Thomson Spirit Cruise Ship

Thomson Cruises
8 / 10
Average rating (301 reviews)
Thomson Spirit Cruise Ship
Check the latest prices for this cruise
 

Traveller reviews

by
7 / 10
Tired ship

" Regardless of other travelers negative remarks the food was good. Not sure where the courgettes with everything was being served. There was a good selection of All veg including broccoli carrots peas sweet corn etc etc.

The compass Rose was very good the buffet was also. Didn't try the Sirocco as it was extra.

Cabin was tired to say the least especially the shower room. Having said that it was clean there were toiletries and the water was always hot. The cabin staff were excellent.

Entertainment was also excellent again regardless of some negative comments. It was varied and for amateurs very well presented.

Outside space was the most disappointing part of the ship. Very cramped sometimes difficult to find a seat let alone a sunbed. Lido café outside was very good for midday snacks/meals.

Trips were good although I was unable to do a couple as they were classed as active. Ephesus was very enjoyable so was Sicily. My last trip was cancelled due to lack of interest.

Overall a good holiday but would not go on Spirit again but would definitely go with Thomsons and I have cruised with two other different cruise companies.

If people want top class cruises they need to come up with the readies asked for those type of ships!
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2016, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: All inclusive is worth the extra if you like a glass of wine or two or similar. Bottled water is expensive on the ship but is cheaper whilst on shore on a trip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

by
1 / 10
AWFUL

"If you like the following:

• poor food & choice (carrots & courgettes with every type of meal including curry)

• wooden sticks instead of tea spoons to stir your tea/coffee

• a ship that shudders with constant vibration on all decks even when not moving

• a very hard bed

• sometimes only cold water in bathroom

• loos that refuse to flush until some considerable time after you press the button

• worn, dimly lit cabins

• paying an excess for some coffees, drinks and all water even when you have bought a drinks package

• very loud music and announcements (they must think everyone is deaf)

• paying £23 to use the safe (after being told when booking that it was free)

• poor value rushed excursions, Thomson staff disinterested when complaints raised

• poor repetitive entertainment, not West End standard as advertised

• badly dressed impolite passengers at dinner

• a small cramped sun deck, tiny pool

• leaving port early after noon

• your photo taken every day including during excursions

• Captains Gala Night with introduction to senior officers who say nothing, and yet another 3 photo ‘opportunities’ which took 45 minutes out of the 1 hour event

then cruise on this one star ship.

The only good point of this ship is the excellent staff. The best part of the holiday was leaving the ship and coming home.

For the money we paid we would have received much better value with another cruise line.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2016, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: DON'T GO ON IT

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
Impressed

"My wife and I 1st Time, utterly impressed, Waiter and Wine service at dinner. Like a thing from the past. Downtown Abbey,Lady Mary.eat your heart out. will definitely go again on the Spirit."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Just Book.

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
5 / 10
Black Sea cruise

"Although we knew the spirit was the oldest boat in the fleet there was still no excuse for some of the repairs . The lido deck pool tiles were broken and sharp and the small pool next to it was rarely clean. When we arrived on the ship we were given a room with two single beds in that couldn't be pushed together even though we had booked a double. We were told they were sailing at full capacity and couldn't be moved . After complaining they eventually moved us . Under duress to a room where we could sleep together. After talking to some of the passengers who had been on board the previous week and were on their second week ,told us they had been offered room upgrades . I think Thomson are taking double money for these rooms letting customers pay on line and then upgrading existing customers on board so when the new passengers arrive they are downgraded from what they've paid for. I was disgusted by the way I was treated by the reception staff. Even though they refunded the difference in price I would of preferred the room I had originally paid for. The serving staff on this trip make your holiday especially the casino staff who were lovely. The food was nice but nothing special. Deck space is extremely limited and the pools very small . The entertainment was good but got a bit samey just being like a Broadway sing show 7 nights . Not much for a younger crowd or enough variety . Although the comedian we had one night was brilliant. Would I cruise with Thomson again .. Maybe but not on the spirit too small and too old reminded me of a rusty ferry. Thank god the weather was good ."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Take your booking form and check what room you have deinstalled booked .
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
Fantastic cruise brilliant staff and crew

