Nana Beach Hotel

PO Box 20, Crete 700 14, Greece
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(18 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
11
Good
4
Average
2
Poor
1
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Nana Beach Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Fantastic

"Just returned from the Nana Beach Hotel although the weather was very mixed it did not stop us enjoying ourselves here. It was the best all inclusive we have been on. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. It was our 30th wedding Anniversary and they laid on Champagne and dressed our table in the evening with flowers etc. And then on the following day we had wine and fruit put into our room. The room we had was sea vew and was very clean and spacious the maids changed the sheets and towels every two days. The food in this hotel is excellant plenty of choice,we had most of our meals in the open air resturant down by the beach it was very pleseant and you had a lovely few of the sunsets."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Cheza
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

go and enjoy

"stayed here with my friend, had a great time plenty of a reas to sunbathe, 7 pools, beach and terraces overlooking the sea, no problem getting a sunbed.

Food was excellant if anyone says they cant find anything to eat they shouldnt go away. Try the main buffet once then go to the smaller buffet near the beach. Make sure you go to the 3 al carte restaurants all worth a visit.

Cocktails great, bar staff very nice.

Garden areas very nice.

Lots of german and russians, not a problem except very miserable.

Thomson rep phillipa very nic and helpful.

Go and enjoy
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: yes
by jacko
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

An extraordinary hotel

" I took my friends for my birthday at this extraordinery hotel, and i must admit that we had the time of our life.

People were really nice to us, and eventhough someone told me that i would have problems with the services, i found that to be utterly and completely untrue.

The Hotel enviroment was absolutely lovely. We loved the architecture, the gardens but even more so the view.

To conclude i must say that i wasn't so pleased with the night theater cause the shows were mostly in german, russian and greek! However the animation did a really good job overall, and , yes , we made some new friends

All in all i strongly suggest you to stay at Nana Beach.

Have a pleasant stay
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, booked with TUI
  • Advice: extraordinary
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by Tom Italy
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Perfect all-inclusive resort for the family

"The other reviews have covered most of the key points. I would agree with them all - this hotel is certainly a large complex, and it will take you a few walks to get to know your way around. However it is beautifully maintained - the gardens and flowers were in full bloom when we were there and it is very pretty indeed.

While the rooms are a little basic - and perhaps showing their age a little - they are clean, well furnished and pretty much all you could want given that you will be spending most of the day on the beach or by the pool.

The pools are excellent - about 8 I think - although we spent most of the time on the private beach (plenty of free sun loungers and parasols). There are some water activities that are free (e.g. canoeing) although others will need to be paid for (boat, scuba, banana etc). If you have young children then of course they will love it just playing on the sand (quite shallow near to the beach).

Most meals are in the central restaurant - a self-service buffet which lets you eat what you like (always an advantage with young children!). The hotel welcome and service was very good as well - very friendly and always a smile. Like most all-inclusive resorts, the food does get a little samey after a while, but overall not too bad.

You can eat in the greek/italian/fish restaurants but you will need to book in advance (beware that places are limited so you will need to book these as soon as you arrive, otherwise you will have to wait until the last few days of your holiday). These are certainly worth it as the food is slightly better than in the main restaurant.

The children's animation was the real highlight for us. Like most parents, if the children are happy, then so are you. We got friendly with the Italian animators, and it made a real difference - always saying hello during the day. The mini-disco in the evening was the real delight for our 4 yr old - it starts quite late, but there is a short theatre show afterwards. There is a large German contingent, and half of the animation area is dedicated to TUI. The rest of the hotel seems to be mainly english, italian or russian. There were also a few shows for the adults - some traditional songs and a fire show were 2 that we enjoyed.

As a final remark, the staff were always friendly and helpful. We had to make a trip to the doctor, and the hotel staff made sure that everything went smoothly, which was certainly appreciated.

Overall, we were delighted with this hotel - simple, easy, perfect for the children and pretty much all we were looking for. There is a good chance we will come back here. Recommended.
"

by Voyager006
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Dont go at the end of the season...............

"We stayed at the Nana Beach during the October half-term week. It was full of Germans, although nice people, all the entertainment was for them as Thomson only has 22 rooms in this hotel. We felt as though sometimes we were in the way as the management seemed to be shutting down parts of the hotel gradually for the winter. We found some of the staff to be indifferent and insincere - again maybe this was because it was the end of the season - not the beginning - One of the main restaurants (the nicer one on the sea front) was shut down a couple of days into our holiday which meant we were herded into the big one in the main part of the hotel which was like a canteen and not a relaxing place to eat. The pools were freezing cold, although they should have been heated in October and we thought that the rooms needed refurbishing and were not what you would expect from the website, especially the bathrooms which were quite shabby and old. My children enjoyed the facilities, but we wont be going back in October."

by Keorafe
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Hotel

"Lovely Hotel in a Lovely setting, the seven pools and the beach made you feel that your were in a different place each day. Yes this is mainly a German Hotel although this was not a major problem for us and we could always get a sunbed when and where ever we wanted!

