Marmaris Imperial Hotel

Yalanci Bogazi Adaagzi Mevki Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
4 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(18 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
9
Good
4
Average
4
Poor
1
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 9/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Marmaris Imperial Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Nice location

"We where lucky we had a room lower down I would not liked to have had a room on a higher level getting to our room was hard work our room was quiet depressing the bed was so hard we never slept for the first 2nights we told the rep she requested a mattress topper for us we was fine after we got that The food was fantastic we enjoyed every meal we had the drink was not very good it was always hard to get served at the bar we enjoyed our week but I would not go back to this hotel it is not a 5 star We have stayed in lots of five star hotels I would say this hotel is more a three star the entertainment at night is not to bad we never went into Marmaris so can't comment on transport we relaxed by the pool most days"

  • Holiday details: May 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Better to just relax and enjoy the surroundings and enjoy the lovely food
  • Good For: Beach
by Rita L
6 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great food & location

"Marmaris Imperial

Formerly Club Magic Life, this ( Suntopia ) hotel is now adults-only, all-inclusive, and is re-badged under the Thomson Couples brand. It is about 5 miles outside Marmaris and takes about 30 minutes either by the half-hourly Dolmus bus (it’s very twisty & narrow – a white-knuckle ride) or by the hotel’s own water taxi, which crosses about 3 times a day.

The setting is magnificent, with the public buildings adjacent to the beach and all the guest rooms set in blocks of four dotted up the hillside in Cypress trees. It’s all steep hills or hundreds of uneven steps, with or without handrails. The first evening, we both fell down steps (before drinking!) and then got hopelessly lost trying to find our room later (after drinking). It did get better, and we decided it was worth it. All the rooms have balcony or terrace and sea view. Ours looked over a marina of fantasy private boats. Our room was a decent size, well-equipped with TV, fridge, tea-making, hair dryer etc. The bathroom had a double-size shower (no bath) and seemed to be all new.

Sunbathing options included a private beach with enclosed (ie. no boats) deep-water swimming, a main pool, which had limited daytime activities and was fairly lively, and a relax pool, both with their own bars. Sunbeds were plentiful (despite the usual annoying “reserving” habit of some guests) Everything was kept spotlessly clean. There is a watersports centre and spa/treatment centre, neither of which we used, but which were praised by those who did.

The main buffet restaurant had indoor and alfresco areas and was first rate. The food was as good as we have experienced anywhere. It was free seating and no problem re-setting a used table if you wanted a particular place. Plates were cleared promptly and drinks brought on request or help yourself. Most hot dishes were cooked in front of you, and the chefs were anxious that you should choose their creations. Yum-Yum! There are also two a la cartes, one Mediterranean (Italian) the other Turkish, to either of which you can have one complimentary visit per week.

Daytime activities were modest, but included archery, darts, volleyball, water polo, boules, aerobics and guided walks. Evening entertainment was weak. The resident duo was two English public schoolboys jamming - they played some good music, but badly. A guest group, Clover, were good, with an excellent girl singer. The Anatolian night, held outside in the amphitheatre, was good, but only lasted about 40 minutes.

The staff were friendly and helpful, providing excellent service, completely unlike our only previous experience in Turkey (Maritim Grand Azur).

Overall, it was a great experience and we would have no hesitation in returning one day, or in recommending it (to the physically fit)
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by bigal
9 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

In Awe

"My husband and I took this holiday as it was the choice of our friends not because we wanted to go, however, we were in awe of all the wonderful assets it offered us, food exceptional,accomodation first class, entertainment fantastic and the surroundings were beautiful in fact, everything about it was brilliant. We have never had a bad experience with All Inclusive holidays however this one exceeded our expectations! Thank You Thompsons we will return to Magic Life Marmaris."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Go for it and experience a wonderful holiday
  • Good For: Beach
by lamb
9 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I took my two sisters on holiday for...

"I took my two sisters on holiday for my 50th birthday to club magic life, and it was the best holiday ive ever had. The service and staff were brilliant, the food was terrific and plenty to choose from, the accomadation was superb, very clean and nothing was too much bother for the staff. Entertainment was brilliant. So all in all we had a fabulous time."

by M Trigwell
10 / 10

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brillant Resort, away from the hussel of Marmaris

"My boyfriend and I had a fantastic time in the resort and have only just returned home.

The complex is large with everything you will need within. It is set within a forest of pine trees and on a steep hill overlooking a small harbour area and a stunning bay.

Marmaris is about a 20-30 mins drive away and will cost about 30-40 YTL in a private taxi. There is a water taxi direct from the hotel to Marmaris port for only 10 YTL return, which takes a very scenic tour in about 30 mins.

The rooms are an average size and have an also average TV, bathroom, safe, balcony and twin beds!!!

