Myramar Castle Beach

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8  / 10
(58 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
36
Good
12
Average
3
Poor
1
Awful
6

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 6.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Myramar Castle Beach

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
disappointed by jane baker
4 / 10

We were disappointed with the property as it was a long way from the beach (the brochure says 800 mtrs) but you go over 9 level crossings and 3 busy roads to get to it also the food was extremely poor in quality and variety rooms were poky although reasonably clean however in the 2 weeks we were there we had to ask twice for the room to be serviced late in the day.Also the power went off fridge didnt close properly hotel computers were very slow and 2 of the phones were o/rder

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012, booked with Thomson

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

castle beach by rolymole
8 / 10

very good clean hotel. service was excerlent room cleaned every day and clean towels. half the hotel was shut which i thought for may was not very good. well located for peace and quiet. and only 15mins walk to beah or bus out side hotel for 1 euro.The resturant that was open i felt was very expensive and only one price. drinks were very expensive 12.10 euros for 2 vodkas and coke. the balcony furniture was cheep and not comfortable chairs with arms would have been better. the swimming pool area is fantastic and clean and loads of sunbeds.again no pool bar of cafe open.would recomend the hotel but not thomson we saw no rep for the whole 12 days and there is no information about the resort in the hotel or rooms. so if i hadn't known the area would have been stuck.

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: bring food and drink prices down
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lauren and Family by lauren
10 / 10

I went last year in July ,Entertainment was brilliant ,me and my Sister had a great time .Water polo was really good with the entertainer Marta, Bas and Tim and i will be returning again this Year in July .

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Advice: That its a great place to be

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fab by millolly
9 / 10

we stayed at this hotel from 26th aug - 1st sept and had fun fun fun, rooms seen to everyday by very nice maids, never tried food as we went to the small crazy golf club not far away, bar prices a little steep but the animation team WOW, what else can I say. amazing holiday expecially for children, will definately be going back.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Room Only, booked with hays travel
  • Advice: amazing

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Location,location,location by Spartan
7 / 10

These apartments are very clean and comfortable.The reception and foyer are spacious and bright,check in efficient.Note they will ask for your credit card details on registering.Tha apts are clean and,well furnished.The bathroom has a shower over the bath and a separate shower cubicle.The A/C is welcome and the TV is free with BBC,ITV,CNN etc.Apts are cleaned daily,towels changed daily,bed linen weekly.The pool is 100 metres long with the shallow side ideal for children.There is a lifeguard on duty most times,who will quickly stop any unruly behaviour in the pool.A toddlers paddling pool is adjaceent to the main pool.There are over 200 sunbeds under fixed parasols,with no evidence of reserving them.The Myramar centre,opposite, has 170 shops on two floors,,a large Eroski supermarket,a few fast food restaurants and a cinema complex on the third level.Brochures will tell you the supermarket is 50 metres from the Apartments,but from the Eroski checkout to the Myramar reception is nearer 400 metres,quite a way to carry a 5 litre water botte!The Myramar is let down by its location.The 15-20 minutes walk to the beach involves crossing main roads,negotiating high kerbs,going under a motorway,and over a footbridge.This could cause problems for the less mobile,or those with children in buggies.A decent bus service stops outside the Myramar,every 30 mins (every hour on Sundays).This will take you to the town centre for 1 Euro.The last bus back to the aps is 9.30pm,and a taxi will cost 7-8 Euros.The best restaurants are to be found on Fish Alley where the Menu of the Day costs 7-10 Euros for 3 courses.The restaurants on the promenade are the usual"Chips with everything" type with not much variety on offer.Fuengirola is a busy town with lots of traffic,and care must be taken when using zebra crossings as Spanish motorists are mot obliged to stop for pedestrians,and rarely do!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Nice apartments,let down by its location.
  • Good For: Beach

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent Holiday by ilovesunshine
10 / 10

