Sunny Days Studios & Apartments

Tigaki, Kos 85300, Greece
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6.5  / 10
(42 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
14
Good
11
Average
2
Poor
6
Awful
9

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 7/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Sunny Days Studios & Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
you get what you pay for

"Just returned from an overall lovely holiday BUT remember this is a budget break affordable in the 6 weeks holiday and it reflects that way. Tingaki is one shabby street with lots of lovely restaurants especially 7 days however a lot of empty restaurants unused and deteriorating in condition. The beach at the bottom of the road is exceptional miles and miles of beach warm sea and great water sports.

Sunny days,we arrived and were told the tour operator had gone bust our booking had been cancelled and re-booked on a number of occasions. This made us concerned but we had a room and were very lucky.

Okay the room was in great need of refurbishment no air conditioning we fought for fans. It was apartment but good luck if you want to cook on the 2 ring hob. The apartment was cleaned every day but it needed to be as the ants would have taken over.

Talking to other families we had all Been given the story about cancelled bookings etc we all believe it was told to us all to make us grateful for the rubbish room to reduce the chance of complaining Maria is an astute business woman but I don't believe she was honest with us.

The weather was amazing relaxing in the bar at night was exactly as we planned our 2 sons 13 and 11 had a fab time the pool is spotless and we had it to ourselves. The pool bar ideal. Babis is a lovely bloke serves you at the bar as long as you want.

Would I go again? No

Would I recommend it to others? No

There are more beautiful places in Kosovo probably not as cheap but is up to you.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Go to Kos town, do the 3 island tour
  • Good For: Beach
by Kathryn H
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Basic, Clean & What You Would Expect.

"I plan to be objective in this review and keep it to facts as often people ramble on about what the hotel/appartments etc. have no control over.

Fact - our party was 7. Split into 2 families. One being a Studio Appartment taking upto 3. The other a one Bedroom Appartment taking upto 4.

We arrived late at night.

Reception was efficient and polite.

An error was made with the Studio appartment as only a double was provided and a we booked a 3 Beded Studio. Apologies made and the error corrected, which we accepted.

Both rooms were clean and tidy, fresh towels and bedding etc. all as it should be. Toilet rolls provided.

Kitchen very basic. No microwave in either rooms. A kettle, two pans, a basic cuttlery, plates with 4 cups, 4 glasses, and a tea towel.

A safe in each room. Air conditioning. Balcony to each room.

IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE, WE WENT WITH COSMOS IT IS MISLEADING IN THE BROCHURE ABOUT AIR CON. IT IS NOT INCLUDED. The safe is 15 Euros first week and then if for 2nd week it amounts to 25 Euros in total.

The Air Conditioning is 8 Euros per night.

We went for a week 15/07/13 - 25/07/13 as it stayed at 35 degrees and over each day. I acclimatised as used to travel but the nights are hard and fluids are a must if to brazen the nights without Air Con.

An important note - our 1 Bed Apartment shower room, the area were the shower was 2ft x 2ft. My hubby is 6ft 8" he fitted in but could not manipulate arms/elbows and provided much amusement, so be warned if your large in anyway this is a problem. The Studio Apartment had a normal walk-in shower(go figure that one out).

We did not eat in the Sunny Days but prices were no worse when I looked than that of the small resort itself.

Cleaners were excellent, towels changed not questions asked each day, bedding clean and changed three times in the week.

Nothing went missing.

Also, our family are not sun worshipers but spent time by the pools. There is a staffed small bar. Two pools, one is shallow and diddly for little ones. The other is a larger kidney type of shape with a wooden bridge over. It is big enough to paddle and play but that's it(one end is over 2 meters deep, the shallow end about 5ft).

The pool area is maintained well and cleaned while we were there each day. With a small see-saw and a swing-bench for children to play on.

There are two pool tables, and a couple of slot machines in reception area.

The small resort of Tigaki in Tingaki has what you would think, shops, bars and the required beach(it was a 3/4 mile walk from Sunny Days to beach)their are attendants with sunbeds which you pay for each day.

Transport - there is a bus stop is about 20 yards from the apartments in front of the main Supermarket). Buses go from Tigaki to Kos regularly and are 2 Euros each person. You don't pay for little ones.

I hope this has been helpful, and I have been objective without irrelevant info.

I would go to this apartments again as we were treated well and the apartments were clean and had clearly been painted and freshened up for this season 2013.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, booked with Cosmos
  • Advice: None, just enjoy the holiday and go with the flow.
  • Good For: Beach
by Leif H
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Happy Days at Sunny Days

"Thanks again to all the family and staff for making yet another holiday very special we will see you all very soon. And that cake Maria for Jackies birthday was yummm anyone looking for a chill time in somewere quite and unspiolt Tingaki is the place. We all go back every year and the ladies go back in the autumn we are looked after like and feel like royalty. This is a family run buisness and they take pride in making youyr stay pleasent and if you have nay problems Maria/Siros will be happy to sort out for you. Love you all see you next year Tracey Ian katie Amy Brenda Dawn John Lauren Faye Jackie Kim Sarah Margaret and not forgetting Nina. xxxxxooooo"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Chill
  • Good For: Beach
by Tracey M
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Better and better

"We stayed at Sunny Days in September, we had two wonderful weeks. I can not believe the negative reviews on here. All I can say is "if you want 4 star book 4 star" or don't go to Greece, most Greek self catering hotels are basic.

