Atlantica Imperial Resort

PO Box 4101, Rhodes 85103, Greece
5 star
hotel photo

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(65 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
49
Good
8
Average
3
Poor
0
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 9.5/10
Service: 9.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Atlantica Imperial Resort

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 36 »
Going back in two weeks

"We stayed in this hotel back in October 2012. The hotel rooms, staff and public areas were always impeccably clean and tidy. We are not all inclusive fans so booked half board. tbh we would have liked to be able to book B&B and but we do feel that the prices we paid in October and again May are good enough value that we do not feel compelled to eat at the hotel every day. We have paid more for B&B at similar level hotels in Malta and other places. We took advantage of the local buses and went to Lindos for the day - highly recommended.

We are returning in May, with friends this time, because it was SO HOT in October we got "out and about" less than we had planned. This time we are hoping for warm weather but not so hot as stop us sightseeing more of the island.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Don't stay in resort - get out and about.. It is a wonderfully peacefully place to come back to at the end of a day of sightseeing.
  • Good For: Beach
by Ruth01
9 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely Holiday

"The Atlantica Imperial was everything we wanted and surpassed our expectations. Room was big and spacious, well decorated and extremely comfortable beds (very important, and not often found). Food was so varied you were spoilt for choice everyday. We were half board but beware, they encourge you to go all inclusive and you see why when it comes to buying drinks especially soft drinks. We just didn't have too many drinks. Entertainment left a lot to be desired except for the evening when the manager introduces the staff. That was brilliant and made up for the other nights which found us going to bed and watching tv instead. If you want a relaxing holiday and don't want to go on exursions (very expensive), then this is the holiday for you. The staff were very friendly and a credit to the hotel. We would go back for sure if we could get a good enough deal for all inclusive."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, half board, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by mazza
10 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

not what its says on the tin

"got back 5/5/2011,although the hotel was immaculate and the food above average, the gold couples only that we were sold didnt happen, be aware you pay 30euros for the safe nonreturnable, sunbeds on the beach are chargable at 3euros each per day, children are booked in to the hotel of all ages , no watersports are available untill after 1 may , although no licence was obtained till after the 5 may . not much to do locally , most places closed down. in my opinion a nice 4plus star not 5 star"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: vist old town and rhodes town
by corky
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not totally 5 star

"Stayed at hotel for 2 weeks after reading great reviews. In our opinion all aspects of the hotel are as described except for the quality of the food and the main dining room which comes over as no better than a glorified free for all. During our first week, the hotel must have been running at full capacity because each evening you saw people having to queue just to take a seat. We mainly ate in the atrium part off from the main dining room which you had to arrive no later than 6.30pm to get a seat (too early really for us to eat but didn't want to arrive in the crush) The quality of the food did not in our opinion anyway match the quality of the hotel and would not rate this any higher than 3*.We have stayed in a true 5* hotel and unless you have experienced the food then maybe some people do not have a good comparison

Food very repetative and lacking choice. Service carousels too small for numbers being catered for and also replenishment of food was very slow with sometimes having to wait up to 5/10minutes for certain items.

Show cooking lacked any enthusiasm from staff and in general again poor quality.

Through Thomson Gold the hotel is promoted as adult only, with the wording that there may be people under 16 who may be from another tour operator. Our Junior Suite with sea view was lovely, but the down side being that we had children on both sides of us which did somewhat take the edge of the holiday.

During our stay we found all of the staff to be most helpful and friendly especialy in the main bar in the hotel where they always had time to speak to you (Andrew was great even when pouring with rain he found something to make you smile)
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Hotel excellent but go open minded regarding food/dining room quality
  • Good For: Beach
by West Sussex
5 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Disappointing

"We have just come back from Atlantica Imperial Resort.

We did not have a problem with the hotel and staff it was the lack of evening entertainment in the hotel.

Last year we stayed in the Atlantica Bay Hotel and the entertainment was excellent with a different professional act nearly every night of our week's stay.

At the Imperial Resort the entertainment was provided by the reps and the two nights that we had professional entertainment the singer brought specially in from the UK !!! sang about six songs and left.

We booked this holiday purely for the entertainment offered and it was severely lacking. Also no air conditioning and loads of mosquitos. Wont be going back there could get better entertainment in any hotel.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Half Board, booked with Portland Direct
  • Advice: Dont expect good entertainment
  • Good For: Beach
by Angie
5 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Loved it!

