Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship

Thomson Cruises
7.5 / 10
Average rating (514 reviews)
Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship
Check the latest prices for this cruise
 

Traveller reviews

by
1 / 10
New name for old ship

"All I can say is this is the worst ship I have ever been on!!! It was more like HMS Butlins! The cabins were the same the entertainment the same and the passengers the same. Yes if you love Butlins you will love this ship but more like a ferry HMS Butlins."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2016
  • Advice: Make sure you love Butlins
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

by
8 / 10
A great sailaway

"Just back from our third trip on this boat. It is the friendliest place with superb food and entertainment. The Show team perform each night in the Broadway lounge and they are extremely professional. One particular evening was devoted to the shows put on by Cameron Macintosh over the years. It was brilliant. Dan as Fagin and then later as Inspector Javer was as good as anyone we have seen in the West end. The whole team lead by Paul, the entertainment manager were really very good. People say service is slow in the restaurant but we didn't find it too bad. Let's face it you are on holiday and don't want to rush. The portions are not large but 4 courses and coffee were ample - and l like my food!!

There are lots of other entertainment venues, something for everyone. Our cabin steward was such a great person. He looked after our comfortable cabin very well. Thanks Komang. Thanks again Thomson.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2016, booked with Cost vacations
  • Advice: Eat in the Meriden ala carte restaurant.

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
Fantastic cruise !!!!

"Just returned from a fabulous Caribbean cruise, could not find one complaint with this cruise,( a big relief after reading some reviews) for anyone who likes a few drinks the all inclusive package is well worth the money !! Entertainment was very good indeed, food was delicious, rooms were comfortable. For any cider drinkers out there Strongbow on draught!!"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2016
  • Advice: All the islands are worth visiting, especially St Kitts railway

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
9 / 10
Ship Great- Thomson pre-cruise booking a total shambles

"We have cruised many times before on various cruise lines including 3 times with Thomson, and always had no problems. Firstly let me say the cruise Paradise Islands and Tropical Delights (Caribbean- 24 Jan 2016 - 7 Feb 2016) was fabulous. The ship small and friendly; staff all well trained and friendly whether reception staff- a big thank you to 'Bricks' and Johnny for sorting out our issues; cabin stewards- thank you Leah; waiting staff; entertainment good; fun cruise director- a captain with good social skills; food very good. My partner and I are both on gluten free diets for medical reasons and we were very well catered for with gluten free bread; crackers; muffins; scones and cookies for tea and lots of choices on the menu. Spoke to the chef who said they do not use flour to thicken sauces or gravies. Items on the menu and in the restaurants are labelled GF and if you are not sure you can always ask. They say will make you anything if you don't see anything you like, but we never had to. We were in cabin 084 a deluxe on deck 8 which was large had plenty of storage space and had been recently refurbished, with a bath and shower; a minibar (necessary for medications - the cheaper grades of cabin do not have them) and bathrobes. All cabins have hairdryer and tea/coffee facilities. This cabin has a lifeboat outside the windows but didn't entirely block the view outside. Unfortunately Thomson pre-cruise department is useless. We had paid the extra £42 to reserve a specific cabin, which had been recommended by them as we didn't want an obstructed view. We were allocated a completely different cabin, despite having paperwork confirming our cabin number. It seems that Thomson do not pass this information onto the ship; nor the fact that we had explained we were on special diets; and neither that I had paid for a gluten -free celebration cake for my partner- despite being charged for it quickly enough. Fortunately the reception staff, gave us a refund of monies on both accounts, and also offered us a room change at the end of the first week (it was full for the first week) and also offered us a meal in one of the specialty restaurants for no charge which we accepted. Ate in Kora-La the Asian restaurant and it was fabulous- you can create you own curry! We decided in the end not to change room as we were actually quite happy with the one we were in and didn't want the hassle of packing, moving and unpacking again. This problem with cabin allocation seems quite common so Thomson should be aware and should sort the problem out in the UK not leave it for the ship staff to sort out. Booked a late check out room which was worth the £35 to have a room until 3pm. Had to move cabin and were given 0351 an inside cabin, which was perfectly adequate and had also been refurbished. There is lots of up selling on board whether for photos; drinks packages or the specialty restaurants. This is not exclusive to Thomson's- other cruise- lines do it too- you can always just say no. The drinks seemed about normal pub prices."

