Island Escape Cruise Ship

, Thomson Cruises
Island Escape Cruise Ship
Check the latest prices for this cruise
Show Prices
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 368 »
Fantastic cruise

"Just got home after a weeks holiday on the island escape,fantastic holiday,lovely comfortable clean room,food brilliant service brilliant,the staff work so hard on this boat especially the entertainment team,never laughed as much in all my life they were brilliant never a dull moment,met so many lovely friendly people on the ship,highly recommend you won't regret it,loved the captains daily chats,all the staff are a credit to Thompson & the island escape don't listen to negative reviews if you have booked to go on the ship you won't regret it as we had a amazing week I'm sorry to see this ship being taken out of service this year as I would have certainly booked again for next year."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

island escape

"This was our 6th cruise on the island escape and absolutely love it the staff are,so friendly and professional it's such a shame it is being taken of at the end of the year my only criticism would be about a young gentleman who was part of the entertainment team called gee who loved to keep reminding people about the fact that he was gay who cares but why keep reminding us he is good at his job but should learn to tone it down a bit otherwise as always a super holiday."

by
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

First time on a cruise

"We've just got back from our cruise on the island escape. What a lovely holiday we had. This was all down to the service on the ship. There was not one thing that we could find fault with. Its just a shame that the ship wont be there next year"

by
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great value for money

"Have done very many cruises,around 12 with Thompson ,this was our first visit on this ship.have heard and seen a lot of reviews .so decided to to try for our selves,what a ship yes its old but never have we been looked after by such fantastic staff.nothing was to much trouble .for any of them its the friendliest ship we have ever been on,friendliest passengers we have ever met.with great choice of food at all times,well presented and cooked the ship is spotlessly clean,

The cabin service was first class,the shows were fantastic,we could not fault it for the money we paid,The ship is tired,but comfortable ,

Would we go again we certainly hope to before she is DE-comissioned.

Our thanks to all the entertainment staff especially Gee .what a star this young man he is certainly a wonderful asset to the Thompson team.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2015
  • Advice: book on deck 7 mid ship it is ideally situated for the pub and Ocean Theatre just down on flight of stairs to island restaurant
by
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

21/4/2015 bad booking agents

"Ive been on ship before and had a great time went with 2friends we are 72and74 we got allocated a room with 2single beds and2bunkk beds and asked to be moved price for a room for 1 £120 thought it was ridiculous so cabin boy put mattress on floor and that's where I had to sleep all week definitely travel agents fault as he knew our ages £869 to sleep on floor ridiculous came home shattered"

by
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Island escape

"We have gone on two previous cruises on the escape, yes the ship is older than most but it is clean very well organized and the food is great the entertainment is superb, the staff are fantastic.

I can not find anything to complain about Thomson cruises, we have also been on the destiny around the Caribbean and are looking forward to our next cruise in May 2016.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Keep up the good work and maybe offer future cruises at a duscount if booked whilst in holiday
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our first cruise

"My partner and i have just come home on 28/4/15 after a fab time on the Island Escape. The food was fantastic as was all the drinks, the ship was kept very clean as was all the eating area's. Toilets deck bar lifts pool all very clean and cleaned constantly. All the staff were happy and very friendly nothing was too much for them. Our cabin was 7511 on deck 7 an inside cabin it was always clean, with comfortable beds nice shower area, even though it was just a basic inside cabin. The ship was very efficiently run and the whole holiday very well organized from start to finish. We were well entertained nightly and there was a great comedian named Terry Cotta. We saw some lovely countries and had some fantastic trips, all in all an amazing first cruise and it will not be our last well worth every penny. Also the ship was full and we did not meet anyone complaining or ill everyone was happy and well. So if you are booked look forwards and enjoy. Paula James and Tony Jewke.s"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: as we didnot have a window in our cabin maybe a channel on tv telling you the weather every morning we could not always hear the captains
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant value

"We have just returned today from our Island Escape cruise. We have been very surprised as it was all inclusive we did not have great hopes for it,as we thought there would be a lot of drunken people about that was absolutely not the case. The ship is a bit tired especially the cabin and beds not to brilliant but everywhere is very clean, very friendly staff and the food was always a great choice. The only criticism would be there was nowhere to sit in the quiet except your cabin. The value for money was amazing."

by
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

ready for the scrap yard

"Total waste of a week, noro virus on board, (came free) ,no running water for 2days, had to use toilets on lido deck,if we could have flown home in Rome we would have done."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: don't go
by
1 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

amazing cruise

"I went on this cruise and my first impression was WOW! I was very surprised to find that my transition from the airport to the cruise ship was very organized. As soon as we boarded the staff made us feel very welcome. When we reached our cabin we found that it was a comfortable size which was very hygienic and tidy.

