Nireas Studios and Apartments

Road 6, Corfu, Greece
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Stayed at Nireas Studios and Apartments?

Share your opinion.

Write a review

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(33 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
25
Good
3
Average
1
Poor
0
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Nireas Studios and Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 »
Good value holiday

"Have just returned from first visit to Corfu staying at Nireas Studios and Apartments.

Our family consisted of my mother, myself, husband and 2 sons (ages 18 and 15). We have all been on holiday before together and always look for somewhere to suit all our ages.

I think we picked a gem here as it suited all our requirements.

Our apartment had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (which was a huge bonus), a decent sized living area with 5th bed and 3 balconies. All of it was well decorated and extremely clean. The kitchen area was quite adequate with plenty of plates, cups etc. We did not use the microwave but the sandwich toaster came in useful. Maids came in 6 days a week and beds and towels were changed twice weekly.

All staff were friendly and approachable. The pool was lovely - very clean and the warmest water I have ever swum in! The bar/restaurant always seemed clean although we did not eat there the menu looked ok. Had a few drinks there but did not spend a lot of time there as there are so many places to eat in Acharavi.

The only thing we would have liked is a safe box either in room or in reception. Were told we could use the facility at the hotel next door but it was not available 24 hours so not really much good for us.

We booked several trips plus car hire with NSK Travel who have main office in Roda but a small office along the beach front road walking towards Roda. English man runs the office and was very pleasant and helpful. Their trips are good value and cheaper than others we found. Cannot understand why First Choice (and all holiday firms) charge so much for their trips. (We paid 93 euros for 3 days car hire which would have cost us over 200 euros with FC and that was a discounted(!) rate.)

Would recommend trip to local village festival if you have chance - very interesting mixing in with the locals. Also trip to Albania was very memorable and the meal we had there was one of the best of our holiday. It might seem expensive at first but we were out for a good 13 hours and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Two of us also went to Corfu Town with NSK Travel for 7 euros each, well worth it as you at least have a guaranteed seat on coach to come back. Not sure how much ordinary bus fare was but we think it was about the same at we paid.

We saw most other resorts during our stay (although not those in the far south) and reckon that we were in the best spot. Beach at Acharavi narrow and stony but part of a long bay so always plenty of room. No harbour or promenade to stroll round in the evening as other resorts have but we knew that before we went.

All bars and tavernas seem to offer similar menus which are all displayed outside. Nobody hassles you when you stop to browse which is good and all the places we ate in offered good value meals. Prices were probably as expected neither cheap nor too expensive. Soft drinks do seem dear in some places and I would recommend the house wine rather than buying bottles, cheaper and very good.

The main supermarket (Demetra) at the top of the lane from Nireas (turn left) has all you will need and as the locals all shop there it must offer the best value around. We are spoilt with our supermarkets and 2 for 1 offers here in UK!!

Take your mosquito plug ins (you can buy coils out there), plenty of sun tan lotion and go have a fantastic holiday at Nireas Apartments in Acharavi - we did!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach
by The Barter Family
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely apartments if you get them...

"Our family, mum, dad, daughter (21), Son (17), and daughter (13), stayed here at the nireas apartments in June of this year. Mac, Suzanne and Dave were brilliant. Nothing was too much for them and Mac was there in a flash if a job needed doing anywhere. The complex fantastic-very pretty and clean with a spotless pool with free inflatables and plenty of sunbeds. There was also a beautiful view of the mountains.

The apartments were idealy situated close to the town and the beach. The beach was pebbly but the sea was clear and shallow. If you walked to the right along the beach you came to a sandy beach.

The town was quiet with a handful of restaurants. We would recommend Acharavi Park restaurant. It was lovely and the prices were reasonable although we found sidari to be cheaper and with far more choices of restaurants- a lovely resort not far away, 15 minute walk. We also hired a car to travel to Corfu Town-well worth a visit. The teenagers thought Acharavi would have been much better with at least one lively bar, although the Greek night at the Nireas apartments was brilliant.

It's like one big family there and a wrench when you had to leave for home. The maids were so lovely, cleared thoroughly and even left me a stamp after I’d asked her where the post office was.

And now the apartments...

