Talayot Apartments

Cala Picas, 116, Menorca 07700, Spain
1 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(93 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
54
Good
23
Average
6
Poor
6
Awful
4

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Talayot Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
holiday

"We have just come back 23rd may.We were in room R5 and the room was great,very clean with loads of space.We didn't have to pay a breakage deposit.The pool was great and just outside our door and cleaned every day the supermarket was just outside the gate which was well stocked.All the staff and refs were really friendly and were always ready to help it needed.The only thing that let it down was that there was nothing for kids over 10 my kids are teenagers and they were bored.We got a good deal for the water park 19 euros for 10 days.The resort itself was a let down there was little tiny bits of beach and alot of rocks and cliffs but it was very clean and the local people were friendly.The entertainment was not great ABBA,ELVIS(he was awful),SOULHUNTERS,MAGIC SHOW AND A PARROT SHOW the minidisco for the kids was better.This resort was a bit too laid back for my family but i would say it is great for families with little kids cos there was plenty for them to i wish i'd found these apartments when my boys were little."

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: more things for teenagers as there was nothing for them to do
by Tracey G
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday

"we went there in early july 2011. pleasently surprised. everywhere was extremely clean. all pools were cleaned every day. All staff were extremely friendly at all times. entertainment was fantastic. the meals were very good. the apartments were cleaned every day. would go again.supermaket stocked everything needed for our stay, and staff were friendly."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: take time to find local beaches.
by lynseanelle
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great place for a family holiday

"We holidayed from 2nd to 16th July 2011. The weather was fabulous!

Our granddaughter loved the childrens club, espcially the chocolate club. The entertainment started a little late for our young one, but we were on holiday, so changed her routine and she didn't seem to mind.

The different pools were great! We'd go to one of the beaches in the morning, Cala'n forcat was by far the best, then walk home, have lunch, then go swimming in one of the pools. We were in Block A. It had a great view of party on the bridge, 3 of the pools and was above the sandy playground.

My grandaughter didn;t get bored once, there was so much to do, I would definitely recommend this holiday destination to anyone. No signs of bed bugs (don;t know where that came from in another review, and the pool was cleaned every morning).

If I had to pick holes, it would be that you could rarely find a sunbed by the pool, as they were frequently 'reserved' by towels, but not used until later in the day. Not that this effected us as we went swimming, not lazing by the pool.

The Cuore restuarant was the best for the kids and had a daily 3 course menu for $10.90 which was excellent value. The restuarant at the Talayots was good food, but everything on the daily 3 course menu came with rice and chips and we missed our vegetables. But the food was well cooked and a 3 course daily menu was only $8.80.

we did go into Cuitadella for the market but were disappointed that we didn;t find any fresh fruit and vegetables, just clothes, shoes and goods. But we did get a couple of bargains.

We are going back next year - we absolutley loved the place!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: cala'n Forcat beach - No refreshments so take plenty of waterand sunscreen, but stunning!!!
  • Good For: Beach
by catmousemat
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

would book again for next year

"Went to stay at the talyot apartments on 24th july this year and have to say it was the best holiday we have been on, we travelled with our 9 year old twins who had an absolute ball at the kids club every day for 2 hours. the daytime pool entertainment was excellent and friendly and all the entertainers worked really hard and had an excellent knowledge of the island especially "mark the shark".We found a beach to the left of the fork past bianca resteraunt which was the most beautiful beach i've ever seen and was empty,our girls spent hours with their nets looking for fish with some local children. We ate alot at bianca s resteraunt and the staff were so welcoming. It is expensive going self catering but the local spar across the road had lovely fresh bread sticks every lunch time and we had them with tomatos and ham or cold meat.

Our children cried not wanting to come home and my only regret is only booking for one week,next year def two !!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: just relax and enjoy its a really slow paced place
  • Good For: Beach
by wish we were still there
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Talayot experience

"We stayed at the Talayot Apartments in early July for a fortnight but agreed that 10 days would probably have been enough. Geared up for children which is ideal if you have youngsters. Many pools (although the small pool next the main pool was filthy) with slides which kept my two amused for hours on end. Best pool for little ones beside the restaurant near reception. Great playground/play areas.

Our apartment was small and oddly laid out which meant we were tripping over each other in the kitchen/living area, slightly annoyed but as we were not spending our holiday in our apartment was bearable. Room would really have benefitted from air conditioning though. The apartment was cleaned every day by very friendly maids which was a pleasant surprise - we expected 2-3 times a week.

Were told that the staff were very friendly, disagree with exception of Gillian in snackbar and young boy at bar at night, the rest were pretty miserable. Not as miserable as the staff in the Talayot Spar across the road who practically threw your groceries and change at you!

Cazzle Dazzle and a couple of the other childrens reps were very sweet but Jessie Bessie could benefit from a little spell at charm school. She's really in the wrong job and it shows.