Just returned from a week at this excellent hotel. Couldn't believe that all the photos we saw on the website were actually genuine - it is a very stylish place. Took the lift up to our 1 bedroom apartment and was delighted with what we got. We had a pool view with large balcony, well equipped with copious amounts of extra bedding and fresh towels (changed daily). We paid 26 euros to hire the safe in the room, 5 euros refundable but found this was worth it for the peace of mind that our valuables were safe (unlike last year when we hid our money so well it took 5 minutes to get to it!). Kitchen satisfactory, though only a 2 ring electric hob and microwave for cooking. Bathroom very impressive bar the 'elephant' hairdryer which was about 5 watts and would take 4 hours to dry long hair (if you could hold the end part by then which would have melted probably- but hey, the sun dries your hair! Minor detail. Maid in each day to clean floor, make bed (if your a lazy sod and hadn't made it yourself!)clean bathroom and change towels. By the way, the spanish maids are all really friendly - not that I'm saying the Spanish are quite rude compared to us Brits (!!!!). 2 pools as photos show. Lifeguards on duty from about 10am to 7.30pm - great for leaving the kids to it so that I could swim when I wanted and enjoy baking in the 30 degree heat on one of the plentiful sunbeds (with optional cabana). Peace perfect peace. Tried buffet once, no complaints. Reception staff very helpful. Called us a taxi to the airport and he was there in literally 2 minutes.The icing on the cake of this place is, no not the nearby Dunnes Stores, but the shopping centre a minutes walk from the hotel, well maybe 3 minutes by the time you get across the roads (man those spanish drivers are mean) look both ways at all times- don't feel foolish it will preserve your life!! The centre is excellent with shops we don't know, some we do; cafes KFC and BurgerKing AND on the top floor a 12 screen cinema which when we were there, showed 6 movies in English. How accommodating are those lovely Spanish people!? £££$$$$ (don't have a euro key). So to summarise, top place for a nice relaxing holiday. Oh, almost forgot the entertainment, well i'm no social animal but I actually ventured to the Aquabar each night for the fun, fun, fun. Some really good shows and the Animation Team for the kids were great. I still hear the phrase ' Maestro musica' in my sleep , and the 'naa naa naa naa' of the kids when they were getting their winners certificates for the days various events. Fuengirola is fine, bit like Salou but on a smaller scale. Beach is mad, you sink into the sand, tide quite strong so proceed with caution. Here, I could not leave the kids to splash while I bronzed. Instead, I was standing at the water's edge with a lifejacket on and Coastguard on alert. Maybe we picked a bad spot, but be careful. Plus there are loads of guys selling gear (it's real Prada!!!) handbags etc, sunglasses. They are fine but a bit persistant, so leave your British reserve at home and just tell them to politely [--]!!

Woops, did I start sumarising 500 words ago, cancel that and I conclude now. Book it, I would absolutly go again, and indeed will go again, preferably without the kids so I can sunbathe and shop till I'm red in the face. Buenos noches.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently

23 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

ok by akbarr
6 / 10

The hotel wasnt to bad,the rooms were as expected, but we didnt get a pool view, instead facing building works... rooms cleaned everyday and towels changed every other day. the two hotel security guards were really good, respect to them, they were more helpeful than the 'thomson reps' which in our eyes didnt exist. the pool wasnt too impressive, as it 50% of it is shallow enough to bearly reach your knees, and crowded with kids, not really a lively apartment, suitable for families looking for a quite break.

the beach is a 5-10 minute walk, huge shopping complex across from apartment, eroski supermarket inside the complex has everything, similar to asda.

overall not a bad holiday, although thompson could have been more helpful

  • Holiday details: Jul 2008, Self Catering, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: nice beach
  • Activities: beach
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Enjoyed Very Much! by elaineweaver
9 / 10

Holiday overall was excellent. Was my 2nd time back. Hotel is extremely clean and well equipped. Went self-catering and kitchen was nice, everything provided except cereal bowls. Staff were pleasant, some were a bit ignorant but that was due to lack of their understanding English. Wouldn't rate the food so would definately say self-catering as just 5mins walk is a supermarket and a shopping-mall. We made our own breakfast, lunch and snacks ourselves and ate them near the pool. We didn't really eat from the bar apart from Chips which is what my daughter (age 4) enjoyed. Oh and also Lollies to keep her cool. Entertainment for kids was very good - everyday there were reps flying around asking kids to go in the entertainment area for table-tennis, games - water sports etc... My daughter was only 4 so I didn't let her join in but if a bit older than can have a few hours to yourselves. Not a lot of English though! The first year we got cabs (2nd year realised it was about 15min walk so walked) to LA PLAYA which is the seafront with loads and loads and loads of restaurants, including McDonalds (LOL-can't get away from that) and would rate the food 10/10. Many English bars and English Sports Bars. Has everything from Chinese, Italian, Indian, English - list goes on and on and we LOVED the food!!!!!!! Beach is lovely. OVERALL THE HOLIDAY WAS FANTASTIC. We booked seperately flights and accomadation which cost us around £600 for 2 adults and 1 child. And am going back this year (2009)!!!!!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Seafront is lovely and British (although lot of foreigner travellers), overall really good!
  • Activities: EVERYONE AT THE SEAFRONT!!!!!
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed at the Myramar from Aug.... by  M Moring
8 / 10

We stayed at the Myramar from Aug. 19-Sept. 2nd. Overall our holiday was very good. Hotel staff very efficient and helpful, room clean and spacious, clean towels and bedding every day. Pool big and safe, plenty of sunbeds and shade, particularly necessary in August with children. We thought the pool tables at 2 euros a time was too pricey, 50 cents would be more appropriate, and would have been used by far more people, especially younger children, with limited pocket money. Good bus services into Fuengirola town, although not all went directly there.- we ended up going to the cementery en route, another time to El Faro near Mijas!! Check before getting on! Myramar Parque easy walking distance, good shops, Erosky supermarket has everything you need, we love the big langostinos at only 8 euros a kilo, 1/4 kilo more than enough for two! Washed down with San Miguel cerveza, and fresh fruit after! Also, over the bridge outside the front of hotel, turn right to little golf course,(20 euros for family of 4) nice little bar, although can of coke 2 euros.-bit pricey. (open from about 1p.m.-midnight/1am.) Turn left to Dunnes store, excellent sausage sandwich, full English breakfast, or a lovely Spanish coffee. Lots of lovely restaurants in Fuengirola, we liked the ones in the street parallel to the beach, but be prepared to spend plenty more than in previous years, the cheap vino and paella days are no more. Wonderful ice-cream parlours, cafes and bars, although plagued by the usual vendors of sunglasses and dvds, although a polite 'no thank you'was enough. Had no contact with Thomsons whilst there, although we never had a problem, a bit disappointed that our pick-up time was 6.30pm to Malaga Airport=our flight was at 10.20pm! Take sweets, cakes or snacks for kids, airport prices truly horrendous, packet small Walkers crisps 2 euros! Made Gatwick look like Asda!