"The ship was clean our cabin was cleaned thoroughly by refine and Joefrey couldn't do enough for you. Reception very helpful cruise director Paul Evans Evans was excellent entertainment excellent especially top man and max and Brandi. Compass rose excellent never had to wait for a table. Drinks were never far away on the top decks waiters and waitress came round continually to make sure you had everything you needed.

This was our 6th cruise with Thomson will see you again next year can't wait!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2015, booked with Thomson

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
5 / 10
penny pinching thomson cruise

"just comeback from a Thomson cruise round the Ageon sea turkey and Greece

this is are sixth cruise and I think Thomsons are going downhill, first of all the compass rose restaurant was terrible very poor menu everybody was complain, was told by one chef they were on a budget,four dishes to pick from all poor and below the menu it says rib eye steak £9.99 sirloin £9,99 anything decent you have to pay extra they were penny pinching all the time, one 8x6 photo £25. all the ships crew and staff were brilliant.the self service lido restaurant was pretty good.will be my last cruise with Thomsons



Brian
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2015, Booked Independently

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
shambles

"If you wish for a holiday with long queues, staff which are sacked by the end of the week and cabin which are are falling apart and dangerous then pick this holiday you will not be disappointed. Sorry forgot the rushed tours we encountered too."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't go
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
8 / 10
good value for money

"Lovely clean ship.excellent selection of food all day long.Staff lovely and very helpful at all times.we has an outside cabin on deck 4.which was a good size.and kept beautiful and clean by the cabin staff .we found all the staff ,waiter.s ,cabin crew,officers .very approachable at all times We have to point out that we have done around 12 cruises with Thomsons and this was our first time on this ship .The shows were absolutely fantastic some of the best we ever seen on any cruise ship.well done to each and every one .

Maureen and Len
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: book an outside cabin

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
8 / 10
good value for money

"Lovely clean ship.excellent selection of food all day long.Staff lovely and very helpful at all times.we has an outside cabin on deck 4.which was a good size.and kept beautiful and clean by the cabin staff .we found all the staff ,waiter.s ,cabin crew,officers .very approachable at all times We have to point out that we have done around 12 cruises with Thomsons and this was our first time on this ship .The shows were absolutely fantastic some of the best we ever seen on any cruise ship.well done to each and every one .

Maureen and Len
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: book an outside cabin

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
7 / 10
Dropping standards?

"Just got back from another week on the Thomson Spirit – this being our 6th time over the years. Really love this ship and the friendliest crew in the fleet; however, the standards seem to be going back generally throughout the ship. Most noticeably in the Compass Rose Restaurant where many of the same staff are now serving many more tables and they do not have time for the pleasantries or paper roses and serenading that was an everyday part of previous cruises. The food on this cruise was not as varied as on earlier sailings – on the last night for example there were three fish-themed main courses (fish and chips, seafood thermidor, or shellfish linguini) and the long wait between courses on every evening meant that a lot of passengers did not stay for desert or coffee if they wanted to catch the first show in the Broadway Lounge. This is an unacceptable delay and Thomson should take note but they probably won’t !!

We only have one warning for anyone who chooses not to visit the Holy sites when staying in Israel; if the docking port is Ashdod then save yourself the bother of getting the shuttle bus into the nearby town as it is very very poor in terms of shopping. If you decide to ignore this and make the trip, then don’t bother to take your camera as it is not photogenic in any shape or form.

If your pastime is sunbathing you will be disappointed by the quality of the sunbeds on the main Lido deck: they are worn out and dirty and badly need to be replaced – but once again Thomson will opt to ignore the complaints and just keep taking your money.

