Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship

, Thomson Cruises
Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship
Check the latest prices for this cruise
Show Prices
 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 416 »
Thomson Majesty Colourful Coasts

"After reading the very mixed reviews on this and other sites I went into this trip, my very first cruise, thinking it might be OK but it could equally be a disaster.

I have to say the whole thing was an extremely pleasant surprise and experience. I can only think the negative reviews come from experienced cruisers who are comparing this to more modern ships and more expensive cruise lines.

We visited 5 different islands and 3 different countries in a week, including all meals and entertainment, for under £600 each (and no tipping surcharge). How can you beat that? Sure you can spend thousands cruising the Caribbean with Royal Caribbean et all, but why then compare it to a cruise aimed at a different target audience.

The room was larger than expected, clean towels and beds made TWICE a day. Our cleaners made the towels into different animal shapes each day which was very amusing. Friendly staff, enthusiastic performers and entertainment and ample food (yes it wasn't the greatest, but you get what you pay for). We drunk cocktails and beer most days and nights and saved bundles instead of taking out any of the expensive drinks packages (where you still have to pay supplementary fees for drinks).

On top deck the ship is a bit Smokey as soot comes from the funnels and sunbathing space is quite a squeeze on crowded days.

I would certainly recommend this for people going on a first time cruise.

As an aside and nothing to do with the cruise or ship, at he the end of it we weren't bitten by the cruise bug. Although we are glad we did it and enjoyed it, ultimately it felt rather like a glorified hop-on hop-off bus as you only got a brief taster of a few hours for each place visited. I now know I prefer staying in one place and exploring at leisure over days.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Look at the drinks package costs and surplus charges carefully to see if it really is cost effective over paying for drinks individually
by
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing, how can people moan about it?!?!

"I never usually write reviews but after reading all of the negative comments before we went, I felt like I had to!

We got back last week from a week’s cruise around Greece and Turkey on the Thomson Majesty – it was absolutely amazing – I don’t understand how people can moan about it!! It was our first cruise so we weren’t too sure what to expect, but we absolutely loved it! We visited some lovely places and thoroughly the whole experience of ‘cruise life!’

We had an outside plus room on deck 6 - the room wasn’t as small as I had expected and there was plenty of storage space. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and the bathroom was like a wet room, which does the job.

Food – The buffet was good and they served snacks throughout the day and also afternoon tea every day, but the main restaurants were the best. We went there every evening and the service (especially Hesham and Sonbol) and food was great. The waiters all had a good sing song and were known as the ‘Spice boys’, such a great atmosphere! I've been on lots of all-inclusive holidays and I found the food on this boat to be the best, maybe it’s at a better standard on cruises than in a hotel, but it was great and we wasn't disappointed with any of the meals!

Entertainment - The entertainment and the team was amazing – they constantly had things going on throughout the day and night. The evening shows were brilliant (like west end shows) and they had deck parties throughout the week, as well as a ‘captain’s ball’ which were great fun. The comedian was amazing too!

The staff on the boat were all so friendly and helpful. They also bring your drinks to you whilst your sunbathing around the boat and watching the shows, so you don’t even have to get up!

The only thing we thought was a bit cheeky was that some of the drinks incurred a small supplement charge, which I don’t think is fair when you’ve already paid for an all-inclusive drinks package. There were only a few of them, but I just think everything should be included. Also, if you want any more drinks after 2am in the night club you need to pay for these too, but just stock up beforehand if you want a late one!

I can’t compare it to other cruises as this was our first one but we met lots of people and everyone we spoke to was having an amazing time! The people who have moaned about it must have ridiculously high expectations!!! It’s what you make of it really – we absolutely loved everything about it so made the most of it and wasn’t worried about silly things like having grey towels (which we didn’t have by the way, but as long as they’re clean, who cares!)

It was a great holiday and we can’t wait to do another one – I would recommend it to anyone!!!
"

by
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very disappointing

"Just returned from a weeks cruise on the Thompson majesty , never again will we go with Thompson . We have done several cruises in the past the previous last one being about 12 years ago due to us living in Spain .as we now live back in the u.k we thought we would book a cruise for our silver wedding anniversary, how standards have dropped, the dining experience was not as nice as it used to be and the standard of food on offer has declined.as it was our anniversary while on board we told the girl that did our booking and she put it on our booking saying that they would be aware of it on board . Other cabins had congratulations banners on their cabin doors during the week but unfortunately our special day was completely ignored, Thompson are just trying to get as much money out of you as they can ,such as supplements on drinks with the drinks package, £12 for one photo,expensive excursions. We always thought Thompson cruises were the best and often recommended them but since our last experience on the majesty our views ase the opposite .we will cruise again but we will look at another cruise company"

by
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First timers

"Well what can i say, just returned from a cruise on the Thompson majesty.....after reading the reviews before we went, i was worried....how wrong could i have been, from stepping aboard, it could not have been any better...we had a fabulous time...ok the towels are a bit grey,but clean, the cabin was small...but adequate....the ship has seen better days, but it was homely, and very clean and friendly...the staff were fantastic. The food was lovely, always something different...the places were amazing...the only thing i will say in a negative way, is Albania was not a place i will go again, and Corfu wont be on my re visit list....all the other places were fantastic.