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I would very much recomend Castle... by Iceland Traveler
9 / 10

I would very much recomend Castle Beach. The hotel is very clean, staff helpful and professional. Great pool area with the best childrens pool I have ever seen. Lifeguard on duty all day. Lots of sunbeds, many with parasols if you want. Breakfast buffet is good, with all you expect to see at such buffet. Dinner buffet is ok, but gets very boring and dull after a week. I recomend you to not to book more than a week of the dinner buffet, rather look at the restaurants down at the beach or the Wok buffet at the other side of Rio Fungirola, 3 min walk from hotel. Also you will find restaurants at the Miramar Parque shopping center behind the hotel (Burger King, KFC etc). Entertainment staff very lively and goes beyond what must be required of them, children activites all day, mini disco and adult entertainment in the evening. Poolbar is a bit pricy, 3.50 euros for a pint, but the snacks are great. Service there good but the bartenders should freshen up their cocktail skills a bit. The hotel has a decent library, 5 or 6 pooltables and other games, indors swimming pool, sauna, massage, playground, play room, multiple outdoors tennis courts, washing machines (very pricy 4 euros a wash plus 1 euro for dryer) etc. Next door is a nice shopping mall with a low price supermarket and lots of stores, cinema etc. Beach is 10 min walk or 5 min bus ride (use the yellow line, its fastest).

Overall a very plesant 2 weeks at a very nice and conveniently placed hotel. I look forward to book my stay there next year.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have just returned from a weeks... by julie97au
9 / 10

We have just returned from a weeks holiday self catering at the Myramar Castle Beach Hotel - 2 adults and 3 children. The hotel was great and I could not find any fault with it at all. The maids came in every day and gave us clean towels and made our beds and brushed and washed floors and even cleaned the windows. The pool area was great and the pool was very safe. There was lots of entertainment througout the day for both adults and children with water polo being played every day. The evening entertainment was not bad, though we were only there for it a few nights. We did not eat in the hotel, but drinks were expensive at 3euro for a glass of coke, though between 5 and 6 pm the pool bar had happy hour - buy one get one free. There is a great shopping centre next door with KFC, Burger King and a variety of other resturants. There is a bus leaving for Fuengirola centre from opposite the front of the hotel at 10 minutes past the hour and twenty minutes to the hour running from 9.10 in the morning until 10.40 in the evening, though 15 minutes will walk you into town. There is a great train service (station is beside the bus depot) with trains running every half hour and a fare of only 1euro 85cents - we got the train to the airport, but it stopped in Benalmadena, Torremolinos and all the towns inbetween. Overall a great hotel, well located and I am hoping to go back again next year.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

we have visited castle beach since it... by K Smith
10 / 10

we have visited castle beach since it was built, we have never had any problem apart from when the lock on our door broke and we had to stay in another room for one night ( no big deal ).

staff very helpfull and friendly especially paco in the bar, we have now been mates for 7 years visiting each other regularly at home too...if you go tell him kevin says hi and tell him you want Grande drink..lol

the pool is always clean, rooms are always spotless ( until the kids get there ) no problems getting a sun lounger. entertainment on everynite was good..ok its was not the royal variety show but very entertaining with audience participation

big superstore opposite was handy for groceries etc, even cinemas and restraunts inside, we were warned about the footbridge at nightimes for security/safety purposes, we never had a bad experience of this place yet and will be back in 09..i would recommend this hotel to anyone..

take care and have a good holiday

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Myramar Castle Beach? Share your insight.

Myramar Castle Beach also called

  • myramar castle beach hotel
  • Address: Calle San Miguel 1 Urb. Castillo de Myramar, Fuengirola 29640, Spain

Explore area

Map for Myramar Castle Beach Closest airport: Malaga (AGP) 12.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Myramar Castle Beach
  • by ilovesunshine

    " The Tea Tree English cafe on the promenade. Good food and the Ashes was on TV. "

  • by jane baker

    " if you go be prepared to cross 9level crossings and several busy roads to the beach which is advertised as 800mtrs away. but the staff were all very friendly and although apartment was poky it was clean. "

Similar hotels around Fuengirola

Hotels near Myramar Castle Beach

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Myramar Castle Beach?