Food is a bit repetitive but not too bad if you are only there for a week.

Unfortunately our visit was at the end of the season and we did have rain for a couple of days. The hotel was closing down for the winter and on occasions we felt as though we were getting in the way and we did not get full use of the facilities or the service that perhaps would have been available in high season.
"

by Ann3780
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Hotel great food

"My wife and I both in our forties stayed here last week in September 2007, the staff absolutley fantastic the food well above average although you have got to be quick to book the speciality resturants. Easy to get a drink whenever you want, in fact harder to get a cup of tea sometimes.

The site itself has got 7 swimming pools although the main one with the swim up bar is known as the German pool, we stilled enjoyed though.

My only niggle is the Television 28 channels divided into 3 english news channels ??

Fashion television??

and that was it for the english speaking guests the rest where divided equally between greek and of course German.

If you had children this would be a small problem as would be the childrens clubs one for the germans and one for the english/italian/russian and others!!

On the whole we would go back there but probabaly with friends.
"

by mitchellfamily
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Excellent All Round

"My husband and I stayed for one week late September, with our 14 month old daughter, on an all inclusive basis.

The hotel was excellent, having more features that we’d expected even though we’d done significant research. I would highly recommend this hotel to families with children under 12 years.

The hotel entertainment is aimed at German guests, who are the majority although there were people of numerous other nationalities. All staff spoke German and English and were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is set out like a mini village with numerous blocks of rooms in various styles. We had a lovely bungalow room next to the small chapel, with twin beds, a cot, bath with shower over, portable tv, balcony, A/C and useful fridge.

Along the coast at the hotel are two adequate sections of beach and a pier. There is a watersports centre and childrens play park on the sand. Alongside is a large chess set and a long area of rocky coast littered with sunbeds and parasols.

There is an adults only pool with Jacuzzis, a quiet sheltered pool with a self service drinks/snacks/icecream bar which doubles as the a la carte fish restaurant in the evening. The main pool, with a swim up bar, is split in two by a bridge and has a small round childrens pool. Adjacent is a snack bar serving hot and cold food during the day including drinks, icecreams and cakes. In the evening, it becomes the Greek a la carte restaurant. Another pool, catching the coastal breeze, also has a childrens small round pool, a jacuzzi and an adjacent snack/drinks bar. The childrens adventure pool is knee deep (for adults) and has clowns and other characters spraying water. Next to it is yet another pool with two Jacuzzi sections and a drink/snack bar. The beach, coast and all pools are surrounded with sufficient sunbeds and parasols.

In addition there is the main, indoor buffet restaurant which has a wide variety of excellent food including on the spot cooking for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is predominately non smoking with a small smoking section. The outdoor buffet restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner offering a similar selection. There is also another snack bar near the beach and the a la carte Italian restaurant.

For the evening the main, indoor with additional outdoor terrace bar has occasional evening entertainment and offers international brand drinks. There is a card games room and tv room adjacent. An outdoor sheltered cocktail bar and small dance area comes to life near the main pool. The main amphitheatre hosts the usual hotel entertainment, in German, nightly. The small amphitheatre hosts a mini disco in German and English for children nightly and a childrens show.

Additionally there is a small gym, a beauty salon and indoor pool (not for children). There is an excellent, undercover childrens play park and international mini clubs for various age groups from age 3. There are tennis courts, pool table, bar football, bike hire, archery and other games.

In terms of facilities, layout and quality and availability of food and drink, this is an excellent, all inclusive hotel.
"

by DinaRobin
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Holiday !

"We, (two couples) have just returned from a two week stay at the Nana Beach hotel and would thoroughly recommend it.

The majority of guests were from other countries whilst we were there but this was not a problem.The staff spoke English and were very friendly and welcoming.

We were based in the hotel itself and the rooms were quite small but clean and comfortable. Much of the accommodation is in blocks in the enormous,well-kept and colourful grounds.

A wide range of activities is available every day and there are clubs for children of all ages.The hotel has a number of lovely swimming pools, one of which is for adults only and so was quite quiet and relaxing.There is also a small indoor fitness pool and a sauna. The hotel is situated right by the sea and has a beach with plenty of sunbeds and an area for watersports.

