Golden Star Apartments

14 Lefkolas, Protaras 5312, Cyprus
hotel photo

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(53 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
33
Good
11
Average
3
Poor
3
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
fantastic location by karen.mitchell.1
10 / 10

FAntastic location beach 2 mins away,main strip 10 mins away.hotel very clean just been fully refurbished.staff very helpful all speak english .air con free in studios and in bedroom ONLY of 1 bed apartment 5.50 euro per day for aircon in lounge.pool small but beach only a stones throw away.Recomend boat trip that leaves from near rising star hotel better value than dolphin submarine.beds and brollies 2.50 each on beach.yanni marie shop very reasonable prices.Cheers bar very good food but does get busy.good eateries and entertainment on strip even a mcdonalds and pizza hut.shop around for car hire to get best prices.not as expensive as people say cyprus is just as cheap as the canarie islands.

would have liked to have gone back next year to Golden Star but can't warrant a £200.00 per person price increase so will be trying Andreotis apartments in protaras.hope they are ok.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: VERY FRIENDLY PEOPLE ,FANTASTIC BEACH WITH GOOD SELECTION OF WATERSPORTS .SOMETHING TO WATCH .
  • Activities: CHEERS BAR, WHETHERSPOONS,BOAT TRIP WITH PEFKOS
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Utterley Amazing by Sam Strudwick
10 / 10

The Golden Star Hotel is the best hotel that i have stayed at in ages and i highly recommend it to anyone for any reason. It has a nice pool next to showers to take the sand of your feet before getting in the pool. It is situated right on a beach and will take about 10 seconds to get to it from your room. The receptionists are very welcoming and kind. In your rooms, you should get two single sofa beds in the living room and 1 double bed in the main bedroom. You also get a safe to keep money, keys and all other valuables. There is also a supermarket right by the hotel which is the same ditance as the beach. The beach has many things to do, but may cost bit. There are also restaurants and bars on the beach so you wont have to walk to he supermarket to get food or drinks. On the beach there is also plenty of sunbeds and parasols/umbrellas. Also for us men/boys, the pubs play live football matches and important rugby games. Lots to do and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! ;)

  • Holiday details: Aug 2007, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Potaras has so many things to do like the waterpark and shops.
  • Activities: My favourite restaurants were:American Diner, Flinstones, well pretty much all of them. :]
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Planning week in Cyprus... by narjit
9 / 10

... my sister and I didnt know what to expect. Having found something that was within our budget and had some ok-ish reviews we decided to go with the Golden Start Hotel. (We also found out we had access to the sister resort which is lovely)

My sister 18 and myself 25, we both found it the ideal place to relax for a week, also just a small taxi ride to Aiyan Napa, we found a few other young groups of people who had the same idea of staying in Protaras and travelling in if they wanted to go out.

Two out of the 6 nights were slightly noisey (depending where your room is situated) but most the time due to the heat we woke up naturally.

The Hotel was extremly clean, and well furnished. We had new towles nearly everyday and found the staff very helpful. The strip of bars and restaurants is only a 5 minute walk away and the beach is right outside the hotel. The place felt very safe.

I would advise anyone going to Cyprus to go to Protaras and stay here, the beach is lovely, the water extremly clear and Water World is great fun.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: Friendly and fun
  • Activities: Prince
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wonderful by carol k ck
10 / 10

apartments were just re-furbished and were lovely maid service was good reception staff were nice and helpful weather was beautiful good location for bars and restaurants ate at lots of nice places good food special mention to steens on main road across from chapel on hill lovely home cook ed food massive helpings reasonably priced and lovely staff you must try it!also don corleone's overall a gret holiday us 4 girls hope to be back

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: beautiful place
  • Activities: steens don corleone's
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Hotel In Cyprus by Laura Pardoe
10 / 10

Booked this holiday pretty last minute on the net so wasn't really too sure what to expect. Was in desperate need of a lovely relaxing holiday and this was PERFECT!!!

