Montebello Hotel

Belcekiz Mah., Olu Deniz 48300, Turkey
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(85 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
52
Good
22
Average
7
Poor
2
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 9/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Montebello Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
Best 2 weeks of my life. by <3Montebello
10 / 10

Got back in the early hours of this morning from 2 amazing weeks at the Montebello and I wish I hadn't bothered coming back.

I went with my parents and my best friend and had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. We arrived at around 4am Turkish time but Batis the barman took us to our rooms and made sure we were sorted in our rooms before we collapsed into our beds. :p

The rooms at the Montebello aren't the most luxorious, they are basic but are kept very clean by the friendly maid who would always say 'Good Morning' and made sure we had clean towels, sheets and spare loo roll if we asked her. One downside to the room was that the door handle to our balcony didn't work properly and we had to devise a new method for shutting our door. Also, the taps in our shower had been swapped around, so that what appeared to be the hot tap was actually the cold tap and vice versa. Despite these slight issues, neither were a major problem and we soon got used to them.

The food at the hotel isn't the best, breakfast was very basic and okay for some people but I am very picky with breakfast and there was not alot of choice. This wasn't much of an issue though and we normally skipped breakfast, had a lie in then ate lunch at the hotel which was lovely.

The best part of this hotel is the staff who are incredibly friendly and helpful, they all work extremely long hours but always do so with a smile and they soon learnt our names, favourite drinks and favourite lunches which adds a special touch. Also, "Cakeci"- (meaning cake time) at around 4pm everyday is a nice touch, but don't believe the staff when they tell you they make the cakes themselves. ;)

But a big thanks to Batis, Ridvan, Murat, Oktay, Mesut and Bahri for making our stay VERY enjoyable and don't worry, we'll keep our promise to come back next year after the renovations. :)

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good, basic, clean room to use as a base and I'd definitely say to go to the Turkish night on Wednesdays!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Holiday- great hotel! by alidon
10 / 10

1st time in Turkey and loved every minute of it! Hotel was really good- everything i had read about and hoped for! Ok breakfast not so good- typical Turkish options but very cheap alternatives on menu! Rooms basic but VERY clean and comfortable- the maid service was excellent! The staff are really really friendly and make you feel very welcome. Lovely small hotel with a really lovely feel and within 5 mins max of main strip etc. Billys beach was amazing- best beach at Olu Deniz in the Lagoon and free transport to and from whenever! Only problem we had was a meal at the KARBEL HOTEL RESTAURANT which had baby bugs in the free garlic bread!!!! All other restaurants fab but in particular- The Magic Garden and the Seahorse were amazing! Harrys Bar is fantastic in the evening with the most amazing juggling act! All in all a fantastic holiday and will definately be going back!!!!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Relaxing and beautiful
  • Good For: Beach

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

No probs by lyntipus
10 / 10

Just had 2 weeks at the montebello and cannot find anything to complain about. Tha staff are very friendly and helpful,always there with a smile and a chat.

They all worked hard to make us all feel very welcome and Batis tried hard to entertain the guests with various theme nights.

The rooms were clean and comfortable and any problems were quicky sorted.The free air con. was a god send as it was very hot and humid in August.

This hotel is just far enough out to be away from the noise and bustle of the main street.

We ate at a different restaurant every night and can honestly say we didn't have a bad meal anywhere.

Some of the places were, Phillip's, the magic Garden, the X factor, Anafora and one on the opposite corner to the magic garden (the name escapes me but the little man wore a fez).

Prices for drinks and food are reasonable and some places offered free desert and coffees.

The turkish people are very polite and extremely friendly and deserve to be recognised for this.

We will definately be returning to the Montebello but maybe not in August.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Been back 12 hours and I want to go back already. by The most Turkey loving vegetarian.
9 / 10

I went to this hotel last Saturday for a week with my parents and my cousin. We arrived very early in the morning (around 5am Turkish time) but were shown to our rooms quickly and helped with our luggage. The air con was great and included in the price of the room. The rooms were very basic but clean and there was enough room for clothes, the balcony was also very small but enough room for two people to sit easily.

The staff at the Montebello are very friendly, helpful and are willing to have a laugh and will sometimes sit and talk with you. They work very long hours but are always ready to help with any problem.

