Thalia Hotel

Rhodes, Greece
Hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(75 reviews)

Ratings summary


Rating by feature

Room: 5/10
Service: 6/10
Food: 3.5/10
Value: 6/10
Cleanliness: 5.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Thalia Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners


Traveller reviews

1 2 37 »
Not a good holiday at all!

"Where do i start?

We got there after traveling all night and our rooms weren't ready, we had to wait 2 hours for them to be cleaned.

Got to the room which was quite spacious, but the bathroom was tiny, there was a cut out in the door so that it would shut past the sink!, the shower was rubbish, the curtain didn't fit all the way around and you had to keep switching the water off whilst showering because it drained that slow and would flood.

The beds were extremely lumpy and uncomfortable. no tv, no hairdryer, no kettle.

We had to pay 56 euros for air con which was very much needed.

The restaurant was very poor, 2 choices of food and stale bread, also the coffee was disgusting.

The pool was dirty (My daughter caught verrucas from it) the pool bar never had ice and the drinks were warm.

There was no sort of entertainment at all, the kids were so bored there we ended up spending £600 eating out and going to other bars with pools.

I do not recommend this hotel at all, it's more like a hostel!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't go
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great time defo going back

"My daughter and I went here last year and i am pleased to say after reading some of the reviews we reserved judgement until we got there ourselves. Glad we did as we both had a brilliant time, the staff were nice and friendly, couldn't do enough for us, helped whenever they could, as a single mum the help was much appreciated as was a nervous first time traveler on our own. Currently looking to book to go back this year, made some realy good friends that we still keep in touch with via Facebook. The hotel rooms were basic but they served their perpose, the food was good and neither of us went hungry, the staff worked very hard at making us all feel comfortable. In short yes we are going back and ''you should never judge before you experience something for yourself''"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

sept 2011

"just got back from thalia hotel in pefkos, had a great time, staff really friendly, hotel was basic but very comfortable, town and beach both just a short walk away, food was a bit boring not much choice, drink was flowing.a good choice for a weeks holiday.liz and ron carshalton"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: day trip to rhodes town
  • Good For: Beach
7 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Family holiday ever

"Stayed at the Thalia last year. We were absolutely broke and fed up so decided (as you do) to book a cheer us up last minute holiday We had booked for ourselves and three of our teenage children.Number four was staying home to enjoy our home with her boyfriend! We booked with Olympic and went home and began to read the reviews. Oh my goodness, what had we done. Number four then broke up with her boyfriend and was mortified. We were setting off within the next week and would have felt dreadful leaving her alone. We e-mailed the Thalia who said they would try to find her a room. In the meantine we managed to book her onto the same flight as ourselves. The e-mail came back. There was nothing available and they advised her that everywhere around the region would be really expensive around that time of year.(August) I appealed for them to let me know if a cancellation came up, to which they replied that they would "squizze" an extra bed in for us if that was ok. That was more than ok. We were delighted! We had always camped in the past and this was our first family holiday in a hotel.We didn't expect much. On arrival, we entered the lobby and I could smell clean floors. The place was spotless.The extra bed had been "squizzed" in and there was loads of space. Balcony looked out onto the sea. We couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were cleaned each day and fresh towels daily.Staff were friendly and there was a fridge in our room.Brilliant when you have four teenagers constantly at you for a cool drink. I have to say that i thoroughly enjoyed every single moment at the Thalia and they didn't charge us a penny for the extra bed. breakfast was basic but adequate. What do people expect? Go to Richard Branson's island at £30,000 per night if it's luxury you're after! It was a bargain. The beach is just round the corner and is beautiful and unspoilt. Pefkos feels very safe and although we stayed together I would have felt happy for my teenagers to have a wander round in the evening on their own. Thalia bar was great. Pool area fantastic. I would very definitely go again. Perhaps I would pay for one extra transfer next time as we were terrified sneaking the extra daughter on the transfer coach!! Thalia - we will be back!! Mmm it's true about Samuel."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Breakfast Included, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Take it as you find it and ENJOY!!!
  • Good For: Beach
9 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

basic accomodation, it is what you make it!

