Elounda Heights Apartments

Main Street, Crete 72053, Greece
2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Stayed at Elounda Heights Apartments?

Share your opinion.

Write a review

Average Rating

9  / 10
(29 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
24
Good
2
Average
1
Poor
2
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 9.5/10
Service: 9.5/10
Value: 9.5/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Elounda Heights Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 »
A Special Place

"Elounda Heights is an exceptionally good place to stay. Vangelis and Ann, the owners, greet you with warmth and respond positively to everything you ask of them. They have created a tranquil retreat high on a hill overlooking the Bays of both Spinalonga and Poros. The 18 studios and apartments are surrounded by a beautiful garden in which grow olive, lemon and apricot trees, organic vegetables and flowers too numerous to mention. The L shaped swimming pool is scrupulously maintained and the pool bar is open all day for drinks and snacks. Vangelis is an extremely talented chef, who produces such superb meals that it is hard to drag yourself down the hill to try the restaurants around the square and along the shores of Elounda. The highlights of staying there are the Mezes evenings, the BBQ evenings and the Sunday Boat Trip, which takes you to secluded bays to fish, swim or snorkel and is only for the guests of Elounda Heights. Need I say more?"

by SamCrete
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

My wife and I -then in our late...

"My wife and I -then in our late fifties - enjoyed the challenge of the steep climb on the several stays we had here and thought the views, apartments, the gardens and pool lovely... at least until the monstrous new block was built.

We also found other guests mostly delightful but, sad to say, like D Pike we found the owners so objectionable it spoiled our stays. We do return regularly to Elounda but would never stay with the Adamakises.

Again like Mr Pike we found that as we wished to do our own thing we were clearly NOT welcome: buying ice-creams and drinks in the day (did I forget to say about paying to be here in the first place?) and being a quiet and well-mannered guest certainly did not give us the entree to more than a barely civil reception...and this worsened when we were fully seen as those who preferred to eat in the various village tavernas and not with them...in fact the hostility became so bad it bristled in the air..."Here we go again",we`d whisper as we passed and deliberately put on a big smile (once I swear the response was two fingers!). It was even evident in some fellow guests who soon cooled towards us as if we were the class naughties that the teacher did not like.We laughed it all off as quite pathetic but it was vaguely hurtful and we know others felt the same .

I should add how horrendously noisy it almost invariably was at 2.00am when guests returning from their meals with Ann and Van would bang shutters and clip-clop etc for a good half-hour before quietening down again.

On departure it was so evident by the warmth or absence of farewells who were personae gratae or not...Anglo-Greek hospitality at its best?

The food in the village IS often remarkably good, by the way, and it does seem a pity not to enjoy as much of Elounda as possible rather than feel compelled to limit oneself to a cliquish and at times thoroughly unpleasant little enclave...eatelsewherephobic or spendeuroselsewherephobic could enter the OED so watch out Ann and Van!
"

by WH Harrison
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Vangelis appreciation socienty

"Hotel was ok but if you like to pay on average 50% more on food and drink compared to other bars and eateries then this is the place for you."

by jonny1978
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely and relaxing

"Had a lovely relaxing week at the Elounda Heights with Ann and Vangelis. Studios are clean with toaster, kettle and modern bathroom. Lovely view and although the hill is steep i managed it no problem and was 6.5 months pregnant when i was there. Vangelis evening specials are gorgeous and always served with a smile. Disappointed that we missed the weekly boat trip due to arrival day but maybe next time. I can see why so many people go back. Great holiday and everyone was friendly and helpful.

Nice studios,clean pool, great food, beauitful view and friendly people what more do you need! Would recommend a visit.
"

by imacangel
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

loved elounda heights

"just returned from a fantastic stay at elounda heights with vangelis and ann,unfortunatley we were there for a week and it is all that the other reviews say it is . his special evening meals are fantastic and you must go on the boat trip that he organizes, nothing is too much trouble and he is a wonderful host , appartments are spotless and the views are fantastic"

by carl6789
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Loved Elounda Heights

"We had a wonderful holiday at Elounda Heights in October 2006 and although we've not had chance to go back this year we intend to stay there again next year.