Food fine in the restaurant. Enjoyed many a good meal there - service with a smile would have made it better.

Cala n Forcat has many restaurants with bouncy castles and play areas for the kids which is a great idea, all on your doorstep. Plaza Domingo had friendly, hard working staff and great kids entertainment. Cuore Steak house was a hit with us too. Worth a visit. Our kids also loved the Waterpark. Again, just on the doorstep.

To sum up, your kids will love this complex and resort. If you are looking for pretty and relaxing then it's not the resort for you but most people would probably agree that as long as the kids are happy, we are happy. They won't be bored.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
by anon
7 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Bed Bugs Bite

"Have travelled the world extensively - USA, Canada, Europe, Egypt, Russia - but never had the experience of being bitten by bed bugs until my family stayed at the Talayot apartments last week. Cracked radiator in living space unable to use due to the smoke emitted. Complex compares to the hotel used in sit-com Benidorm, whole resort does really so would really appeal to you if you are a fan of chips with everything, English breakfasts and your only desire is going abroad for a "home from home". Must be great for kids in the high season, with the air hockey, rides that are available all night, but beware of the little bugs that lie hidden. Their bites are not very nice!!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Great if you love chips with everything; home from home, must be for some!
by TheLittleBeasties
1 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great family holiday!! 18/09/10 - 25/09/10

"We have just returned from a brilliant family holiday at the Talayot Apartments. Myself, husband and three children 17, 15 and 10 went on 18th Sept for our first family holiday abroad and we couldn't have picked a better place. Our apartment was right next to the main pool so it was easy to come and go to the pool whenever we wanted. The Aquapark was only 5 mins walk away however it is only open three days a week as not peak season. We bought our tickets from the Thomsons reps as it was slight cheaper (50cents per person cheaper) and we were able to go Tuesday and got to go free on Thursday as long as you take 2 passports with you. Aquapark is well worth the money and the children were never out of the water. For younger children there were smaller tubes and pools to play in. Sunbeds at 2 Euros 80 each and the same for an umbrella.

The staff at the apartments were wonderful and the receptionists were very friendly and informative. The rooms were cleaned every other day with new towels, toilet rolls and bins emptied with new bin bags. We never used the kids clubs so not sure what they were like but the evening entertainment was excellent, whilst we were there we saw a magician (complete with dove and rabbit) who was fabulous and the African Footprint group performed some amazing balancing and limbo stunts.

The buses are very cheap and easy to use. The Spar shop across the road from the apartments is extremely cheap for most alcoholic drinks (trust us we did compare a lot of shops).They are a lot cheaper than duty free at the airport.

The nearest beach is Pirates Cove where the cost for 2 sunbeds and an umbrealla is 15 Euros. We decided to put our towels on the sand instead!! We would recommend snorkelling in the sea it is amazing!! If you take some bread with you the fish come really close and they are quite big it is fascinating watching them all dashing in to eat the bread. You can go quite a long way out without going out of your depth. The children bought dinghys at the Spar shop and enjoyed paddling about in the sea and the pool. The food at Pirates Cove is lovely and our average meal cost around 40-50Euros which included drinks for all 5 of us so not too bad!

The harbour at Calan Bosch is worth a visit (bus again) and there are numerous restaurants on the harbourside all desperate to get you in.

All in all a fabulous holiday was had by all and I would highly recommend it.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Lovingmum23
10 / 10

25 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wish we had been there for two weeks

"Came back yesterday from Talayot Apartments good and bad points the towels are terrible you are best paying 5 Euros and getting Thompsons towels much better and you get your money back at the end of your holiday then theres the entertainment the Fake That show was a embarrasment far too loud many people walked out including us a word of warning about The Disney Show its four girls miminging and dancing if your kids are waiting for Mickey Mouse and Co they dont come on till 11 oclock pm for about ten minuets Now all the good bits apartments are lovely and clean sheets changed ever other day complex really good swimming pools clean we didnt have any trouble getting sunbeds snackbar selling good food and the resturant is really nice if you eat out try Blachhorse pub just over the road best chips or try L"encore lovely food we had a really good holiday would recomend the apartments and would go back we were with our 3 year old grandaughter and she loved the childens enterainers who always had time for the children all the staff were friendly all in all a really good complex"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Try it you wont be dissapointed
by Nannaofone
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Simply terrific

