Pontins Southport

Shore Road Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, United Kingdom
3.5  / 10
Average rating (416 reviews)
Hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews

View all reviews

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Pontins Southport

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

by
1 / 10
Absolutely shocking

"Booked 2 night stay after seeing offer on Groupon. Received booking confirmation which said apartment available from 4pm. Arrived just after 4 to be told that check in was now starting at 5 but no explanation given. Joined the queue already forming to get keys and waited 45 minutes whilst trying to pacify 2 young children who were restless. When did get keys was told that room may or may not have been cleaned but that cleaners knew which ones still needed doing. Got out bags from car and dumped them in our apartment that hadn't been cleaned, then went to get some shopping and food for tea. Arrived back at apartment at 6.30 to it still not clean. Had bought food to cook for tea so had to leave it in car and go back out once again for food. Finally had our tea and arrived back at a now "clean" apartment at 8.15. 4 of us were booked into this apartment but only 3 pillows provided, 3 forks in kitchen and 2 tablespoons which meant we had to eat our breakfasts in 2 sittings. Went to reception go ask for more pillows and finally received them at 5.45pm the following day! Floor of apartment was filthy, socks dirty after walking around."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2016, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Stay somewhere else as prison cells look better. Never pay full price to stay here as you would be Very disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

by
1 / 10
Appalling

"I have never been anywhere this bad in all my life! The chalet was dirty the linen was OMG! The Chinese/Indian restaurant was a mess wonky tables dirty cutlery and the food was inedible the onsite shop was a joke! Overpriced and understaffed it was all like something out of the ark the whole place needs shutting down if you're thinking of going DON'T!"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2016, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Clean the place up

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

by
1 / 10
FILTHY

"We have just arrived home from a 2 night break at this park, traveling with my party of 2 adults and 3 children (17,16 & 8) and have to say this is the dirtiest place I have ever been to in my life, the chalet had not been cleaned properly on arrival, this I can deal with as I appreciate there is a lot of chalets to turn around in a small amount of time, I always go prepared and take my flash with bleach, having booked the " top of the range" chalet we did think the accommodation would be ok, but it did not seem to be any better than the budget, only with the "lecky" included, the mattresses were obviously very old with springs sticking out and covered in stains, the microwave could not be used without moving it on to the table as there was no where to plug it in, all the windows were absolutely filthy and the curtains were full of stains and covered in dust at the top, but it was the communal areas that really spoiled it for us, the pool changing rooms were filthy, toilets dirty and stank, floor covered in urine, after getting changed we looked at the water which looked absolutely filthy, a very funny color with bits floating in it and decided that there was no way we were getting in there, I couldn't believe that others were just getting in, letting their children get in, it should carry a public health warning, I would strongly recommend if you are planning a holiday here , DON'T BOTHER, save an extra couple of weeks and go to haven instead. I know this is a cheap holiday but there is no excuse for putting children's health at risk, there was enough staff working in the pool, they need to be made to keep it clean."

  • Holiday details: Feb 2016, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Take full cleaning equipment

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
Legionnaire's Disease: Courtesy of Pontins

"Upon arrival I had to get out of my car and ensure I hadn't in fact hopped in the Delorean, because I was sure I'd driven back in time to the 70s. "New Pontins since 2011" - seriously? You must be having an absolute laugh. I've seen fossils which look more modern (and hygenic) than Pontins at Southport. If the faded, dank and dirty outer buildings weren't enough to deter you... Wait until you see the chalets.

When we entered the delightful room, we were greeted by an overwhelming smell of sewerage (a smell you will come to know and love throughout your stay). In the living room there was this giant, heavy box... Which I believe may have been a telly. Hard to say, as I was born in 1990. On the wall there was a sign which informed us that we would be charged extra if any damage (such as punching holes in the walls) occurred. This should tell you a lot about the Calibre of the guests here (as if their Adidas tracksuits, Air Max and flagrant disregard for dental hygiene wasn't enough).

