Gran Canaria Princess Hotel

Avenida Gran Canaria 18 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria 35290, Spain
4.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(111 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
55
Good
31
Average
18
Poor
4
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Gran Canaria Princess Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 310 »
gastronomic delight!

"had a wonderful family holiday at this hotel,great food,amazing drinks...all free!spirits in double measures,cocktails and alcohol free cocktails for the kids especially appreciated!3 kinds of ice cream on a help yourself basis kept the children happy! so worth it to go all inclusive,it may seem a lot at first but if you add up all the drinks at 3 euros a glass you have saved a fortune on that alone. the food is so good too,always something for everyone fresh fish,veal ,pork chicken and beef most nights cooked in front of you! desserts were amazing....almond ice cream,fresh strawberry gateax,tiramisu,.........breakfast was fried eggs again cooked to order,bacon,various sausages and too many bread rolls to list,cereals and fruit juice,coffee,yoghurt and abundant fresh fruit!if you cant find something you like to eat here you must be fussy!the chef will accomodate special diets.we are going back in august,,,cant wait!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Feb 2012, booked with Thomson
by Jackie A
10 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

hotal

"just came back from this hotal ,had a wonder full time .itss clean, food good ,nice and relaxing ,can not fault it ."

by frany
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel,Relaxing Holiday

"I went to this hotel with my partner and our close friends.

Please ignore any negative reviews about this hotel as it is absolutely great.

The food is superb! and the variation and choice on offer is excellent.A great range of meats,fish,vegetables,salads and deserts! Food is available from breakfast right up to 9.30pm. Drinks are available from breakfast until midnight.

The hotel is very clean & tidy and the rooms are air conditioned and have balconeys to sit out on.The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis.

The swimming pool area is clean & tidy and finding a lounger and space to sit is not a problem. When you want a swim, the pools are very good sized and you have a shallow section for young children and 6 foot deep section for older poeple.

The entertainment is relaxing and of a good standard in the evenings with various acts and singers.

If you want a later night after 11pm,then just about 5-10 minutes away are a selection of bars & clubs.

We thoroughly enjoyed the DOLCE club! and MOLLY MALONES irish bar for a later drink and dance.

Overall this holiday had everything we wanted and ticked all the boxes! And finally the weather was Fantastic!

Del Boy.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: All inclusive holiday is the best,and beach is only 15min walk away
  • Good For: Beach
by Del Boy
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wonderful hotel

"just returned from a week at this hotel and have to say it is the best i have stayed in!the choice of food was amazing breakfast consisted of full fry ups very well cooked, cereals, fruit, all kinds of bread and rolls and fresh coffee and fruit juices on tap.lunch in main restaurant always had a choice of fish ,chicken,pork,about 10 delicious salads and many other varied dishes. dinner was exceptional with veal,rabbit,thick juicy steaks and all the chips rice or potato dishes imaginable! strawberry gateax and pistachio ice cream were just two of my favourite desserts from a vast selection. if all this wasnt enough between meals you could get hot dogs burgers and pizza from the pool bar all afternoon.as for the all inclusive drinks not only wine beer and soft drinks as we expected but spirits and cocktails were also free!it is well worth the money for all inclusive especially if you have kids as the cost of drinks outside the hotel was about 3 euros for a coke!kids can also get 3 kinds of icecream all day long whenever they want.kids disco every evening was a big hit with the little ones and the older ones could play pool,football pingpong etc.staff very friendly and helpful always and rooms cleaned each day....the maids even make flower shapes with your nighty on your pillow!the air conditioning in the rooms was very quiet and kept the room beautifully cool.it is a ten minute walk to the beach..no hills!...and a lift down to beach so even with a pram it was accessable.kids loved the waterpark nearby but it was very expensive..3 burgers 1 pizza and drinks over 65 euros so eat at the hotel before you go!submarine trip was very reasonably priced and a wonderful experience.you always felt relaxed about the kids in the pool as lifeguards kept a close watch at all times and security guards on the gates made for a safe environment for everyone.needless to say we will be back!!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: eat the great food at hotel as it can be expensive elsewhere.
  • Good For: Beach
by jackie
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great time

"Have just returned from a week at hotel, it was excellent, the room was spacious and clean altho plugs were a problem not much fun crawling under table to unplug & plug etc!! Food was first class there was plenty of it variety was good and altho we had to wait a while for the first couple of days it was not a major problem. The All Inclusive was certainly worth it.

The entertainment was o.k., but felt there should be something after the short 45min show in saloon bar, because at 10.30 there was nothing and altho the piano bar was always packed, there were some of us that would have liked a disco boogie for a while as we do not all do waltzing!!

The only other problem was that there do not appear to be enough toilets on ground floor and at times these left a lot to be desired, and the door handles were definetly dodgy.

On the whole it was a fantastic holiday, and the sun shone all the week. Marvellous
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Entertainment needs to be upgraded.
by smiley
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

No need to worry about this hotel!!

"Just returned today from a smashing holiday in this lovely,very clean hotel.We had perfect weather,met lovely people,ate extremely well(lots of choice always in restaurant),staff were friendly and helpful and had a spacious,comfortable room on the 4th floor.

Can't understand the negative comments as we never experienced this.There were always sunbeds available throughout the day,we tended to put towels out before going to breakfast which we never had to queue for. Lunch times were never a problem & we only queued once to be seated for dinner(5 mins) when we went at popular time(8pm).It was our first time here and also being all inclusive and we would be more than happy to return next year. The food was excellent!Very relaxing chatting in the piano bar and the entertainment we saw was good.Location super and we were fortunate to experience the marvellous parade on Sat.night(never seen a parade like it-at least 70 floats and thousands of folk in fancy dress waliking through the streets in fancy dress,amazing)We tended to walk down the stairs and get lift up but didn't have to wait AGES for lifts.

agree more sockets would be useful and soundproofing is not perfect but nextdoors tv.only bothered us once.