There is a large shower which was big enough for 2! There are terrible blinds which don't stop any light getting in, so eye masks are essential.

As previously mentioned in other reports, noise from the upstairs bathroom being flushed away can be heard, so make sure to close the

bathroom door!!!

There is a free minibar with 2 litres bottles of Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite and Water. But this is not replenished throughout the holiday.

The food on site is very nice and cooked well, but very repeatative. They have theme dinners nearly every night, which included Mexican, Far East, French, Turkish (included market outside main restaurant), Gala and Seafood.

There are two restaurants one Turkish (above the main restaurant) which was delicious and the other Mediterranean (on the beach side).

The main pool is very busy and home to many children, the entertainment HQ and blaring music. We preferred the relax pool which had wooden sun beds.

The spa was amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed our authentic Turkish Bath. This includes a sauna, exfoliation and "bubble" massage for 50 YTL.

The Entertainment was ok, we only watched two evening shows. The first was a Chinese aerobatics, which was good and the second a Turkish dance. Because of the language barrier they are limited to what can be done. These occur in the amphitheatre from 21.30 - 22.15 each night apart from Saturday (Entertainment team day off)

The resort also has a bit of a problem with insects. This is because the hotel is situated in a forest. There are many mosquitos and other terribly annoying flying insects. There's unfortunatly not much that can be done we found that tropical insect repliant kind of helped. These come out at night and are partcally bad at the outdoors Turkish restaurant.

Another part of the resort are their very own paperazzi. There are two guys who hide in the bushes around the bridge in the evening asking to take your pictures. Once you have told them that your not interested they won't ask again, bt still take the pictures?!?

Unknown to us the resort is owned by TUI, a German company. Therefore the majority of the holiday makers are German, Swiss and Eastern European. But we found everyone to be polite, even though all of the sun beds at the main pool were reserved at 9am!!! All of the staff spoke Turkish and German and not many spoke English, which made some aspect quite irritating, but we got there in the end!!!

We booked an excursion to Mulga Market and Akart Beach which was very disappointing through Thompson but with TanTur. We first boarded a mini coach (needed for all your transfers as the hotel is away from the other Marmaris hotels and down a long winding road, unsuitable for a large coach) to a car park in Marmaris and waited 40 minutes for the large coach. We were given an apology and the tour operator stopped off at a cafe and bought everyone a drink! The market, which fairly was advertised as away from tourist attractions, was not exactly what we expected. There was a half mile walk from where the coach parked to the market, which only really sold fruit another food (not much good for people on all inclusive!, although the cherries and Erik, little bitter green fruit, were delicious) The fishing village of Akart was small and only had a few restaurants and a small beach.

Overall the holiday was good and very relaxing. The language barrier was a bit of a problem and the walking up hill was exhausting but burnt some of those calories.

Enjoy yourself!
"

by michelle1986
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This is the second time we have...

"This is the second time we have visited a Magic Life Hotel - and again we were not disappointed. The staff could not do enough for you, very friendly. The food was superb with lots of choice and "speciality nights" ranging from "Far East" to "Fish" as well as the a la carte Italian and Turkish restaurants to choose from.

The Hotel areas were kept very clean and were very nice. For me, however, the best thing was the view - very picturesque. Spectacular views from all areas of the hotel and your rooms - fantastic!

There was a choice of 2 pool areas (one activity and one relax) plus one in the "Mungo Club" for the little ones. A sand/gravel beach and a paved patio area which ran all along the bottom of the hotel.

There is also a Dive Centre for anyone into Scuba Diving. This was one of only two little things which I felt were not quite up to scratch. If you wanted to dive you had to be driven into Marmaris to get on a boat which then picked up guests from other hotels before reaching the dive site. The guests were all of mixed abilities which meant that a lot of time was wasted hanging around. My husband and son left one morning at 9.00am and did not return to the hotel until 8.00pm - all for 2 dives! We were told that next year a boat would stay in the Hotel and cater for Magic Life guests only - which should be a whole lot better.

My second moan was about the rooms - they are quite small. The bathrooms in particular need to be modernised and I was pleased to hear that Magic Life are in fact refurbishing these ready for next year.

On the whole a fantastic holiday, and yes I would go back there and would definitely go to another Magic Life Hotel. They have got the "All Inclusive" package absolutely spot on!
"

by  W Hall
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very nice hotel

"I stayed at Magic Life in July 2005, and you can bet the name of the hotel fits the holiday you get there.

The rooms where good, nice bathrooms and good beds. TV was a bit dissapointing, as there were mostly German and Turkish TV-stations on it. Only English channel was CNBC Europe. Minibar was filled with water and softdrinks when we arrived. Before booking this hotel, keep in mind that some of the rooms are located quite away from the reception, and that you may have to climb up some stairs to reach your room.