"I stayed in Menorca from the 25th August to 1st September 2010 with my parents and younger brother, aged 12. We were in room P3 which at first seemed quite daunting as it was right by one of the children's pools and the restaurant and entertainment but much to our surpirse, it was completely silent. The staff at reception and bar were incredibly friendly and could speak better English than me! The hotel food was very well priced and there was so much to choose from. There were five pools; One in front of the P block, one by the T block (which used to be named the X block, of which you've probably heard many horror stories.... And the pool water was green and there was algae around the edge of the pool), the main one which was inbetween loads of blocks, one really nice one by the R block and a very fun on by the A block which included those tipping buckets and childrens slides. Our room was brilliant. We were in a spacious, ground floor, two bedroomed apartment which was absolutely spotless. I loved the apartment and the balcony was massive with a child safety gate, which every apartment has. This resort is ideal for young children. The entertainment at night was usually fairytale-themed, and I'm a teenager so it wasn't to my taste :) However there were a brilliant gymnast group called Kenyan Footsteps. In the main pool there was good entertainment aswell (party dances like the conga and macerina), but it was the same every day. Kept young children happy though. There are dozens of restaurants on your doorstep, if you go through the Blue Arch leading into Los Delfines. I'd recommend Frankie's sports bar for breakfast, it was brilliant! Watch the football here too! There's another restaurant, I can't remember what it was called but there's loads of plants on the cieling. YOU MUST VISIT THIS. It's brill.

You must also visit Cuitudella - Get the local bus for a day out, or a night out. There were some awesome restaurants on the marina, though rather pricey, well worth the money.

IDEAL FOR YOUNGER CHILDREN, BUT I LOVE THIS RESORT!! :D
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Self Catering, Booked Independently
by 115Hannah
10 / 10

17 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic

"Fantastic Holiday - just returned from two week stay at the Talayot with our two small children (6 and 3)and all had a brilliant time. The complex is split into small blocks with each block having a pool close by. The big pool is where the daily entertainment is held therefore this pool can get busy but as theres so many other pools to move around to its not a problem. The splash pool is really good fun as is the fountain pool near the restaurant however our kids preferred the small pool across the road in T block, which was where we were staying.

I think the T block was originally called the X block but can honestly say we had no problems with this block or our appartment (as had read in some earlier reviews when we were thinking of booking the Talyaot!)

The appartment was very clean and bed linen and towels were changed regularly. The bedroon and bathroom were a good size as was the balcony. It was also well equipped with everything you could need to cook a meal in the evening.

Having said that the prices in the restaurants were cheaper than we expected therefore we tended to eat out most nights. The Cuore restaurant in the main eating strip was very good and had a bit out the back for the kids to play on, the Ancora does a good Paella and the Pirates bar (by the beach) does great Tapas. The food at the Talayot was also very good and very reasonably priced.

The Thomson staff were all very energetic(!), our kids didn't do to the kids clubs but they did enjoy the daily evening kids disco, Hannah Banana and Twinkly Tash were definite favourites although all reps were good really, there was alos some good evening entertainment after the kids disco.

T
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with First Choice
by housemartins
10 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Holiday at Talayot

"Just got back from our holiday yesterday staying at the Talayot Apartments it was an excellent complex clean and tidy.

Loads for the kids to do, and the reps were great, drop in centres for the kids just brill.

The Appartments had all mod cons.

Swimming pools were good, and we had a great time.

The Holiday was not cheap but we did get value for money.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by indie
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fan 'bloody' tastic!!!!

"we have just returned from menorca and as this was our first i cant praise it enough!!! the apartment was clean, cool, and well positioned, and VERY well located witin the resort with a bus stop right outside the door, the staff and spanish alike were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, we hired a car for 2 days to visit other resorts, but should have had it for longer as the island is very beautiful. I myself would go as a couple or a single parent as i felt very safe day and night in and out of Talayot. It was a fab holiday,one to remember and i am glad we took so many photos, we will go back definately, as we did not want to come home after our 2 weeks.

team hibbard-jones :)
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: very pretty,very helpful people, loved it!
  • Good For: Beach
by team hibbard-jones
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Explore area

Map for Talayot Apartments Closest airport: Palma de Mallorca (PMI) 35.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Talayot Apartments photos (2 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Talayot Apartments
  • by kee81

    " Lovely beaches ,L ancora restaurant ,Frankies bar "

  • by mr wilson

    " good for kids / family.a place to have a laugh with your kids. "

  • by Winkler

    " My fav restaurant was Pirates cove and a restarant with a man with his thumb up outside. "

  • by gsalacuri

    " Going to son bou the beach to go on the bananna boat, and restaurants is daisys and pirates cove! "

  • by Marionpdenison

    " Mainly for younger children but great for weather and coves "

  • by BOV

    " If you have children this is the holiday for you. "

  • by 115Hannah

    " Ideal for families with children under 10 "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " A lovely and clean enviroment and everyone is friendly. "

Similar hotels around Cala'n Forcat

Hotels near Talayot Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Talayot Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Talayot Apartments? Share your insight.

Talayot Apartments is also called:

  • talayot cala n forcat
  • talayot hotel cala n forcat

Address: Cala Picas, 116, Menorca 07700, Spain