Hotel Grand Ideal

Kenan Evren BulvarI No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey
4.5 star
hotel photo

Average Rating

7  / 10
(58 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
26
Good
10
Average
7
Poor
11
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Grand Ideal

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
Excellent Hotel and staff by Jo Ardrey
10 / 10

My husband and I stayed here for 7 days returning back to Norwich on the 27th April . We felt that the hotel certainly lived up to its 5 star we would have awarded it a higher rating if at all possible. The food was very good and the waiters and maids worked very hard. it was a spotlessly clean hotel well managed throughout. We have stayed in many hotels and found this one to be the best. Well done to them.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Thomas Cook

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Detailed but honest review by Tracey E
9 / 10

Stayed here 31st March-15th April 2012 with my two teenage sons.

This hotel is classed as 5* I would say it is an English 4 star. Everywhere is clean, well maintained and has modern decor. On arrival early hours of the morning, we were quickly shown to our room and cases were brought to us.

Staff

Nothing is too much trouble for the bar man, waiters and Chambermaid. The bar man get you served as quick as possible, the waiters clear plates and replace cutlery without you realising and when asked for extra pillows from the Chambermaid, it was there with a smile, rooms are cleaned daily. All staff are very polite and friendly, having conversations, saying hello and passing the time of day.

Rooms

Spacious and clean, lots of storage space, TV with a few English channels incl Sky sports, news channel, ITV & Sky movies, there’s a fridge in the room which has a few free soft drinks, which can be replaced at a cost. The safe is small but no charge, which is great. White towels for the bathroom and blue towels to use for beach/pool changed daily.

Food

Breakfast (variety of all) Cereals, fruit, cold meats, jams, pastries, bread, toaster & drinks. Freshly cooked eggs, hotdog style sausage, tomatoes, beans, freshly cooked waffles or pancakes.

Dinner (variety of all) soups, pasta, meats, rice, veg, potatoes, salads, cold meats, breads, pastries, cakes etc

Snack bar near pool-Chips, pizza, spag bol, cobs, salads, fruit & cakes. Some days there is kebab others its burgers.

Evening Meal (variety of all) soups, pasta, meats, rice, veg, potatoes, salads, chips, cold meats, freshly cooked meat (different each day) breads, freshly cooked desert (different each day) pastries, cakes etc

You can have cold, alcoholic or hot drinks from Sultans bar (pool) from 10am until 12am. Café de Paris (inside) serves cold or alcoholic drinks from 10am to 12am. You can get hot drinks, biscuits/cakes or rolls 24 hours.

Animatios

Pool

Cold at this time of year, clean and tidy. Lots of sun loungers, tables and umbrellas. Hotel was full so you have to get up early to get a good spot.

These guys work hard to make your holiday fun; Oozy, Ellie & Mert (sorry if names spelt wrong) arrange darts, pool & table tennis competitions twice a day. Each morning they all greet you by walking around the pool and saying good morning to EVERYONE! They will chat or join you at your table and are friendly funny and helpful. In the evening they do kids mini disco, bingo, quizzes, games and they have outside entertainers in. There is a nightclub on site which opens about 11, drinks are only free until 12 and it is quite expensive to buy them.

Free pool table near the pool.

It may be worth noting Thomas cook do not provide a kids club at this hotel.

Marmaris and Icmeler

Mini buses pick up from outside the hotel or on opposite side, just put your hand out and it stops. It’s about 2 Turkish Lira pp and they run every 5 mins. Marmaris is the busiest, lots of shops, bars, restaurants, indoor market called bazaar and their weekly market is on a Thursday. A marina where you can get the catamaran to Rhodes in Greece, a fantastic day out for about £40 pp. Icmeler is quieter, a few shops, restaurants and their Market day is Wednesday. The markets are really good fun, all the characters of the area work there. They are happy to offend you with English comments that are often not politically correct; to them they are having a laugh. Always barter they expect it, offer half what they ask and work your to a price you are happy with. Walk away even if they try and get more, they usually call you back and you have a bargain!

In and around the resorts, in shops, at hotel, restaurants, travel stalls and the markets all currencies are accepted, all goods are offered in Pounds, Euro and Turkish Lira, no need to get your money changed before you go, they love the pound.