Most of the rooms have been updated,very spacious and all have been newly decorated. The rest will be finished this winter ready for next season but what we saw we liked. We had new beds, new wardrobes and most rooms have had the kitchen area's updated, personally i'm not too bothered about the kitchen area, im in holiday so no cooking for me, so long as I have a kettle i'm happy. I loved the fact that we had clean sheets every other day, fresh fluffy white towels and the room was cleaned every day. The service we recieved was excellent.

Highly recommended.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: The bar is excellent and very good prices.
  • Good For: Beach
by kaylesley
9 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Second time :)

"Just got back from two weeks in Tigaki, staying at Sunny Days also for the second time!

i've been reading some of the reviews the ppl have been writing and i cannot belive the negative once.

if u want a 5 star hotel just book one!

as i started: the personality of this hotel is the staff...Maria and her employines cannot do enough for ther're guest thats for sure ...many thankt again:)

the rooms are not great, but ok cleaned every day with new towles and bedsheets.

the poolarea is also nice and tidy and there is a scackbar there that severs snackfood and breakfast(damn i miss my eggs & bacon in the morning) :)

the hotel lies about 700 meters form Tigaki center where you will find

lost og tavernas, pubs, scooter & car rentals and also long nice beach.

we where a party og 6 ppl on this trip and we're go back in a hearbeat and we will not have any problem recommeding this hotel for anyone.

hope to seeya all again.

best regards from norway

Raymon, Cecilie Åsmund(Alex), Leif, Heidi and Odd
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with Reisegiganten Norway
  • Advice: good for fams with children as well as adults
  • Good For: Beach
by Odd Y
8 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Please do not stay here!

"If you are not looking for accomodation reminiscent of crackhouses and lady of the night-dens in the then I suggest you do not book at Sunny Days or agree to say there. We arrived at Sunny Days as a party of 3 adults and 2 children having been told that our accomodation had been overbooked by TRAVEL REPUBLIC (a huge thanks to them). The exterior of Sunny Days sang to us of a low grade knocking shop - blacked out windows, kicked in doors, seedy looking characters in the bar, topless bathing by the family pool and a general air of neglect and filth. However the best was yet to come when we were finally given the keys to our two rooms 5 hours after arriving and after repeated return visits to see if the owner Maria was back yet as the young girl on Reception knew nothing of our arrival. The rooms can only be described as what I have only ever seen on Channel 4 documentaries showing drug raids in houses of ill repute. We walked along dark corridor where some of the doors had been kicked in to find our rooms, The stench of urine hit you as you entered the room, furniture was old, chipped, stained and covered with fabric of a similar condition. The beds were not fit for dogs. Stained, filthy, bobbled and smelt of sweat and urine. The springs could be seen from 10 feet away and I have only ever seen beds like that in the UK at my local tip. Best of all were the cooking facilities and impliments. The fridges (yes there were two in each room as one didn't work so they just simply added another one) were rust encrusted and filthy. Rust was all around the door seals, exterior and on each shelf. The cupboards, which were intended for food, were of a 1970's vintage and stained to match their age. Utensils would have been discarded if donated to a charity shop and there were extension leads right next to the sink on top of the fridge. The bathroom was an unlikely place in which to get clean. It had cracked tiles, poor sealant and most worrying, exposed wiring right by the shower. The rooms were dark, dank, seedy and what I would expect to be housed in by the probation service upn return to the community following a long spell in prison, not, what I would ever expect to see on holiday. Surfice to say that I took my family and left Sunny Days and waked with our cases out into the street. We had no other accomodation, no way of knowing where we would sleep with 2 young children and an elderly father but trust me the street would have been a step up in accomodation rather than the rooms at Sunny Days. If you are interested in a reality tv type experience in a brothel/ drug den then this really is the place for you. If you would like a holiday then I suspect not. Interestingly our travel company, once they were aware we had photographic evidence, were happy to pay for alternative accomodation that we found ourselves. If Prisoner Cell Block H are looking for a new set for another series - this is the place.

Room Tip: Of the three that we saw I would not leave my dog in any of them.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Just stay somewhere else. Trust me on this.
by Maud J
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Friendly and clean

"We took our 3rd holday at Sunny Days in July, Ya Ya Maria is so welcoming and lovely. Amy and Peter behind the bar cant do enough for you. The rooms are very clean and Sunny Days is in a great location for touring the beautiful island of Kos.We'll be back very soon."

by Papoo
9 / 10

19 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice Holiday!

"Just returned from a very nice relaxed holiday in kos, we were staying at Sunny days, Tingaki. Its a lovely little village very friendly people only a short walk to a very nice beach. The Hotel was very nice, clean and very friendly staff would definitely return to Kos, i would advice people to get a quad or scooter to travel, as we seen alot of the island that was and just did what we wanted. There are some nice bars in Tigaki but also only 15minutes on the bus to kos town where you can also visit the old town which is lovely and nice shops!

