Albir Playa Hotel

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(26 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
16
Good
7
Average
3
Poor
0
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Albir Playa Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
Good and Not so Good by paulinesmith
7 / 10

The hotel was lovely, cozy and warm. Good Food and plenty of choice. Down side. No entertainment in the evenings and had to use another hotel for it. Christmas Eve we really thought it would be a good night at the hotel, but no entertainment. Unfortunately we missed out on our evening meal at the hotel and had to pay out for taxi to and from Benedorm to have a good night. Money we could have spent in the Albir.

Also disappointing no teas maid, we do like our cuppa first thing in the morning.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

26/05/2013 Hotel was Great by kirkpatrick
9 / 10

We have just come back from this Hotel and cannot fault it at all was perfectly clean in fact more so than lots of other Hotels we have been to , the Staff were inspirational , all spoke English plus one other language and ALL were friendly and helpful ,food was good no complaints at all Room was Double overlooking pool and mountains was only a Standard room but very good and also had a settee , chair and table , the resort itself was Clean , Tidy no rubbish or dog mess ( I think the reviewer who said all those bad things about hotel and resort must have been somewhere else !! ) Its a 15 min slow stroll to the beach down a pleasant residential street or again 15 mins down another street which has multiple restaurants on it ,

overall its a Great friendly Hotel in a nice location easy reach of everything you need

  • Holiday details: May 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont Expect the amenities of a hotel in UK , NO Spanish hotels have tea/coffee making facilities in rooms , ( or very few )
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

26/05/2013 Hotel was Great by kirkpatrick
9 / 10

We have just come back from this Hotel and cannot fault it at all was perfectly clean in fact more so than lots of other Hotels we have been to , the Staff were inspirational , all spoke English plus one other language and ALL were friendly and helpful ,food was good no complaints at all Room was Double overlooking pool and mountains was only a Standard room but very good and also had a settee , chair and table , the resort itself was Clean , Tidy no rubbish or dog mess ( I think the reviewer who said all those bad things about hotel and resort must have been somewhere else !! ) Its a 15 min slow stroll to the beach down a pleasant residential street or again 15 mins down another street which has multiple restaurants on it ,

overall its a Great friendly Hotel in a nice location easy reach of everything you need

  • Holiday details: May 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont Expect the amenities of a hotel in UK , NO Spanish hotels have tea/coffee making facilities in rooms , ( or very few )
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

xmas at albir playa hotel and spa. by helen graham
9 / 10

We have just returned from spending christmas at the albir playa hotel and spa..this was our second visit to the hotel. The food was first class, we booked half board. On christmas day we were offered a buffet lunch at a cost of 20euros each, we have stayed at 5 other hotels over christmas and i must say this was the best lunch we have had. The room and staff are of 5 star quality..

  • Holiday details: Dec 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: TAKE A SWIMSUIT. IF ONLY TO TRY THE SPA.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

12 day holiday by Carol C
6 / 10

We stayed at the Albir Playa on the 2/9/12, the hotel inside is clean, staff are pleasent, but the pool area wasnt so clean, we stayed for 12 nights and never saw the pool cleaned out and the sunbed area wasnt cleaned and washed very well,we noticed rubbish on the floor from the day before. We were only B/B which im pleased about as there we many British visiters complaining about the food, and saying it wasnt warm. Would recommend the Indian Restaurent across the road. The number 10 bus will take you into Benidorm every 20 mins, and the last one back is roughly 11.30pm.Carol & Dave

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Albir Playa again. by Halfpenny
8 / 10

Great hotel, some of the staff are a little surly especially if you don't purchase a drink at dinner!

However, saying this, a great spotlessly clean hotel with above average (for Spain) food. For the price one of the best around. It must be as I have been there three times and am not easily pleased!

  • Holiday details: May 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fab! fab! fab! by bettyboo
10 / 10

just returned from a week stay at the albir playa hotel and spa. travelled with two children 12 and 4. was our first family sun holiday in many years as we have done eurodisney five times in the last seven years!!!!!

couldnt find fault with this hotel, all areas very clean, food plentiful (no matter what time we arrived in the restaurant), unlike other reviews we found the food was always hot, staff very friendly, great quiet location were we could walk to local bars and promenade if we wanted to, or we could stay for hotel entertainment or we could visit Benidorm very easily on the number 10 bus. if you have young children then a visit to Aqualandia and Mundomar in Benidorm is a must!!! had a great day out there - wait to get your vouchers for discounted entry into Mundomar after you enter Aqualandia. we all gained entry into Mundomar for a grand total of 10 euros!!!

didnt want to leave the albir playa hotel and spa - one week was just not enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, full board, Booked Independently

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

chill time by DIRKADIRKA
8 / 10

As we operate our own property management / holiday rental company we went to Albir Playa Hotel for a long overdue 3 day break after a busy but stressfull season.

