Portofino Apartments

2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(50 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
27
Good
14
Average
2
Poor
5
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Portofino Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
great value

"We stayed in the sorrento apartments between the 16th and 26th July 2012, we had a one bedroom apartment which was big a spacious for me and my 2 daughters.They were spotlessly clean, towels and bedding also spotless. I took my own kettle, and paid a 20 euro deposit for the aircon remote which was returned to me the day we checked out. Staff are friendly and helpful, and internet access is only avalible at reception for 1 euro for 10mins. It was an ideal location for us, as i like it quiet at night which these apartments provided. Eveything is close by, i.e shops, bars and restaurants, and the beach was 2 mins away. We were on the third floor which had a nice view over the pools and we could see the beach aswell. (Only down side was the steep hill to get to our apartment)There is 2 pools and as usual there is a lack of loungers, roughly 60 between both sets of apartments and pools, so it was the typical battle to get one each moring, so no long lies as by 10am all of them are taken even though it says they can't be reserved most people are down early to put towels on them, so i just done the same!!The pool area is nice and clean and there is a pool bar/hut, its ok for drinks but snacks arent so great so we usually headed to the supermarket and got frshly baked bread each day. Its quite a distance from the main strip of bars (mostly for young visitors looking to be drunk the mojority of their holiday) and also the square where the family entertainment is, but after your evening meal its a nice walk. I will definetly be returning next year as Santa Ponsa is a lovely holiday resort."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: The Western Water park
  • Good For: Beach
by allyx2
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Easter break

"We were supposed to stay at the Deya but were transferred to the Portofino on arrival. The apartment was much bigger than expected and was spotless. The balcony overlooked the sea and this was a quieter part of town, better suited to our age group (mid fifties) I came armed with my Dettol wipes but could not find any muck in the kitchen or bathroom. We reported the kitchen light not working in the morning and it was fixed by lunchtime. The staff were lovely and helpful. I agree that the 2 ring cooker was useless but we hadn't intended cooking anyway. We hired an electric kettle for 2 Euros a day. I braved the pool which was also clean but cold. For a great meal go to Rickies, just to the left of the entrance. We ate there for 4 of the 5 nights as the meals were so good. For the money paid you couldn't complain or fault these apartments."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012
  • Advice: Close to everything but quieter of a night. 5 minute walk to the centre where you can catch the bus or get a taxi. Take a trip to Peguira- so pretty
  • Good For: Beach
by Nee1835
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday

"Very clean and comfortable appt little basic need to up date kitchen equiptment but nice appt.Great location 1 min over the road to a buitifull beach,shops very close and the hotel pool very clean.Need to invest in sun beds not enough and most of them broken.For a cheap break it is ideal 7 days was long enough as needed to get some sleep at home as very noisey at night with people walking up and down stairs right outside the bedroom."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with ola holidays
  • Advice: take ear plugs and be prepared to walk to get to the night life
  • Good For: Beach
by pearce family
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

dirty

"stayed here in oct sept 2010..it was the dirtiest place i have been to in years ..booked thru ola holidays,selling it at summer prices wen it was being ran at winter prices..not enough staff to clean and wen they did they cleaned the bath and toilet with my bath sponge..pubic hairs and lice in the bedding and other peoples bodily fluid stains on the 1st night.. cooker rings not working not even a kettle..one saucepan and a small grill pan..never swept out bedding changed taice in two weeks..bar was closed told to use the bar next door ..complained to the management and took no notice of wat ever i said ..i am a seasond traveler seen lots of the world ,but this was the pits for £850 00 pounds for 14 nights"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, s/c, booked with ola holidays
  • Advice: dont go
  • Good For: Beach
by tommygunner1
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Superb Location

"As previous reviews have stated, functional and clean although not terribly modern. However A1 for location, seconds from the beach and a very short stroll to numerous restaurants. We had a 2 bedroom apartment in the Sorrento part of this complex, up a elevator ride and steep hill from the Portofino block which was spacious and felt secure (although we did hire a safety deposit box for €2 per day).