All in all we had a wonderful first cruise...and will defiantly go on the majesty again...thanks Thompson for a memorable holiday.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Go in all the bars
by
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Thomson Majesty - Never Again

"Having been a numerous Thomson cruises, this is the worst ship we have been on.

The food was not good and mostly cold. The inside cabin was that small, one of us had to lye on the bed whilst the other got ready. The grout between bathroom tiles on the floor was black in places and the shower curtain was too small, hence the floor flooded when you used the shower. Whilst the towels were clean, they were grey and the sheets were not changed at all in a week. The shows in the evening were not a patch on the shows on the Spirit and extremely disappointing, except for the comedian.

We could not find any comfortable relaxing seats anywhere on the ship as all the backs on the chairs were short.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book the best cabin you can afford and go all inclusive.
by
2 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A honest review from a regular Thomson user

"Being a party of four (1 x couple & 2 x elderly ladies) one with a minor disability (steps) our requirements were quite specific, but not challenging for an experience promoted as elderly friendly. Thomson advised that our needs would be catered for after taking great care to ensure these were understood and what problems it would cause if ignored(assisted access were possible and cabins adjacent to each other).

Our cabins were mid-ships and forward on different levels, so being adjacent required a little walk. Our request for 1 x twin room was also overlooked which saw a double bed turned into two singles without any separation, comfortable to say the least. We paid extra for balcony's and provided you didn't mind looking between life-boats, the view was far from unrestricted. Yes the towels has seen better days, but left out, they were changed every day without question.

The dining experience did leave a lot to be desired, with little to no variation in the main meals, okay if you like grilled fish, but by far the biggest problem for us was the seating arrangements for two elderly ladies. The buffets had half low level seating arrangements, so eating our fish whilst being slumped in an easy chair, left a lot to be desired. On three consecutive days we had to wait for cups to be washed as there wasn't simply enough to go around. The other restaurants had open seating, which saw us on many occasions halfway through our starters whilst guests were being seated at our table. Inevitably our mains were then delayed for other to catch up!

The coach trips were not elderly friendly (steps and lots of walking) despite being advised this was catered for, so other than using taxis, guided trips were out of the question.

It is understood routine maintenance is required whilst we might be on-board, but changing the corridor carpets during the peak times when people are disembarking for trips, was poorly planned, as was shutting the lifts down for 1 hour for testing (an annual event I believe and perhaps we were unlucky, but having a party members not being to access steps, left us stranded somewhat.

Two elements stood out for us; friendliness of the staff and the entertainment. Both were superb and if Thomson gets something right on its ships, its this - well done to all involved, memorable for all the right reasons.

Overall we were disappointed. Comparatively cruising is expansive and on this occasion Thomson failed to provide anything near to our expectations, expectations I should add, that was portrayed to us by the Thomson local sales office.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Be prepared to compromise on the standard of service, especially when eating
by
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Horrendous

"Where some people have entered a 9 or 10 out of 10 must be getting paid from Thomson to write such dribble. The cabins, the grey towels, the cold uninteresting food, vegetables being green beans, carrots and peas,and the sweets, did not change for fourteen days while we were on the cruise, the help from the reception desk, all was abysmal. The thermostat in our cabin did not work,the wardrobe was tiny, one chair, and the television did not work and the hair dryer in the cabin was held together from the plastic holder to the tube with red insulating tape which burned fingers after a few seconds of use. The double bed was jammed against the window and the walls so that one person had to be stuck in and if needing out had to climb over the other and at our age this was not fun. We did pay for the drinks package and was hopefully going to enjoy the advertised sipper cocktails - Mmm!! Not a lot of alcohol was tasted in these. The two swimming pools and the baby pool was very seldom used as it was seemingly colder than a fridge and more like a deep freeze No children at all in the wee pool and the children ended up using the two hot tubs on deck. Having paid around £3000 for this supposedly

dream holiday we are absolutely disgusted and have written a strong letter of protest to Thomson and eagerly await a reply
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2015
  • Advice: No suggestions at all The boat is a complete nightmare
by
2 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Repositioning cruise Tenerife/Corfu

"Having just returned from our first cruise with Tomson on board the Majesty we would like to say what a wonderful time we had on-board. From the accommodation staff, bar staff, waiters and crew who were all polite and courteous to the retiring cruise director Lewis who was tremendous.

The quality of food at all sittings was superb and choices were brilliant.

Please don`t listen to the whingers,whiners and moaners, they should just stay at home or go in a caravan somewhere, anywhere.