Negatives

As previous review said the music from the nightclub can be a pain, we complained our second night, sometimes the volume was acceptable other times it wasn’t and we were on level 2.

Both outdoor and indoor pools are cold!

We didn’t have a good view, looked onto a closed hotel with muddy pool and waste land.

NOT the hotels fault but weather was fantastic our first week but cloudy the 2nd apparently it can be like that in March/April also some bars, shops restaurants don’t open until May, so consider this when booking.

Hope this helps!!

  • Holiday details: Mar 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

22 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Marvellous week's stay at Hotel Grand Ideal by Margarita Kenny
10 / 10

My friend and I are just back from this hotel. We stayed for a week and it was really great. Lovely hotel, lovely food. I put on 1/2 stone in a week because the food was too good. The service was next to none. Hotel was very clean and the maids did an excellent job. Only problem was there was very little in the way of entertainment. They played good cd's during the day, the kind everyone could listen to. Having said that the weather was bad at night and it would have been too cold to sit out at the pool, we were just a bit disappointed they didn't bring the entertainment or at least some kind of entertainment into the hotel bar.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very average by bujo
6 / 10

Room ok,cleaned every day,no real complaints there.

Bar situation appalling. The main bar is a pool bar! If you want a drink and the bar staff are having a laugh and joke amongst themselves you have to wait till they've finished as they just ignore you. They got interested when I started putting money in their tip box, so got served ok after that. The evenings got a bit chilly, so a pool bar is not ideal for the evening. There was another bar inside, Cafe de Paris, but chairs very uncomfortable and one VERY slow girl behind the bar, so queues soon built up. Very slow on clearing tables and cleaning them in both bars.

This hotel seemed to be full of fat tattooed people who seemed to think they looked good in bikinis and shorts. There were several ignorant kids who just ran wild, no sign of parents or discipline. There was a children's entertainer who was a joke. Got them up on stage to mime to same songs every night. Other entertainment also rubbish.

Food not too bad, could always find something. The beer was drinkable, so all in all you got by, but this hotel could do with some serious customer service training.

Marmaris town is pleasant, liked Icmeler better and the little dolmus buses are very handy. Pity about all the tourist tat that the shops sell.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Don't expect too much, it's 3 star at most.

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Enjoy the stay, avoid the customer service by EmilyUK
4 / 10

A beautiful location, and hotel, and we would have thoroughly enjoyed the experience if the whole package was there. The rooms are adequate and of good holiday, and the package was roughly in the right price line. Our Thomas Cook rep was helpful, and of assistance. The food at the hotel was good, although the salads seemed to be of a packaged variety, and perhaps not as fresh as they could have been. Overall we all found plenty to do on a 10 night stay, for the whole family.

However, we did have a number of issues re. cleaning of the rooms, getting help in planning excursions, and being locked out of our room. The level of customer service when things went wrong was poor. We did eventually complain, but this fell on deaf ears, and the staff seemed uninterested in our feedback.

We would have given a 7 for the overall stay, but felt the level of customer service was not there, for a hotel of this quality

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice Hotel and Surroundings - Let Down by Staff by LizLee
3 / 10

We stayed at the Hotel Grand this summer, and it was a great place for a holiday and good facilities. What let it down for us was the service, and the lack of help when we complained. I can understand a hotel that is busy over the summer, but we made so many repeated requests for a variety of basics, but never got an adequate response. We submitted this complaint to their customer relations department, but we where once more disappointed with the way we where treated. We still enjoyed out holiday, but have certainly had better service from cheaper hotels.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

no way a 5 start hotel! by lucy 20 xx
3 / 10

Me and my boyfriend have recently come back from the grand ideal permium, We booked a year in advance and was given a loft room over looking another hotel's pool and a buliding sight, we asked reception if we could swap rooms but couldnt move until 3 days after which reuied our holiday as we couldnt un pack etc, althoug we did move rooms eventually and the room we was given was fantastic, We eat out every night as hotel food was dreadful its ok if you like turkish food and fish defenatly no good for kids! The hotel only has one bar which is outside! which meant if it was raining you had to go outside to get a drink. Entertainement in the hotel was repeated every couple of nights, you have to get up really early to get a sunbed as they all are taken bi 7am. On the up side the pool was great, weather was brilliant alothough it did rain on our last 2 days. If you are thinking of going to this hotel i would have a look at others first as there is so many nice ones in marmaris, me and my boyfriend was really dissapointed we was expecting a lot more for a 5 star hotel.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Drinks as the food isnt great

