Odessa Hotel

4 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(60 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
29
Good
18
Average
6
Poor
4
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 9/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Odessa Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
super holiday

"just been to the odessa hotel for 11 nigth stay half board,would recommend for a relaxing holiday,staff very hard working to keep hotel clean and tidy,good choice of food at meal time,well placed to have a good night on the strip.Mike Hull"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by mikehull
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great hotel in perfect location.

"just back from 2 wks here half board. enjoyed most of it.The rooms were cleaned every day and the cleaners were more than accomodating and always very pleasant and cheery. Our room was on the 4th floor no.405 above the Sofa Sofa club.What a nightmare night it was! The music was very very loud and the bass even worse from 1am thru to 5.30am. We never got any sleep all night! we never complained as we thought it was only one night and we could catch up with sleep on the sun beds!but by the Monday it was a different story, we came back from being out and about at midnight to hear the music starting up and when i asked one of the gym staff she said it was open for 3 more days. we had to listen again all night and by the morning we'd had enough! we complained (Nicely) and asked to be moved. They could only do it on the change over day (wed) so we put up with it (with constant migraines)until the wed whereby they moved us to the back of hotel Room 330. Not much they could do until then so we just accepted it. So if you arrive here and are on any of the 4 floors over this club. ask immediately to be moved!!! they are really good about any complaints you make and i bet they get it every week. they should put all the clubbers on that side of the hotel and they prob wouldn't have as many complaints! We complained about the air con being smelly and they came twice to sort it before it was ok, each time they were there within 15mins of phoning down. The other room was same as old one apart from the fridge didn't make anything cold until 3 days later and still wasn't freezing. they couldn't fix it so gave us a bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit to compensate! The food was really good and i can't understand why people thought it was boring and same every night. I don't know anyone who has as many different meats etc in any one week. we had a choice of gammon/beef/chicken/turkey braising steak/fish/burgers/pizza/fish fingers/salads to die for/ as well as about 8 different puddings as well as loads of ice cream/fresh fruit/ cheese crackers. We were definately spoilt for choice!!! The staff in there work extremely hard and the tables were always cleared within seconds of you finishing a course! You have to pay for drinks on a tab at reception if your half board. please note also that the men are not allowed to wear shorts and flip flops but 3/4 length are acceptable, everyone dressed for dinner so no beachwear allowed. Great Costa coffee shop nest to sofa bar were you can get free wifi. Hotel charges 4 euros an hour so we went to costa for that and they don't mind you sitting there. The hotel was just 3minutes from lovely beach and good spot to walk down the main street. Across the road from hotel we hired a car for 2 days and it cost £100 in all with the petrol we used to go to nicosia/troodos/pathos so not a bad deal. All in all I would recommend this hotel."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by sue
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

21 years and still going back.too the odessa.

"we have been to cyprus for the last 21 years,twice a year, and stayed at most parts of cyprus, in mostly 4 -5 star hotels.and still rate the odessa the best friendly hotel on the island,and will be back in may 27th 2012.for another two weeks,looking foward to see all our friendly staff,who always make us very welcome,for our stay,and will make sure we are well looked after, may 27th. for two weeks, .cannot come quick enough.so please koola, room 54, or similar,thank you.looking forward to seeing you all again . gwyn+fay."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: your going to enjoy your selves and chill out,thats what holidays are about.
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks, Skiing
by Gwyn H
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Still a Great Hotel

"Just returned from another great holiday at the Odessa. Arrived late afternoon to a warm welcome from the reception staff and the Front Desk Manager, Koulla. Invited to a nice cold class of fruit juice which was very welcomming. Luggage taken up to your room in a very efficent manner. Rooms very clean, light and airey, with a very comfortable bed, and beautiful sea views. Rooms well equipped with fresh towels daily, and bedding changed every 3 or 4 days, and the tea / coffee making facilities re-staocked daily.