G,J,T,S
"

by
10 / 10

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great first time crusie

"Just returned from our first cruise on board Thomson Majesty - excellent service from staff especially Angel at the Piazza San Marco - always a warm smiling welcome and our cabin stewards Marianna and Jenya."

by
9 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Enjoyable cruise

"After reading negative reviews about this ship we were pleasantly surprised to find how clean our room was, beautiful white towels and bed linen, changed daily. Hot food was available all day. Helpful, friendly staff and a couple of excellent shows helped make this an enjoyable cruise. We booked the Lanzarote buggy trip and had a great time.The cable cars in Madeira are a short enjoyable walk with plenty of seats along the way. A return trip cost 15 euros each. In Tenerife and Fuerteventura we easily found the red buses where a 20 euro ticket lets you jump on and off all day along a selected route. We found it cheaper not to buy the drinks package. An on board duty free offer was two liters of named spirits for £20.A pint of lager cost £3.70 and cocktail of the day cost £3.99.There were no restrictions on bringing alcohol back from shore.Some parts of the ship would benefit from a refurbish,the pool wasn't heated and some of the entertainment was lacking but we didn't let that spoil our holiday."

by
9 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Time

"We have had two cruises previously on the P&O Azure which is a large ship with lots of glamor. I will start with the negatives on this cruise. We waited in a cue for an hour to get onto the ship and the staff who were processing customers were a little slow. When we arrived to our cabin which was on floor four (4023) we were shocked at the size of the cabin as it was small, our bags however were in our room within 10 minuets of us arriving. The ship is dated and could do with a refurbish. However we stayed on the ship for two weeks, the ship is clean, the entertainment is fantastic however the jubilee lounge where the shows are held is small and has several pillars that block your view. Our room was clean and tidy and was kept that way for the whole two weeks. The bar staff are lovely and always on hand. The bistro is worth a try and worth paying that bit extra. I have recently been diagnosed with Celiac disease and as such i have to avoid wheat. Leroy Brown who is the Maitre D and his assistant Abdul were excellent. I was given my menu a day in advance and my meals were prepared for me and they were all excellent. Leroy and Abdul are a credit to Thomson, they really ensured that i didn't miss out on meals. We had our meals at 6:30 in the Four Seasons restaurant which is smaller that the seven seas, the staff in the restaurant couldn't do enough. I once went to the buffet restaurant and chose the fish, one of the chefs informed me that i couldn't have that as it was coated in flour. I have no idea how he knew as this was the first time that we had a meal in the buffet. Yes this is not a glamorous ship however don't let the negative reviews put you off. We enjoyed the cruise, the staff, cleaners, waiters, restaurant staff and the entertainers all found time to have a chat. All in all we had a good time."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: The shows start at 8:30 and 10:30 however i would advise that you get in early
by
8 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Poor Quality From Thomson

"So pleased to be back home now after a week long ordeal on this ship!

Having cruised with Thomson before on the Celebration and really enjoyed the full experience, we were looking forward to our trip around the Canaries on the Majesty; What a disappointment!

First of all obviously not Thomsons fault, but the weather was not great, (but not severe), which contributed to our disappointment, but this also puts Thomson entertainment and other services to the test as people now have to rely on them. They failed.

I totally agree with most of the negative comments below, with the exception of the food. Okay, there were a couple of times when it was a bit difficult for us to find something we liked from the big choice of fish or vegetarian dishes, but mostly we always managed something. The quality of which was decent to good.

As I said above with the poor weather, the need to rely on ships services and entertainment is put to the test. The entertainment was dire, and other services which may be available are at highly inflated prices, as are their shore excursion prices. It is with every opportunity that they can find to enclose you on the ship so that you are spending at the bar, the shops, casino, etc. Even the all inclusive drinks package has supplementary costs against most drinks, (not that we used it).

Previous reports regarding the poor stability of the ship are totally accurate, there were lots of people that we spoke to who were suffering from seasickness. People, including crew and staff, were staggering all over the place all of the time when at sea, (most not due to drink I will add). With this in mind the travel time between ports obviously greater than necessary, e.g. We left Lanzarote at 6PM, to then spend the next 11 hours or so drifting and being rolled about, before traveling 38 knots miles to Fuertaventura, (a 2 hour journey at best). This is just one example of being unnecessarily imprisoned on the ship, obviously to increase Thomsons onboard profits.

On one of our 'days at sea', the open decks were closed (for safety reasons, allegedly), this results in everybody being confined to bar areas or shops etc, (more turn over to Thomson). Only deck ten was open for some 'fresh air', but alas the smokers put paid to that too.

We were also unlucky' enough to be pestered by an over attentive cabin maid, who was clearly trying too hard to gain tips and good reviews. She would knock on the door to tell us to put out the Do Not Disturb sign, then she would knock on the door anyway even when it was out (looking for us to complete a questionnaire about how good she was!). Irritating at best.

I could say more, but in general a lot of small things that should have been better contributed to a disappointing trip that will not put us off future cruises, but definitely not on Thomson Majesty. I will shop around now with other cruise companies as a result.

Finally, please don't dismiss or underestimate the previous comments about the black smoke that is constantly emitted from the funnels of this ship. It can be seen for miles and continues all day and night. I am amazed that Thomson have the cheek to profess to having good environmental credentials, also that port officials allow it.

Spend your hard earned money wisely elsewhere, would be me advice to anyone considering a cruise on this ship.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Don't do it. Go elsewhere.
by
3 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 1 2 3 416 »

Average rating

7 / 10
(183 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
70
Good
30
Average
10
Poor
16
Awful
22

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8/10

Need a hotel before or after your Thomson Majesty cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship? Share your insight.