Food was plentiful and of good quality. There was always plenty of choice at the buffet style meals.My only complaint would be that the hot food was occasionally not quite hot enough for me.Snacks such as hotdogs,burgers and pizza were also available throughout the day. There are also three A La Carte retaurants which guests can choose to eat in once a week.These require a reservation and get booked up very early. We only tried the Italian restaurant but can certainly recommend that one.The selection of soft and alcoholic drinks was also very good.The choice of wine was limited to one type of white,rose and red but there was also beer,spirits and plenty of delicious cocktails. The range was far better than in some other 4* all inclusive hotels we have stayed in.

The hotel is situated in a quiet area with only one or two shops and hotels nearby but there is a "Happy train" which runs regularly and local buses stop outside.We hired a car and went out every day.The roads were generally quite good and we managed to find a number of attractive beaches as well as visiting some of the historic sites. The Cretaquarium was also worth a visit.

All in all this was one of the best holidays of this type that we have had.
"

by Kath5
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

I took my friend away and we had a...

"I took my friend away and we had a really good time.

The staff were lovely and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was absolutely fabulous.

The buffet needed variation in order to cater more for vegetarian.

And every night food in the buffet seemed to be the same.

The Italian, fish, and Greek restaurant's were great.

Maybe more teenager entertainment and adults.

Also nightly shows could be done in English because we struggled to understand Greek!

A great hotel.

Maintenance staff weren’t good. Considering we asked for one to come and take a look at something and we never got a visit.

An amazing resort and in gorgeous surroundings!

Well done!
"

by CS Smith
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A great place for families

"There is a swimming pool for every taste, from quiet to kiddies to "lets all get mental to boom boom music and do some water aerobics"

The food is really good, which is not always a given when it is served in large Ban Maries at a buffet, and there is a very good selection of snack bars and a la carte restaurants as well.

The clientele was predominantly German during our stay, so get your towels out early if you want a good place at the pool.

The international kids club started at 4 years only, but there is a German club as well, which was not advertised in the UK brochure. The staff speak English, and our children loved it. There was a childrens disco every evening, which was the kids highlight of the day, and the general performances in the evening were really quite good as well - think luxury cruise ship.

Rooms are colour coded, houses with blue doors are the best, brown doors the smallest and darkest with single beds - certainly not 4* standards.

Overall, the decor may be a little dated, but with the friendly staff, great food and overall relaxed athmosphere it really made for a fantastic family holiday.
"

by Wal88
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed in the Nana Beach Hotel...

"We stayed in the Nana Beach Hotel this September and had a wonderful time. We are a family of 5 including Grandparents, Parents and a five year old.

Would have given 10/10 for this but for the lack of evening adult entertainment. The shows put on by the animators were aimed at families and were such a laugh - even though we couldn't understand the German speaking show we still enjoyed it hugely. The amphitheatre near reception hosted the Italian/British animators and the little bit of translation helped a lot. Could not fault the Italian team of animators who made our 5 year old grandson's holiday. They made such a fuss of him - probably because he was very much in the minority there being very few English families staying in Nana Beach. We did not find this a problem but were worried on account of our grandson - needn't have worried. The Italian animators all spoke excellent English.

Can't really fault this hotel in any way at all - accommodation is a little dated but spotlessly clean, maid in every day, sheets and towels changed every other day. The rest of the hotel was immaculate.

Only drawback was the choice of evening entertainment (other than the family shows) was the Panorama Bar with a Greek type Richard Clayderman (yawn) or the Dionysus Music Bar which mostly played bump, bump, bump music, but the barmen were so very friendly it made up for this. If you were a couple of say 40 something’s you would be disappointed in the evenings. Food - excellent (can really recommend the Greek restaurant and the Italian restaurants (which you book for separately - but don't have to pay). Staff in this hotel are the friendliest I have come across in my travels.

Stalis is a 15 minute stroll away and 6 euros in a taxi and Hersonissos is just a little further in the opposite direction, roughly 8 - 10 euros in a taxi.

All in all a great choice for an all inclusive break, has a real cosmopolitan feel with all the different nationalities.
"

by  L C Clark
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Nana Beach Hotel Closest airport: Nikos Kazantzakis (HER) 13.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Hersonissos

Hotels near Nana Beach Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Nana Beach Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Nana Beach Hotel? Share your insight.

Nana Beach Hotel is also called:

  • hotel nana beach
  • nana beach
  • nana beach hersonissos

Address: PO Box 20, Crete 700 14, Greece