Onto the food, breakfast had a very varied selection of Hot or Cold, with the fried eggs, omeletes and waffles good in front of you. For the eveniing buffett meals, again a vast menu with something for all tastes, meat & fish daily, salads, vegatables, rice etc. and some parts cooked freshly in front of you. All fresh ingriedinets were used (I have seen the negative reviews on the food, but cannot understand them, unless the reviewers live on junk food). we are fussy eaters, but found more than enough choice every evening, and again the food was hot. All staff are very friendly, from the cleaning staff right through to the management.

This hotel is ideally situated for the beach and the main night strip with its bars and resturant. I have also read reviews that there was a lot of noise comming from Sofa Sofa, but we did not experience this as it was closed by 12:00 or 1am. The only noise we found was that the Elements bar some 100 metres away was playing loud music till the early hours, but this could not be heard once inside the hotel or rooms. I have always found the hotel to be quite and relaxing.

It is such a great hotel, that we are already planning to return next year, and we connot wait.

If you are thinking of going to the Odessa, don't look at the negative reviews, trust the positive ones, and try it for yourseves, and you will not be disappointed.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, Half Board, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Advice: Just Relax and Enjoy the stay
  • Good For: Beach
by whymansd
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

If you are in Protaras, then stay in this Hotel

"My partner and myself stayed for 2 weeks in this Hotel in September and we were very pleased. The reception staff were very helpful and always smiling. The room we had was on a corner so had windows on both sides and was lovely and big, the bathroom was a little tired but perfectly seviceable and the beds were wonderful and comfortable.

The restaurant was immaculate and so were the staff in it, they were all beuatifully turned out and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were superb and the only meal that was duplicated was the beef but that was fillet and very tender so we didn't mind at all.

The only other thing about the Restaurant was the lack of enforcement of the dress code in the evening, as it was requested in the hotel information leaflet, it was disappointing to see a lot of the men in shorts or jeans and t-shirts.

The only other downfall we found was the evening entertainment, it was fine if you had children or were the younger generation, but it wasn't for us. We also found the main road in Protaras was pretty much geared towards young people too, but the good news is that it only costs 1 euro to go to Agia Napa on a bus and they run until 4am!!

All-in-all we had a fantastic holiday.

Many thanks to all the Staff.

Sue Crouch and Tim Dunmore
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, half board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by susie
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday

"had a great holiday june 10th 2011 untill june 19th 2011 hotel and food very good, but what made the holiday was the the guys behind the entertainment alex and his team well done"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by emmitt93
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel

"Very good location in the center of Protaras, staff were very friendly and helpful we had trouble getting into our safe in the room and after reporting to reception some came to help within about 10mins. Food as very good most days and there was a carvery twice a week and a good selection apart from 2 occasions once at lunch time the first day and once in an evening the second week but other than that the food was good and hot, the only downside was if you wanted a plain salad there was not much choice. the rooms were very nice and the beds were the best i have had in a number of years as they are very comfy. there were plenty of daytime activities but the evening entertainment was poor the first week but this was due to it been the begining of the season, the second week was much better with more shows, and after we left the entertainment team were starting there own show. The entertainment team were execellent and very friendly and unlike other all-inclusive hotels that i have been to where they just let on to you in passing they stopped and talked to all the guests and we even sat with a couple of them in a local bar near the hotel. Would definatly stay at this hotel again."

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by marlon
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

dissappointing

"My wife and i were placed here after being told one day before our departure, The food is very much the same every day, eating dinner at night

they might as well place all the tables together no privacy whatsoever, and then after dinner get ready for your entertainment

from 8-30 -9-00pm kiddies disco, then 0ne game of bingo lasting nearly an hour and to finish this star studded night a quiz, one night we

had a singer he was awful but i guess better than nothing. another night we had a quiz where out of a list of 12 songs you had to guess

which song most people would get up. to dance to ???? unbelievable. if you wanted waiter service for a drink always a long wait
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Go for nice long walks along the front
  • Good For: Beach
by saffronking
2 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

beentherelotsoftimes

"never had a bad holiday here .last year it has had improvments very nice indeed very comfortable beds foodsomething for everyone nice staff beds around pool area could do with replacing many people go back time and time again been to cyprus many times but odessa and location the best for the money"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, half board, booked with Olympic Holidays
  • Advice: friendly comfortable. hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by happy traveler
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Simply the Best

