Morro Mar Apartments

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(50 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
12
Good
10
Average
7
Poor
10
Awful
11

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 5.5/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Morro Mar Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
great place to stay

"We had a great week at the Morro Mar the manager was great very helpful when my husband was poorly nice apartments very helpful staff lovely grounds short stroll to shops on the beach its only a short walk to get a bus to Puerto del carmel all in all really good place to stay"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2013, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: camel ride and volcano trip
  • Good For: Beach
by sylriley
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great time

"We have just got back from here. It was very clean. Lovely staff who were kind and friendly. Food was wonderful and a great choice.

Need to update the area of WiFi.

Needy to update evening entertainment.

On the whole a fab family fun place to stay
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Update wifi area and evening entertainment
  • Good For: Beach
by Juliehillier
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic for families - Nice secure apartments - Good complex

"The location of these apartments is Matagorda which is right next to the airport - we paid for transfers when a taxi would have been quicker.

Location is a 10 min stroll to the beachfront which leads into Puerto del Carmen (approx 3/4hr slow walk).

The rooms are basic, recently refurbished, clean and cleaned regularly. Never seen any bugs during my stay although spray was provided in the cupboard! The balconies are proper secure glass/upvc door as opposed to some slide and lock ones in other places I have stayed. 2 bed appts available for families. Had a fridge and self catering utensils in the bedroom. Decent shower :0)

What made my holiday was the fact that the Animacion team were fantastic with our kids 4, 11 ,14. The little one wasn't supposed to be in the free miniclub which is ages 5-12 but they took her anyway and she LOVED it! I enjoyed that too 10.30am-12.30pm and then 3pm-5pm she was playing in the park at the complex and an apartment which they have converted into 'Miniclub' where they draw paint, play games indoors & out and make things. The kids have a mini disco at night with dancing games and facepainting etc.

The activities during the day for adults and over 12s were great too and free. Archery, pistol shooting, rifle shooting, football, shuffleboard, tennis, bowls.

Evening entertainment was actually okay for a typical all inclusive complex. Magician (which normally wouldn't impress me! but he was very good)Movie quiz and casino night. Dancing competition. Karaoke on the entertainers night off.

Reptile show... which was good but the usual moneymaking out of buying pictures and no self photography. reptile show and parrot show rotate each week. The entertainers have 2 days off a week.

Lionel Ritchie tribute act was the only thing I didn't enjoy as much - others seemed to.

Wifi only works in reception area of hotel and is 20 euros per week but can be bought per day for a few euros.

My only criticism of the hotel is the food - maybe because I compared it to other places but it seemed repetitive although I never went hungry so I cant complain. Always a pasta, 2 meat dishes, salad bar, fish, chips, bread & garlic bread etc.

Self service snacks are in the upstairs bar where you can make toasties between meals. Most importantly for our lot the slush machine and ice cream tubs were included in the all inclusive (I have seen other hotels charge for these things)

A fantastic break for our family and the staff definitely contributed greatly to our stay.

I'd go back in a heartbeat.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, booked with GoingOnHoliday
by lornalou
8 / 10

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A bit of a shock

"Only stayed one night here,We needed somewhere near the airport ,Soo glad it was only one night, Quiet run down, in a very quiet area,dont know if that is good or bad, It needs a lot of revamping,The room was clean,The beds were as hard as a rock, no mattress protectors on the beds,which I think is a necessity,It was shabby.

The pool area looked nice if small.The man at reception was very helpful and nice.
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Quiet area,very out of the way
  • Good For: Beach
by fran52dogs
3 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

very disappointed

"just come back from staying at the morromar well never again worst place we have stayed at in lanzarote.was clean but very very basic food the same every day had to eat out.balcony flooded and this cost us more than the four star hotels we have stayed at.would only rate this as two star."

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Julie W
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lanzarote2012

"I went on an all-inclusive package deal,Matagorda was further out than i thought which meant taxis's to n from ! the room was very basic n in need of updating,but was clean,although the maid only came 3x out of 7 ...

the FOOD was shocking to say the least,i lost so much weight on this holiday,because the food was that awful :( then we get to the alcohol,watered down to say the least,so ended up eating out,n drinking out too....most of the staff was amazing (tanya we luff ya )sum were not so nice...also the ques at the bar get way too long,wasn't impressed as more staff should av been available

the pool areas was very reasonable both pools we spent most our time round the pool bar....although did notice some wear n tear on some tiles round the pool area which was badly cracked ,also my other bugbear was NO ASHTRAYS how bizarre i found this as they was more than happy for us to stubb our cigarettes out on the floor .... not good a tall :( i love lanzarote but would not recommend "THE MORROMAR" to anybody i wouldn't stay in Matagorda again either ,peurto del carmen is the place to be ...
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: stay self catering
by miss roe
4 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic week!!

"Myself and my husband stayed here in March, and had the best week ever. what we thought!!

- The staff were really helpful.

- The apartments were clean & bright.

- The food was delicious, we couldn't complain about Any of the meals. chefs came out most meal times, tables were

Were cleared straight away.

