Cala Nova Apartments

Avda Gran Canaria Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria 35130, Spain
2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(86 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
47
Good
26
Average
5
Poor
5
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Cala Nova Apartments

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
Excellent Apartments

"We have just come back from 1 weeks holiday in Gran Canaria, staying at the Cala Nova Apartments. This is our 4th time in the resort and the Cala Nova apartments are by far the best we have stayed at. They have all recently been refurbished. When we arrived, the room was absolutely spotless and kept clean during our stay by regular housekeeping staff. There is limited cooking facilities, however a kettle and toaster are provided. The balcony is a good size, with a lovely side sea view. The rooms don't have air conditioning, however we hired a fan for 10 euro's for the week. There is a little shop next to the reception where you can buy essentials, however we found the hipper dino supermarket in the middle of the Commercial Centre to be the cheapest. All the staff at the Cala Nova were very friendly and relaxed. The entertainment chap Phil was also very friendly and did not push for you to participate. The atmosphere around the pool during the day and at night in bar was very relaxed. The apartments are situated reasonably close to the commercial centre (approx 5 min walk). Would recommend the International Asia/Chinese buffet resteraunt at the top of the commercial centre for a lovely meal. Also the Steak house (formerly The Royal Oak, next to the taxi rank at the bottom of the commercial centre) for a nice Italian meal and also reasonably priced. All in all we had a fab holiday and thanks to the Cala Nova - we will definitely be going back!!!

Kirsty & Keith, Scotland
"

by KirstyNotman
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Stunning views

"Been to this hotel twice now.

We where on the 4th floor which had a great view over the valeey,lovely at night.Reception is fresh and clean as is the bar next to it,drinks reasonably priced for a hotel bar.Internet access and a couple of large tvs also in reception/bar area.Very small pool which we never used due to being January.

Rooms where basic but perfectly fine.Nice tv on wall,think it was 15 euros to watch for the week.Bathroom very clean.

5 Mins walk to shopping centre,down one flight of steps or you could walk around the road way.

Would 100% stop here again.
"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Try to get a room on 2nd to 4th floors,better view
  • Good For: Beach
by jan 2011
8 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday

"we have just stayed at the cala nova for 2 weeks,dj phil& jojo really made us feel at home (even thought we were far from home) the entertainment was good,the slayer loved dreamers & cleaners lol,we all liked taking part in the shot quiz & playing the bingo,darts,& killer pool. we will definitely be returning. the rooms were cleaned every 2 day,clean bedding & clean towels as well, the veiw from the balcony at night was amazing (wonderfull holiday)"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: support the cala nova & enjoy their entertainment
  • Good For: Beach
by slayer
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very good!!

"I have just stayed at the Cala Nova apartments just 2 days ago, and I must say, it was very nice and impressive. The cleniness was at a very high standard but bedding wasn't changed at all. Instead the cleaners just shaked the sheets and put the same one back on!! But that wasn't a problem and everything else was very good. The view from the balcony is very beautiful and I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Self-catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Go to the entertainment at night time. Very lively
by Badboy
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

good

"Just got back from the Cala Nova apartments had a really good time, DJ Phil is really great and entertainment is really good. Down fall was no clean bedding all week and no clean towels, no air conditioning which was really needed as temperatures were about 40 degrees and some days were even hotter.BBq night is a must at 10 euros each well worth the money and 2 shows after wards.

Much needed umbrellas on your balcony's.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
by carlo
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good hotel, lovely view.

"Just returned after spending 11 nights in Cala Nova aps and have to say the hotel was good but no air con. Fans to hire but not worth a dam. Stayed on the 4th floor - any higher and i would of been dizzy looking down. wonderful view though. Small pool area but all in all not bad. Would highly recommend eating in The Planet Steak house, Isla Bonita steak house and the chinese buffet-all you can eat for 6euro. Do not eat breakfast in the royal oak. their sunday roast is very good but breakfast is miserable ordered 4 more slices of toast & got charged extra 4euro!! Highly recommend the day trip to Palmitos Park - worth the money but its quite a bus ride to get to it!! DO NOT GO ON THE BOAT TRIP IN SEARCH OF DOLPHINS AND WHALES!! all my family went and spent the full 2 and a half hours being sick at sea and seen no dolphins or whales, just people been sick such a waste of money. NIghtlife quite good cater for all tastes liked the La Fiesta bar, star club, Bar cactus and Donalds. went to drag show one night very good craic all in all had a good holiday, nice place but i would prefer Lanzarote!!! :)"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, self catering, Booked Independently
by Leona Mcbride
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great place to stay