We'd understood that we would have a two bed roomed, two level apartment with 2 or 3 balconies and2 bathrooms. We are a family with grown up children and spend a lot of time on the balcony and looked forward to it. When we got there we walked up to our apartment to the tiniest balcony with patio table and chairs squeezed onto it and that was the only balcony we had. The bedrooms were ok, The bathroom was old and the window in shower (standing height) was looking out onto somebody else's balcony. Our son had to sleep in the living room which was expected, but not that we'd have to keep passing him to go to the bathroom. We waited to see the first choice rep, who told us there was nothing else available. Well it was a small, friendly complex and we found out that an older couple had been allocated our apartment and had complained loudly and threateningly to the rep ( who was only 18 yrs old incidentally) and she had relocated them to a 2 bed roomed, 3 balconied, 2 bath roomed apartment (which obviously should of been ours.) The rep promised us that she would try and move us 5 days later, as we were cramped, and we never got moved then or later, but we were offered two of our party to move to a studio for 5 nights only at a considerable extra cost per night. We found out that through the duration of our stay the largest apartment was only being used by 2 people. One couple told us that they'd never even been upstairs. So although Suzanne, Mac and Dave did their upmost to provide a brilliant holiday, which they did, we do feel first choice let us down, and the allocating of rooms by a "far too young" rep who could be bullied into providing whatever a certain minority wanted regardless to the inconvenience of others, should be looked into. So if you do go to Nireas, and we highly recommend you do so, and hope you get the apartment suitable for you- and have a fantastic holiday.
"

by Miss K Neville
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Amazing

"It has great facilities, great pool, great bar and extremely friendly staff! You felt as if you had known them for years!

If you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday and short walks to the beach then this is the place for you! I am 13 and i didn't want to come home, that is how much i enjoyed it!!!
"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, Self Catering, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Enjoyed it so much we are already booking for next year and we have only been back 1 day!
  • Activities: The best restaurants were in acharavi town and the hills in Roda, 20 mins walk down the beach!!
  • Good For: Beach
by dolly&k
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

easy & relaxing

"Short easy stroll to beach, bars, shops & restaurants. Friendy & helpful staff, clean & spacious rooms. Ideal!"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by spinxy
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just been to Nireas Apts. final...

"Just been to Nireas Apts. final booking based on reviews on this site. Arrived on a Friday and met by Dawn who showed us to apartment. All the staff were friendly.

First Choice rep was lovely and enthusiastic, good welcome meeting but didn't really use her services, she was at complex quite regularly.

Nice spacious apartments, we had 2 bedroom with 1 bathroom. ( First choice allocate the accomadation & that was a bit puzzling, we were a party of 2 adults & 2 teenagers; an elderly couple were given a 2 bedroomed (5 bedded) with 2 bathrooms apartment, which would have been better for us. We booked in June, they booked 3 days before they came !)

My mum came with us on a flight only basis and on several occasions before departure we tried to book her in with us but were told the place was full, it most definately wasn't when we arrived.

|You have to pay for air conditioning, 6 euros per night per unit & 10 euro deposit, we had 2 units so didn't bother. Our apartment did not have outer loover doors over main doors although the majority of apartments did. We took a chance with lots of mosquito repellants, citronella candles etc and hoped that if we left window open a bit we wouldn't get eaten alive. Luckily we only notched up about 10 bites between the lot of us!

Large terrace at back of apartment with patio table & chairs. Not very private, main path of complex & next door complex rooms looked right onto our terrace & bedroom.

No privacy from next door terrace either, we had very noisy family next door who stayed up all night on the their terrace, they had lots of babies & toddlers and their family from other apartments joined them.

Cleaners came in everday except sunday & monday, so by tuesday the towels were a bit manky and the floor was bitty, there was no dustpan to have a clean yourself. We had a few problems with ants but managed to get rid of them with a spray and mopping the floor with baby wipes!.

When the cleaners did come they were very thorough and even washed up if there was some there.

Provided with a microwave, 2 electric rings, kettle, fridge and toastie maker which was a bit naff, would have prefered a normal toaster. saucepan, frying pan, a ton of plates and 4 chipped mugs, that were tiny!

Pool area very nice and clean. big pool with inflatables anyone could use and lots of sunbeds available.

Didn't really eat at snack bar but had a couple of snacks that were reasonably priced and tasted ok.

Don't know if it was because the season was nearing the end, but they did not have any ice creams or milkshakes left.

No night-time entertaiment while we were there, pool shut at 6.30 and bar at 8.

Nireas in good location near to beach (turn left out of complex) & about 3 mins down the road you'll find quite a few bars and restaurants on beach front. Would recommend Woody's Taverna. and Faros Taverna.

All the staff were so friendly and food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Akis from Woodys even gave his customers a lift home after we had a terrible storm that lasted 2 days.

Maria from Faros helped us find accomadation for my mum who booked last minute and only got the flight.

Turn right out of complex and you'll come to main town with lots of shops, restaurants and bars, also about 3 mins walk up the hill.

