Elounda Heights Apartments

Main Street, Crete 72053, Greece
2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

9  / 10
(29 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
24
Good
2
Average
1
Poor
2
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 9.5/10
Service: 9.5/10
Value: 9.5/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Elounda Heights Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Our Wedding Day by Julie G
10 / 10

Words cannot express how wonderful this place is and how nothing is too much trouble. It was our first visit on recommendation and we held our wedding day here on Tuesday 28th May 2013 and it was perfect in fact beyond perfect Vangelis, Ann and Natalia are the most friendly people and i cried when i left what more can i say.. thank you from Mr & Mrs Green x

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Absolutely Fantastic, do not hesitate to book these lovely apartments by jackie mcd
10 / 10

From the first sight of these lovely apartments at the top of "Cardiac Hill" you will not be disappointed. These are wonderful apartments run by a lovely couple, Anne & Vangelis. Apartments are spotless, food is all homemade & excellent and nothing is too much trouble. Please try vangelis' homemade lemon curd, heaven, I brought 2 jars home. Sunday boat trip is recommended, an excellent day out with Vangelis who is a mine of information, lots of adult "Fanta" & food galore. Barbeque night recommedned too, lost count of amount of dishes served. I am vegetarian & got special dishes served, after being invited into kitchen to approve!

Walked into Plaka, well worth the hours walk in extreme heat and took small local boat to Spinalonga, we went earlyish as we were warned it gets very busy(you'll see what I mean when you go), boats back to Plaka are very frequent so you can stay as long as you want whereas going with organised boat trip you are limited to certain times. Try Pine Tree in Plaka for a refreshing Mythos while waiting on local bus back to Elounda( you might be there for a while so take your time ).

We met some really lovely people who helped make our 25th wedding anniversary one to remember!

All in all a wonderful place to chill & be spoilt with wonderful views, food & people.

All in all a really lovely holiday with absolutely no complaints and you can even lose some weight & get fit while climbing up & down the "Hill".

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: A lovely little town with lots of lovely restaurants & bars

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY by kaysveistrup
10 / 10

The four of us stayed for a week and found Ann and Vangelis to be exceptional hosts, nothing was too much bother. The accomodation was very good, beds comfortable, good ammentities included as well as the gift pack. Our apartment on the cornder had a lovely balcony with sea views. Vangelis's culinary arts and hospitality are absolutely fantastic and well worth the money, especially compared to the food served and prices charged down in the town. The only other restaraunt we would recommend is the Tryst, about a 15 min walk towards Ayos. We did walk up the hill 3 or 4 times but at 50+, unfit and overweight, the 5 euro fare to bring the 4 of us up the hill was worth it.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

You can't go wrong! by metaxaman
10 / 10

Just returned from a brilliant holiday at Elounda Heights.

These are excellent apartments run by Ann & Vangelis. Some are small apartments (marketed by Manos) with modern fixtures and fittings, others are samller more traditional studios which can be booked direct with the owners. There is also one full size apartment with a fully fitted kitchen, huge shower room, large double bedroom, lounge and two balconies. This is the one we stayed in and it was fantastic.

The whole complex is set at the top of a hill above Elounda with magnificent views over the bay of Mirabello and, due to the hard work put in by Vangelis, is something of an oasis with masses of greenery of all types, a lot of which Vangelis uses to create some of his dishes.

There is a vibrant pool bar serving a large variety of drinks and snacks.

Some reports have mentioned that there is a dog sanctuary on site. THIS IS NOT TRUE. Ann is an active member of an animal rescue charity and has four small rescue dogs and one cat on site, but these are pets and they are the most inoffensive and loveable animals you could wish to meet (animal lover or not). They are no trouble whatsoever and you should not be put off visiting here because of them.

Elounda village is a great little harbour with many bars, tavernas, shops and restaurants which offer a wide range of goods and services to meet any needs. Boat trips are available to Spinalonga island and also to the surrounding areas, but nothing beats Vangelis' own Sunday boat trip which takes you around the bay for swimming, snorkelling and fishing with plenty of food and drink to keep you going. This is a full day out and terrific fun.

All in all, an excellent place to spend a holiday.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have just returned from a week at... by T Lawrence
10 / 10

We have just returned from a week at the heights . This was our second visit this year as we were lucky enough to spend two weeks there at the end of May, Ann and Vangelis and the rest of their team were as friendly and welcoming as ever and stayed that way all week despite them not knowing who was coming and going because of the collapse of XL and therefore Kosmar.Nothing was too much trouble and Vangelis is a mine of information about life on Crete and the waters that surround her as anyone who has been on the weekly boat trip organised for guests will testify . Elounda itself is a delight just the right size not too large and noisy but enough tavernas and shops for a two week stay,saying that our trips into town became less and less because of the standard of the food produced by Vangelis he turns out a selection of tasty snacks during the day at the pool bar, then manages to conjure up some fabulous meals in the restaurant in the evening and there is always a special announced each day on the blackboard by the pool wth many of the ingredients travelling all the way from the kitchen gardens that surround the property.All in all a great place to stay in a wonderful part of Crete.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dave and I have just got back from... by P Holly
10 / 10

Dave and I have just got back from Elounda Heights and cannot rate it high enough. Anne and Vangelis (and not fogetting Eddie) make you feel right at home, nothing is too much trouble. The apartment was clean and spacious and had everything you needed. The views from the balcony across the bay were spectacular. Would definitely recommend Vangelis' sunday boat trip with swimming, fishing, eating and drinking (try his famous screwdriver). It is a great opportunity to meet the other guests and was great fun.