The garden and scenery was wonderful, never been at a hotel that is this beautiful. Lots of flowers, nice buildings, everything perfect. The pools are a bit small, but you also have the wonderful beach, wich is partly in concrete.

Food was very good, sometimes a bit too much turkish for me (I don't like BBQ and meatballs), but I always found something tasty. The Italian and Turkish restaurants were very good, perfect service and perfect food. And like everywhere in this hotel, the service was perfect.

The only dissapointhing thing was that the reception couldnt Exchange Norwegian money. I have been in a lot of foreign hotels, but this hotel was the first that couldn't Exchange. As the hotel is located quite far from Marmaris, it was quite annoying to go all the way there to Exchange.

But the vacation was top. Best ever!
"

by norwaynorway
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Superb Holiday - Would go back Again

"Had a really great time at Magic Life. The resort was very nice - prior to going I had never been to Turkey and had some reservations. However I can strongly recommend this resort and Turkey to anyone who is planning a holiday.

LOCATION: (Marmaris) was a worry knowing how busy it is - but from the resort you can only see the lights of Marmaris in the distance. It does look quite pretty at night ! There are good connections to the town should you wish to travel in - either by the local bus (very cheap) or by the water taxi from the resort. Both were tried and both equally good.

FOOD: at Magic Life was excellent - both in the self service area and in either of the other two restaurants. You can eat near enough all day should you so wish. Not only was there breakfast/lunch and dinner - but afternoon tea and cakes at 17:00 and at midnight for an hour a feast was available if you have just come out the disco.

The sporting activities were very good - I made full use of the free water skiing and made lots of new friends ( english german austrian and turkish ) Some very good skiiers though - (Thomas the German worthy a mention - nice chap great skiier) showed me up !!

Aside the skiing there was plenty of other activities to occupy all ages. The pools were very well maintained and the staff at the resort were always very polite and helpful.

ROOMS : were very well equiped and included such extras as safe box / satellite tv and a fridge. There were always kept clean and tidy by the cleaners and quite often you would find in your room flowers placed on the new bedding !! A very nice touch. However if you are not fit or healthy the only downside may be the walk to your accomodation.

OVERALL: Can't fault it at all and would not hesitate to go back again next year.
"

by A TripAdvisor Member
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

bit disappointed really

"This was our first time to turkey and I do not think we shall go back.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly but their English, unlike their German, was very limited which caused problems from time to time.

Our room was in the highest but one bungalow and we had to negotiate a very steep slope followed by nearly sixty stone steps, hard slog on the way up and on the way down (in a pair of heels or after the rain when covered in mud especially) quite slippery. Expected to land on my bottom on several occasions! The room was small and was not clean. The bathroom needed some work (also, were did they hide the dam plugs for bath and basin?!) and even the day we checked in the floor was dirty and I detected more than one cobweb. Every day the staff left new bedding which we had to put on ourselves, never cleaned a glass or swept up. I was very disappointed after staying in several nicer hotels with fewer stars elsewhere.

The shared facilities where little better with the main ladies toilet mirror having a large crack in it and the main bar having the feel of a youth club ( not a dig at the youths who were very well behaved, more the decor)

Pluses however include the food, didn't always knock our socks off but there was loads of it and only wish we could have hired larger stomachs for the week to make the most of it! I recommend the Milanese al a carte restaurant in particular. Fabulous and all included. I took a little time to get used to the all inclusive( ie not be drunk by lunch time) and when this hotel says all inclusive it is one of the few which really means it. There are only five hours in a 24 hour period when food or drink is not available!

The relax pool was wonderful for chilling out with a book and the girl behind the bar there deserves special mention for being so sweet and for probably working twelve hour days poor soul. Beware the huge hornets and dragonfly round here if you are as squeamish as me. Being quite lazy I did not take advantage of the activities much but my husband loved the archery, the tennis was very popular and the aerobics classes looked brilliant. You didn't get long to water ski and wind surf but could pay for longer if you loved it. The small beach was just about big enough and the water was beautifully clear.

In summary although the hotel was in a beautiful yet possibly too secluded area and food and all inclusive activities were super, the steps and the sheer lack of cleanliness really spoilt it for me and the language barrier makes complaining pretty tough too
"

by A TripAdvisor Member
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Good resort hotel but ...

"First of all, the hotel is located on a hillside,

so along with spectacular views on the sea and mountains you get a lot of walking, especially if your room is located on the higher levels.

But if your room is located in first three levels it's still conceivable.

The hotel is located outside of Marmaris, so you can enjoy from no traffic and clear air. You can visit Marmaris by boat or bus, the promenade is really nice with a lot of restaurants.

Actually the food is one of the best things in this hotel. It's very delicious and diversified, one of the best I've ever met.

