Monterrey Aparthotel

2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

4  / 10
(70 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
8
Good
14
Average
4
Poor
6
Awful
38

Rating by feature

Room: 5/10
Service: 5/10
Food: 4/10
Value: 6/10
Cleanliness: 5/10
Location: 4.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
our view

"Upon arrival we found all but one of the reception staff helpful. The hotel is located a fair way off of the beaten track, so is nicely quiet. the nearest amenities are quite basic. The room had very few utensils, not enough to accommodate 4 people considering it was self catering. Air conditioning is NOT free, although the apartment was cleaned daily including clean towels, the sheets were changed once in 10 days.

Our room had a nice view of the bay & sunset, it also included an area of barren land with a couple of home made 'sheds' which housed 3 unfed dogs. smoke alarms constantly go off resulting in ALL of the fire doors slamming shut.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: more helpful staff, air conditioning, sheets cleaned more often and more cooking utensils
  • Good For: Beach
by Jane Z
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Closed in October!!!

"We booked this hotel for the 6th October 2012. We were worried due to some bad reviews but we like the self catering aspect to our holiday having a baby we want a safe and quiet atmosphere for her. we don't like to be kept awake till all hours by people who sit about at the pool drinking themselves to death all day and then become noisy idiots waking you all hours of the night.

Unbeknown to us this hotel was shut and we didn't find out until we met our driver for our transfer. Watch out as Playasol who own this hotel and many others take your money knowing you wont be going to your chosen hotel!

We ended up in a hell hole all inclusive hotel with self catering apartments which were dirty, shabby and in a serious need of a refurb.

we took a walk to Monterrey and the pool was green and full of algue so more proof that it was shut a long time before we even booked our holiday!

If you are booked to go here watch where you end up!!
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, booked with On The Beach
  • Advice: Make sure it's OPEN!
by LJ79
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Fawlty Towers

"Some of the staff were helpful especially the bar and restaurant staff, however i found a couple of the staff couldnt be bothered on reception. We found we couldnt change our travellers cheques at reception, we were sent by the staff to the local bank who refused to change them, however i thught that currency exchange was advertised at this hotel.The swimming pool was clean, however where was the jacuzzi that was advertised. The food should have been hotter than it was served, the variety of food on the menu was up to the chef in charge, the lady chefs food was better.

The room, one of the rings on the stove didnt work,there was no hot water for 4 days, but it was turned back on after complaints, air con you had to pay extra. Checking in an out was a nightmare, written info would be useful over services etc. We ended up paying for an extra day, as we were told by another guest that the courtesy room was not up to scratch. We should have checked out midday but we had a night flight. With the safe cost, extra day and air con costs it added to the holiday costs...not so cheap.The location of the hotel is at the top of hill through scrubland, dangerous at night taxis needed.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, half board, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by littleangel
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not Very Good

"Had a week here last week of august/first week of sept.

Only ended up here as the original hotel (xaloc apartments) was fully booked & had no rooms left. To be fair the staff @ xaloc were helpful & they even paid for our cab to monterrey.

Stayed with 2 friends on the groundfloor. Rooms were very basic & you had to have deposits for evrything-tv remote, aircon etc. had a little hob & sky news-thats about it. Breakfast was cold & unedible-only had it once & didnt go back. Pool was reasonable size & theres a local english pub. I would recommend families as its a mission from the west end. Although saying that the pink panther & a few other bars wernt too far and they were a laugh.

Don't go if your young.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: walk to san antonio
by Smithy
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Hell on earth

"Noise at night we were kept awake by screaming and running up and down the corridor, loud music playing until 6.30 am. I complained to the night reception they said they would do something about it. I pointed out that the notices around the hotel informed that anyone persistently playing loud music after 12 would have their equipment confiscated. This did not happen in fact the night staff were more interested in laughing and joking and smoking outside the front reception; which we overlooked.

Plumbing leaves a lot to be desired we were unable to take a hot shower as the tap was faulty and dripped all night. What can I say about the decor as we took a luke warm shower the ceiling was falling down on us also part of the ceiling fell on me as I had dressed and got ready to go out. I was not pleased.

Now for the pool cigarette ends leaves and dirt and the last straw my daughter was swimming under water and said she had seen a dead mouse, I asked her to check and so did many other children yes there was a dead mouse. I complained it took almost an hour before it was removed.

Would also like to know where the jacuzzi and gardens are as described in the details, they do not exist.

If you looking at slumming it for a week or two go ahead if not then stay clear.

The only redeeming feature is the bar staff in particular Rebecca.
"

by unhappyLin
1 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just left Monterrey !!