  • Holiday details: Jan 2016, Booked Independently

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
Trying not to be disappointed in advance

"Having read many of the reviews and also our dealings with Thomson ahead of the cruise/stay, I have to say I am facing this trip with huge amounts of trepidation.

Firstly we were "had" on the price of the holiday, the website and booking form stating our hotel room would be deluxe suite with garden views and balcony as it was the only room type left and given a price.... Then after we booked we realized they had added an extra £600 to the bill... Yes we should have been more careful and aware.... Don't do this late at night.

Today, I called Thomson to see if we could upgrade our seats on the plane to premium, it was fully booked but we understand that. However then came the hard sell...., " you haven't booked the drinks package madam, you really should as all drinks especially soft ones and bottled water are incredibly expensive on the boat". I said we didn't drink but this didn't stop the hard sell.... I put the phone down.

I am no longer looking forward to the cruise but more of a get it out of the way before we have our week in Barbados.

This is not how I want to feel ahead of a trip of a lifetime....allegedly .
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2016, Booked Independently

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
9 / 10
Lovely attentive staff, tremendous food, great entertainment.

"Well, this is my 3rd cruise,my spouse's first. I had always bugged up cruises as a holiday and we were not to be disappointed. The staff were friendly, superb and attentive with a sense of humor. I must mention Haha our cabin steward, Agus the bar steward in the Broadway Theater and Hakiman in the Lido Bar for special recognition although everyone was amazing. Wouldn't hesitate to travel on the Celebration again which is a totally different experience to what my close friends suffered on the Majesty which had hired East European staff who were the total opposite apart from some Ukrainian bar stewards who were bullied by their Russian counterparts. Filipinos, Indonesian and North African staff on the Celebration couldn't do enough for their guests, Thomson please take note that it looks like the Majesty has a major problem."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Plan ahead and research the best ways to explore the ports of call.
  • Good For: , City Breaks

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
9 / 10
Thomson Celebration Croation Classics - Fabulous !

"My wife and I just returned from our 1st ever Cruise, on the Celebration, and we had a blast !

From the flight to coaches, pre-board, check in, to the cabin, food, entertainment, staff, fun and enjoyment all round...all elements were run very well and offered great value for money.

The staff in general were excellent, polite and professional.

BEN MOSS the singer is a WOW ! and Thomson are lucky to have him on board.. Keith does a superb job as well. Delfin in Hemming ways was such fun and these all helped make for fun nights.

ONE THING... the Coffee, is not good... maybe needs a change of brand.. aside from that... we'll be back !!
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2015, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
8 / 10
Thomson Celebration (Taste of the Adriatic)

"We were a party of four who all really enjoyed our weeks cruise from Dubrovnik, visiting Valletta,Messina,Brindisi,Kotor,Hvar & back to Dubrovnik.Great itinary,visiting some beautiful places,this was the reason for booking the Celebration.

The Positives-

Thompson should be really proud of their staff,they really do all work so hard. Every member of staff we came across from all departments always greeted you with a smile & a hello ( no mean feat after all the hours they work)

We really couldn't fault the food & service both in the Meridan Restaurant & The Lido.We had no complaints at all.It was lovely to see William again who we'd met on The Dream)but we all agreed that all the waiters & wine waiters as well were all excellent.

The entertainment team very all very good,especially the resident band The Peakles & duo Heart & Mind who played a lot in Horizons bar,all very talented.

Horizons Bar was our favorite bar,wonderful views from up there.

Special mention to David & his team especially Romeo & Matthias who made me some mean SingaPour Slings,always served with a smile & a joke.

Our cabin was always kept clean & tidy by a smiling Jane who even managed to find time to dance in the excellent Crew Talent Show.

Negatives

Cabin 322 The Vibration- I'd read reviews about this previously & yes it was quite annoying & at times noisy especially when docking early,I went prepared & took ear plugs,but I did get used,after my initial negative reaction when we first arrived & I was tired after an early start from Bristol.

Walls thin so at times you can hear people in the cabin next door talking.

Twin beds at opposite sides of the room (frustrating as my husband was too far away for me to be able to dig him in the ribs when he snored one night).

But all in all the positives far out weigh the negatives & I'd go on the Celebration again if the Itinerary was so good as the staff helped to make it even more memorable.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2015, booked with Thomson

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
Thomson Celebration

"We have just returned from our first ever cruise which was on the Thomson Celebration. Our cruise was for two weeks, Adriatic Affair and Grecian Legends.

We booked a Balcony Suite which was on Deck 9 and although this cost us quite a bit more we found it well worth the money.