"we stayed here from 7th to 21st july 2011.this is the 4th time we have been to puerto rico. Had fantastic holiday. staff friendly. 24hr reception which was great along with shop.we hired safety deposit box 30 euros for 2 weeks and 5 euro back when handed key in...also paid extra for tv channels for kids when we were gettin ready for 2 weeks same 30 euros get 5 back when hand card in. rooms big enough and there was 4 of us...me my husband and a 2 and 1yr old plus my mam and step dad had apartment next door.we did get one of the rooms that have just been done out they are going up floor by floor...so those who have said rooms are dated they are making the changes on this and our new room was brilliant and modern. Rooms cleaned every day and bedding changed regularly. pool a little small especially when you have all the bed hoggers up at 8am to throw there towels on them :-/... we didnt eat much in the restaurant there or drink as quite pricey to the centre which i thought would have been the other way round. Rooms very warm would be 10/10 if had air con.Was a bit worried with bars on balcony with 1 yr old who is a little bugger for climbin but that is our job to watch them so nothin to knock apartments on. Balconys are huge for sunbathin on if you get chance. Other than that rep and staff great and very good with kids. Fantastic place to stay...would deffo go again and reccommend to friends and family. for the kids and big kids a trip to palmitos park is deffo a must. great day out...out of this world."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: cala nova is great and very central to everything
  • Good For: Beach
by T
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very good

"The Cala Nova Apartmets are lovely and clean. The accomodation is basic as you would expect and the pool area a little small, however this is more than compensated for by the pleasant and helpful staff. Entertainment was fun and everyone very friendly. One member of our party suffered a family bereavement whilst there and Oliver on reception went beyond the call of duty to help us find flights and taxis to get her home. He could not have been more helpful and sympathetic.

One word of warning do not book with Escape holidays as when the bereavement happened and we needed help they did not want to know. They took our money and then "Escaped" all responsibility. Thomas Cook with whom we had no affiliation at all ended up getting our friend onto a flight. You would be better off booking yourself online rather than handing your money over for nothing.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, Room Only, booked with Escap[e
  • Good For: Beach
by Dawn
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

not the best for families

"We stayed for 1 week, we have 2 Children aged 5 and 12 ,i tottaly agree with Elaine's post on 9th dec 2009 we were disappointed there was no entertainment for them also the childrens swimming pool is very small indeed . I like to add that the rooms were very small for a family of four thou ideal for 2 persons.As mentioned before the complex is ideal for couples of all ages but not the best for families.Regards Emma."

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, Room Only, booked with MyTravel
  • Advice: close to beach and commercial area
  • Good For: Beach
by Emma
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic winter holiday

"me and my hubby jst spent xmas & new year at the cala nova;weve bin to pueto rico 5 times this was the first at these apartments all in all thy were the best weve stayed in they are clean spacious with large balcony maid service nearly every day towels changed regalar;they are in a great location for shops bars and resturants and just a short walk to the beach;the staff are friendly and very helpful.i would recomend theseh apartments to anybody we ave already booked to go back for xmas and new year 2011"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, self catering, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: fantastic place already booked to return
  • Good For: Beach
by tats
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Keep going back

"Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Cala Nova October 2010. This is the 4th time I have stayed there and would definately go back I love the place. The sun doesnt reach the pool area until about lunch time but then you have the sun on the balcony well into the evening which I think is the best part of the day.

The location is great and the price is good but the apartments are becoming very dated. The decor and furnishings are looking very worn. The towels were only changed once during the week and didnt smell very fresh however the staff are really friendly and the BBQ night is a must at 10 euro for adults it is great value and a superb meal.

The Tv's in the apartments are a new addition since my last visit 2 years ago but with the view from the balcony you dont need a tv and its more confortable on the balcony than in the apartments as air conditioning is desperately needed.

I find some of the locals unfriendly but have made lots of friends there over the years spanish as well english working abroad.

Great holiday, great location, great all year round weather.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: All year round sun
  • Good For: Beach
by Susie
7 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great place !!!!!!!!

"My family and I holidayed here for two weeks 0n 29th August 2010.The apartments were spotless and very clean.Only a short walk to the shopping centre where all the bars and restaraunts are.The staff are really really friendly and the entertainer is great.Would recommend these apartments to everybody."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: going back again next year
by taffy tracie
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Explore area

Map for Cala Nova Apartments Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 22.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Cala Nova Apartments photos (7 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Cala Nova Apartments
  • by kerrynoelle

    " Oscars (one down by the harbour) Playa de Mogan, beautiful and quant and Teror up in the hills "

  • by ann65q@hotmail.co.uk

    " You must try Sabidan THE best food on the island "

  • by SunnyBunny

    " Valencia Restaurant on the beach front. Palmitos park was good too "

  • by hannah18

    " good holiday if you just want to chill and sunbathe by the pool/beach, not so great for nightlife... "

  • by slayer

    " support the cala nova & enjoy their entertainment "

Similar hotels around Puerto Rico

Hotels near Cala Nova Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Cala Nova Apartments?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Cala Nova Apartments? Share your insight.

Cala Nova Apartments is also called:

  • cala nova
  • cala nova apartments hotel
  • cala nova apartments puerto rico
  • cala nova gran canaria

Address: Avda Gran Canaria Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria 35130, Spain