Island Escape Cruise Ship

, Thomson Cruises
Island Escape Cruise Ship
Check the latest prices for this cruise
Show Prices
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 369 »
First and last

"Cabin 4044 deck 4 Had to endure two weeks of engine noise,could not sleep even with ear plugs, ruined the holiday, never again with Thomson cruise or holidays."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2015, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Don't bother
by
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First time cruisers !

"My wife and I have just returned from our first ever cruise 21 – 28 July 2015 on Island Escape.

So we had no cruise experience for comparison purposes. However for other types of holiday we have made good use of Tripadvisor which has led to us having some very good experiences. We therefore normally would have steered clear of the Island Escape, due to the proportion of bad reviews to good ones.

However we decided to give it a try. The result was very much better than we could have hoped for.

We noticed all the comments about food, poor drinks, dingy cabins, rocky ride, crowded restaurants and so on.

Here is what we experienced.

Transfer and embarkation very slick and quick: chirpy and cheerful. Had a day to become acquainted with ship. Although full, it did not seem that way.

Cabin: not enormous but because clever use is made of stowing space, our clothes and other bits and pieces disappeared leaving us with plenty of room. Comfortable mattresses (deep memory foam) and nice bedding. Everything clean if dated. Bathroom definitely dated, but functional; plenty of hot water.

We had studied which floor, where and booked a specific cabin, based on advices on sites and previous reviews. So we were on 8th floor near front.

This made our nights sleep the quietest we have probably experienced in any type of holiday accommodation: one would have thought we were the only people on the floor; so no problem with noise at all. Obviously there are other parts of the ship where noise may be unavoidable.

When there was noise it is likely that it would have been heard to a greater or lesser degree throughout the ship, ie when the thrusters started for docking man oeuvres etc – but that is what you get on a ship…..it is not fixed to the ground.

The other noise was when on one night we ran into some bad weather, which fortunately was coming right at us bow-on. So there was quite a bit of what the captain called “slamming” ie the wave hitting the bow. However as it was a steady motion we managed to mainly sleep through this too. What was a bit less easy to deal with, unless you got your head down, was one night when the waves were coming side on, even though it was not really stormy: it made the ship roll a bit and this is what I think makes people sick. ~ fortunately we were not and I don’t think it bothered too many people.

You MUST respect the notices about not putting anything other than toilet paper down the loo…otherwise you will block the pipes for yourself and others: again fortunately we were not aware of this occurring. This is not because of poor design, but is in the nature of many ships plumbing.

We never had any problems finding seating in the restaurants; the thing is, that it is a pretty continuous operation…..so everyone does not arrive at one time as if someone has rung a dinner-gong. Only one night was it tight and the answer was to wait for a bit on deck or try another restaurant. The food is good; not gourmet standard but good enough to ensure that you are guaranteed to put on weight ! Drinks are fine too…not paint stripper.

We were not that bothered about the entertainment and yet on several occasions were thinking that, subject to the limitations of the ships dimensions, it was really very well done.

We never felt crowded; there were lots of places to sit and take the rays. The only place that looked like a bit of train station was by the pool as it was too small for the number of people who were sunbathing around it. However it is likely that a larger pool would affect the ships balance and so that was all that could be… so for a good days play in the water, it was better to go ashore and find a beach nearby.

The ship was very clean; constantly being polished and maintained; plenty of staff and we never saw one grumpy response; instead there was plenty of courtesy and friendliness, which did not seem forced.

The ship felt cheerful; wide range of people on it, including families: quite a few disabled people so care had been taken to cater for all needs and tastes. We did not hear a single moan from anyone on board. The staff did not seem harassed or cowed and we felt that an effort was made from the Captain down, to maintain an efficient and happy ship. We did encounter some of the staff ashore in their free time…and they would hardly have been there if they had been run into the ground. We think if it was otherwise we would have sensed it.

All in all we felt it was good value for money… ie it cost us £2100 for 2 people for 1 week, which included flights from Bristol to Palma, transfers, food – as much as we wanted - , tips, drinks, specific cabin booked, ie outside with large window and specific number. None of this was ever fumbled by any part of the company or cruise staff.

We do not like the compulsory “gratuities” that some other cruise lines use: pay the staff a decent wage in the first place rather than that egregious practice that whiffs of the practice of airlines who levied huge credit or debit card charges…now thankfully restricted, or supermarket 2 for 1 offers which make you feel that you are being taken for a ride.

So we are not rating the ship against other ships or cruises…merely against what we were led to expect about this particular ship. The ship is supposedly going to be retired and we hope that Thomsons note the comments about what works and what turns people off. We give Island Escape 9 out of 10.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2015
  • Advice: Don't expect the world, then you should be pleasantly surprised
by
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Womderful

"Did not know what to expect, but will go again !!! Food - certainly no complaints. Kids Club Team - Hard workers, very polite and felt safe leaving my child with them. Waiters, cleaners were amazing nothing was too much for them. all staff were well mannered and polite. The games for the children and grown ups were a joy to behold ... very funny. Last but not least the entertainments team.... eat your heart out " West End Shows" very professional and enjoyable... my daughter was over the moon at having her photo taken with all the princesses and handsome young men...especially Brandon the team captain whom she had a crush on from the start. We were encouraged by him to enjoy the entertainment and it was nice of him to introduce himself to us a lovely smile...... 1 moan - Assistant Manager ( Entertainment) Ruth I think ? telling off one off the children's team in front of passengers ... not nice.... shame its going hope all the staff will be going on the next ship they made the cruise ......"