The food was reasonable for the price but the breakfast options were limited and there were some flies around which is the only negative side to the food.

If you want more traditional Turkish food make sure you go to the Magic Garden restaurant and bar, they have great food and the entertainment afterwards is hilarious.

On the entertainment side, make sure you go to the Turkish style BBQ on Wednesdays as the staff get involved- one of the Barstaff has many talents like fire breathing and belly dancing. It is well worth the money.

This hotel is really peaceful if you want to stay somewhere slightly away from the main strip. However, it is only a 5-10 minute (depending on the heat) walk to the main street full of Turkish style shops.

Some places to visit are:

- on the left walking up from the beach there is a small crafts market where you can watch the craftsmen and woman working.

- the Sultan Ahmet serves great food for vegetarians as well which was a nice change to salads.

- make sure you take advantage of the many trips on offer, some of the best were the Dalyan mud baths and the 6 Island trip- booked with Pioneer Travel which was a great value for money and food included. Well worth a fiver each!

Also, if you want a more comfortable trip to the beach, lookout for the bean bags on the beach- you have to buy one drink but then you can sit on the bean bags- with umbrellas and tables all day.

In all, the Montebello Hotel is a really good hotel- great value for money and I would go back now if I could. If anybody would like to pay for a 16 year old's ticket back to Turkey- please let me know!! :)

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Just relax and talk to the staff- they're very interesting people.

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Holiday by sunflower
8 / 10

Stayed at the montebello hotel for two weeks in july. Hotel very nice in a beautiful setting. The staff keep the hotel very clean. Just had an issue with the breakfast which would have been ok if they covered the food. The amount of flies that were landing on the food was outrageous, so be awhere of this. Otherwise all very nice. Loads of nice restaurants thoroughly recommend Phillips Bar, food excellent.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: yes
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great 10 days by guest
7 / 10

Just got back from 10 day stay at the hotel,staff,room& pool good.We went 1/2 board but the food was put out on tables& was open to flies all the time, ended up having boiled eggs for breakfast most days & eating out at night. Nothing to do at night but the resort was very good to eat out.We would go back to the hotel again but will give the food a miss.

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant by coolcathy
9 / 10

Just got back from 2 weeks on 5/10/09 fist time there, but will be going back again same time next year.

hotel setting was excellent within easy reach of the main and smaller beaches by the blue lagon.

all the staff where very helpfull and friendly, rooms kept very clean.

Food in hotel was very good and quite reasonable, local beer only 4 lira in hotel found some for 3 lira 2.35 to the £ while there.

Spoilt for choice for places to eat as so many and ones we tried were all excellent value.

Some to try are, N-Joy, Secret Garden, Blue Star Restraunt, Oba, Magic Garden, Sultan Ahmet, Sugar and Spice.

Cool beach bar on the main beach to chill after a days sunbathing its at the end of the main strip has deck chairs and tables on the prom and bean bags on the beach where you can watch the sun set all waiter service 6 lira for beer 10 lira upwards for cocktails.

Can't wait to go back roll on 2010

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with jewel in the crown
  • Good For: Beach

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday by tina&colin
9 / 10

Just came back from two weeks holiday at the montebello and it was great.

Had a fab time at this resort,food was excellant and good value for money.

Staff really friendly,rooms were small but very clean.

Must mention corner cafe where sid worked hard, was very friendly and a great character.

Thinking of returning next year as had such a great time.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hard to critisize! by montebellohotel
9 / 10

Just returned from 2 weeks at Montebello Hotel, and it was my first time there.

Upon our arrival the greeting was very friendly, and they insisted on helping us with our luggage to the room, which was nice.

The hotel itself looks small on first impressions but never felt a squeeze, and it was very easy to settle in. Most of the rooms overlook the pool area, but there is good double glazing to shut out noise if you wish. The rooms are basic, but clean; and the shower was good, however the balcony was really quite small.

The pool is large and was always clean, and sunbeds easily attainable before 9am, as we found many people were 'claiming' them on their way to breakfast. The restaurant served good food at very reasonable prices. The bar is relatively cheaply priced, although there are a few exceptions, with good music playing and a nice atmosphere. BBQ/Turkish night is a must, i would highly recommend it. The food was plenty and very cheap, with hilarious entertainment to follow. I would also recommend it because the music on these nights is hugely loud, and as i found in the first week, is difficult to avoid from inside the rooms.