On arrival at The Golden Star had really quick and easy check in and once in the room, was so pleased we chose this hotel. To me it looked as though it had just been refurbished which from reading other reviews I gather it was. The decor was gorgeous, the sink, kettle, toaster etc. all appeared to be brand new and the bathroom very modern and fresh. Rooms were cleaned on an almost daily basis, fresh towels, bathroom cleaned and beds made. I read someone complain that their bed sheets were not changed in the week but does this really matter?? Who changes their sheets at home every two days anyway? It just creates unecessary washing in a country where there had just been a water shortage the year before... I'm sure if you desperately NEEDED your sheets changing they would have done this no problem.

Our room had a lovely sea view and the beach is stunning. The sea is crystal clear with golden sand and there is plenty of activities such as water sports and boat trips going on. Great for the kids.

The hotel itself on first appearances seemed to be in a very quiet area on the beach out of the way which didn't bother us at all but then just a short 5 monute walk up the street you have the main strip with many shops, bars, clubs and restaurants, everything you would want from a holiday town so it put the hotel in a perfect location. Just far enough from town to be quiet in the evening if that's your desire and then very close to the main centre of Protaras if you're looking for a more lively holiday.

The food in the beach restaurant connected to the hotel (Yianna Marie) is lovely. The staff are all so friendly and the food is really nice. Had breakfast there almost every day, would recommend their poached eggs on toast or omelette!!!

This holiday and particularly this hotel is ideal for couples as we were or families with children. It was right on the beach if that's your thing or it had a lovely clean pool with plenty of sun loungers to go around if you're more of a pool person. Although there is no evening entertainment, there's plenty going on in town or in the sister hotel just across the street if that's what you're looking for.

I would recommend this hotel to all of my family and friends and even hope to go back in a month or two as we loved it so much. Could not ask for more. Sun, sea, sand, pools, shops, bars, restaurants and a perfectly located beautiful hotel.

FAB holiday!!!!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

what a place by gemmafrom essex
4 / 10

it was our first family holiday and went out with other members of our family who stayed at other hotels for my cousins wedding, when we arrived we were very impressed every thing looked lovely we recived a warm and frendly welcome we liked the appartment and the fact we were ground floor with two small children i was dreading being 2-3 storys up the view was out of this world looking out onto the sea and beach with the plam trees wow!Such a diffrence to our lovley essex. we had taken a few bits for the kids that we didnt know if wed be able to get in cyprus but after dumping our cases quick wash and change to meet with our relies for a meal out we returned to an infestation of ANTS! THEY WERE EVERYWERE IN THE KITCHEN AREA! went to reception and was given some ant spray! Had to bin the kids food and have a good wipe down for the rest of the holiday we kept food on the kitchen table, dont ask but the ants didint seem to go their.The appartment looked clean and was most of the time but we had the same sheets all week! lovely, and the floors needed a good clean, when youve got two lively kids running about that bring half the beach back with them you expect it to be gone the next day, we did have clean towels most days and the bath and loo were cleaned, we also had a leak in the bedroom and were given towels to put down.Although we've only given a 4 rating for a family with kids it is ideal everthing is on your doorstep and we had a sea view and at night it was very quite if you do go find the Flint stones bar great entertanment for the kids and good food staff are lovly most people are all friendly dont let kids stroke the cats if you see them as cute as they look! Loads of entertanment and lots of good food but same as here expensive the island is lovely we will be going back next year despite the ants because as i said if you got young kids is all on your door step, we didnt use the pool as our family were at the next hotel with a massive pool so we went their every day so cant comment on that and we ate at places along the main strip every night. If you do go paragliding is a must even our 6yr old done it with us and is still going on about it even if your like me frightend of hights please have a go its out of this world.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Excellent Holiday by Julie Martin
10 / 10

Have just returned from an excellent week at The Golden Star Appartments. Did'nt know what to expect as we have never been self catering or to Cyprus before. Well what a wonderfull surprise we had. The Hotel has just had a complete refurbishment and we were the first people that had been in our room. Everything was brand new and we also had a wonderful sea view. We ate in the Restaurant attached to the appartments, this too was amazing with lovely food and excellent staff. For the price we paid this holiday was really too good to be true. Thankyou to all the staff.