"On arrival expect to be greeted in the lobby by the staff and hotel manager with a complimentary glass of champagne. Your luggage will be taken to your room for you, and if you arrive in the late evening, you will be directed down to dinner, where the restaurant will have been kept open, before being shown to your room.

We booked a standard room, which was spacious and clean, with a king size bed, that unfortunately was a touch too much on the firm side. The bathroom was similarly clean with complimentary bath/shower gel, soaps etc. Our room was kept immaculate and staff are pleasant and unobtrusive. Expect a friendly 'kali mera', or 'kali spera' and a polite and welcoming smile. Balcony faced the sea, but we couldn't see it as there are low rise villas in the way, but the grounds are pleasantly landscaped, so not an issue for us.

Your key card will activate the air conditioning (available until the end of September) in the room and as you only get one, use your Nectar Card (or similar)to keep the a/c on while you are out. We went 'half board' which was fine, but if you are not 'all inclusive' should you want the room safe and the fridge to be turned on, you will need to pay, which for a 5* hotel seems a bit cheese-sparing. You will need to pay a returnable deposit for your beach towels (which you can change up to three times a week)and a small charge to use the sunloungers on the beach - again a bit cheeky for a 5*. There are plenty of loungers available around the pool and in the grounds, which are clean and very pleasant. The pool has bubbles and a bridge - and only goes to about 5ft at the deepest part, so great for nervous swimmers. Be careful not to slip on the paving when you get out though.

The small beach is easily accessible down a grassy slope, planted with numerous tamarisk trees - so lots of litle sparrows! It is clean, although the sand does get scorching hot and there is shingle, so you might want beach shoes. The water is calm for the most part.

If not 'AI', all drinks are very expensive, although a short walk into the town (turn right out of the hotel) there are a number of bars, restaurants and tavernas, aswell as supermarkets where you can buy your soft drinks, beer and wine to take back to your room to enjoy on your balcony at a fraction of the hotel price. Alternatively, you can upgrade to AI once you get there, which is cheaper than doing it through the booking agent.

There is a restaurant overlooking the beach spectacularly situated on the rocks - don't bother! Contrary to our experiences at all the other restaurants and bars, the staff were surly and the meals overpriced.

The hotel restaurant is very good, food was varied and well cooked and presented. It does get busy at peak times, and there can be a bit of a crush around the more popular buffets. There are imaginative'themed' nights and there is a dress code in the evenings. You can eat inside, outside or in the atrium where there is a pleasant waterfall.

There is a small shop in the hotel where you can buy odds and sods and there is a reputable local car hire firm available at the hotel, much cheaper than booking before you go, and we found them obliging and reliable. Driving on the island was trouble free, but petrol is expensive.

There are activities during the day and evening entertainment, mainly cabaret, quizzes etc., provided by the English team, who are friendly and work hard.

If you don't want a holiday spent entirely round the pool or on the beach, Rhodes Town is worth a visit, especially the UNESCO protected medieval city, as is Lindos, although this is very hilly, but you can use the free shuttle bus down to the town and beach - and back up again! Parking is a nightmare in both towns. There are the ruins at Kamiros, and near there is butterfly valley, best before mid-September, and a definite uphill hike - wear sensible shoes. Enjoy!
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by tracy & jerry
8 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

An unforgetable holiday

"My wife and I just returned home after a wonderful holiday in the Atlantica Imperial. We were there last year and really wanted to go back to celebrate a special birthday.

We arrived late at night and were given a warm welcome and a complimentary glass of champagne, and then we were shown to our room. It looked for a moment as though we were being taken to the same room as last year, but in fact we were in the one directly below it! Once again, the room was clean and tidy, and it was kept that way throughout our stay.

Next morning we went down for breakfast and found the same tempting variety of food on offer. We tend not to eat big breakfasts at home, but the hotel food was impossible to resist. We could have whatever we wanted - from big fry-ups to healthy fruit and yogurt, all expertly prepared and presented.

We were staying on an all-inclusive basis, so we made use of the pool bar during the day and made the most of the extensive buffet lunch. Once again, the spread was magnificent. The staff were very attentive and friendly when it came to taking drinks orders and clearing tables - some remembered us from last year.