"I stayed in this hotel in August of 2010 with my boyfriend. We booked it pretty last minute so weren't really fussy on where we went, we just wanted to get away! Have too admit that after reading the reviews we were pretty terrified! But we were suprised by how welcoming the reception area was. The hotel staff could be a bit arrogant but thats easy enough to ignore. The rooms were basic, we asked for a double bed at the travel agents but got two single beds pushed together! The rooms were usually boiling due to the poor air conditiong. Rhodes was beautiful though, we went on a boat trip which i highly reccomend. I was impressed by the pool area, which is where we spent most of our time. We did go to the beach but were unimpressed by it as it was so small. The pool bar was fine,the food seemed good at first but after a dodgy stomach that we avoided! trying to find somewhere to where to eat was a task, but we did find some lovley restraunts after a little bit of talking to other guests and reccomendations. I have nothing to complain about in terms of cleanliness or hygiene, although other guests had very different experiences to us. The only thing that worried me was when my boyfriend broke the key for the safety deposit box they handed us another one from straight behind the desk, it didnt seem so safe anymore! Still, nothing went missing and we had lots of fun here. Not for the faint hearted and deffinatley not a top of the notch resort but somewhere to eat and sleep, which is all we wanted."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Get out and see Rhodes!
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Poor all round

"Just returned from Pefkos which has a lovely beach but the Thalia was horrible. We booked a self catering room just for the fridge and a kettle for a morning coffee. There was no kettle and the fridge was very old, rusty and not adequatly cool enough. That would have been ok but for the fact the rooms weren't cleaned for the whole week we stayed there, that is unacceptable to us, the bathroom was awash and we had to ask for a change of towel, you are only given one each. One chap leant on the Ping Pong table which collapsed and an hour before his departure the owners demanded 200 Euro from him for its replacement. This hotel is ok for dossers and teenagers who roll in any time between 2 and 6 in the morning, shouting, laughing and making lots of noise. The Air Con was a joke too, we paid 6 Euros per night but that too was not adequately cold and water dripped onto the floor from it creating a large puddle in the room which also didn't get cleaned up and the grossest thing of all is the loo bin which they insist you use, was left for a day unemptied. Don't go to this hotel. Pefkos is lovely and the best restaurant we found was the Philosiphia on a hill side overlooking the bay, what a view and delicious food"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Pefkos is worth a second visit
  • Good For: Beach
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Location - Hotel Good but dated

"June 2010 - Just returned froma week at Thalia Hotel Pefkos, There are some pros and cons about this holiday. On the plus side Pefkos is a greak location lots of restaurants and bars and a few have a good set menu for 8 Euros for a three course meal which we tried abd was very good. Pefkos beach is one of the best on the island.

On the minus side the hotel was very old and tired but we had a pleasant stay and our room had a good view of the pool and sea. The room was a good size we had room 303 which was a studio for two it was a good base but as i say was a bit dated, However, it was cleaned every day and fesh towels laid out so no real complaints. The pool bar is great and is open til late so a good place to the the night before going to sleepy bies.

The pool was also a good size and was cleaned daily but there was a lot on black mould inbetwen the grouting which could do with some attention.We used to have breakfast or a drink and use the pool of the Angel Bar which is just up the road a bit, it was a nice new pool and the water came right up to the top which makes it a nicer swim and it was nice and peaceful.

Overall the holiday was a pleasant one the Thalia is a good base and we had a nice stay but do expect it to be dated but as I say its a good size and is cleaned daily.

We went on the lazy days cruise for 60 euro for two people which was a long day started at 7am and got back to pefkos a 7pm, the boat was large and very crouded we were expecting a smaller boat where you could sunbathe we were told when we booked that they had sun beds on the boat and it was a lazy sun bathing / swimming day but the truth was that we were packed in and had plastic seats to sit on, so we would not recommend this trip.

Food and drink in pefkos not bad a main meal is about 7 to 8 euro and bears about 3 euro and costails about 4 to 5 euro, they also have a lot of happy hour.

If you like Karaoke the Pefkos Beach Hotel has it every Friday Night by the pool bar which is at the back of the complex, it was a nice friendly night.


  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Thalia is cheap and cheerful the resort is perfect
  • Good For: Beach
7 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

An old hotel which needs a facelift but adequate.

"We have just returned from The Thalia Hotel and we have had a good holiday, however the Thalia was disappointing.We have been to Greece many times and have always booked a studio on a self catering basis,so we know what to expect and our expectations are not high.However we agree with some of the negative comments.We had ants in the kitchen cupboard (which the staff tried to sort out) and the equipment was not particularly good.Generally the hotel needs some attention and a bit of money spending on it. It is in a good location with a short walk to the beach,restaurants and supermarkets.This hotel could potentially be a lovely place to stay - it's just a little tired."

  • Holiday details: May 2010, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
6 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant holiday

"like many others have said the hotel is not the best but we were all pleasantly suprised after reading other comments.

rooms were simple but clean and linen changed regularly.

breakfast very basic, bread, eggs, coffee ( orange ran out took 4 days to replace!)

having said that pool (bit cold at first, but got used to it!)was lovely, bar great with very friendly staff.

brilliant safe place for children who made loads of friends same sort of ages.

resort was lovely, Elia restaurant - turn right out of hotel was the best!Enigma was also very good and lee beach bar great for lunch!

beach was amazing, sea was clean and feeding fish with bread was a must ( get some snorkles!)

prices varied and changed on 2nd week at some places (it was quieter and prices were cheaper)

all in all lovely relaxing holiday, cannot comment on excursions as only went to beach and pool as wanted relaxing hol, would recommend if you dont expect best hotel in world. family of 4 who had brilliant time.

ps if you love football bar staff will oblige with most matches available.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Bed & Breakfast, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Don't listen to the whingers!