The 2 pools in this complex were always quiet with ample sunbeds available for free. The peace in the block was rather shattered on our last day by a group of lads 'performing' on their balcony although this is probably a rarity. We would recommend getting aircon for €20 per week, there were 3 really efficient remote controlled units in our apartment.

We asked for a sea/pool view and got both! Throughout the stay the Reception staff were really helpful and even booked us a car at short notice and a reasonable price when availbility was scare throughout this resort and others on the island (and Europe as a whole I believe this summer).

Advice and tips -

Transfers from the airport must be pre-booked, they are not sold at the airport. For us this worked out slightly cheaper than a taxi although the transfer was a bit long winded especially as we arrived in the early hours.

Exploring the island we found Sant Elm and the port of Andratx incredibly beautiful. Also the walled town of Alcudia is worth a look, as are it's Roman ruins opposite (€10 for the family including museum entry in the town).

We chose Aqualand water park for a day as this is quieter with less queing than others and loads to do for our young children (6&8). They were just tall enough (1.2m) to do most of the bigger rides as well as the kids stuff. The day was quite expensive (€70 for 4 of us) however if you bought return tickets for a second day these were only €25, bcecause of the locker and shower facilities this made a sensible base for our last day when the apartment had to be vacated in the morning (there is a left luggage room at the hotel as well as showers and toilets for departing guests). We did find a free bus to Aqualand, leaving from around the corner outside the Jutlandia hotel although a taxi only costs €7-8.

Restaurants we would rceommend - waterfront restaurants in front of the hotel (although a bit pricey) and the Old Vienna - the staff here could not have been more friendly and the seafood platter has to be seen to be beliveved. Overall there is loads of variety (although only a little 'authentic' cusiine) at a range of prices.

Santa Ponsa seems to have something for everyone, even green parrots in the park! The Portofino apartments are a sound, value for money base.
"

by IsleofWightMark
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Fantastic!!

"My partner and I stayed here for 1 week with his 6 year old son and had a brilliant time!

It was the first time I had been to Santa Ponsa and the first time I had been to self catering apartments so I was unsure what to expect-especially as there are very few pictures of these apartments online! Was more than pleasantly suprised!

The rooms are massive-loads of space for all of us, clean and tidy and staff are friendly. Pools are great and if travelling with a family you really can't beat the location-2 mins from beach, 5-10 mins from lively nighttime entertainment, 5 mins from taxi rank and bus station. Air con in rooms is great-balconys are north facing so no sun on them but that just helps to keep the whole place cooler in high summer. now realise can get remote from aircon at reception on hire for 20euro-we just turned it on at the unit and left it on the whole time. 2 rings to cook on-basic cutlerey, crockery and pans. Great views from higher floors (unfortuntely we were on the 1st floor but they seemed to put all guests with young kids and babies here so it wasnt too bad-certainly not noisy!)

Beware EVERYTHING is expensive thanks to the Euro exchange rate!!! In a week we spent close to 1000 euro and were were only eating out in the evenings!!! There is a supermarket beside the apartments but if you walk 20mins there's an Eroski supermarked where everything is cheaper-unfortunately we didn't discover it until day 3!

Loads of really nice places to eat-dinner for 2 adults and child plus drinks 40-50 euros-so not too bad.

No bars open around the pool which was a bit of a dissappointment seeing as it was peak season, although I think most people went to the beach as we never had any problems getting sunbeds at any time of the day. Scottish corner bar really friendly and family run with bouncy castle for wee ones and drinks at reasonable prices.

Pirates well worth going to see-shop around to get the best deals on tickets. Magaluf more for teenagers than familes-can't say we were too impressed with it.

Would highly reccomend Santa Ponsa and the Portofino/Sorrento Apartments to families and couples looking a relaxing sunshine break!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with ola
  • Advice: Rickies was great for cheap pub type grub and Jackies was gorgeous italian with friendly staff
  • Good For: Beach
by sdornan05
10 / 10

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

"basic but brilliant"

"the only way to put it if you want no frills this is the place clean, large and in an absolutley perfect location close to everything, polite staff lovely pool across the road from the beach would definatley use the apartments again!!"

by mcd7uck
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good clean large apartments, friendly staff, loads nearby.