My wife is on a gluten-free diet, so she had to be careful what she ate. This was not a problem, as the staff happy to point out what was suitable for her and what wasn't - and she still had plenty to choose from.

We especially enjoyed the gala nights when the key staff were introduced to the guests. Glasses of champagne were served and spectacular fireworks were set off on the beach.

Then there was the beach party. The hotel had never done this before, but it was a great success. A bar was set up on the beach for the evening and dancers were brought in to add to the entertainment. A limbo dancing contest was organised and then proceedings were rounded off with the release of some wish lanterns.

The entertainment at the hotel was once again first class. It was a different team this year, but they were just as good. They were around all day with games and quizzes (there was no pressure put on anyone to take take part), and then in the evenings there were game shows and excellent cabarets.

We had our one meal in the A la Carte restaurant as we were entitled to do, and that too was a memorable experience. A separate gluten-free menu was effectively created just for my wife, which was a nice touch.

The hotel provided a complimentary bottle of champagne on my wife's birthday, along with a card from all the staff. We sipped it whilst watching the show that evening.

Our departure day came all too quickly, a sure sign of how much we enjoyed ourselves. We were genuinely sad to leave, but we were also in no doubt that if finances allow, we will go back.

It really was an unforgetable holiday.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Happy people
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very good hotel

"This is a very good hotel by any standards. Rooms are large and well appointed, very clean and well looked after. The public areas are attractive and the food is first rate.

Entertainment is provided by the Thomson Gold team and most of the people around me enjoyed their efforts. Guest acts come about twice a week.

The grounds are spacious with a big pool and a clean sandy beach nearby.

If you go half board you can lunch in the hotel but there are plenty of tavernas within five or ten minutes walk.

Drinks in the hotel are a bit pricey, so all-inclusive is a good idea. But if you do decide on this option, wait until you get there and pay for it at the hotel - it's cheaper than paying for it in England.

Staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel has a good sauna - ask where it is - I promise you'll never find it by yourself.

The hotel is fairly quiet and most of the guests are, shall we say, mature. It's about two thirs English and one third German and French.

All in all I would recommend it without any reservations.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Eddie
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

If you want paradise then look no further

"Well my husband and I have had 2 weeks away in Rhodes. This Alantica Imperial is the nicest, friendly, outstanding food and amenities you could ever wish for. The Manager and all the staff are so proud of the hotel and make you feel pampered the moment you walk in until you leave. We will defintely be telling all our family and friends to go there. We will be back. Keep up the good work - well done and give yourselves a pat on the back."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Portland Direct
  • Advice: have no fear - book and enjoy itx
  • Good For: Beach
by Holiday Maker x
10 / 10

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Absolutely brilliant

"We have just arrived back from the Atlantica Imperial after spending 14 wonderful days there. The staff were absolutely wonderful always greeting you with a smile and were extremely helpful. The food was absolutely fantastic, they can certainly do the Great British fry-up, their fried bread was just superb. We went half board and the evening meal was lovely we had a few themed evenings which we thoroughly enjoyed and they certainly pulled all the stops out. Our room was a mezzanine suite which was extremely comfortable, it was great having the bed up stairs as you felt you were in a suite of rooms as opposed to a Hotel bedroom. We did have a sea view but the whole complex itself was extremely pleasant to look at. The pool was lovely and nicely set out. The beach was sand and shingle I would advise people to take beach shoes with them it helped to go in and out of the sea, which I must say was lovely and clean. You can purchase the shoes at the Shop in the Hotel I think they were only about 5 euros. The Entertainment in the evening was brilliant, my how they work hard, keeping everyone entertained throughout the day and then putting on marvellous shows in the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed out experience at the Atlantica and we will certainly be visiting again, Try and stop us!"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, Half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Absolutely fantastic
  • Good For: Beach
by Bobs
10 / 10

16 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not 5*

"Atlantica Imperial – Kolymbia – Rhodes

This resort is not value for money and sadly a rip off if you believe the published 5 star rating for this Thomson Gold holiday package.

The hotel wavered between a 3 – 4 star accommodation at best and never met the dizzy heights proclaimed by the tour operator. Superficially the layout and décor of the communal spaces were pleasant. However the furnishings and finish of these areas were not 5*; e.g. some curtains were ripped, light bulbs were missing, there were no fresh flowers, very few pictures and the furniture in places required some TLC. Beware the lift… it can bite.

