Avra Beach Hotel

Avenue Ixia Peraia, Rhodes 85101, Greece
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(49 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
22
Good
20
Average
5
Poor
1
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 7.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Avra Beach Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
home again 12th visit

"Just had our 12th visit to Avra Beach hotel brilliant time not let down again .food even better staff really good nice to see Nicko at out side bar entertainment good with Balu and his gang just as good ,restaurant manager very helpful , Nice to see Pholini who met us off our coach must not forget Natasha lovely girl always has a smile this hotel is in Ixia Rhodes thanks to all our friends who once again all turned up hope to see you all again next year Ken and Maureen Peterborough England,"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2014, booked with Cosmos
  • Advice: entertainment good for children altogether well run hotel
by Maureen S
9 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Nightmare

"This hotel is disgusting please please don't go there we got all our money stolen it was someone who worked in this hotel police said it is known for it food slop,staff,we felt threatened over all hotel filthy we travel a lot and never come across something as terrible as this it made us really bad through stress would not even give it a 1 star please don't go and wast your hard earned money like we did."

by Mandy R
1 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

4 star it is not.

"just come back from an 9 night stay at the Avra beach.food was ok nothing great.Room was very small for 4 people and this was a garden villa!there was no air conditioning in the public areas so evening time was sit outside in the heat with the racket from the entertainment or go inside in the heat but quieter.The OVERCROWDING of the poolside area was horendous.down by 8 to reserve your bed or at 6am if you want a good one.after that you be sat in a chair next to the bar .the area is a bit of a dump.one very busy and dusty main road with no crossing to be found with a few bars and shops along it."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by martinwgray
5 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Good location and excellent service.

"June 20th 2012 for 1 week. Family of 3 adults. Overall the hotel exceeded expectations - for a 3star plus hotel - based on courteous, friendly, hard working staff, quality and variety of food, the air conditioning in our room which worked very well, proximity to beach, stunning sunsets and ease of access and proximity to Rhodes town. A TV that included international channels some in English (e.g. BBC World News). Things that could be improved: pillows in the rooms were too small and appeared intended for chidren. There is no bidet in the bathroom. The road outside the hotel which one must cross to catch the bus into Rhodes town is a busy main road making it dangerous and difficult to cross. A set of pedestrian traffic lights or even a pedestrian crossing would help. Note that mid morning buses to Rhodes town e.g. those before 10:30 are often unable to stop at Avra Beach as they are already full with locals on their way to work. Several buses may pass without stopping so be warned. There is no segregation of smokers in the outdoor areas therefore one cannot escape ingestion of their smoke. A policy or encouragement of smokers to locate themselves in areas down wind of non smokers would be of great assistance. Indeed this latter problem discouraged us from spending time in the outdoor areas unless we could find a spot upwind of the smokers. Basically the hotel needs to consider of the needs of non smokers. The problem may be a reflection of old fashioned cultural norms but much could be done to improve matters and at minimal cost. It would be useful if more areas within the interior of the hotel were air conditioned. Indeed air conditioning would no doubt help keep smoke out of the interior areas. I notice that for holidays prior to 15th June one must pay extra for air conditioning but after that date it is included free of charge. By coincidence it was 40degrees in the week preceding our arrival therefore most customers would have been caught out by the above arrangement. One thing I will mention which has nothing to do with Avra Beach but says more about First Choice excursions is that the trip to Lindos by boat cost 40euros whereas one can book the same excursion at the mini Rodos shopping centre next door for 25euros. In both cases you are collected from your hotel by bus. It is no wonder the First Choice rep was so pleased when we booked the trip. Note that the hotel charges 19euros to use the Safe deposit box in your room for 1 week which is an obvious rip off. Note also that the hotel caters for guests from various European nations therefore casual conversations and banter with other guests is inhibited due to the language barriers. Also be prepared for the usual German practice of hogging the sunbeds and not respecting queues. The area in which the hotel is located Is OK for a walk around (once or twice) to explore during the day as there is not a lot to see or do. We did see a water park (at next village Trianda/Lalysos) so that might be of interest. We didn't go out at night as we were all inclusive and it was not particular well lit so might not have been safe to venture too far. The main road cuts the area in half and is difficult to cross and is difficult to avoid. The thing to do is to go into Rhodes town if you wish to walk and explore as it is far more interesting than Ixia which is simply a resort and dormitory development."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, booked with First Choice
by Doug F
8 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Week we will be going back.

"We have just returned from a week at the avra beach and had a fantastic time.The staff food rooms entertainment location were all very good.My only complaint is the lack of toilets at the pool area the only toilets are inside the hotel thru a lounge area and then there are only two per gender.Other than that we have no complaints and will definately be going back possibly next year."

by helen peterborough
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avra Beach May12 Wonderful holiday :O))

"We booked a different hotel and was quite upset when they had overbooked and we were bumped to Avra Beach Hotel. How glad I was that this happened. The reception staff were so polite and helpful. The bar staff friendly and chatty, the animation team were fun and not pushy at all, they took no thanks for an answer, and the music level was not too loud which I hate.