"We have just returned from our 13th great holiday at the Odessa. The hotel went through a re-furbished during last winter, adding larger patio doors, in the already spacious rooms, with repainted walls and new furniture, has really made the room bright and airy, plus the new beds are really comfortable. The rooms are cleaned daily and supplied with fresh towels. The cleaners are friendly and will stop for a chat.

The reception area is always clean, plus with the new addition of the outside terrace area, makes it a great place to relax with a drink and look out towards the sea. Koulla and the front desk staff are very friendly and always willing to stop and speak.

The food in the restaurant is always hot with a varied selection for all tastes including those with food allergies. Michalis and his team are always there to assist if required, and are always friendly.

Towels are supplied for the pool and beach if you require them, plus they can be changed daily.

The pool area is clean with plenty of sunbeds but if you prefer the beach it is just a short walk across the grass where you will find a nice safe sandy beach.

The Odessa is perfectly located within the resort for the beach or main area for shops, bars and restaurants.

It is ideal for couples or families alike as it is a quiet and safe hotel

We are already planning and looking forward to returning in 2011.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Half Board, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Grat Location, Safe & Friendly
  • Good For: Beach
by whymansd
10 / 10

18 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A good hotel with friendly staff

"This was my first holiday abroad and went for a family wedding. Everything about the hotel was lovely, friendly staff and nice pool facilites, the only thing was the food wasn't very good. In my opinion not a place to go all inclusive as there are lots of nice cheap resturant to eat and also cheap bars to go in the night time. The weather was brilliant and the rooms spacious, clean and comfy, we had an ideal room for a family as it was right on the pool, just a few steps away. A good place to go as a family. The closest beach was a 2 minuet walk away and had loads of watersports to do, and just 10 minuets up the road is Fig Tree Bay, an even nicer beach. There are lots of trips available at fairly resonable prices, bus to Aiya Napa ony 1 euro. The locals are quite friendly, especially Dafni's which is only over the road from the hotel. I would reccomend the Sphinx and The Square Bar, as both have a nice aptnosphere and the square bar is only two euros per drink, both to the right of the hotel by Mc Donalds. Also availble are very nice boat trips which are good for the family. Protaras is quite an English place to go."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Half Board, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Great place to go for a family holiday or with your mates.
  • Good For: Beach
by Emmy-lou98
8 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good but a bit worn.

"We have just had 2 weeks half board at this hotel. The food was very good and plenty of choice. Self service.

The Hotel is a bit "worn". We were in the ground floor facing north, it was shady in the day which suited us, the corridor was smelly seemed probably due to damp, and the cleaning and room staff were not good. there was dust and rubbish under the bed all week. The Air Conditioning worked well and kept the room a good temperature.

That aside, the location was excellent. close to the centre of the town and all the activity, and a short walk to the beach. This was nice and sandy with a couple of rocks, not a problem, just walk round them. gently beach etc.

I liked the idea of supplied beach/pool towels, saved taking your own and they could be changed as often as yo wanted.

We had a look at other hotels in the area, the Vrissiana looked a little better, and the Sunrise Beach. Probably would not return to this hotel again, but loved Protaras and the beach.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, H/B, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Protaras Great - find a hotel to suit your needs
  • Good For: Beach
by bob
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Odessa Hotel Closest airport: Larnaca International (LCA) 25.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Odessa Hotel photos (5 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Odessa Hotel
  • by cjcommercials

    " Best and cheapest beer is the victorian,on the side of the oddessa. "

Similar hotels around Protaras

Hotels near Odessa Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Odessa Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Odessa Hotel? Share your insight.