I know that some guests feel disgruntled at having to either bring their own sheets or to pay the £10 fee to "rent" some, but you can't say that you don't get added extras courtesy of Pontins. I mean, one of our delightful mattresses had a large blood stain around the crotch area... Why even bother with the selection of arcade games when you can play disease roulette in your bedroom?

If you can stomach the stains of bodily fluids, then you're in for a treat in the bathroom. The shower-head had a wonderful emerald-colored mold encrusted around the edge. Unsurprising really, given that it was constantly dripping. My partner tried to fix this by turning the shower on. The shower then proceeded to stay on for about an hour (there is no off-switch. Perhaps this is because the average guest will never turn the wretched thing on anyway). Legionnaire's Disease: courtesy of Pontins.

Now, I'm sure you're wondering what other gems are to be found here. Why, Athlete's Foot of course! I would strongly recommend wearing appropriate footwear at all times (especially during shower and bedtime), as the floor is beyond disgusting. Simply walking from the bedroom to the living room gets your feet a nice shade of black with an array of dirt and bacteria (including a Vajazzle, which we can only presume came from one of the aforementioned mattresses - heavy night on the Lambrini for our former guests, clearly).

Despite being half-board, we only dared to eat the breakfast. How wrong could you go with fry-up and cereal? Well, I can assure that we are all a stone lighter now... (Another addition for your extras checklist: salmonella).

You might be wondering "why didn't they upgrade"? Honey, that's as good as it gets.

Enjoy your stay!
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2015, Booked Independently

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !

"Please read the visitor reviews and be warned ! ABSOLUTELY DREADFUL, We had to stand in queue to collect door keys,the queue stretched the length of the Club room and outside the doors, some people stood in the queue for more than 30 minutes before they were told that their chalet wasn't ready and they should queue again two hours later.

As soon as we opened the door to ours the stench hit the back of our throats, the floor hadn't been swept, it was covered with clumps of someones hair, left over crumbs, bits of broken toys, and I dread to think what else. The bed settee dirty an covered with crumbs. there was cigarette burns covering the edge of the bath panel. No plug for the bath, although we wouldn't have sat in it anyway, there was no plug for the hand basin in the bathroom either, the water in the hot tap was scalding, no 'CAUTION HOT WATER' sign, so little hands are at great risk of having the skin removed ! HEALTH & SAFETY ...

The floors through out were filthy, badly stained,and covered with sticky grime, our feet stuck to them we had to wear shoes at all times whilst in doors.

The light switches, door handles, cupboard doors etc were caked with grime, skirting boards had several layers of dirt, as did the plinths in the kitchen area.

The saucepans had seen better days, and there was one small glass casserole dish, (CLEAN) probably because it wasn't big enough to use for more than one person.

One of the rings on the cooker had a broken bracket so nothing to hold it in place. The microwave was reasonably clean, but no socket nearby to pug it into.

There were more old crumbs in the small toaster than Warburtons have in whole of their bakery.

The mattresses were filthy, and one of them had a hole in it. The pillows and duvets were not fit enough to pass onto the local dog charity! The outside play area was cleaner than the living accommodation.

After complaining at the 'HELP' desk we were told a cleaner was on route to us. Not sure where from because after waiting for an hour we went shopping for cleaning materials and blitzed the entire chalet. Walls, doors, door frames, sockets, light switches, inside cupboards, including the wardrobe with a whole punched in the back, the furniture was scrubbed, the mattresses were bleached, the cutlery the crockery etc etc,

The entire chalet was deep cleaned, whoever moves in this week , please enjoy your stay with out risk of returning home with SICKNESS and DIARRHEA.(HEALTH & SAFETY)

We stayed in this GHETTO for three days only and in that time the cleaner never did turn up, and the ones that we saw around the site we only saw one that had a mop on bucket on their cleaning trolley. We did see him enter one property armed with this mop and bucket, but he had no floor cleaner/bleach or disinfectant to put in the bucket, and we did wonder if he bothered to put water in it or was it a just a dry mop.

