The Sandringham Hotel

1-9 Victoria Square, Weston Super Mare BS23 1AN, United Kingdom
5.5  / 10
Average rating (23 reviews)
Hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews

View all reviews

Enter your dates to find the best prices for The Sandringham Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

by
10 / 10
Great Hotel

"Just come home from a holiday weekend at this hotel. The room was great, was clean and tidy. All the staff were polite, helpful and friendly. The food was good and presented well. Will be going back to this hotel in the future."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2015, booked with Leisuretime
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

by
9 / 10
We

"We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, our room was a bit small for us personally, but very clean and good housekeeping was given,the food and service in the dining room, was excellent,we enjoyed the wide range of breakfast and evening meal choice,all the staff are very friendly and caring, would definitely recommend the hotel,and stay again in the future, the only downside, the hotel is old, but is in the process of being renovated slowly,but it wasn't a problem for us at all."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
VERY GOOD

"We had a very lovely stay ,The room we had overlooked the pier it was very clean and well serviced . the lift is a bit dated ,but worked well if used properly .The food was very good and all home cooked .The staff were very nice .SUE could not do enough for us.Would stay again if ever we go back to super Weston Super Mare .Thankyou."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013
  • Advice: The lovely promenade and pier .
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
6 / 10
Appearances can be deceptive!

"Travelled with friends via a coach holiday. First outside appearance disappointing, but on entering hotel found staff very helpful when the room was found not to be suitable to share. My friend was given another room immediately without any problem. Yes, the hotel is old and very dated, but could not fault the food or staff. Our break was very good, but as it was a girlie one, we did not have a problem with our men folk being there.Evening entertainment was not bad at all and in all had good stay at hotel particularly as I spent birthday there where I was made to feel special. Thank you to all the staff and waitresses."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
simply the best

"this is one of the best hotels i have been 2 in weston super mare, it is one of the friendley atmospheric hotels. It is run by a lovely family that are always there to help if you need anything.

the food is fantastic some of the best i have had in a hotel, there is entertainment every night and it is the best.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
8 / 10
Very good value

"I'm surprised at the amount of negative reviews of the Sandringham, so here's my opinion.

The Pros:

Very cheap (Bed, breakfast, evening meal for about 30 quid)

The food is excellent (far better than you'd expect for the price)

If you stay out of season it's even cheaper

The rooms are a decent size & comfy

Close to town centre & sea front

The staff are pleasant & helpful

The cons:

The exterior is quite shabby

At weekends the noise from nearby nightclubs is terrible (up till 4AM!)

The "entertainment" is aimed at the over 60's (Still better than pounding disco)

All-in-all, I'd recommend the Sandringham to anybody, especially if you're on a tight budget like me. Just try & avoid Fridays & Saturdays.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
4 / 10
loved the view, not the stairs. from burton on trent

"first impression of the bedroom was how shabby it looked. the pillow cses were ragged but clean. scuff marks on three of the walls,like some one had been dancing on them. the shower tray needed regrouting, it was black around the edges. the receptionist had to clean tea stains off the walls . the food was good and a very good sweet menu,but only cheese and biscuits were offered for diabetics.the waiting staff were excellent.and worked hard.we would not go back .it was ideal for a cheap holiday"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2008

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

by
10 / 10
fantastic place

"having read the reviews before we went it was two very nervous people who arrived at the hotel,granted its a bit on the old fashioned side but the receptionist was so very friendly and helpful we felt ourselves relaxing at once,the room was clean an had all facilities[tea coffee etc] the dining room looked out over the promenade was light and airy, the meal was lovely as was the staff,we thoroughly enjoyed our stay"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2008

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
Great surprise

"I have just returned from a long weekend at the Sandringham hotel at Weston Super Mare. I must say I was pleasantly surprised because I had read bad reviews before we went. The hotel has been decorated throughout and the rooms were immaculate, with brand new furniture and beds. The shower in the room was also new. Both the bed linen and the towels were very clean. There was a lovely flat screen television in the room too. The hotel staff were very helpful and we had the same waitress serving our table throughout our stay. This waitress went out of her way to see that we enjoyed our meals there. The food was lovely and there was plenty of choice on the menu. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, although we were there with a coach party there were families with children staying at the hotel. The hotel is directly opposite the Grand Pier which unfortunately burnt down on the morning we were leaving. Please discount the negative reviews which precede this and visit the Sandringham if you are passing!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2008

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
4 / 10
faulty towers

"The room was dated, the shower head needed replacing. The floorboards on the above floors needed doing. you could hear everyone above walking about by squeaks of the floorboards above. It looked like bella bella hotel from only fools and horses. The only good thing with this hotel was the food."

  • Holiday details: Feb 2008

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

by
6 / 10
Looks a bit dated but don't let that put you off

"We've just come back from a Turkey & Tinsel weekend at the Sandringham Hotel. Admittedly it looks rather dated, inside and out but the price was extremely reasonable and for what we paid I don't think you could have expected much more.

However, you shouldn't let the appearance put you off. Our room was clean and tidy, and the bed was comfy. The food was lovely and any hot meals were always hot, and not lukewarm. And there was plenty of it.

There was sherry and bucks fizz before dinner on the Friday night, Christmas dinner on the Saturday (with a glass of wine included) and even had lunch before we left on the Sunday lunchtime. There was live entertainment both nights and bingo, which was fun (you just have to get into the spirit of these things and join in). There was a small charge for the bingo but everything else was included in the price. Oh, and we all received a Christmas present at breakfast on the Saturday as well.

However, the best bit of the whole weekend was the staff. They were all lovely, and couldn't do enough for us. I didn't meet anyone all weekend who was grumpy or not polite.

We would definitely go there again, particularly for the Turkey and Tinsel.

And just in case you're wondering, we're definitely not pensioners!
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2007

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
8 / 10
Great Staff in the dinning room

"We and a large party of friends have just come back from a long week end at The Sandringham. The out side of the Hotel does not reflect the inside. The hotel is old fashioned but clean and welcoming. The team of waitresses were second to none for good service and always had a smile and were efficient and helpful.

The meals were nicely presented and always arrived at the table

nice and hot.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2007

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Write a review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
5
Good
3
Average
3
Poor
4
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room
7/10
Service
8/10
Value
7.5/10
Cleanliness
7.5/10
Location
9.5/10

Similar hotels around Weston Super Mare

Hotels near The Sandringham Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own The Sandringham Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at The Sandringham Hotel? Share your insight.

The Sandringham Hotel is also called:

  • sandringham hotel weston super mare

Address: 1-9 Victoria Square, Weston Super Mare BS23 1AN, United Kingdom