Plaza Palmeras

C/Anzuelo 60, Lanzarote 35510, Spain
2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8  / 10
(79 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
43
Good
19
Average
7
Poor
6
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Plaza Palmeras

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 37 »
three irish coleens by heather
9 / 10

myself and two friends stayed here in november 2011 we went for a relaxing week and that is what we got peaceful and quiet at night we found all the staff very friendly appartments basic but very clean but beds hard pool very very cold so no one swimming i did once and only once would def stay here again in fact planning for november 2012

  • Holiday details: Nov 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: new beds in appartments very uncomfortable
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

just got back 27th nov 2011 by gizmo
8 / 10

just came back from plaza palmeras for the 3rd time in 5 years had a great time wether great appartments clean and tidy a bit basic but hay what do you expect for the money you pay and at the end of the day its only somewere to rest you head found the pool bar a bit expensive for drinks a lot cheeper to walk half way down hill to spinikers bar and lovely views unlike the american indian cafe drinks very deer recommend the gallion 2 or the place to eat or the carvery sad to see the barge inn shut this is my 23rd witer hols in purto del carmen and shell be back next november

  • Holiday details: Nov 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Worst yet by Al and Marc
1 / 10

Been to these apartments before and they needed TLC then but now it needs a full refurbishment. The furniture looked the same as 10 years ago. The doors don't close easily, the fridge is still rusty and needs help closing. There is a modern kettle and toaster now. This year there were lots of very small ants by the sink particularly but even in the wardrobes. The rooms are a good size and were cleaned only twice during our stay and I had to ask for fresh towells on the 4th day. Generally the pool area is kept very clean and is spacious with little difficulty getting a sunlounger. Easy walk down to PDC but can be tiring coming home late at night up a farily steep hill. Love PDC but wouldn't go there again.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Wear dark glasses
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant by Boycey
9 / 10

Spent 2 great weeks at the Plaza Palmeras, read loads of reveiws before we went so thought I would give mine, Fantastic time, had a ground floor apartment on the main road so a little noise but stopped around 12. Rooms cleaned 5 days a week, fresh towels twice a week and beds once a week, pool area scrubbed every morning. bar has happy hour twice a day and serves some nice snacks, bar staff great as all the reviews say. Bit of a hill down to the main strip but only bothered us when we ate and drank to much at night lol. Cheap car hire down the road if you want to have a look round and the see Chris in the excursion office opposite the car hire if you want to know anything ! Some fantastic places to eat with good deals, Try the American Indian for a good night and Cafe La Ola for a cocktail it like paradise over looking the sea. I would love to go back its much better than we expected for a 2 star.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Take a few basics ie tea, coffee, sauce they can be pricey.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic holiday! by cllinford1
9 / 10

I've only just got back from Lanzarote, me and 4 other girls (all 18) spent a week there starting the 11th July. A lot of the reviews state that you get what you pay for with these apartments, but all 5 of us couldn't fault it and think that it is really worth the money and seems more like a 3 star than 2!

All the staff were great and helpful with somebody always on reception to help you. Also, Ali the bar man was not as crazy as we expected from the reviews! He does shout when happy hour is (4-5 and 8-9 i think!) but it wasn't too loud and didn't disturb us at all!

The hotel was mostly filled with families and I think we were the one of the only young groups there but that was perfect for us! The apartments are very clean and the maid came every day but only changed the towels around 3 times and the beds once, but I think it would be more frequent if requested!

We had 2 people in one apartment and 3 in the other and they were facing eachother. We asked for the top floor and got it which was ideal for us. The apartments have a bedroom with 2 beds in and then a pull out camp bed in the lounge area for a 3rd person. The lounge area and kitchen are together but very spacious and we frequently had all 5 of us in one apartment with plenty of space.

In the kitchen we had knives, forks, spoons, small and large plates, a frying pan and a medium sized pan, glasses and cups for hot drinks. We had some meals in the apartment but mostly went out for tea because the prices were very reasonable! I would definitely recommend going to The Royal for an english breakfast and drink for €2.50 which is down the hill and on the right. The pizzas there were also very good!

You do have to pay for things like a safe and air conditioning, however we didn't find that we needed air con because it was quite breezy at night and the apartments stayed cool.

In July the pool's temperature was not an issue, it was cold at first but you quickly warmed up just like with any pool. Theres a large pool and a smaller childrens one right next to it with barriers between the two making it safe. The area around the pool has little shade though and you have to get up early to be able to get the parasols that are up.

Lanzarote as a place is very beautiful and the beach has an amazing view! You have to pay to use parasols and sunbeds, I think we got one parasol and 2 sunbeds for €10.

The main strip has lots of cafes and bars on for families and for young groups. You do get hassled a bit to go into different bars and restaurants but if you're polite then they will be to you too.

At night it is quite lively in the bars and restaurants and we felt safe all of the time. I would definitely recommend Lanzarote and the Plaza Palmeras apartments! We would easily go back again!

I'd recommend going into the room near reception which has all the different places you can visit and boat trips you can take on different days up on the wall, because we missed the room and therefore missed some of the things we could have gone to!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic! by Kirsty318
10 / 10

Myself (age 21) and my boyfriend (age 24) had a fantastic time hear!!! i was worried about coming to the apartments as there is no air con and i was dreading having to blow dry and straighten my hair in the heat! but it was fine!the rooms are pretty cool. You can hire a fan which is 14 euros for the week which we did just to have on in the evening.