Beach lovely and only short walk away. If you would like a very good value hol.in a lovely hotel/location come here and you wont be disappointed.There was a good age range mix also although few children when we were there.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Happy guest
9 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

impressed all in all

"We had surveyed all comments regarding this hotel & glad we chose to go there. Our only complaints were minimal.. for a four star hotel we think it would have been appropriate for tea & coffee facilities in the room, plug sockets were a bit scarce, had to unplug the lamp.

Friends we had met there had requested an ironing board & iron only to be told there would be a charge & they would have to fetch it from reception :( We stayed on the 7th floor & sometimes had to stop on a few floors until our floor or reception but it didn't flaw our holiday. We did have some negative experience re Dan the rep..but that was at the end of our holiday & it was a shame as he'd created a good impression before hand. On the whole, I would recommend staying at this hotel with no hesitation
"

by daz
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

entertainment

"just returned from gran canary 1 wk break march 2010 just me and my husband ...... age 50 years old ... gran canary princess.. all inc food lovely ...rooms nice and clean staff quite helpful .. entertainment 2/10 with exeption to temptations ... fantastic 3 brother group ..last orders 12 o clock ... ask for your rooms away from lift .. also next to cleaners cupboard .. very very loud cleaners collecting all cleaning equip 8 oclock every morn .. wake up call . . normally wake you up first call 8 30 ish to clean room ....yep just what you need ..."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: food great ...
by brendog
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great holiday

"Only just got back from a one week holiday at this hotel. We thought it was excellent value for money. Alright sometimes the food wasnt piping hot but there was an enormous selection whichever meal you were eating. The staff were very friendly, the only downside for my husband was that the piano was right next to the large tv screen which WAS a little silly really, you could watch but not listen. We couldnt believe just how much food there was, it was lovely. I would recommend it to anyone thinking of going there, its one of the best holidays we have had. Its only 10 mins from the beach, 10 mins to the big shopping centre. IGNORE anyone who shows you a scratch card and tell you that you have won its all a con and we just said very firmly NO!!!!!"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: its a great place
by pablos
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Clean hotel, food rubbish & nightime entertainment rubbish!

"The hotel is clean and tidy, staff all nice but the two worst things are the food and the nightime entertainment.

Even my 8 year old who enjoys watching shows said " this is well boring!"

The problem is it is not done by Thomsons but the hotel. It was ok for a wk but would never go back again.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by jenny1
6 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

If you like your food hot .do not book this Hotel

"Having just returned from staying at this Hotel I have to comment on the food.Although there was plenty of it it was invariable all served luke warm and not hot.also most of the staff were good the bar man Eduardo at the Piano bar was particularly inattentive and rude which does not creat a good impression."

by pauly
4 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

contriversal

"I picked Thomson's for my holiday as I had a great one there 4 years ago at that time it was half board it had great food & a great attmosphere but this time I would have been better off going to butlins as the entertainment was the worst I have seen except for two nights in the hotel, the entertainment stopped at 10.30 pm & there was hardly anyone in the saloon lounge after it holds over 200 plus & you were lucky if there was about 20 people in it. It used to be a four star platium I now concider it a 3 star hotel with very poor quality of food. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone to whom likes good food & entertainment as this was a special anniversary trip the only thing I would say was nice about it was the Thomson Holiday rep Cheryl & the nice letter she gave us for our anniversary. I would not recomend anyone with a disability to fly with Thomsons as the service I got with my disability was dismal after explaining what I needed for my flight I was stuck behind the bulk head & no way to move for four & a half hours lucky on the way back the flight was empty & I managed to swop seats so if you wish to go to Gran Canaria this area is very good for shops, clubs & lovely cenery & lovely food arround you so do what my wife & myself did is go out & try the food & the night life. I will be writting to Thomson's reguarding this as I feel it was a waste off 1400pounds hotel is lovely surroundings lovely, pool nice entertainment poor & food crap."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by chrissieh
5 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 310 »

Explore area

Map for Gran Canaria Princess Hotel Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 16.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Gran Canaria Princess Hotel
  • by x.glittershock.x

    " worth seeing the Gabos show- its a little bit expensive but the show is not 2 be missed!! "

  • by sarahliciously

    " Hard Rock Cafe, Aphrodite day cruise, Aqualand, Camel riding "

  • by BFamily

    " Loved the water park - well worth a visit. "

  • by Trunkie

    " Puerto Morgan was great and hired car and went to the "highest Point" up Mountains "

  • by chrissieh

    " Irish Bars are good for drinking & food. The beach, some oganized trips & shops "

  • by Happy guest

    " Put out towels before breakfast,be prepared not to diet! "

  • by a fellow traveller

    " It's a lovely place to go for wild life & cenery & take a visit to little Italy 10 out of 10 "

  • by Jackie Allan

    " stay at hotel the surroundings are very run down "

Similar hotels around Playa Del Ingles

Hotels near Gran Canaria Princess Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Gran Canaria Princess Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Gran Canaria Princess Hotel? Share your insight.

Gran Canaria Princess Hotel is also called:

  • canaria canary gran grand princess
  • gran canaria princess
  • gran canaria princess grand canary
  • hotel gran canaria princess

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 18 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria 35290, Spain