On the whole apartments were nice but don't think I'd return again
"

by  Tracey Carter
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

what a wonderfull place to be, we are...

"what a wonderfull place to be, we are certainly going back next year. Thanks to Dean and Dawn [for our english breakfasts!] they couldnt be more helpfull or welcoming and to nikki our rep. the rooms are clean and spacious the beach and town are just minutes away so If you want a fun family holiday this is the place to go."

by  R Armes
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just got back from a great holiday at...

"Just got back from a great holiday at Nireas!

Mac, Mike, Caroline and Susanne were lovely and made everyone feel welcome!

The apartment we had (A1), by number and nature was spacious, well appointed and had two large patios. Very well equipped with toaster, microwave, kettle and hairdryer, as well as the normal two rings for cooking. Could have been more private though, felt a bit like a goldfish bowl with no privacy screens, only bars, between apartments. Very clean and regular maid service and towel changes. Lovely gardens! Great breakfast cooked by Caroline! Sorry we did not spend more time enjoyng the great facilities and staff hospitality but we hired a car for the week and went exploring the island, which is beautiful, verdant and interesting! Unfortunately, by the time we got back, we were too tired to do anything but go for a meal, or make cheese on toast, and then collapse into bed. Spent the three days left, after the car went back, on the beach, which although not the prettiest, resembling the foundations for a new road, was relaxing and right next to the lovely warm water. Better still, right next to Woody's who serve probably the best breakfast in the world! Their other meals were pretty good too! Woody's customers get a discount on their beach sunbeds, 4.50 euros instead of 6.

The pool, pool bar and surroundings at Nireas are great with plenty of available sunbeds. We prefer the beach, but for those who don't this pool area is as good as it gets.

Air conditioner at Nireas 6 euros per night. As our apartment was well positioned so that the terraces got direct sun, but inside did not, so we did not need it.

Gregs Cars, on the old road, just down on the right from the Pumphouse, run by the lovely Maria, by far the nicest person we met, was where we had the car from 280 euros for the week for a Suzuki Jimny, which was about the same as everywhere else. Highly recommended!

No criticism whatsoever of Nireas, but some noisy residents in the first week, arriving back in the early hours of the morning, loud and in drink, with over-excited children and teenagers, were a bit annoying. On the whole the resort seemed to cater very much for Brits abroad, rather than have any authentic Greek character. The supermarket staff, left at the top of the road, were stroppy and ill mannered. Fortunately our experience of other supermarkets, which were worth a bit more of a walk, up past the roundabout, Sconto and the one just past it, were much more pleasant to go to.

Eating out:

New Italian, cannot remember the name, top of the road, turn right, just before the bakery- excellent service and nice food.

Serbian restaurant in old high street, gorgeous stuffed mushrooms and simple but very tasty meals. Stuffed steak (lots of stuffed dishes) was wonderful!

The restaurant on the left corner, just before the Serbian one, was friendly, authentically Greek and family run. Delicious pepper steak, with unusual red sauce, was the best meal of the holiday! Their house wine was also good!

Alex's on the beach was a nice meal and the sunset is spectacular, watched from there, or Woody's!

Mosquitos, despite everyone's problems, unfortunately common in Greece, seemed to be no more troublesome than any of the other Greek islands. But knowing how bad they can be I went armed with mosquito coils, liquid plug ins, Raid fly spray, trusty Mosquito Milk, Autan bite ease and a citronella candle!! Despite it seeming a lot of trouble to go to it must have worked because I survived relatively unscathed, unlike many others I saw who were covered in nasty bites! Try vinegar on those bites, it really takes the sting out!

Out and about:

Spent a whole day in Corfu town, which wasn't long enough! We went to the palace, the old fortress, through Spiniada, walked round the bay to Anemomelos, saw the church of St Jason and St Sosispater, the prison, the British cemetery and back to Campiello, the old town. All absolutely awe inspiring! Followed the walk in the AA Essential guide to Corfu. Had a lovely meal, and great coffee, in the taverna by the windmill, past the Nautilus, in Anemomylos. Too late to see a lot of the old town and the New Fortress, each of which warrant a return visit.

The following were places well worth a visit

Paleocastrisa: stunning location! Coldest water!

Peroulades: spectacular white cliffs

Mount Pandokrator: amazing views of the island and Albania but spoiled by communications masts at the summit. A huge red pylon towers over the lovely monastery and stands in the middle of its gardens!

Sidari: Beautiful coves enclosed by sandstone outcrops. Beaches mainly too small to get a space. Seafront crowded by resort but absolutely beautiful place to walk around.