The hotel was very good with very friendly staff. Being British, we found it very nice that most of the guests were Spanish with a mixture of French, Norwegian and German which made the atmosphere all the better.

It is a great base as you can walk to all the bars /shops + beach. If you want Benidorm you can get the bus or a cheap Taxi ( parking is a problem there. ) We travelled to Finestrat village ( a must do ) Moraira, Altea, Javia, Denia in a day.

Our only small complaint is the food could be a bit warmer but the choice was excellent, and if you like seafood you would have been spoilt for choice on our last night.

Will go back again soon when it is warmer to use the lovely pool and outside areas, will probably give it 9.5 out of 10 then.

Thanks from Carol & Dek

  • Holiday details: Nov 2008, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: YES
  • Activities: FINESTRAT VILLAGE - MORAIRA - ALBIR + MANY MARINAS !!
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We completely agree with the last... by  P J Banks
9 / 10

We completely agree with the last review. This hotel is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and polite. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We asked for a quiet room with a double bed and thats exactly what we got. We were a little disappointed not to find a kettle etc in room, but we purchased one for 9 euros and a couple of mugs for 1 euro each so we were sorted. The rooms have a fridge so we could keep milk and other drinks and snacks fresh.

The food in this hotel was amazing. The buffet breakfast and evening meal catered for everyone. For breakfast there was everything you could wish for. From full english to cold meats and cheese.With a variety of cereals,eggs,fresh fruit,several types of bread tea, coffee and fruit juice you could not wish for more. There was even champagne available(we had a bucks fizz) and most mornings there was veal,chicken and fish. The evening meal was just as plentiful. I cannot speak highly enough of the choice and quality of food available. I am a fussy eater but I ate so much I put on half a stone so be prepared to through the diet out of the window. As previously mentioned the drinks were not overpriced either eg. 2 euros for a soft drink or local beer.

If you are looking for Blackpool in the sun(which we were not) then Albir is not the place for you as there is little entertainment in the evening. But if (like us) you are wanting somewhere to chill and recharge your batteries in tranquil luxurious surroundings then you cannot do better than Albir Playa. The pool area is lovely, but you have to be quick if you want to beat the Germans to the sun loungers.

Yes Benidorm is a bit of a drive away, but the bus costs only 1 euro 20 and they run every 15 or 20 minutes. The evening entertainment is mostly tribute bands. You can pick and choose who you see and when because they do a different bar every hour. So if you miss Pete loaf at one bar you can see him an hour later somewhere else. We saw a very good Shania Twain and Queen tribute . Rose Peters(a friend of my boyfriends sister,who we were visiting) is quite entertaining too. The taxi back to the hotel was about 10 euros.

The beach is a short walk and is pebbled so be sure to pack your beach shoes or do like I did and buy a pair of croc type shoes for 5 euros from nearby shop. Also beware the sea here is not recommended for children as it gets deep very close to the shore. If you dont mind being on public view there are several oriental women offering half an hour back,shoulder and arm massage for 15 euros. You can get a variety of massages and treatment in hotel but be prepared to pay more for them.

If I was to criticise anything it would be that the evening bar did not have enough seating. It was comfotable but quite large. They could have provided smaller chairs and been able to seat a lot more people. Also, even though there were 3 lifts I can imagine that at peak season it would be quicker using the stairs.

All in all this hotel is an absolute gem and we are looking forward to returning next year.

Bravo Hotel Playa.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This hotel far exceeded our... by M House
10 / 10

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. We spent 7 nights half-board in September 2008.

The room was comfortable and spacious, with a large bathroom, free air-conditioning and a balcony over-looking the pool area, with a lovelly view of the mountains beyond. The whole hotel was imaculately clean - the cleaners were constantly polishing the glass and stainless steel and we even saw a cleaner washing the room doors!