Drinks were reasonable and it would take a seasoned hard drinker to get value for money on the drinks packages on offer. We didn’t skimp on our drinks and only spent half what it would have cost us if we had chosen the all-inclusive options. That is something to think about as many of the drinks from the bar incur an additional charge even on the all-inclusive package.

Will we continue to book on the Spirit? Yes – but there is a limit to what we will tolerate and Thomson could be close to that limit this year.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2015, Booked Independently

20 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
CABIN FROM HELL!!

"Our cruise the Baltic and Norway, taken on June - July 2014 ,should have been a wonderful experience but the single cabin our son was given was horrendous .The cabin number 730 was more akin to a youth hostel [and no I am not exaggerating] more a 1 star than 3/4 star, but that was just the start , the noise and vibration was unbelievable.The first night he had no sleep with the deafening noise and the vibration causing doors to open, the ceiling panels were dislodged ,every thing moved and creaked . We took our complaint to the reception only to be told that the ship was full so their was no alternative , he had to stay where he was. From then on our son started with headaches which turned into full blown migraines obviously caused from lack of sleep and the constant loud banging which he had to endure every night.We found that the engine room is next to the cabin.

If this noise level had been in a work place and was experienced for 8 hours , then the employer could be prosecuted if hearing deference is not provided [obviously this could not be worn as the safety alarm would not be heard, although he could not hear any of the announcements anyway! ] So we ask how do Thomson feel this is a cabin fit to sell to passengers? They also charge you for a single so it is double the price charged for other passengers.

So please if you are considering a cruise on the Thomson Spirit and you need a single cabin , do not accept !!!

CABIN 730 THE CABIN FROM HELL !!!!!!!!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014, booked with Thomson

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
Brian & Gillys best cruise on the best ship xx

"April 2014.

The spirit Fab U Lous was my husbands first time on a cruise I cruised before we met I've been on the black prince (not sailing now) I think and on the Thomson dream but hey the spirit is the best. Firstly the cabin was on deck 3 inside only draw back was not quite sure what time it was and what the weather was doing outside but had a friend on board with a cabin with. Window who rang my cabin to advise. The cabin in was very spacious and adequate for our two week stay so if you are not bothered about the time and weather go for this cabin. The cabin staff are tremendous and can't do enough for you. The food is excellent in all food areas but my favorite was the compass rose as being on holiday love to be waited on the wine waiter mario (good singer if you get to see him in the staff show) is a dream. And our two waiters and if you are reading this review we apologise but your names escape me but i loves ya. I could go on for ever but last thing is the entertainment staff brilliant my husband doe not do shows but every night we was there they were excellent and Richard the main man top dog mate. We loved this cruise so much we are returning in May this year and hope that all the staff who we met will be there so we can say hello. Thank you top notch cruise.

Mr & Mrs Yarwood

Thornton cleveleys
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2014
  • Advice: Just enjoy the whole experience what ever you do

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
188
Good
56
Average
23
Poor
13
Awful
9

Rating by feature

Room
8.5/10
Service
9.5/10
Food
9/10
Value
8.5/10
Cleanliness
9/10
Location
8.5/10

Need a hotel before or after your Thomson Spirit cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Top traveller tips for Thomson Spirit Cruise Ship

  • by Andy B

    " If you can get the All Inclusive Drinks package - do it - you'll save a fortune! "

  • by Stevem039

    " I would certainly suggest the upgrade to a higher cabin, as we did.. The lower decks seemed rather warm n stuffy "

  • by John, Karen and Molly

    " don't book the trips, most places can be explored on your own "

  • by scattycat

    " Make the most of the on-board activities "

  • by janelizzie.

    " Attend the welcome session and read the daily cruise mazagine features the days activities. "

  • by Lyn Appleby

    " Relax and enjoy the experience. The crew are all so friendly and helpful "

  • by Kaye Penny

    " Watch as many shows as you can - excellent entertainments team. "

  • by mick2395

    " Ask for deck 6 near everything "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thomson Spirit Cruise Ship?