"i really love that place !!!i had a very nice room on the 4th floor...all staff from hotel is very friendly !! the only thing i dont like was the breakfast !! :( but the rest very niceee,nice swinmming pool,very clean water and i see a guy cleaning every day !! anyway for a cheap holiday is perfecttttttttt....."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, booked with Expedia
  • Good For: Beach
by arnii
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Worst place ever! Don't stay there EVER!!

"I should have listened to reviews I read before hand! Heard it had been refurbished so gave it a chance wishd I hadn't! Arrived June 13th with my husband and 2 children (age 2 & 4) expected a family room like I booked to only be given 2 single rooms! And told to sleep seperatly!

Walls was still wet with paint as the hotel had only opened up day before! Swimming pool was empty! We stayed for 10 days after the pool was filled within a day the water was filthy rotten and no pumps or filters! Both kids got conjunctivitis!

Could hear people coming and going screaming and shouting all night right up until 5am obviously expected it with us being in Ibiza but what a nightmare with kids waking all night!

We was self catering! Hotels food and drink was OVERLY expensive! Nearest shops was about 20min walk with kids took about 40 mins! Lol

Had no running water for duration 6/10 days being there!

Cleaners did clean da rooms but not very good if I was too picky! But that didn't bother me too much!

Ceiling on balcony was near snuff falling down!

HOWEVER all staff was really nice and very helpful our flight home was 2.40 am Friday and we had to check out our room Thursday 10am day before!..I spoke tp the manager about my thoughts that having 2 kids I need to keep the room till later but wasn't happy about paying the 30 euros as we has no running water and no way of showering and he was kind snuff to let us stay for free!

Bit gutted! Would never ever stay again!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Knock it down!
  • Good For: Beach
by Emmaob
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Basic hygeine was too much to ask!!!

"When we arrived at the hotel it was early hours and there was no where at all to even get a drink as the hotel had no drinks machine and was about a 7 min walk to anything near down a long very dark uphill road. Overall we enjoyed our holiday and didnt mind a stroll to all the bars and resturantes which are about 25min depending on how far down the strip.

The rooms overall were basic and what you'd expect from a good value holiday. There weren't much untensils to make a propper meal and the cutlery was rusty!!! 2 camping style hobs and a sink. We ate out everyday, only bought drinks from the hotel. When we arrived we never had a tv but they were quick on the mark to sort it out. Though the staff could hardly speak english (which may sound arrogant but was hard to communicate at times). However the cleanliness of the room was a disgrace. Silverfish in the door frames and spiderwebs and spiders between the slats of the beds and up by the ceiling.

The pool area is nice but could also do with being cleaned more. Fag buts and rubbish often left but apart from that was ok to chill when you couldnt be bothered to venture out.

This hotel would be so much nicer if the hygeine levels were better and more kitchen facilities.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Room Only, booked with Bookable Holidays
  • Advice: would be great if it was clean
  • Good For: Beach
by Honest reviewer
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cheap but not so cheerful!

"Me & my boyfriend checked into Monterrey Aparthotel, San Antonio Bay July 2010 for 7 nights. This was our first time abroad together & also our first time to Ibiza.

We didn't go to Ibiza for the clubs because we were on a tight budget, we just wanted to chill in the sunshine, in a place that we have always wanted to visit.

We were advised by our travel agent that Monterrey would be a quiet hotel because it is situated away from the main club strip in San Antonio. Although, quiet wouldn't be the best way to describe it in my opinion! We found the hotel to be extremely noisy throughout the nights with people constantly coming in & out, banging doors, screaming, shouting etc. There was no consideration from other guests at all!

As our week went on we realised that Monterrey was a hotel full of mainly groups of clubbers using it for a base to crash out. I wouldn't really recommend this hotel for couples or families.

Onto our room....we entered our room to find that it had been cleaned but there was no telling just how long ago! To be honest it was filthy. Some people would have complained, but after reading reviews of rude staff & thefts, we did not wish to tempt fate! So first on our agenda was to find the local shop to stock up on a few cleaning aids! (Cillit bang!) Our entire room including the bathroom really needed refurbishment. We did realise that this was a low cost hotel but it took the biscuit a little. Basic appliances e.g kettle, t.v remote, air-con remote did not come with the room. These items had to be gained via a deposit at reception. We paid a 10euro deposit to aquire the air-con remote but it didn't work. Anyway we managed!

We only made it to breakfast once but found that there was very limited choice. We decided to buy bits for breakfast from the local shops instead. The evening meals were better than we thought they would be. It was set out buffet style serving things such as pasta, chips, pizza slices, onion rings, samosas, salad etc. There were a few desserts too. The buffet changed slightly from day to day but not much.

The hotel pool was nice & there were plenty of sun loungers. We found all the hotel staff to be friendly, helpful & polite especially the maids. They came throughout the week to give us fresh towels & tidy.