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fab holiday by scotsman
10 / 10

Thomas cook let us down on this holiday Katie the rep from Thomas Cook was very unhelpful. If it was not for the staff and especially Tanya we might of not had such a brilliant holiday .the staff are very polite friendly and helpful Tanya is an excellent ambassador for the Grand ideal . Big thankyou all

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: embrace the local culture and surroundings use the hotel facilities hairdresser beautician and photographer brill
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid loud music by peterkins
8 / 10

We spent a week at the Grand Ideal Hotel and it certainly is a superb hotel with an elegant decor and great food. What ruined the holiday for us was the on-going rap/rock music blasting out from the pool area & as a result we had to walk 10 mins. to the hotel's part of the beach (with no toilets). Please bear this in mind if you are sensitive to loud music !!!

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

had an amazing experience by student
10 / 10

Im 19 and went to this hotel with my friend at the last minute we got a really good deal, this was our 1st time in turkey and were anxious about what the hotel would be like, on route to the hotel we stopped at a rest station which provided snacks, drink and hot food which i thought was great because after a 5hour flight u r pretty hungrey at this stage, we arrived at our hotel around 4am, 1st impressions: we both really liked the decor and staff, having security also helped 1st impressions.. food was acceptable as each day we were able to fill our plates up with something...entertainment was great, staff very friendly, location is excellent just a short walk to the town and bars:) would definately recomment this hotel. we got back and a week later we had already booked to go back

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: location great for families couples and students
  • Good For: Beach

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Awesome! by nikki, wales
10 / 10

stayed here all inclusive and really don't know where to start... DO NOT BELEIVE THE BAD REVIEWS! everything about the hotel exceeded my expectations, the staff were brilliant, the food amazing with plenty of choice. very clean and great value for money. only bad thing i have to say is that the entertainment was a bit poor as we stayed out of season, and i wouldn't recommend going all inclusive at peak time as i can imagiine it gets really busy. for anyone worrying about the weather at the end of march/beginning of april... it was beautiful!

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not believe the bad reviews! by turkishmoon
9 / 10

This hotel was lovely and friendly and had just been refurbished. The lobby and public areas were very elegantly decorated and furnished. The hotel staff so friendly and helpful. I have seen that some folks have put in their reviews that the food was apparently "too turkish" for their tastes... well, why go on holiday to Turkey then?? Why not stick to Blackpool or Benidorm instead if all you will try in life is chips and mushy peas! The hotel food was delicious and yes, it was Turkish, but if you are staying in a foreign country, should you not sample their local foods? The pool area is nice, but get there early to get a sun lounger. Otherwise, the local beach, although a bit scruffy, has a beautiful view of the bay. Actually, we preferred the beach as being sat around the pool all day long we could have been anywhere... sitting down the beach really reminded us of how beautiful Turkey is.

We had a fab holiday in Marmaris, and are thinking of returning next year... if this hotel is available, we would go back. Have a fab holiday, and don't be put off by the typically chip-eating beer-swilling British reviews. Enjoy the country and the culture and you'll fit in just fine!.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

41 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Grand Ideal? Share your insight.

Hotel Grand Ideal also called

  • grand ideal
  • grand ideal hotel
  • Address: Kenan Evren BulvarI No:15, Marmaris 48700, Turkey

Explore area

Map for Hotel Grand Ideal Closest airport: Rhodes Diagoras (RHO) 31.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hotel Grand Ideal
  • by LizLee

    " Avoid dealing with staff - Focus on the hotel and surroundings "

  • by EmilyUK

    " Get the most from the facilities, and location "

  • by Margarita Kenny

    " Be there early for meals as it was usually packed by the time we got to the restaurant "

  • by Tracey E

    " If you are not happy with your room, ask to change. I wish I had because reviews show this is done easily, I didnt want to be a pain! "

  • by Jo Ardrey

    " Relax and enjoy, if you treat people with respect you will receive respect. "

Similar hotels around Marmaris

Hotels near Hotel Grand Ideal

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Grand Ideal?