There must be many people that fall ill with various bugs after staying in the dump.

And anyone visiting this Ghetto for a second time must have to be sedated.

For those people that intend to visit, take bleach and other cleaning supplies, wipe the mattress over look at the dirt on your cleaning cloth...you will feel sick. Speaking of sick, don't eat the food from Sachas, twigs would taste better.

The whole site needs to be demolished, there is more fun to be had at Dismal Land.

I feel sorry for the Blue Coats and the front line staff that have to accept the complaints and still smile.

The owners of the Pontins should take their own families and spend a week in the hell hole.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: KEEP AWAY, go some place else

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
Minus minimum standard

"Booked for a weeks holiday told accommodation was gold standard asked to bring sheets everything else provided we got there the apartment was dirty heaters not working fridge not working door to one of bedrooms kicked in supposed to be apartment for 8 people seating for 2 people chairs uncomfortable one pot one pan few spoons called reception informed someone would be coming to sort out the heating and fridge it was quite late about 7 pm hungry and tired switch on cooker mains and guess what fridge came on. Two hours later no sign of maintained. Decided to we couldn't' stay there it was so dirty had my 94 year old father with me it was no way he was going to sleep in a cold and dirty apartment. I went to reception asked what gold standard meant and was informed double glazing and a couple of vouchers. When I told her that we were not staying in a dirty apartment she did not seem surprised. It has been a week now no acknowledgement. The whole complex was less then minimum standards. Never again Pontins."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2015, Booked Independently

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
PAY THE EXTRA AND GO TO BUTLINS

"Filthy black rotten the flat was disgusting there were ants it was generally filthy in the chalet the fridge absolutely stank and if it wasn't so dirty I would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor!!! Please don't bring your kids here it's rotten , most of the staff here are teenagers and either ignorant or stupid."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: DON'T GO HERE

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
Pontins southport avoid if possible!

"The wait to book in was long stood in arcade with children and suitcases while others jumped Que easily, organized chaos. Chalet, looked ok on the surface but look close and get a shock! We paid almost £450 for Monday to Friday and basically only used the beds as there was no alternative. Everything on the camp had to be paid for using tokens at £1 each would soon mount up, food on the camp was awful, we did only eat once and my son subsequently spent the night throwing up! No bus into Southport so it was either a walk to Ainsdale train station for a train or as we found it was cheaper to taxi into Southport and back at £8 approx each way. Southport was our saving grace as it became our haven for the week. Some campers only paid £49 for the same holiday as we had! Pontins southport should be avoided if possible, better to find accommodation in or around Southport and make your own holiday!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Close your eyes and take lots of cleaning materials.
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
1 / 10
Don't go to Pontins. Ever!

"We had booked a 7 night stay at Pontin's Southport arriving the 4th of July, as soon as we entered the apartment ants met us they were even in the toilet. The floor was disgusting, cooker was rusting away, part of the spring from the mattress was sticking out of the side, my 18 month old cut her foot from something left on the floor, the 'new' arcade wasn't open, the restaurant had chairs with broken legs and were dangerous, none of the staff knew what was going on and the attractions were never opened on time. We stayed one night and left the next day. the time we had spent there we had heard and seen quite a few people complain for various reasons. when we complained of the ants someone came with raid and said 'at least they don't carry diseases'. mold was everywhere and the table in our room had missing pieces on the legs and we only just managed to catch the table from falling on top of my 18 month old.

The place is nasty and should be torn down.

we wrote to head office and have yet to hear anything back.

DO NOT GO TO PONTINS EVER.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2015, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Don't go.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

by
9 / 10
no complaints from us..

"We've just had a great wk end at Pontins was a bit worried on reading the reviews wasn't expecting 5 star its a Pontins budget holiday ..but the chalet was fine cleaner was still there but was polite and chatty and happy as were all the staff from gate to bar staff and blue coats,chippy was good and the kebabs shop was delish,Sunday dinner in Queen Vic and a good pint were lovely..loved the shows everyone was friendly and although packed everyone had a great time and children were entertained endlessly well done to all who work there we would go again and probably will.."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2015, Booked Independently

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
9 / 10
no complaints from us..