The breakfast and dinner buffets were huge and of good quality. We never had any trouble getting a table in the restaurant no matter what time we went, and the drinks were reasonably priced. We had the option of taking our meal at lunch instead of in the evening if we wanted.

The pool was clean and spacious with plenty of sun loungers. The bar is huge and comfortable, although the entertainment average.

The staff were all much friendlier than we've previously experienced. Even the cleaners were prepared to give a cheery 'Hola' rather than turning away as some do, the waitress at the entrance to the restaurant remembered our room number from day 2, and even the security guard who checked us out early on our last morning smiled and spoke perfect english.

Highly recommended!

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My girlfriend and I stayed at this... by R Bennett
9 / 10

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel from 29th Aug - 5th Sep 2008 and had a really lovely holiday. The hotel is very clean and kept maintained. The staff were friendly and the food was good with so much to choose from although sometimes it was a bit bland. The rooms were a nice size and every one of them has a balcony and the air conditioning was wonderful. They were cleaned every day and no matter what time we put the 'please make up room' sign outside our door, the room was always cleaned. The pool is not massive but the pool area is quite quiet and we never once had a problem getting a sun lounger. The spa is fantastic but quite expensive although you do get 10% off if staying at the hotel making it reasonalble. The hotel bar is not too expensive and there was entertainment every night although it was quite short and there was nothing to do from 10:30.

The hotel is definitely not for teenagers or lads 'out on the piss' as the surrounding area is also very quiet with any bars being small with not many people. The beach is also not very populated with plenty of space and the sea is lovely and warm. The beach is a pebble beach though, but also very clean. The hotel has a free shuttle bus service too and from although it's only about a 10 minute walk.

If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday, this is lovely and my girlfriend and I came back very relaxed with a good impression. I recomend the American bar on the beach. One last thing, always check your change, I had one guy in a shop try to rip me off; I questioned him about my change and in the end I came out on top paying only €2.00 for stuff worth €7.00, ha! That'll show him.

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Absolutely Fantastic!! by laurac11
10 / 10

We arrived late night at the hotel, and walked into a well presented reception, where we were checked in quickly. We jumped into a lift and went up to the 5th floor, we were in room 535, we had a view of the mountains and sea.

The room was immaculate, nicely decorated, with 2 beds, a sofa bed and a chair. There is a mini fridge in the room, which is great for keeping drinks cold!

There is a large wardrobe, so plenty of space to hang clothes.

In the bathroom there was a hairdryer, but no mains for an electric shaver, which we found strange.

The pool area was very nice, large pool, a little cold when you first get in, off of the large pool was a smaller pool for children and also a small heated pool. There was plenty of sun beds, not many umbrellas. Nice pool bar with tables and chairs, staff in there were a little rude, especially the guy with glasses!

We were on a bed and breakfast basis, there was a lot of choice, cereals, toast, cooked breakfast, croissants, fruit etc etc.

You can have lunch and dinner also, if it is not included in your package then its 16.50 (euro) per person, which is a pretty good price.

There is a good bus service that runs every 10mins to Benidorm or Altea wherever you go the fare is 1.20(euro), we caught the bus into Benidorm most nights, you go out of the hotel and cross the road walk up the main street and the bus stop is on the right hand side opposite 'Albir gardens'.

There are plenty of supermarkets near to the hotel and a Lidl a stones throw away (right next door).

We had a transfer from the Alicante airport which took about 2 hours as we had others to drop off, so on our return journey we got a taxi, which took about 35mins, but did cost 75 euro's, this was a Saturday and is cheaper on a week day about 55 euro's!!

We had fantastic holiday here at Albir Playa and would defiantly recommend it and may even go back next year!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 3 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Albir Playa Hotel? Share your insight.

Albir Playa Hotel also called

  • hotel albir playa
  • Address: Camino Viejo de Altea 51, Albir 03581, Spain

Explore area

Map for Albir Playa Hotel Closest airport: Alicante (ALC) 33.5 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Albir Playa Hotel
  • by bettyboo

    " Use the number 10 bus to visit Benidorm and Altea very easily "

  • by Halfpenny

    " Make your way to the pleasant beach about 15 minute walk, bus No 10 to Benidorm less than 2 Euros. "

Similar hotels around Albir

Hotels near Albir Playa Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Albir Playa Hotel?