All the staff were wonderful throughout. The male receptionists were always friendly, as were the maids. Onder, or 'Jeff' as he calls himself, is the host of the pool and bar area in the afternoons and evenings, and is always there ensuring a good time is being had. He was very friendly, although we sometimes felt it was a little excessive.

'Spikey' the bar tender was always a joy, as was the manager Joseph. The most prominent staff presence in the Hotel comes from the team of around 8 multi-tasking caretakers/waiters/entertainers/cleaners. These were all young men who seemed to be worked very hard, although they were all extremely friendly. They would be up at 7am, and working until gone midnight everyday, and they live on-site underneath one of the blocks; so they really are heavily present, but definately not a bad thing.

Overall the only negatives i can think of are the small rooms, sometimes repetitive music in the bar, and lack of cold water; but these really are very small things; and I have found the hotel to be wonderful, and i hope to return next year!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brillent by cbest1986
8 / 10

This hotel was very nice and clean, the rooms were very basic but who cares because your not there to chill in your room, the only down side is that you have to hire a fridge.

The pool area was nice and clean and there was always a sun bed spare. The staff were lovely especially a guy named Jeff always walking around making sure every one was ok.

it was only a 5-10 minute walk to where all the restraunts and shops were which was a bonus.

i would definatley recommend this place to stay.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Bed & Breakfast, Booked Independently
  • Advice: beautiful place
  • Activities: Buzzbar
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Most enjoyable by Cleevegirl
9 / 10

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Montebello. The rooms were comfortable and cleaned on a daily basis and the shower worked effectively. The pool was excellent with adequate sun beds and a clean pool area. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were a wide variety of lunchtime snacks and evening meals. The Turkish evening was one of the best I've ever been to. The entertainment was excellent and a wide variety of different dishes. The music at the bar area wasn't intrusive at night. The only downside was that my alarm clock broke and I asked reception for an early morning call on two occasions, neither of which happened! Otherwise this ideally situated hotel was a lovely place to stay.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice hotel, but small rooms by jogray
9 / 10

Just stayed at the Montebello for a week, hotel was set in lovely well kept grounds. Had a lovely pool, plenty of sunbeds (never any problems getting one)and umbrellas. The staff were really friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They kept the whole hotel and pool very very clean.

Some of the drinks at the hotel bar were a bit on the expensive side, however water and the turkish beer were fairly cheap.

My only criticism is that the hotel rooms and the balcony's were small. The balcony didn't really have much room to sit out on it and the rooms were only big enough for 2 people, that said, the rooms were bright and modern and enough for a weeks holiday.

The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach, bars, resturants and shops so in a great position. would also recommend a boat trip, you can book these through the tour guides in Olu Deniz and are much cheaper that what your tour operator would charge you.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Bed & Breakfast, booked with Goldtrail
  • Activities: Buzz bar & restaurant!!!! Fantastic place, highly recommended!!!
  • Good For: Beach

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Montebello Hotel? Share your insight.

Montebello Hotel also called

  • Montebello Hotel duplicate
  • montebello hotel oludeniz
  • Address: Belcekiz Mah., Olu Deniz 48300, Turkey

Explore area

Map for Montebello Hotel Closest airport: Dalaman (DLM) 21.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Montebello Hotel photos (10 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Montebello Hotel
  • by jogray

    " Fantastic resort, not too busy or quiet, fab beach, great food and plenty of activities to do. "

  • by Cleevegirl

    " Paragliding has to be done. Bus it to Hirosanu for 5TL. Cheers and The Lemon Tree do fab food. "

  • by montebellohotel

    " Paragliding a must, Jeep Safari if your up for a laugh. Also give hotel's restaurant a go. "

  • by coolcathy

    " sunset cruise with barbeque £10.00 N-Joy, Secret Garden, Oba, Blue Star "

  • by lyntipus

    " very scenic, a must for hangliders "

  • by <3Montebello

    " Don't use the credit card system as they add on a 10% tip for everything so just pay by cash, they're fine with this. :) "

Similar hotels around Olu Deniz

Hotels near Montebello Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Montebello Hotel?