"The apartments are so close to the beach its unbelieveable, when we arrived the friendly receptionist was very helpful. The apartment was huge with a separate bedroom, hallway, bathroom, kitchen and balcony. Our 14 and 10 year olds slept in the large lounge area with a fold down and pull out bed. Aircon in the bedroom and the lounge is just €20 for the week and a safe is in the room is €14 for the week. The maids came in every other day to clean and changed whatever we wanted, bedding, towels etc. The pool area is good with 2 pools, plenty of sunbeds and very clean(would have been nice if the pool bar was open)

The resort is lively enough with the usual english, chinese, pizza places and we found good food for around €6 each, beer was between €2-€4 for 500ml, local beers (Estrella) cheaper.

At the other end of the beach (about 15-20 mins walk) there is a kind of mini Magaluf, a celtic corner with loads of Irish and Scottish pubs, bars and clubs, its was good fun for a night, PR people outside the bars and plenty going on. It seemed self contained and didn`t seem to disturb anyone around. We couldn`t hear anything from where we were.

Taxi`s are superb, Aqualand in Magaluf was €7 each way, plenty of them around as well

All in all very nice (not the prettiest building from the outside, but who care about that), would recommend them to anyone.
"

by Firthy
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Basic clean accommodation in a great location

"Only stayed at the Portofino apartments for two nights and would definately recommend them. Huge apartments that can sleep four and located just across the road from the beach. The weather was awful when we were there so didn't make use of the pool etc but it looks OK.

Santa Ponsa is a pretty, quiet resort compared to nearby Magaluf and Palma Nove so its probably not to everyones tastes but we would certainly like to go back perhaps more in season when better weather can be anticipated.
"

by Teguise98
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

good clean accommadation

"second stay at the portofino just as good as the first.

staff are friendly,rooms are clean,pool is good,views from top floor are great.

short walk to the beach,everything you need close at hand
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Activities: rickies
  • Good For: Beach
by pajjake
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great value for money

"As previously stated, the apartment is very basic - do not expect any frills. It is furnished in the old style, but everything was clean - girlies in particular - take note - the only mirror in the place is in the bathroom. The kitchen has everything you need for basic food preparation. There were charges for the rent of domestic items - irons etc. It's in very good location, (overlooking the bay) and on the opposite side from most of the noisy bars & restaurants, so at night, its very quiet. However, the main road runs right past the door, so - its's very noisy with traffic during the day. The decent sized pool is reached by steep stairs or by a lift at the rear of the building. Cafes directly below and across the street and 2 supermarkets right next door. The staff at the front desk were helpful and polite. There is a luggage room where you can leave bags if you have a later flight. These views are from the top floor - don't think you would see this from the lower ones. If you're looking for luxury then this is definately not the place for you. However, if you want basic, clean, well run accommodation in a good location for amazing value, then this is it."

by Bernie10
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

best kept secret

"my husband and myself have stayed in the portofino appartments about 10 times over the past 15 yrs we found them to be clean friendly and quiet. except in sept due to the festival but if you take part then its fine ,well you are on holiday .there is use of two pool areas the top one has brill views over the bay .and when you are at the pool it is so quiet . the beach is straight across the road so youcan leave your towel and come up for lunch ,there are some loveley eating places as well as entertainment on your doorstep or you can venture out for the day as the main bus route is at the bottom of the streat i would highly recomend the portofino the balcony is large as is the sitting riim loveley kitchen area and bedroom tucked away at the back all in all my fav place on earth ."

  • Holiday details: May 2008, Self Catering, booked with cambuslang travel
  • Advice: great for walks not hilly. loveley marina.
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by morag campbell
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Portofino Apartments Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 13.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Portofino Apartments photos (6 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Santa Ponsa

Hotels near Portofino Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Portofino Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Portofino Apartments? Share your insight.