There is no denying that some people might struggle with the hill but it really is worth the trek, forget the heels though girls!

Elounda itself has plenty to offer in the way of tavernas, small shops etc and the beach, although not vast is clean. You can take a boat from the town to Spinalonga which is worth a look and buses will take you to Ag Nik.

We met some lovely people and would definitely return, the only downside was we only had a week!

Pauline & Dave

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Agree with most comments on this... by G Johnson
9 / 10

Agree with most comments on this site. Have just returned and we have had wonderful time.

Vangelis, Anne (and Eddie) are superb hosts, very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. A pity we only had one week as we had so much to see and perhaps did not participate as much as we had would have liked in the "family" feel of the place (which buy the way is mainly couples only). Most holidaymakers seem to be be retired or early-retired returnees, which gives the place the feel of an exclusive club - but that is not to its detriment and in fact reinforces its quality.

The studio accommodation is of the highest possible specification for its type (and no plumbing problems!) with lots of nice additional touches. The slog up the hill, although short, needs adjusting to, but is more than compensated for by the stunning views from the apartments which must rival anywhere in the world.

Elounda itself is clearly an upmarket resort in comparison to most others on the island.

Highly recommended

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed at Elounda Heights the... by Janet Cooper
9 / 10

We stayed at Elounda Heights the first two weeks of July. We were met in the town centre by our smiling and very cheerful host Vangelis (even though it was 6.30am) and taken to our lovely clean apartment. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. Our hosts were lovely, they always had time for you and would tell you all about the lovely places to visit. Vangeliis worked so hard to make everything special, and was a great cook to. On both our sundays we went out on Vangelis' boat trips, we had such good fun. Food and drink were plentiful, and as we had got to know some of the other guests before hand we were all at ease with one another, and a great time was had by all with lots of swimming, snorkeling and fun fun fun. Would recommend Elounda Heights to anyone who wants to visit a lovely Island and stay at a fantastic place. The long walk up the unmade road just added a lovely feeling of being off the beaten track. FANTASTIC.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our first stay at Elounda Heights,... by P Johnson
9 / 10

Our first stay at Elounda Heights, Ann & Vangelis were very welcoming and sociable.

The accomodation was very good, Clean homely, the staff were also friendly, nothing was a trouble

Vangelis is a superb cook , some of the best food I have eaten, and reasonable (we spent more in a taverna on our first night no where near as good as Vangelis food)

All the residents were sociable

The Thursday night Meze or B B Q nights were good most of the residents attended, excellent food, wine, Ann and Vangelis really help to get the residents to enjoy themselves.

The hill is steep but not impossible,

The views are stunning,

We didnt do the boat trip but those who did enjoyed it.

Overall one of our best holidays, met lots of friendly people

Thanks Ann & Vangelis

Peter & Marilyn

Hello to to Dave & Jenny

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

As a strong contender for... by D Webb
10 / 10

As a strong contender for the'sucking-up gang' I feel a response is required to Mrs M Brammer. My wife and I were on holiday from the 13th to 27th May 2008. Our son and daughter-in-law joined us for our second week. We stayed in Artemis studio - second from last appartment on the ground floor of the original block. Hopefully you will now be able to put some faces to the people you make accusations about.

We first met Ann and Vangellis when we stayed at Elounda Gulf which they ran in 1990. Ann actually arranged a birthday cake for our sons 15th birthday and made it a memorable time for him. After many other holidays throughout the world we managed to track them down again at Elounda Heights. We have since then spent many wondrous holidays there. Our son and daughter in law have been 3 times. Our daughter has been twice. We have seen each others family grow and develop and stayed in contact for all of those years. Ann and Vangellis invite ALL their guests into their lives and enjoy the pleasures of their home, Elounda Heights. It does however require a small step is taken by the guests. We made that step. Perhaps you have mistaken friendship for something altogether uglier. I can assure you that that accusation is as repellant to them as it is to us. I hope you have the good grace and courage to apologise for your erroneous comments.

You also made some factual errors. The cost of the boat trip Was 45 euros not 70. For this you had the joy of an private boat trip, Whilst the Tour companies may have been cheaper there were many factors which made Vangellis' trip better. You were not coached, at an very early hour, to a large boat with a other unknown people, but were able to make your way at a reasonable hour to the boat. You should also note that the boat did not belong to Ann & Vangellis but was chartered for the day. You were then treated to unlimited drink (including his famous screwdriver) an excellent meal, swimming, fishing and a guided tour of the locale. I can assure the lady that I have been on many boat trips throughout the world and this is the most enjoyable and anticipated one I have experienced.