"We just had a great week end at Pontins was a bit worried on reading the reviews wasn't expecting 5 star its a Pontins budget hol ..but the chalet was fine cleaner was still there but was polite and chatty and happy as were all the staff from gate to bar staff and blue coats,chippy was good and the kebabs shop was delish, Sunday dinner in Queen Victoria and a good pint were lovely..loved the shows everyone was friendly and although packed everyone had a great time and children were entertained endlessly well done to all who work there we would go again and probably will.."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2015, Booked Independently

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

by
5 / 10
Big Fat Gypsy Holiday !

"We arrived for a 4 day stay for Christmas 2014 3 Adults and 2 children 8 and 12. Booked in about 4pm Chalet was ok windows dirty floor dirty, there was a big dent in the bathroom wall where the door had been slung back hard into it, there was no pull on the heater in the bathroom. Kitchen was ok and all the pots were clean. We were half board. plenty of room in the chalets. Went for evening meal at the correct Red Band time and it was chaos they had not finished serving other col bands, we had to queue for 45 minutes. The food was ok, and the staff were very nice. Then the Gypsies arrived they were noisy drunk and the men carried on drinking all night even in the morning at breakfast they were stood with bottle in hand drinking. The men shouted all the time when they spoke. they were noisy at night going back to their chalets. Then another gypsy family arrived then another they were very intimidating. Anyway we kept away from them as much as poss. We had booked in advance for our Christmas meal which was £140 - for the five of us, only to find out on the Christmas day that all half board (red band) people were being given Christmas dinner free in the New Restaurant , also we were told to arrive at 2-40 for our dinner, and when we got there the earlier people from 1-30 had not even had their dinner. So we eventually got our dinner at 4pm. The food was really good when we eventually got it.We put our complaint in at the reception and was told to write in for our refund but up to date have not had any reply either by E.mail or letter or telephone from Pontins. So we are still awaiting our refund of £140.00.

I will say that the staff the Blue coats and catering staff were really good. We stayed because of the children, disappointed not a lot of facilities open outside for the older children, short staffed!! I think after reading all the terrible reviews we were LUCKY to have got the chalet we had. So Pontins get your act together and pay up and smarten up or you wont be staying open much longer.
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Go prepared to maybe do some cleaning and spend alot of money. if you are ocd on cleaning its not for you.
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Write a review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
48
Good
63
Average
20
Poor
28
Awful
243

Rating by feature

Room
4/10
Service
5/10
Food
4/10
Value
5/10
Cleanliness
4/10
Location
6/10

Top traveller tips for Pontins Southport

  • by izzy-claire

    " Southport Pier, Splash World "

  • by beverleyt

    " Mama Mias and the beach were the highlight "

  • by wadsleyowl

    " Pizza Express in Southport was lovely, staff v friendly "

  • by 58829008

    " we travelled to chester zoo and the kids loved it "

  • by mags

    " you get what u pay for great for kids "

  • by charl86

    " blackpool for the day or the beatles story in liverpool "

  • by clickycat

    " Pop to Farmer Teds in Ormskirk - great for kids loads of activities and hands on with the animals "

  • by Claire Lynch

    " better if you can drive so you not tied to the complex and you can go and explore rest of southport as apart from beach nothing... "

Traveller photos

Traveller photo of Pontins Southport Traveller photo of Pontins Southport Traveller photo of Pontins Southport Pontins Southport photos (10 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Southport

Hotels near Pontins Southport

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Pontins Southport?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Pontins Southport? Share your insight.

Pontins Southport is also called:

  • pontins hotel southport
  • pontins resort southport

Address: Shore Road Ainsdale Beach, Southport PR8 2PZ, United Kingdom