The pools were constantly busy so we found the best time for a swim was later in the day. All the food was excellent and the A la cart restaurants were very good. The staff were very good. Cabins were well attended. All the shows were excellent and overall we had a great time and would recommend this holiday.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: The Broadway Shows were as good as any West End Show.

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
3 / 10
And I thought the wives cooking was bad.

"Ship is fine,once you get used to the vibration .Staff are friendly and efficient,Cabins are fine along with a decent shower and kept immaculate. Entertainment is decent.

Thomson have now embarked on squeezing you for cash once on board ,from front seats in the theater to buses to take you out of port into town .

The food is now very poor however ,mostly cheap cuts and little or no variety takes ages to be served in restaurant with the food often congealing on plate.£10 Extra for a cheap supermarket steak with wait for it.....4 chips.

Breakfast is the same every day with poor selection of fruit on offer.

Lunch is again nothing to be excited about so don't bother.

Dinner although 4 courses any fatties you won't gain weight as portions are child like.Stews are often thick and cloying with the same gravy sauce used on most things .Soups are surprisingly good however.

Sweets are mostly manufactured elsewhere defrosted and again bland ,for a gastronomic experience give this a miss.

Plenty cocktails on menu but don't get excited, again they use the cheapest of ingredients to maximize profit.

Would we cruise with them again ......nah profit before customer one step to far on the catering and drink.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Leave your taste buds at home

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
9 / 10
Thomson Celebration

"We cruised the Adriatic for two weeks with the Celebration from the end of July to the beginning of August. This was our first ever cruise and we can honestly say it was amazing. We stayed on level 2 and were pleasantly surprised how roomy the rooms were, we didn't feel claustrophobic at all. We couldn't fault the food as there was so much to choose from, from the buffet to the restaurants. It was also worth taking up the offer of the drinks package. The service from all the staff were amazing and friendly, from the Captain to the staff who did the laundry. You always had a good morning and a good evening. You could see that the staff were well cared for and it showed in the way we were looked after from the day we boarded until the day we left. The shows were very professional too, making sure we saw a different every night. My only criticisms were the photographs and the pool. The photographs were way too expensive and although we bought some, there were many we would like to have had. On the last day we offered to buy the rest at a cheap rate but were refused, so we would say.... Lower your prices and you may be surprised, you will actually sell more. The pool could have been a little larger so you could have a good swim and it was annoying that towels were left on sunbeds and not used, apart from that, we would certainly go back to the Celebration."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Get envolved, enjoy every moment, watch the shows, see the sights.......

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
10 / 10
thomson celebration

"Just returned from Thomson celebration ship, cant praise this ship enough,from the food which was excellent to the entertainment which was fab, everyone very pleasant and helpful, will certainly be booking again,cruised Dubrovnik,split Venice etc very interesting stops all easily accessible no problems getting to and from these destinations and a big thank you goes to all the appropriate people who helped us when we forgot our passports on the last day. To the Thomson staff, who where very very helpful and the Croatian staff at the airport well done to you all. Had a bad experience this year when we booked a cheap deal horrendous, so yes you only get what you pay for Thomson here we come."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2015, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: go to see the peekles group in the liberty bar

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
260
Good
87
Average
50
Poor
29
Awful
58

Rating by feature

Room
7/10
Service
8/10
Food
8/10
Value
6.5/10
Cleanliness
7.5/10
Location
7.5/10

Need a hotel before or after your Thomson Celebration cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Top traveller tips for Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship

  • by pstringy76

    " Do the Excursions.....they may be expensive but the sights you see are priceless "

  • by Toldo west yorkshire

    " pay for a cabin upgrade if you can afford "

  • by Gwen Taylor

    " Bethlehem is a wonderful experience and Alanya is so inviting. The celebration gives the whole day for us all to enjoy the... "

  • by Ayrshire Team

    " Enjoy all the destinations Istanbul and Izmir very different and city stops - Mykonos and Rhodes and Marmaris Kusadasi great... "

  • by Jacki Thew

    " Make a sunbed reservation very early in the morning as no one sticks to the rule of not reserving. "

  • by wo1890524

    " Use a Credit Card to pay on board expenses instead of Debit Card,You get a month to get over aditional expenses trips etc.If on... "

  • by Sue Hennedy Smallshaw

    " prepare in advance for the captains night, we didnt and regretted it. "

  • by ajks

    " Liberties entertainment was good "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thomson Celebration Cruise Ship?