Rooms were really clean and nice, maids come in 3 times a week. Pool area was lovley and the pool was not that cold at all!!

you have a hotel supermarket, but i would go to the one down the road, it has every thing you need (salad, french bread, fruit etc)

The hotel was for all ages, there was alot of young couples when we went, families, older couples and groups.

Me and my boyfriend did a bar crewl which you do through the holiday reps, it was 12 euros, you went to different bars and one hour free bar, i had the best time ever and it's so good to get to meet other people from your hotel!.

There are plenty of resturants and bars which is a 5 min walk down the hill (which is not bad at all by the way) there is also a harbour which is 5-10 min cab ride, no more than 4 euros to get there. Go to the harbour if you love fresh fish and sea food. i had the best steak and grilled prawns i have ever eaten! also it's more quiet and you don't get hasseled to go into barsn etc, and on the main strip you do!

so to sum it up i had a great time hear and i would love to go back.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, self catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic holiday by JenJen
10 / 10

Me and my friend stayed here in april for 2weeks, we had a brilliant time!!! The staff are really nice deffo Ali top man!!!! Happy Hour!!! Although the hotel is at the top of the hill its not to bad at all! There is a shop on site but we found that the supermarket half way down the hill had more chice and cheeper (especially alcohol)! 5 minuate walk to the the main strip where all the bars and clubs are, we r 25 n loved the strip, deffo recomend The Big Apple staff are really friendly! There are people that stand outside bars and restrants n they mither you to go into there bar or restrant, that is my only complaint. i deffo recomend the pinocchio restrant at the bottom of the hill turn right, cheap and good value for money!! i would deffo stay at the plaza palmeras again! Brill holiday all round! o yeah turn left at the bottom of the hill and go to the top gun fantastic for a good old english breakfast doesnt look much from the outside but we ate ther most moring n was a great hangover cure...... deffo bacon butty on english bread!!!

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: maybe not suitable for people with walking disabilities
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Happy Hour by Birch27585
10 / 10

Love this place,just got back from a 10 days stay,been there 4 times with my boyfriend and love it.

Bar staff are world class and Ali's happy hour are brill.Hope to back next year.

HAPPY HOUR :)

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Get what you pay for by MARINSTEW
8 / 10

This is the second time we have stayed at these apartments in the last year or so and found it to be most enjoyable both times, staff are more than happy to help, we requested a certain room for our last visit and we got it, we travelled with a young child and found the complex quiet at nite just what we were lookin for as we were up early in the mornin and in bed early at night, only thing i would have liked to have had was a childrens play area, maybe for future visits, so a overall good holiday and would recommend these apartments.

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, self catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

self catering? by beesnees
4 / 10

To say this accomodation is for self catering I don't know what you were supposed to cater with. 4 plates 4 dishes 4 tea plates, 4 knives 4 forks 4 spoons. This was all well and good but you only had 2 small sauce pans. Also half way through the holiday a group of people arrived at the resort who must have been related to the owner of the bar.From then on it was a nightmare you couldn't relax reading they were so loud you could'nt concerntrate. I have been to puerto del carmen 4 times in 3 years and I can honestly say this was the worst holiday I have ever had. Very disapointed it turned out very expensive as we had to dine out twice a day instead of once.people had money taken from their rooms. The maids were leaving windows open after cleaning.The windows state clearly to be kept shut!!!

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

ok by Kelly
5 / 10

I Stayed here for 2 weeks. Its a basic self catering hotel. Rooms where clean, and quite cool. Although i had a good holiday here i wouldnt stay again.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: sort the bar and kitchen out
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

it was great by barney
10 / 10

This was the first time we had been to the apartments, indeed the first time we had been to lanzarote, we knew what to expect from the apartment, as we had looked on web sites before we booked, staff were all very friendly including our cleaner who was very good.

Ali and ahmed also were great but they would try to persuade myself and wife to swop my daughter for up to 80 camels. and as for the hill from the strip up to the apartments it was nothing, I have a steeper hill from my house to the local shops. we are definatly going back next year and would recomend this place to anyone.

  • Holiday details: Feb 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: apartments are what you pay for but clean.
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 37 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Plaza Palmeras? Share your insight.

Plaza Palmeras also called

  • Plaza Palmeras Apartments
  • plaza palmeras lanzarote
  • Address: C/Anzuelo 60, Lanzarote 35510, Spain

Explore area

Map for Plaza Palmeras Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 3.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Plaza Palmeras photos (10 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Plaza Palmeras
  • by Ellie x

    " mantee scuba diving, gallion and lots of others to many "

  • by kw1972

    " Favourite Restaurant: Lani's Cantina "

  • by debbieroome

    " There are a lot of lovely restaurants in Lanzarote. I would recommend The Big Apple for drinks "

  • by kirkyballa

    " The Fire Mountains are a cant miss! As well as the jameos del agua. A good restaraunt was top gun. "

  • by Westcountryblue

    " great eateries were The Royal, Way West, and a good day out at the market in Teguise on a sunday. "

  • by Roisin

    " Great Location for a cheap and cheerful holiday! "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " good resort, good entertainment, good beaches and great food. "

  • by beesnees

    " visit the camels and volcano's "

Similar hotels around Puerto Del Carmen

Hotels near Plaza Palmeras

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Plaza Palmeras?