The beach is pretty small but still nice with clear water, although a huge yacht port is in few hundreds meters from the resort, which glooms the nature.

On the other hand there are a lot of drawbacks that I’ve found in this hotel.

First, the rooms are not really as they should be in 5-star hotel, they are pretty small, if you have a child, then two beds fill all the room space. The bathroom is really mouldy, a lot of cracks and stains, so it really needs some renovation. Actually many hotel facilities need it.

Second, there is no room service and rooms cleaning is done till 17:00, so if you are used to rest at the noon, you have to inform the reception to clean you room at the morning, otherwise, the housekeeper can enter you room in the middle of your sleeping.

Third, if you have a child bellow age of 5-6, there are no activities for him; most of activities are for children above these ages.

Forth, since the club his German/Austrian origins and most of the visitors are German, which is good from cultural point of view, but you might found that many Turkish workers don’t speak English. More that this, the bulletin board in children club (Mungo club) is in German, so if you looking for some entertainment for you child, you have to guess. The children’s movies are also in German.

Fifth, the pools. The pool for infants is very small and dirty, because of the trees, and no one cares to clean it. The activity pool is also very small, and you cannot get a place to seat or lie. The towels you can get only in pools, on to the beach you don’t have them.

Summary: this is nice resort but it seems to be too expensive, there are much better resorts in same price, but it has a good potential, I think that with some renovation works, and more family entertainment, it may turn to much better place.
"

by Vasilijo
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Truly Magical

"This was one of our best vacations ever. We knew from many visits to Turkey that the Turkish people were friendly, and also the staff of this hotel were incredibly polite and helpfull, even more this year than ever.

The setting of this club is wonderfull (against a hill, amid pine trees), but mind the many steps (not really for elderly people?).

Rooms are OK (not really 5*, but very clean).

Food is terrific (mostly exotic, just as we love it).

Hotel beach is rather small, but OK (great for Marmaris standards, but there are better beaches in Turkey for sure).

If you are not looking for too much luxury like 5*+, you are quite active (sports and animation is top) and love a wonderfully located hotel full of lovely people... it's for you.

BTW there are other nationalities in ML Marmaris besides the ones mentioned here... a.o. Dutch, Belgian and Russian people, but e.g. no Americans as far as we could tell).
"

by Greecy
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

First of all, the hotel is located on...

"First of all, the hotel is located on a hillside, so along with spectacular views on the sea and mountains you get a lot of walking, especially if your room is located on the higher levels.

But if your room is located in first three levels it's still conceivable.

The hotel is located outside of Marmaris, so you can enjoy from no traffic and clear air. You can visit Marmaris by boat or bus, the promenade is really nice with a lot of restaurants.

Actually the food is one of the best things in this hotel. It's very delicious and diversified, one of the best I’ve ever met.

The beach is pretty small but still nice with clear water, although a huge yacht port is in few hundreds meters from the resort, which glooms the nature.

On the other hand there are a lot of drawbacks that I’ve found in this hotel.

First, the rooms are not really as they should be in 5-star hotel, they are pretty small, if you have a child, then two beds fill all the room space. The bathroom is really mouldy, a lot of cracks and stains, so it really needs some renovation. Actually many hotel facilities need it.

Second, there is no room service and rooms cleaning is done till 17:00, so if you are used to rest at the noon, you have to inform the reception to clean you room at the morning, otherwise, the housekeeper can enter you room in the middle of your sleeping.

Third, if you have a child bellow age of 5-6, there are no activities for him; most of activities are for children above these ages.

Forth, since the club his German/Austrian origins and most of the visitors are German, which is good from cultural point of view, but you might found that many Turkish workers don’t speak English. More that this, the bulletin board in children club (Mungo club) is in German, so if you looking for some entertainment for you child, you have to guess. The children’s movies are also in German.

Fifth, the pools. The pool for infants is very small and dirty, because of the trees, and no one cares to clean it. The activity pool is also very small, and you cannot get a place to seat or lie. The towels you can get only in pools, on to the beach you don’t have them.

Summary: this is nice resort but it seems to be too expensive, there are much better resorts in same price, but it has a good potential, I think that with some renovation works, and more family entertainment, it may turn to much better place.
"

by Vlad Surkov
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Marmaris Imperial Hotel Closest airport: Dalaman (DLM) 27.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Marmaris

Hotels near Marmaris Imperial Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Marmaris Imperial Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Marmaris Imperial Hotel? Share your insight.

Marmaris Imperial Hotel is also called:

  • Magic Life Hotel
  • magic life hotel marmaris
  • Magic Life Marmaris
  • marmaris magic life hotel

Address: Yalanci Bogazi Adaagzi Mevki Marmaris Merkez, Marmaris 48700, Turkey