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Self Catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

goldenstar holiday by seddonmark
10 / 10

2nd time me an my parter had been an it is absolutely brill an would go back again been all refurbed an is lovely. wonderful veiws from ye rooms an people are really nice an some really nice places to eat rooms are spotless

  • Holiday details: Apr 2009, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant as ever by dave-jools
10 / 10

me and my wife and couple of friends have been going to the golden star for the last three years and it gets better and better every year , so much we are going again in sept 2009. the staff are a fantastic bunch of lads and lasses and will do so much and more when asked. the team is headed by a man called leo who is better than the local tourist info and more inportantly tells you where the best and cheapest deals are in the resort. the hotel is very clean and i think to be refurbished for 2009 so hopefully even better for the 2009 season .. i can only finish by reccommending this hotel as the outside bar and eating area is second to none , the location for the beach and town centre is the best and the staff are brilliant ............ what more can you ask for. dave and julie from south shields [tyne and wear]

  • Holiday details: Sep 2008, Self Catering, booked with Airtours
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant relaxing holiday by davejools
10 / 10

every sept my wife and few good friends stay at the golden star and so far have never been dissapointed . the loaction is exellent for the beach and even better for the centre of the resort town [hotel street ]. the hotel is kept very clean and is due a refurbishment , so it will even be that bit better. the staff fall over you to help and is lead by a fellow called leo who gives you the best advise and recommendations .

my advise is book with this hotel , but dont expect five star service and rooms but a very laid back and comftable time and i gamble you will return

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great location by LeedsCurlie
8 / 10

October 21st. Booked late with Hays Travel for Thomas Cook. Returned from a fab week at the Golden Star Apartments Protaras. Two minutes to Flamingo beach and five into Protaras town. In a quiet location. The rooms are with what they call side sea views, one 'side' of the building has sea views with balcony and sun in the morning the other has balcony with sun in the afternoon. The rooms with full sea view have restricted suntime.

The apartments are basic but clean, quite the usual for many we've stayed at in Greece. The reception staff were very helpful with excellent english.

The hotel restaurant Yianna Marie was also excellent, it has a good choice of dishes, really good service and overlooks the sea.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

veery nice hotel/artments by HOLIDAYKINGANDQUEEN
8 / 10

hi this was my second time back to cyprus and although the first time was amazing and unbeatable,it was beaten and i cant believe it but my second time there was just as good and i didnt think this was possible. the golden star is in a perfect location, it is nearly sitting on the beach and is less than 1 minuite walk, the protaras strip is less than 2 minuite walk where you will find bars resturantes and shops. the apartment was very clean with maid service every other day and they did a good job when they did clean. the staff were helpfull and very friendly sometimes got chatting and couldnt get away lol. the rooms do need a little updating as they are a little old but for the money just perfect location and a very comfortable stay.would recomend to all agesand families. please ask me if you have got any questions and i will try to answer them. the room is 40 euro extra to keep it on and the room is yours till 6 that night which is abit steep but it means you can have a few hours topping up your tan bbefore you leave.all in all i dont think you would be unhappy when booking this so give it a try.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Golden Star Apartments? Share your insight.

Golden Star Apartments also called

  • golden star hotel protaras
  • golden star protaras
  • Address: 14 Lefkolas, Protaras 5312, Cyprus

Explore area

Map for Golden Star Apartments Closest airport: Larnaca International (LCA) 25.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Golden Star Apartments photos (1 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Golden Star Apartments
  • by dave-jools@hotmail.co.uk

    " apart from hotel . geogios and red indian steakhouse "

  • by gemmafrom essex

    " paragliding and boat trip flint stones, loveboat and devias lovely food. "

  • by Laura Pardoe

    " would highly recommend Don Corleones or a Meze restaurant - Olives and Cyprus cake... YUM!!! "

Similar hotels around Protaras

Hotels near Golden Star Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Golden Star Apartments?