- The whole complex was welcoming and enjoyable.

we didn't stay for any of the entertainment in the evening as we went into the old town every night.

the whole experience of Morromar was 100%, we will definitely be staying here again next year.

Really cannot understand how anyone can complain about this place.

Thank you for a brilliant holiday :-0) x
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Great service, great, staff, great food!
  • Good For: Beach
by sufla63
10 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

nice hotel, food mediocre, entertainment rubbish and entertainment staff

"Came home monday 25th june after 1 week stay, food mediocre could have been morechoice, fine if you liked pork!!. Very noisy group of 60 spanish children, group leaders had no control over at night, very noisy. Entertainment was absolute rubbish, karoake night catered to a group of spanish guys who seemed to be staying the weekend, they took over the karoake. The entertainment staff, young girl and sometimes a guy, were dreadful, didnt seem to know what they were doing. Lack of entertainment certainly spoilt the holiday for us. On a plus the hotel was spotlessly clean, bedding changed midweek , towels changed every second day. There was a lack of Management staff around to speak to! Pool areas very clean and always managed to obtain a sunlounger. Bar staff were very friendly and pleasant.

Carol M/ Invernesss
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Be prepared to go outwith the hotel for entertainment
  • Good For: Beach
by carol m/inverness
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

entertainment lets the hotel down!

"just returned from the Morremar and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. very clean, staff friendly and food very edible. My one complaint would be that the entertainment is lacking. the entertainment staff were difficult to understand and weren't very imaginative. one barman on at night meant long queues for drinks. all in all,you get what you pay for. if you're looking for a cheap holiday, then this is the place to go!"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
by Susan D
6 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Brilliant relaxing holiday

"Firstly we had a brilliant 2 weeks holiday. After reading many reviews I was a bit worried before flying out. The food was good - People complain about the salad bar, but we loved it as we love eating different food when going abroad. There was always a choice of meat ie. fish, pork, chicken, goat - rice, chips, pasta and vegetables. The beach is only a short walk away down a nice path across the road at the back of the hotel where the taxi's are parked. As we had 2 pushchairs we could not use the steps down to the path so we went around them via the first road on your right. It is also lovely to walk pass the sea front in the evening and watch the planes come in. I can't comment on the entertainment as we hired a car from auto reisen and we went out for a few hours everyday. We love Costa Teguise beach and it is only about a 15-20 minute drive. We had a lovely big apartment which looked over to the sea. I would go here again and I am still suprised by the bad reviews this place received in the pass. My kids did not want to come back home. It is 3 star - exactly what I expected and paid for and I was not disappointed. I did not expect 4 or 5 star but was still really pleased with the apartment and food. They do have a table in the entrance of the dining room where you can place any of your holiday items you do not need anymore for other people to use - This is a brilliant idea."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with On the beach
  • Advice: Rent a car get out and see the surrounding areas
  • Good For: Beach
by Jackie
8 / 10

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holiday to lanzagrotty

"Travelled 10th july 2011. Food not good but edible, activities ok, entertainment not brill, (parrott show, reptile show and bird of prey show) to name a few, spoken in spainish. Apartment basic and cleaned to a average standard. Reception staff helpful. Ten mins from the Arrecife airport so was great counting the planes coming in to land from the beach. Not alot of sunbeds so you have to get up early to beat the germans and the spanish. Yes the staff do put yor towels in a bin liner or on the wall etc to clean down the beds or when the beds have been reserved too early, the warm breeze is lovely and dont forget you can still get burnt thru the clouds. Thanks to the other teenagers at the hotel my daughter 17 and son 14 were able to have an enjoyable fun time."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with dawson & sanderson, hull
  • Advice: prepare to wait in long queue's in the restaurant
  • Good For: Beach
by kate,holly,ellis & karen from hull
4 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not a winge food is dreadfull

" Genuine review, from an honest couple.

Good points,

Hotel and rooms clean,

Staff quite helpful,

Pool and surrounding area was nice ( well prior to the slobs who leave chips, bottles, and plates all over because their too lazy to use the bins)

Bad points

Room was well used and battered ( badly needed an update )

Entertainment poor

Location could be described as poor, but good if you want to be away from the main centre of town

But the worst part of the place if you go all inclusive is the food. This is not a whinge from somebody who got a deal on the internet and then expected 5 star dining, seriously the food is terrible, and this is coming from somebody who has never complained about food in 30 years of going abroad on holiday
"

by mike71
6 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Morro Mar Apartments Closest airport: Lanzarote (ACE) 1.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Morro Mar Apartments
  • by Derek

    " apx 5 mins walk to beach but better to turn right and head to the beach between matagorda and PDC "

  • by Julie Wilkinson

    " go self catering and at a bargain price "

Similar hotels around Matagorda

Hotels near Morro Mar Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Morro Mar Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Morro Mar Apartments? Share your insight.

Morro Mar Apartments is also called:

  • Morromar Aparthotel
  • sol melia matagorda
  • sol morromar apartamentos matagorda
  • Sol Morromar Apartments
  • sol morromar lanzarote

Address: C/ Mato 13 Urbanizacion Matagorda, Lanzarote 35510, Spain