Enjoy your holidays and the nice people at Sunnydays!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Nice pool area, bar and staff
  • Good For: Beach
by Jan
8 / 10

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing most friendly staff EVER!!!

"Just back from 2wks hol at Sunny Days and met the most friendly team of staff ever. Arrived early hours and had no euros changed which was not a problem as staff not only stayed up and allowed us to have everything (food/water/air con)til we got to bank next day.. The lovely Maria then drove us in her car the following day to a nearby bank as our cards wouldnt work in local atm.

I cannot praise or compliment the staff specifially Maria and Amy who made my stay a very welcome one. The rooms were cleaned every day and as the beach was so close there was no race for sunbeds at pool. Nearby restruants esp 'Sagatarius' food was the nicest Ive ever ate on any holiday abroad.... Why anyone has the cheek to complain about Sunny Days or its staff astounds me...... There was nothing too much trouble for them and they went above and beyond what I would expect from any hotel.

I got a very cheap deal but recieved the highest quality service from Sunny Days..... Maria and Amy you were both the best would def recommend Sunny Days... I'll def be going back!!!!!

Thanks again Maria/Amy and everyone else at Sunny Days.... Angela H
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by Angela :o)
10 / 10

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

like coming home time & again

"have been coming to this hotel for the last 12 years, with whole family and now also grandchildren and their friends - we love it here - and will continue to visit as often as we can. maria, spyros and their family welcome us as their own and have always been helpful and friendly in every way. - love the tuesday BBQ's spyros is a great cook, drinks are definetely up to standard and at great rates, with friendly/funny amy & peter making yor evening even better.

free wi-fi is also a great asset especially for the kids ;-) - REALLY don't know what people are complaining about - the staff are friendly and seem happy enough doing an admittedly difficult job under any circumstances ( housekeeping), and even stay around after they have finished their shift and mingle with the guests --- will be back in september ( without the teens) thanks for YET AGAIN a great time
"

by yorkshire terrier
10 / 10

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

loved it time and time again

"loved the same as we did 5 years ago and it just keeps on getting better nice family ran apartment easy reach to beach and other surrounding towns. a quick dash to kos town and on the cat to bodrum for a day. the barbecue on tuesday is the best ever peter and amy behind the bar cant do enough and if you want to know anything about were to go to maria,spiros or her family will help out and tell you the best places to visit . i dont know what all the fuss is frogs we get them in england its the time of the year if you go aug you wont get them though. love it and will be back as soon as i save up.

miss u all already
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: nothing nice the way it is
by racytracey
8 / 10

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Sunny 'but not happy' Days

"Stayed at Sunny Days for 2 weeks in June/July.

Definately would not recommend anyone to stay here. The rooms were a bit more basic than expected. One DIRTY fridge, built into the sink unit.. didnt work! another fridge next to it that did work but looked as if it had been looted from Steptoe & Sons back yard! I think it was white but hard to tell with all the chips and scratches on it.My son in next room never had a working fridge for 2 weeks, it was never sorted out. When we arrived we had no water and someone came to sort that out and the electric sockets that didnt work too... its almost as if we took them by surprise by arriving, and we we'd had a 4 hr delay but the room still wasnt ready for guests!!Curtains hanging by a thread,wardrobe with sliding doors, yes, you guessed it, they didnt slide, lighting that could have been put to shame by a single candle,and don't even get me started on the bathroom!just downright dangerous, no shower curtain, shower not fixed had to use it by hand,floor with a silly little step in it almost un-noticeable that you could easily have broken your neck on had you slipped and the flooded floor, as the water never went away.

Maria(the owner) and family were very ignorant, its almost as if having guests was spoiling their day.Loads of family gatherings, eating and general partying in the lounge,it was almost like being in their home..we felt like intruders.Another thing, Maria likes LOUD music, we asked the barman if he could turn it down a bit, then Maria comes and turns it up again,she doesnt care about what the guests think, not very hospitable. The barman Peter was just the opposite, very friendly and helpful as were all the staff. If anyone got on with Maria it must be because she liked them, but sadly if that is the case....she doesnt like 99% of her guests.

She seemingly doesnt like her staff either, who work ridiculous hours and just get abuse from her, she's shouting and barking at them most of the time.If the rooms are not too clean you cant blame the staff for not putting their heart and soul into it as they have so much work to do and are totally unappreciated,the rooms are tatty..and you cant clean tat,I felt so sorry for them,the whole place needs a facelift.One night at the bar the resident dog had weed on the floor and she made Peter clean it up and then get back behind the bar,she was playing computer games at the reception desk!!The pool needs cleaning too,more often than it is..if it is.I was glad when it was over,Kos is brilliant would go again but definately NOT stay at Sunny Days...beware
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Dont stay at Sunny Days
  • Good For: Beach
by Cath'n'Chris
3 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Tingaki

Hotels near Sunny Days Studios & Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Sunny Days Studios & Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Sunny Days Studios & Apartments? Share your insight.