The apartment we stayed in was fabulous, spacious, spotlessly clean with a lovely balcony looking out on to the Gulf of Mirabello.

Ann, Vangelis and Eddie were helpful in every way and made all guests feel at home.

Vangelis prepares and cooks the food with such care and attention that we ended up eating there most nights even though there is plenty of choice of places to eat in the village. The meze evening was superb as was the Sunday boat trip.

We loved the home from home feel of the place and the general atmosphere of friendliness.

Next time we go we'll probably hire a car to see a bit more of the island but this trip was about chilling out for us and we just wanted to enjoy the sun and the food. A car would be a bonus cos the hill to the apartments is a bit of a killer and would not be ideal for anybody with walking difficulties.
"

by JaneManchester
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

A Hidden Gem

"Date: 13th July

Reviewer: Tripadvisor member, East Lothian, 2007

We have only just returned from a very relaxing week at the "Elounda Heights" in Crete and we couldn't rate it highly enough. We arrived at 3am where Vangelis picked us up at the bottom of the steep hill to take us to our rooms. Many may see this hill as the only down side to this fantastic little place but without it you would not be able to experience the breathtaking views across the Gulf of Mirabello, which definitely made the climb very worthwhile. The rooms were compact but spotlessly clean and air conditioning came at a very reasonable price, especially when we compared it with holiday makers staying at other accommodations.

Although we spent most days at the lovely little beaches around Elounda, the pool at Elounda Heights is excellent. It is situated in the middle of the apartments and overlooks the spectacular views. Food and drinks are served here daily up until around 7pm. Vangelis writes up a daily menu for evening meals which are not to be missed and the Meze/BBQ is an excellent opportunity to meet others staying at this lovely accommodation.

Almost everyone we spoke to had been coming to stay with Ann and Vangelis for up to and over 20 years which speaks for itself and this too creates very much a family atmosphere although it's not too much in your face.

The rescue dogs also added a bit of character to the place and it was lovely seeing them happy in their loving new home! Ann is obviously dedicated to rescuing the animals and showed us some pictures of those now settled with their new families abroad.

Unfortunately we did not get the chance to do the boat trip mentioned in other reviews. We did however take a trip to Spinalonga which was very interesting and not to be missed. We also took a 10 minute taxi ride into Agios Nikolaos which is very beautiful and a much bigger resort but in my eyes not a patch on Elounda.

Elounda itself is gorgeous with a good choice of restaurants and bars without the pushy touts trying to pull you inside. Over all it has a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere and although we like to try different places each year I would definitely consider returning to this resort and accommodation again in the future.
"

by EastLothianMags
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Lovely Place, Friendly People

"We have just returned with our 10 month old son from a 2 week stay at the Elounda Heights. The hotel could not be more accomodating right down to a lovely (looked like new) cot in our room and a paddling pool on our patio for the baby.

The rooms were spotless and the views incredible. As already mentioned it is up a rather steep hill but you can get a taxi from town for 4-5 euro if you dont fancy the walk.

There is a bbq/meze weekly and unfortunately we were unable to join Vengelis (one of the owners) on his boat trip but will definately go back and go next time.Everyone who went seemed to thouroughly enjoy themselves!

There is a bar open round the pool which does food and is open until around 7pm. It then closes and the main bar and taverna open which are just behind the accomodation areas so youre not effected by any noise in the evenings.

Both Ann and Vengelis were lovely and its a great place to stay.
"

by Beth502
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

what a view

"Just returned from a fantastic holiday at Elounda Heights. The view from our bedroom and our balcony was breathtaking.

Although we stayed on a self catering basis, the only thing we ever "cooked" was coffee ,as Vangelis ( the owner ) was always on hand to provide wonderful home cooked food , with many of the things coming from his own beautiful garden. The whole complex was kept spotless and every evening he would entertain you with jokes and chitchat.