The walk to the beach is easy. Takes around 10-15 mins. Basically its just a long straight road. Just be careful a night as it gets quite dark because there arn't many lights. There are lots of souvenir shops, bars & places to eat nearby.

Just one word of advice, watch out for the rather large, brightly clothed African ladies! We decided to take a walk along the beach towards San Antonio. They tried to engage in conversation with us by asking where we were from. They then grabbed our wrists & tied beaded bracelets around them. In my case the woman used a lighter to burn the knot together. They then say you have to pay for the bracelets. Don't let them catch you off guard!

Overall we had a fantastic holiday. The weather was sizzlin! The views across the bay were really pretty. The sea was crystal clear. I do think its worth paying a bit extra for a nice hotel as Monterrey was the only thing that let it down for us in the end.

M & R (21,22)
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, Half Board, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Marth-laaa & Rich-laaa
2 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Get what you pay for

"Hi ive hust got back from this hotel stayed here for 5 days, its very basic and wouldnt advise you to stay around the hotel because you will get bored.

Food is not good but always managed to eat something just.

Its close to the bus stop that goes straight through to san antonio and there are some good bars resterants not to far away.

If you go out at night the road down is dark take a torch !

I enjoyed my holiday despite these factors because i just wanted a bed at the end of the night its ok for that.

if i where to stay in ibiza again i would not stay here though.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, hb, Booked Independently
  • Advice: good for a place to sleep if your not fussy
by sharron
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just What We Were Looking For.

"I stayed here recently with a group of 5 friends, we had been told the hotel was good value for money by friends, they werent wrong, we got an amazing price for 10 nights, very cheap.

Upon arrival the hotel does seem very secluded and asif its quite far from anything, but once you start to walk from the hotel you realise it aint all that bad, it is down a small walkway which does get rather dark an night time and is badly lit, but just make sure you dont walk alone, we wer always together so didnt see it as a problem. Its a 5 minute walk from shops and a 15 minute walk from a bit supermarket which sells absoloutely everything you need at bargain prices. For people going into the bay and west end every night like we were it is a bit of a walk, you can either flag or order a very cheap taxi which will cost 3-4Euros max or have a nice stroll, weather was nice so we werent fussed.

The hotel rooms where a decent size, bedding was a bit dated but no huge problem, reasonably clean and had everything we needed. The rooms do get cleaned but you can just ask for towels and clean the rooms yourself depending on how long your there for.

Ibiza itself is amazing, this was my second time there and theres no place like it, i think the hotel is suited for young people like ourselves, who are going for a clubbing lively holiday, i dont think the hotel is suited for familys with kids and older couples.

For the money we paid i'd stay here again, alot of bad reviews but no complaints on our part - we enjoyed our stay.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Self Catering, booked with On The Beach
  • Advice: Party Captial.
  • Good For: Beach
by happyholiday
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What more can you ask for

"I stayed here with my mate for a week and YES i read all the reviews before i went, to be honest you never know what your going to get untill you get there.

The hotel isnt exactly 5* and it isnt exactly in the best location, but i cant see why people would complain.

It was clean and basic but gave us everything we expected for the small price we paid, nice room, nice pool, yeah the area wasnt the best but once again, for what you pay what do you expect(bout 20-25 min walk to the bay).

If you want a cheap, basic, hotel then stay here, im back here this summer with a group of mates and cant wait.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Cheap, Clean, Youthful, Worth It.
  • Good For: Beach
by ibiza-yearly
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Monterrey Aparthotel Closest airport: Barcelona (BCN) 17 miles

Travellers also viewed

Monterrey Aparthotel photos (3 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Monterrey Aparthotel
  • by rubbish hols

    " Great for young single ravers . "

  • by Mally and Fran

    " The Los Angeles Bar offered good food at reasonable prices. "

  • by Mally and Fran

    " The Los Angeles Bar serve good food at reasonable prices. "

  • by VK

    " Oasis bar and Relish great food, Palya Bella good evening family entertainment, "

  • by karen

    " go with an open mind its not the ritz but wht do you expect for a cheap getaway!!and explore!! "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Great place to stay great bars and places to eat, friendly locals too!! "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " Its a harbour the sea isn't great but the nightlife is AMAZING "

  • by littleangel

    " Lovely Brit bar around the corner and good hot food . "

Similar hotels around San Antonio Bay

Hotels near Monterrey Aparthotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Monterrey Aparthotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Monterrey Aparthotel? Share your insight.

Monterrey Aparthotel is also called:

  • apartamentos monterrey hotel

Address: C/ Sabadell 10 Bahia Sant Antonio, Ibiza 07800, Spain