Agois Spiridon: lovely sandy beach warm gently shelving water. Took two and a half hours to walk there, right, from Acharavi, across the beach and a clear path over the headlands . Well worth the effort! Sturdy walking sandals required! Coming back was hard, especially as our 'shortcut ' didn't work out! Could not fault the scenery though! Much shorter drive, if you are not feeling intrepid! Beach good and lagoon/wetland nature reserve behind beach is worth exploring.

Arillas: Another lovely beach. Quite choppy in the water, until you get past the breakers, but good fun! Friendly resort.

Barbati: I loved this beach! White pebbles, clear calm water. The drive around the coast is pretty, but turn off is difficult to spot. This may be why it was so peaceful. Nice taverna on the beach shaded by olive trees.

Roda: you can easily walk to Roda from Acharavi- turn left at the beach 15-20 minutes walk. Not much in between the two resorts but the beach is sandier and the sea is calmer.

Kavos: lovely drive down there and gorgeous countyside. Surrounding area well worth seeing, as the quad bikes that seem to have 'escaped' indicate! Teenagers will love it, although I'm not sure for how long, but if you are over 18, you won't!!

Angelokastro: Lovely views but under repair, so you cannot go into fortress.

Lake Korission: saw this from the air coming into Corfu, it is amazing. Try to see it if you get towards the bottom of the island, taking in Messonghi.

Had an amazing time! Nireas was a great base!
"

by greece
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We had a lovely holiday and would...

"We had a lovely holiday and would recommend this accomodation. The apartments were spacious and very clean. The maids came and cleaned 5 out of 7 days and changed the bedding and towels twice a week. They even folded our clothes up that we left scattered about and washed our dirty breakfast dishes!

The pool was fantastic, it was huge and clean with loads of sun loungers. There were so many free inflatables in the pool that you couldnt swim, so just had to join in with the kids! The beach was a pebble one so we choose to just sit by the pool instead.

The beaches seemed clean and there were sunbeds for hire about 6 euros for 2.

The bar at the hotel was basic with 2 pool tables but the food and drink were good, however it is slightly more expensive than some other restaurants. There was entertainment in the form of bingo, quizes, killer pool, movies and the greek night. The staff were really helpful and friendly and they would try to accomodate you as much as possible.

The first choice rep was really nice and answered all the questions we had and she came twice a day 6 days a week.

However we purchased a trip from first choice, Theo's BBQ Boat, and although nice, it was definitely overpriced and in places exaggerated by the rep.

The trip is a boat ride from corfu town to a small beach just off mainland greece, where you stay for about 2 -3 hours and have a BBQ cooked for you. Then you get back on the boat to a small cove/beach and you can jump off the boat into the clear sea for a swim for about 45 mins, then you head back to corfu town.

It took 2 hours to get from Acharavi to Corfu town, when the rep said it would take about an hour. It was early pick up at 7.45am and 2 hours on a coach then straight onto a boat made me feel slightly queasy! The rep also said "you will have free flowing wine and soft drinks all day!", but you get one glass of wine or cola when you are on the beach and all other drinks including water you have to buy and at an inflated price!

The food was ok but basic. The best part of the day was jumping off the boat into the sea.

The restaurants we went to were all brilliant except for the Lemon Garden, which was overpriced with horrible food and we got bitten really bad by the bugs. I didnt get one bite for 10 days then i went there and got almost 40 bites in one night.

We also tried the Pump House, both Itailan Resturants, Acharavi Park, Odeyseus, Woody's and Apagio's and we didnt have a bad things to say about any of them. The menu's are similar in most places and the prices were reasonable. The cost for 2 main meals, 2 local beers, the bread and a tip was in the region of 18 - 24 euros. A place to go for lunch is Acharavi Park, where you can get a fresh chicken breast made into a burger in a bun, salad and chips with a bottle of coke for 5 euros. Cheap and good quality.

The resort as a whole is quite quiet. We are a couple aged 22 and 24 and although we weren't expecting anything too wild, it was just too quiet at night. There are a few bars but they never had anybody in them. Yamas bar is the only "busy" place, it had on average 15 people in the bar. The music was good and all cocktails were 3.50 euros and very alcoholic!

We went to sidari 2 nights and it is alot better for people wanting to go to bars or a place with an atmosphere. The taxi is about 15 - 17 euros each way but it is very difficult to get a taxi there, some nights we gave up waiting after being there for nearly 45 mins. In Sidari beware of the reps out side the bars who try and drag you in their bars. Ice bar was very expensive but the Falcon bar and Calypso were good.