Ann, (his wife) would always pop in around lunchtime to have a chat with us all and tell us any news on her "rescue dogs", who were so lovley we all wanted to take them home !

The "hill" is steep, but stopping a couple of times to admire the view was not any sort of problem ,from the high st. to the studios only took 5 mins.

We would go back tomorrow !
"

by SUNTAN47
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Ten out of Ten for The Elounda Heights

"Date of holiday 20th May 2007

reviewer Sharon & Alfie

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Elounda Heights. Cannot rate this resort highly enough. Ann and Vangelis (the owners) and Eddie (barman/maintenance) make you feel as if you are part of the family. They are so warm and friendly. The apartments are lovely with stunning views over the Gulf. Food at the restaurant is superb (we ate there 4 out of our 7 night stay) with Vangelis preparing a daily special (all of the herbs and some of the veg and fruit are grown and picked by Vangelis). Whatever you do if you stay there, do not miss the boat trip on Saturday. Vangelis takes you out on a boat for sightseeing, fishing and snorkeling. The day is fantastic, with food and drinks supplied (wine, beer soft drinks and Vangelis' famous Screwdriver - very potent). A lot of the guests are "repeaters" having stayed at the Heights several times and it is not hard to understand why. Hopefully Alfie and I will be able to return their ourselves in the very near future.
"

by GEMINITWO
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

We spent a week at Elounda Heights...

"We spent a week at Elounda Heights and came home totally relaxed. The hospitality and friendliness of the owners Ann and Vangelis and also Eddie who worked behind the bar made it feel like a home from home. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had fantastic views across the bay, although not all studios/apartments have as good views - ours was Ikaros, first floor apartment.

The food was fabulous and the atmosphere so friendly we would definitely go again.

It is worth mentioning that the hill up to the apartments is pretty steep and would not suit anybody with walking difficulties or a family with children in pushchairs unless you had a hire car. If you had a hire car though it would not be a problem.

The meze night with loads of different home cooked Greek dishes was great as was the Sunday boat trip run by Vangelis. The atmosphere in the bar at nights was friendly and relaxed and a good laugh.

Elounda village is pretty with lots of nice restaurants and bars and Aghios Nikolaos is easy to get to. Public transport is good and cheap although when we return we will probably get a hire car to see more of the island than we saw this time as we only had a week and wanted to chill out.

We are in our late 40s and at the time of year we were there the ages ranged from late 30s to early 60s so it suited us. It was also mainly couples so may not be right for singles, although everyone is made welcome by Ann and Vangelis and there was a feel of a home from home about it.

The rescue dogs mentioned in some of the other reviews we didn't find a problem in any way - no smell or noise and they were kept in runs away from the accommodation. Ann and Vangelis's own dogs, former rescue dogs, were a delight, friendly and gentle but if you don't like dogs you don't have to bother with them, they don't bother you.
"

by J Lalor
9 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Loved it

"Heidi, Manchester, England 11th-18th August 2006

Just returned from a very relaxing week staying at the fantastic Elounda Heights Apartments in Elounda on Crete with my mum. These apartments are owned by Vangelis and Ann who make you feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them, including their staff especially Eddie. The apartments have stunning views over looking the magnificent Gulf of Mirabello. The rooms are very clean and you are provided with a small welcome pack of water, tea and coffee etc on your arrival. Vangelis provides a boat trip on Sundays for his guests only, which meant that the boat was not overcrowded and enabled you to meet other guests in a relaxed atmosphere. A number of the guests that were there have stayed there on several occasions, which says alot about this property. The only downside is the HILL, which is very steep and if you have mobility problems then this is not really the place for you. However it is only about a 5-7minute walk to the village and the beach. I definitely will be staying there again hopefully in the not to distant future. I have never written a review before but felt compelled to because we had such a lovely time.
"

by 1heidi
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

« 1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Elounda Heights Apartments Closest airport: Nikos Kazantzakis (HER) 29.1 miles

Similar hotels around Elounda

Hotels near Elounda Heights Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Elounda Heights Apartments?

Stayed at Elounda Heights Apartments? Share your insight.