  • Holiday details: May 2015
  • Advice: enjoy the entertainment
by
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a fantastic time

"This was my first cruise and I'd been told by my friend it was a lovely ship so we booked a week together and what a fabulous time we had. The ship is old but so well cared for - exceptionally clean and the crew are amazing from housekeeping right through to the entertainment - even looked forward to the captains stories every day. The food was really good and I have food allergies and have never had so much choice and everything labelled so I knew what I was getting which is more than I can say for some hotels.We had a twin room with a balcony and it was a good size and the beds very comfortable. Such a shame it's the ships last year and hope the staff will all be transferred to their new one as each and everyone of the we came into contact with were friendly and very helpful a credit to Thomson holidays.Would I go on another cruise - a definite yes from me."

by
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic cruise

"Just got home after a weeks holiday on the island escape,fantastic holiday,lovely comfortable clean room,food brilliant service brilliant,the staff work so hard on this boat especially the entertainment team,never laughed as much in all my life they were brilliant never a dull moment,met so many lovely friendly people on the ship,highly recommend you won't regret it,loved the captains daily chats,all the staff are a credit to Thompson & the island escape don't listen to negative reviews if you have booked to go on the ship you won't regret it as we had a amazing week I'm sorry to see this ship being taken out of service this year as I would have certainly booked again for next year."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

island escape

"This was our 6th cruise on the island escape and absolutely love it the staff are,so friendly and professional it's such a shame it is being taken of at the end of the year my only criticism would be about a young gentleman who was part of the entertainment team called gee who loved to keep reminding people about the fact that he was gay who cares but why keep reminding us he is good at his job but should learn to tone it down a bit otherwise as always a super holiday."

by
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First time on a cruise

"We've just got back from our cruise on the island escape. What a lovely holiday we had. This was all down to the service on the ship. There was not one thing that we could find fault with. Its just a shame that the ship wont be there next year"

by
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great value for money

"Have done very many cruises,around 12 with Thompson ,this was our first visit on this ship.have heard and seen a lot of reviews .so decided to to try for our selves,what a ship yes its old but never have we been looked after by such fantastic staff.nothing was to much trouble .for any of them its the friendliest ship we have ever been on,friendliest passengers we have ever met.with great choice of food at all times,well presented and cooked the ship is spotlessly clean,

The cabin service was first class,the shows were fantastic,we could not fault it for the money we paid,The ship is tired,but comfortable ,

Would we go again we certainly hope to before she is DE-comissioned.

Our thanks to all the entertainment staff especially Gee .what a star this young man he is certainly a wonderful asset to the Thompson team.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2015
  • Advice: book on deck 7 mid ship it is ideally situated for the pub and Ocean Theatre just down on flight of stairs to island restaurant
by
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

21/4/2015 bad booking agents

"Ive been on ship before and had a great time went with 2friends we are 72and74 we got allocated a room with 2single beds and2bunkk beds and asked to be moved price for a room for 1 £120 thought it was ridiculous so cabin boy put mattress on floor and that's where I had to sleep all week definitely travel agents fault as he knew our ages £869 to sleep on floor ridiculous came home shattered"

by
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Island escape

"We have gone on two previous cruises on the escape, yes the ship is older than most but it is clean very well organized and the food is great the entertainment is superb, the staff are fantastic.

I can not find anything to complain about Thomson cruises, we have also been on the destiny around the Caribbean and are looking forward to our next cruise in May 2016.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Keep up the good work and maybe offer future cruises at a duscount if booked whilst in holiday
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our first cruise

"My partner and i have just come home on 28/4/15 after a fab time on the Island Escape. The food was fantastic as was all the drinks, the ship was kept very clean as was all the eating area's. Toilets deck bar lifts pool all very clean and cleaned constantly. All the staff were happy and very friendly nothing was too much for them. Our cabin was 7511 on deck 7 an inside cabin it was always clean, with comfortable beds nice shower area, even though it was just a basic inside cabin. The ship was very efficiently run and the whole holiday very well organized from start to finish. We were well entertained nightly and there was a great comedian named Terry Cotta. We saw some lovely countries and had some fantastic trips, all in all an amazing first cruise and it will not be our last well worth every penny. Also the ship was full and we did not meet anyone complaining or ill everyone was happy and well. So if you are booked look forwards and enjoy. Paula James and Tony Jewke.s"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: as we didnot have a window in our cabin maybe a channel on tv telling you the weather every morning we could not always hear the captains
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant value

"We have just returned today from our Island Escape cruise. We have been very surprised as it was all inclusive we did not have great hopes for it,as we thought there would be a lot of drunken people about that was absolutely not the case. The ship is a bit tired especially the cabin and beds not to brilliant but everywhere is very clean, very friendly staff and the food was always a great choice. The only criticism would be there was nowhere to sit in the quiet except your cabin. The value for money was amazing."

by
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 369 »

Average rating

7 / 10
(820 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
357
Good
170
Average
71
Poor
80
Awful
128

Rating by feature

Room: 6/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8/10

Need a hotel before or after your Island Escape cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Top traveller tips for Island Escape Cruise Ship
  • by Kathleen Connolly

    " Have a hairdryer from reception much better than our travel dryer also it american plugs. "

  • by Kerry LeCras

    " Use the drinks package in advance its worth it and make sure you go on an excursion and the show team is a must see. Ben voice is amazing. "

  • by Boblynne

    " See the shows they are top class "

  • by travelling duo

    " Be on the ship for the itinerary and not for the cruising experience necessarily! "

  • by sandracl2

    " Get the drinks package - 95 pounds for a couple. Well worth it! "

  • by SS

    " only travel on it in the summer when stormy seas are unlikely "

  • by Steve Pringle

    " Do your homework on the places that you are going to visit. "

  • by MIW

    " American plug adapters and don't buy the drinks package - not worth it! "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Island Escape Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Island Escape Cruise Ship? Share your insight.