"Sheelagh and I had a brilliant time at the Thalia! We read the reviews before we went and, as always when travelling to Greece, went with an open mind.

Yes, the drains smelled a bit; Yes, the rooms were basic; Yes, breakfast was bread, eggs and jam etc.; Yes, the bus service was, at best, unreliable. BUT....

a) This is Greece. The only important thing to these lovely people is - making YOU happy!

b) If you want English breakfast, STAY IN ENGLAND!

c) This is how they live, accept it or don't come back!

Theo was an excellent DJ/barman and even let me do his Karaoke Night for him (I am a DJ)on the Tuesday. We had such a great time I'm definately coming back soon.

We had a heatwave whilst we were there and Theo, Niko and all the staff went out of their way to make it as comfortable as possible.

Sam, the rep is just the most laid back guy in the world. You don't get the hard sell from Sam! But (and I speak from experience, here) there are very few reps spend their nights off actually in the resort where they work. Catch Sam on Tuesday Nights at the Thalia Karaoke!!

In summary, I've spent years travelling to Greece and have never been disappointed. I've read reviews from people who complain about just about everything. I say to them PLEASE don't come to Greece again! You don't like it, so stay away!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Bed & Breakfast, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Pefkos is a lovely resort, close enough to the other attractions (eg Lindos etc)
  • Activities: Georges restaurant, Lindos, Rhodes Town, (Don't forget the GIROS - Yum!)
  • Good For: Beach
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not so good at the Thalia

"Our party of 4 has just come back from a 7 night stay at the Thalia Hotel. On arrival we asked why we were not put next to each other as we did request this. We were told that the hotel was full but at least you are on the same floor but nowhere near each other. Our view was called "inland" well we faced what I call a dumping ground - it could have looked nice if they had made an effort to make it look better! Our balcony was very small and only just took two chairs and a table with no movement at all. The bathroom was very small and the shower curtain disgusting. The sheets are grey and stained and the bath towels need throwing away and new ones bought. The hotel is in need of total refurbishment. The swimming pool has lots of lose tiles and the steps into the pool need to be more secure. We only used this pool on one occasion for about 20mins. Lucky enough we were able to find much better pools nearby. We will all be going back to Pefkos as we very much liked the place itself, however, we will definitely not be staying at the Thalia."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
2 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes


"I stayed at the Thalia hotel for 2 weeks self catering in august having booked last min. Having read the review before we left i was slightly nervous. I found the staff friendly and helpful and were there to ensure you had a good holiday.

The rooms were basic but very clean which was done daily and who wants to cook whilst on holiday! I did have a problem with the hob and could not heat water for a coffee but this was sorted immediately after speaking to the staff. The only negative i found was the size of the bathroom but there was always plenty of hot water.

I had a room on the ground floor near the bar and had no issues with the music from the bar as it was always turned down at midnight so did not disturb us.

I travelled with my daughter and a friend with her children and i found that it was a great place for kids as all the staff were friendly, the pool area with slide was great and it did not get too busy there was always sunbeds available without having to get up in the middle of the night. The bar was a friendly place to be and the kids loved the games area and the play area and the internet access!!

Thalia Hotel is close to the beach and all the local amenities and is a great base for a holiday in Rhodes as Pefkos is a lovely resort.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: family friendly
  • Good For: Beach
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 37 »

Explore area

Map for Thalia Hotel Closest airport: Rhodes Diagoras (RHO) 23 miles

Travellers also viewed

Traveller photo of Thalia Hotel Traveller photo of Thalia Hotel Traveller photo of Thalia Hotel Thalia Hotel photos (5 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Thalia Hotel
  • by doesy

    " Lindos and the Roulis restuarant for value. The glass bottom boat trip. "

  • by dflmk1991

    " Palm cocktail bar + Enigma Restaurant + Oasis (good garlic bread). "

  • by chazer

    " La Erina resturant, Eclipse bar, Trip to Cymi Island "

  • by thomas5050

    " Enigma, Angel Bar, Smile restaurants. Lardos and Lindos are a must to visit. "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " A long walk to the beach especially in hot weather. "

Similar hotels around Pefkos

Hotels near Thalia Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thalia Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Thalia Hotel? Share your insight.

Thalia Hotel is also called:

  • thalia hotel pefkos