday.

People have got to understand that you get what you pay for, but the price we paid we were more than happy.

Only downfall you have to set your alarm if you want to get a sunbed, but considering its the only thing you have to do its not that much of a problem.

Would definitely return
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Teletext
  • Advice: recommend taking a walk along the beach near the rocks to feed the chipmunks
by
8 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

AIl Inclusive A++++

"Got back on 5th August from a week All Inclusive.

Food was great, always something there for everyone, with a good selection of meat and fish dishes.

We were after a quiet holiday, so Caleta Gardens suited us to a T. However, wouldn't recommend it if you like a bit of night life.

Tony the entertainer seemed to be good with the little kiddies, when it came to my 15 year old, I didn't feel much effort was made. Thankfully the hotel offers free WIFI in the main area, which can also be accessed from certain seats in the bar :) So the youngster was able to entertain himself.

Had the usual karaoke, parrot shows, bird of prey shows, singers. All you would expect from entertainment in a hotel. Bingo every night along with play your cards right. Can add a bit to your holiday if you want to play these games, but we had a little win on the bingo which more than covered the expense.

The sunbeds.... well what can I say.. The hotel has the policy of no booking sunbeds, it's a pity they don't enforce it. People were queuing from around 8am for the sunbeds to be unlocked between 8:30 and 9 just for the chance of getting a sunbed. TBH we gave up hoping for a sunbed, went to beach most days and used lilos for those times we wanted to use the pool.

All in all we loved the hotel, the staff were great, Entertainment was a bit naff, but that's just my opinion, would probably have liked it better if I had been taking younger kiddies.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Take a walk to the beach and forget the pool, unless you want to queue for a sunbed
by
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

my holiday

"just returned from caleta Garden,really enjoyrd ourselves,good food,allways something different to chooose from the staff there afe great especially Tony the entertainer he makes everybody feel welcome and encourages all to join in with the activitys that he puts on there,rooms are ok allways kept nice and clean fresh towels most days,all in all a nice place to stay."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Cosmos
  • Good For: Beach
by
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good for families

"The Caleta Garden is a basic yet surprisingly efficient hotel thank to their staff who work hard, in particular the cleaners and Tony the enterteiner who is good with the kids.

The hotel is set in a good location with plenty of shops, restaurants and a sandy beach although there is a better one 15 minutes walking just behind the 'Centro Commercial Atlantico'.

Good points: friendly hard working stsff,entertainment for the kids,cleanliness of the rooms and location.

Bad points: Food very repetitive and the cheapest of the cheap ( doesnt help the fact the guests are mainly british so the cuisine suits them: baked beans, burgers, chips,streaky fatty bacon and so on..)but if you are going self catering you could cook for yourself as the apartments have fully equipped kitchens,the sunloungers are old and not enough for all the guests in fact it was quite fun to see a number of people storming around the pool first thing in the morning waiting to grab the first available sunbed, if you think the Germans are bad think again (be quick, you've been warned)

The pool area itself is small and can get crowded at peak times leaving you a few square metres to swim, an other thing that I noticed while staying there is that the adults sometimes were getting overexcited in the water acting more like their kids

I would say that if you have small kids and are on a tight budget and aren't fussy this is the place for you, if you are single or a couple you might want to go elsewhere as there is not much to do.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't be fussy or you won't enjoy this hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by
5 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cheap & Cheerful! Everything we expected for the price!

"Just arrived back from caleta garden apartments yesterday. Family of 5, self catering! We had a great time! The apartments need modernising but are clean and have all the essentials. The staff are friendly and willing to help. The only trouble is the sun beds, you do have to go down and wait for them but if your there you will get one. You can't expect to turn up mid afternoon and there be free sun beds, this isnt unusual!

The apartments are in a great spot just up the road from all the shops and resturants. But when i say all, i mean the handful that is on the island, theres not that many to be honest. I would definately say this is a relaxin lay by the pool or on the beach holiday. There are also a few excursions and boat trips, we found them to be abit expensive so if you are planning on doing some trips try and take abit extra dosh.

We found a few belting place for evening meals including mambos which is just has you come out of reception, to your left and down the road. That was really nice for breakfast and evening meals esp the free garlic bread. We also enjoyed the slow boat all you can eat chinese resturant over the road from caleta but make sure you dont get mixed up its not the one directly over the road its to the left near the trampolines! We went there twice in our 10 days and is definately worth a try. We also enjoyed the windmill which is english run and does a mean fish chips and peas!

Overall we had a lovely time and it was worth what we paid for it. Me and my mum are already planning on return has the weather is lovely and we have come home with brilliant tans! x
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Theres a small market up the hill on a saturday
  • Good For: Beach
by
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 39 »

Explore area

Map for Caleta Garden Closest airport: Fuerteventura (FUE) 3.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Caleta Garden
  • by Gomdelier

    " Great for a quiet stroll in the desert. "

Similar hotels around Caleta De Fuste

Hotels near Caleta Garden

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Caleta Garden?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Caleta Garden? Share your insight.

Caleta Garden is also called:

  • caleta garden de fuste
  • caleta garden hotel

Address: Juan Ramon Soto Morales 15, Fuerteventura 35610, Spain