Acharavi is a quite family based resort that is clean and very easy to find your way around. Other things: you cant put toilet roll down the toilet, it has to go in the bin, otherwise it blocks the drain system, so we recommend taking nappy bags to put used paper in. Also the hotel only provide the first toilet roll and you have to buy your others after that.

Definitely use the plug ins and spray for mosquitos as there is plenty of them.
"

by K Taylor
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

spent 2 weeks at NIreas Apartments,...

"spent 2 weeks at NIreas Apartments, had 2 bedrooms one downstairs the other upstairs both had 2 single beds in them, both of them also had their own shower,toilet and wash basin & own balcony, also there was a 3rd balcony coming off the lounge/kitchen diner could not believe it ! Fabulous. AS we arrived at Nireas apartments we were greeted by Mike who took us straight to apartment, what service. The mosquitos are a pain and I came back with 40 bites and have been to doctors and am on antibiotics, they just seem to like me, my brother who I went with only got about 5.We did by liquid plug ins, which they recomend & spray for the skin and citronela candle for balcony but they just would not leave me alone.

We ate at Woodys,Fuego which are both opposite each other as you walk to beach from apartment. A nother smashing place was La Rustique, they have Frank Sinatra, Rat Pack on a saturday night, he is very good an d the food is great! It is situated as you walk into town as you get to main road turn right and walk along a little bit only a couple of minutes, you will enjoy.
"

by B McCallum
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just come back from 2 weeks at Nireas...

"Just come back from 2 weeks at Nireas apartments, 2 adults 3 kids age 12,9 and 7 and have to say we were so pleasantly surprised. i don't know why this is only rated as 2*+ as it should be much higher. The apartments are spacious and clean, maids come in regularly. There are no safes in the rooms but we found the whold complex so safe and friendly that we did not need one. The guests and staff took to keeping an eye on the children so that it made the holiday really relaxing. Really great pool which had loads of inflatables for the kids free sunbeds and was kept really clean.

They don't have any hire of irons etc. so would recommend to bring travel iron with you.

We met loads of really nice people especially caroline and mike the day staff who were really helpful and made us feel at home. Great cooked breakfasts

They do some evening entertainment, bingo which is fun and can win quite a large sum of money on the flier. Greek night ok, food could be better for that.

The only thing i would say is be prepared for mosquito;s as they are rife so take stuff along plugins for room etc. as they can get expensive to buy there.

Bags and Shoes really cheap, magazines and books really expensive , bring them with you.

Would highly recommend going up to achaavi town about 5 mintes walk to supermarket and buying drinks as they are 2eruo each for fizzy in complex but 4for 2 euro at supermarket. Loads of restaurants, highly recomment OServos which is a serbian restaurant round in the old town excellent food the best definately.

5 mins to beach but it is stony once you walk out into sea it gets sandy but not the best of beaches i have to admit however pool was so great was not that bothered about beach.

Go to aqualand if you have kids it is well worth the money loads of great rides for all ages and food reasonably priced don't have to pay for any extras inside.

Would recommend Nireas to anyone and if you have booked to go enjoy as you won't be disappointed.
"

by C Edgar
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday, staff could not do...

"fantastic holiday, staff could not do enough for you,mac ,caroline and suzanne and not least poor old michael who never won at the bingo.apartments were excellent,pool great and what a fantastic breakfast,just like home.situated half way between the beach and the main street of acharavi,5minutes either way.some good restaurants to try are alex,s and woodys on the beach and orpheas on main street,never had a bad meal,food in all of them was excellant.nice quiet bar for a relaxing drink is the lemon tree gardens.local people are so friendly and never hassle you like some other countries.we hired a car for a day and traveled down the coast,some really lovely towns though some of the roads can be a bit scarey.first time we have been to corfu and after having such a good time we will definately be back.can recommend first choice as thier service was excellent, hope to see you all at nireas soon,thanks for everything especially the bingo winnings"

by  E Mc Dougall
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My husband and I went to the Nireas...

"My husband and I went to the Nireas apartments last year we had a lovely time accomadation excellent staff lovely and when we asked for extrs pillows they were deliverved within the hour quicker than most 4* hotels .Location is excellent for the beach and easy enough to get to the town by walking up the road for less than five miniutes although everything you need is available down by the beach with little shop bars and restaurants try Alexs reccomended also Woodys we will be back."

by J Andrews
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Nireas Studios and Apartments Closest airport: Ioannis Kapodistrias (CFU) 14.2 miles

Similar hotels around Acharavi

Hotels near Nireas Studios and Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Nireas Studios and Apartments?

Stayed at Nireas Studios and Apartments? Share your insight.