The bedroom that we booked was billed as ‘Superior’ and really was not worth the extra money. The carpet was dirty, the bedspread (that doubled as a so called ‘blanket’) was filthy, the sheets were synthetic, there were no pictures to speak of and the cleaning was not up to scratch (e.g. I had to make the bed every night). The bathroom looked nice, but there was no extractor fan or window, no vanity mirror, the light was poor (making it difficult to apply make-up) and the bath towels were small and rough. Finally things like tissues which I would expect at a 5* hotel were missing.

When we arrived at the hotel the air conditioning in the room was faulty and one light bulb was missing (this was fixed the following day).

The food oscillated between good to poor. The roast meats / joints were good as were the salads and entrées. However, if you were looking for more variety than this it was disappointing. The house wine was not worth drinking… Breakfast was the standard affair and became rather repetitive. The standard of cooking for the ‘a la carte’ restaurant was the same as the main restaurant, and considering this was meant to be the culinary highlight of the hotel it failed miserably.

The outdoor areas were fairly well kept and the pool was clean (although too small for the number of guests). Beware the paving around the pool it is very slippery if you have wet feet. If you wanted to actually swim you had to wait until either the evening or jump in the pool first thing before the other guests arrived. The most common usage for the pool was for ball games.

The entertainment each evening really was nothing to write home about and in places was excruciating (and embarrassing for non-English guests). If you enjoy music then this is not the place for you. In fact when the entertainment was on there was nowhere to go to if you did not want to be bombarded by it (it was loud, loud, loud and distorted). During the rest of the day you had to endure ‘lift music’ everywhere…

The beach was small and clean but nothing special.

The location was alright, but as I mentioned above there were no places to go to in the hotel if you wanted some peace and quiet (you could hear the ‘evening entertainment’ in your room with the double glazed doors closed!).

I really don’t think that ‘they’ have made the most of this location or the hotel. This is a missed opportunity by the Atlantica hotel chain and Thomson.

What was good about the hotel? I could not fault the weather it was perfect!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: If you are looking for 3* and good weather this is the location for you
  • Good For: Beach
by a.robertson-begg
2 / 10

14 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Perfect Chillout

"Our 1st trip to Rhodes and to the Atlantic Imperial, we were seriously impressed. The island and the Greek people in particular are friendly and welcoming. The Hotel was perfectly placed in Koylumbia bay for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. From the Champagne welcome to the 'sorry to hear you leaving', the whole experience was one of making each and everyone feel special. Every member of the Staff,from the Manager to the daily cleaning maid was curtious and always smiling. The food was of the highest order, with a variety hard to match. Freshly prepared. Theme nights varied from Greek through Italian onto Tex-Mex and Chinese.....don't think I've eaten so much good food abroad ever!!

The ammenities and daily activities were more than a match for those who wanted an active holiday.Though no pressure was put on anyone if you just wanted to sunbathe and relax. The water sports, especially the Para-sending was breathe taking and exhilarating. A trip to old Rhodes town is a must, but try using the local bus service, rather than a hire car, as it only cost 6Euro's for a return, and drops & picks you up right in the hub of the town. All in all I would totally recommend this Hotel for a perfect Chill out experience. A useful tip is book your All Inclusive in the UK before, rather than upgrade when your there.We saved 5 Euro's a day per person doing it this way.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Portland Direct
  • Advice: Peacfull & relaxing
  • Activities: Rhodes old town
by Ian Fletcher
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 36 »

Explore area

Map for Atlantica Imperial Resort Closest airport: Rhodes Diagoras (RHO) 11.9 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Atlantica Imperial Resort
  • by mazza

    " Take the bus into Rhodes town for the day, well worth the trip "

Similar hotels around Kolymbia

Hotels near Atlantica Imperial Resort

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Atlantica Imperial Resort?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Atlantica Imperial Resort? Share your insight.

Atlantica Imperial Resort is also called:

  • atlantica imperial hotel
  • atlantica imperial resort rhodes
  • atlantica imperial rhodes
  • hotel atlantica imperial
  • Kolymbia Bay Hotel

Address: PO Box 4101, Rhodes 85103, Greece