There was not a dull night because the entertainment was second to none. We especially enjoyed Ross and his group as we found them very funny. Even though we didn't take children it seemed like family entertainment.

Our food we had on board was outstanding especially in the island restaurant. The variety of food seemed to suit different dietary needs.

The waiters were exemplary as nothing was too much trouble and they treated you as good friends.

The itinerary was well planned. Our favorite spots were Corsica and Rome. Although the weather changed the itinerary it wasn't through any fault of the ship yet they still gave us another choice of excursions.

We could tell that the ship was old but it didn't make any difference as it offers everything a 'fancy' ship would offer.

The maid service in our room was excellent. She tidied the room in the morning and turned it down in the evening. She surprised us with a sweet surprise under our pillows every night.

The bar staff in The Sail Away Pub were so friendly and nice that they kept the cocktails coming all night.

I would definitely recommend it to families and friends. I enjoyed it so much I am going back in April!
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2014, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: try new experiences
by
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

first cruise not the last

"The island escape may be old, but I have stayed in many hotels with wallpaper coming off the wall, no door on the toilet etc. you cant compare this ship with any hotel as some do, i cruised on this ship in July/august 2014.i cannot find a single thing to complain about, it is clean,drinks are good, entertainment outstanding,,staff very friendly, etc. people moan about the slightest thing. pleas don't rely on these reviews just take a cruise and then see what you think. i honestly think the island escape is a wonderful ship as are the crew and facilities.if you want some kind of luxury then why the hell are you reading these reviews. pay 3 or 4 times as much if that's what you want.i am booking up again on the island escape in 2016."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: tour the ship as much as possible, its well woth it
by
10 / 10

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Never again!

"This is a review of our personal experience. People reading this must bear in mind that we are not drinkers and therefore, our experience was not made any better under the influence of alcohol. With a clear head we found the ship to be dirty in general. Mold around porthole windows, lipstick on plastic cups from previous user. Within 3 hours of booking into our cabin the male cleaner had entered our room no less than 5 times and moved items from the bed into drawers, this may sound ok in principal but we had put a do not disturb sign on the door that was clearly disregarded and our drawers and belongings had been disturbed. Rather than repeatedly rifle through cabins their time could have been better utilized with a mop and bucket and an anti mold cleaner.

It was late afternoon before we managed to eat, I think the food had been waiting for us since we left our home at 6am that morning, it certainly tasted like it. Good place if you wish to diet. Maintenance going on all around, constant smell of paint fumes on deck, covering dirty, rusty metal with a fresh coat of paint above where we sunbathed. Only selective sunbathing areas available as deckchairs tied up and stacked so high it was impossible to get at them. Sticky carpets underfoot and windows in the bar that were covered in mold and sticky drink spills. Asked for assistance from reception on numerous occasions regarding limiting the cleaners repeated entry into our room and they were unhelpful and down right rude. First and LAST cruise, never again.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2014
  • Advice: complete overhaul- tired, dirty.
by
1 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 368 »

Average rating

7 / 10
(816 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
357
Good
170
Average
71
Poor
80
Awful
128

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8/10

Need a hotel before or after your Island Escape cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Top traveller tips for Island Escape Cruise Ship
  • by Kathleen Connolly

    " Have a hairdryer from reception much better than our travel dryer also it american plugs. "

  • by Kerry LeCras

    " Use the drinks package in advance its worth it and make sure you go on an excursion and the show team is a must see. Ben voice is amazing. "

  • by Boblynne

    " See the shows they are top class "

  • by travelling duo

    " Be on the ship for the itinerary and not for the cruising experience necessarily! "

  • by sandracl2

    " Get the drinks package - 95 pounds for a couple. Well worth it! "

  • by SS

    " only travel on it in the summer when stormy seas are unlikely "

  • by Steve Pringle

    " Do your homework on the places that you are going to visit. "

  • by MIW

    " American plug adapters and don't buy the drinks package - not worth it! "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Island Escape Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Island Escape Cruise Ship? Share your insight.