As you have stated it is the right of all guest to eat where they want, do what they want and enjoy the ammenties supplied by Ann & Vangellis. However if, like us, they chose to spend their time and money with them it is their choice. I know that many people will be offended by these unfounded remarks. Hopefully this will in some small way correct any adverse opinions future guests will have about this gem of a resort.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just returned from this excellent... by Guy Johnson
10 / 10

Just returned from this excellent accomodation. We were there last year and thought it was good then, but this year was even better.

The accomodation is first rate and any faults (if you can find any) are put right immediately. We had a leak on the tap in the kitchenette and within 24 hours of reporting it, the whole tap had been replaced with a new one (on a Sunday!).

Ann & Vangelis (and Eddie) are extremely friendly and will do anything they can to make your holiday happy and memorable.

The Sunday boat trip IS worth the cost which is not 70euros each as mentioned elsewhere on this site (I think it was 35euros each). It is a full days jaunt around the bay including food, drink, snorkeling (if thats your thing) and fishing. We don't snorkel or sea swim, but we thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

The food at the apartments, either from the pool bar during the day or the restaurant at night is of a very high standard and not too expensive. As Vangelis cooks everything, you know it is fresh and cooked with care.

There is and always will be the issue of the hill on top of which Elounda Heights stands. It can be tough to climb during the heat of the day, but it is much easier in the relative cool of the evening. It is, without doubt, worth the trek.

Elounda itself is a lovely place centered around the harbour with all its shops, bars and tavernas. (visit Flickr.com and type in Elounda for pictures). There are boat trips to Spinalonga Island (worth a visit), the local bus service is very good and cheap, so a trip into Aghios Nikolaos is easy and also worth a visit.

All in all, the best holiday we have had on Crete (and we have been at least a dozen times). Visit Elounda & Elounda Heights with total confidence. We have already booked for 2009 and that will be our 3rd time on the bounce so there is no better recommendation than that.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have just spent a wonderful two... by M Brammer
10 / 10

We have just spent a wonderful two week holiday at Elounda Heights in Elounda Crete. To be totally honest we could not fault the accommodation it was beautifully maintained and is of a very very high standard. Even the pool area is immaculate..totally utterly flawless.

The positioning is high on a very steep hill but its not too long a walk down into the village..about five minutes slow pace walk..the walk back up is more exhausting especially in the heat, but totally "doable". Ofcourse there is no need to ever move away from Elounda Heights at all, as all food is provided in the restaurant of an evening and at the poolside snack bar during the day..but if you choose this option be aware that your bill swiftly mounts up!!! Or it could do if your not careful, you can also buy bottled water from the owners of the place as well. We didn't do this as the water in Crete is safe from the tap.

However all that being said and it is indeed a wonderful place to stay..the cynic in me also realises that you are a captive audience because of the hill..if your put off by walking it..which we weren't! But captive you are...although the owner is a cook and a good one, everything is just that little bit more expensive than in the village..only slightly..but that would mount up....so we chose to not eat there and to get food from the supermarket and eat out in tavernas in the village.

Vangelis does his own "boat trip" at 70 odd euros a pop each..(rip off.). its his boat..his food...no way, at the time his boat trip was more expensive than the Kosamar one!!! i realise its all a rip off but i felt this was so in your face bad...i mean 10 people all paying that..........thank you very much nice little earner!!!!!

Everything smacked of "eye on the mean chance" ....

Its been mentioned that its cliquey...yes to some extent it is..but would you really want to be part of "their gang" anyway....i think not.....too too much sucking up to the owner going on..really....too much, quite sick making actually. That's not the owners fault...felt quite sorry for him..but then again the compensation is...the captive audience paying for everything under the sun..and getting [-] kissed in the process...nice one Vangelis!!!!

Elounda is a beautiful place truly beautiful we are returning tourists, that are so hooked on its beauty we will eventually stay for ever...the tavernas and bars are all close by, as are numerous supermarkets. There are walks to be done through the hillsides and mountains, basically everything you need for a perfect holiday is in Elounda....and for a more hectic pace its only a few pounds to pop into Ag Nik by regular bus...the market on a Wednesday is great as is the museum, well worth the tiny trip.

We give Elounda heights a full ten simply because its a truly beautiful well run well maintained place to stay and the owners Ann and Vangelis are always on hand and happy to help you in any way, Vangelis is a mine of local information and happy to tell you all about his islands wildlife, walks..anything really and Ann runs a dog rescue, some of her dogs are permanent fixtures that roam around freely and are gorgeous and no trouble at all. They are perfect hosts....its not their fault the bottom feeders follow!

And ofcourse Elounda gets a full ten because its perfect..and with a new bypass coming soon the traffic through its center will be taken away completely.........brilliant!!!!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Elounda Heights Apartments? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Elounda Heights Apartments Closest airport: Nikos Kazantzakis (HER) 29.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Elounda Heights Apartments
  • by metaxaman

    " Restaurant : Elounda Heights Restaurant, Olondi, Megaro, Lotus Eaters. Trip to Spinalonga "

  • by kaysveistrup

    " Recommend the Tryst and Jims Hospitality "

Similar hotels around Elounda

Hotels near Elounda Heights Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Elounda Heights Apartments?