We had a fabulous bungalow, overlooking the pool with a backdrop of the sea. Good fast hot shower, but it was so powerful it went all over the floor!! LOL

The rooms were lovely and clean, the cleaners were marvellous. Fresh sheets and towels daily.

The food was great, so much choice roast meat, mousaka, pasta, greek sausages, domades, greek salads, other salads. although samey on a daily basis! (More lamb please,we're in Greece, once a week not enough!)

Fab location, a short bus/taxi to Rhodes town. Old Town is beautiful and really a worth a visit.

Thanks for a fab holiday

Carol and Adi :O)
"

  • Holiday details: May 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by Carol S
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

brilliant place to stay

"we have just returned from our holiday at the avra beach hotel and have to say we have never stayed at somewhere so excellently run, the hotel and its grounds are spotless and the staff are friendly and welcoming. there is everything for everyone at this hotel and have to say the entertainment team kept our 12 year old son entertained. the food and resturaunt where un faultable and the resturaunt manager is very hard working and it was in all a pleasure to spend time in a relaxed and happy atmosphere recommended to everyone ."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: avra beach is a 5 min bus ride from the old rhodes town and is a clean and entertaining place to stay
  • Good For: Beach
by singleton
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic , food to die for

"this hotel saved our holiday, we was placed in another hotel which had faults with the rooms and was really isolated in the middle of nowhere. we got moved to this hotel and we was over the moon.. me and my husband came to the hotel 09-16th june 2011. we visited rhodes on a last min deal for a well deserved break away from the kids.. My god it was amazing, she staff fantastic really friendly. the towels and bedding was changed every day and free air con from 15th June. the food was amazing buffet style, fresh bread, fruit, pasta, salad, fish, pork, beef, chicken, potatoes yummy, desserts etc etc... all cocktails and ice cream was included unlike some hotels. breakfast had a wide range of verity for all nationalities, i wasnt keen on the sausages and the options was the same every day but still a very wide selection you could have something different every day. entertainment suitable for all the family gets a bit more a about 10pm but not so that a child would understand why it was funny. clubs for children where fantastic the entertainers got all the kids involved never once saw a child cry, upset or misbehaved. all children are entertained so well that we hardly noticed that there was children there. fantastic relaxing and calm place , we usually stayed in the beach area away from the pool as games and entertainment was all day long for all ages from about 4-70 years olds .. we enjoyed joining in in beach voly ball, water polo, darts, etc etc .. i am so bringing my children back next year.., bus services are good every 10 mins into rhodes and lots of trips available i would recomend going to the travel agent just 1 min walk to the left of the hotel, alot cheaper than the holiday reps.. my only fault with the hotel would be not enough toilets near to the pool and there is only 2 so if you are living on the top floor there can be a short wait for the shared toliets and they could be checked on more with there only being 2 .. but the hotel is very clean.... another down side is that there is set meal times and limiited choice of snacks during the day as you cant take food out of the restraunt for later.,. ham and cheese sandwiches in the snack bar all week no other choice, biscuits and cakes (nice cakes yum) aswell... but all was fresh and rapped well and kept in good storage.. hope this helps x"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks
by hoopers
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our Holiday

"We love Avra Beach and come back next Year. The finest Hotel at Rhodos. All our love to the Animation Team for great fun for the Kids and adults, Waterpool next year again.. Yes yes...

Good summerholiday

Tina Quast = Mama Denmark ;-)

Sofia; Sebastian And Alexander
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Super nice , and just do it
by mama denmark
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avra Beach Hotel saved our holiday

"Unfortunately we are not typically british and actually went to Rhodes for sightseeing and their culture, but we had unforseen temperatures of 38'C which meant that any trip out was a short one or avoided. (we did take a boat trip to Lindos which was lovely, to see the acropolis but when we got there with having two young children in the heat there was no way we could have made the 30min climb to the top so our time was spent on the beautiful sandy beach) Anyway... back to the hotel. It was a great hotel definitely 4* in our opinion, very clean, the staff were welcoming and friendly and the food was very fresh, tasty and of good variety (my husband is a fussy eater and rarely eats meat but he had something different at every meal) The pool area was great and although the beach is stone (as is all of the left side of the island) we preferred the pool and there was sand by the volleyball court when the little one wanted to have a dig! Although walk a couple of metres into the sea and the bottom is sand, The animation team ensured there was plenty of activities going on for the children and adults to stop us getting bored! French bowls, water polo, darts, table tennis, water gym etc etc. Great fun! and the team were very encouraging and friendly. We particularly liked meeting people from different countries and on our stay there were a few british families but we got to know many swedish and german families and my son found a friend from the czech republic so very refreshing.

The bar and lounge areas are very welcoming with plenty of comfortable seating and the children loved the mini disco and the evening entertainment was always a good laugh. We are a family who would never go back to the same place but would highly recommend this hotel to our friends and family if you were thinking of visiting Rhodes, but beware.... prices in Rhodes town and the airport are a rip off and my husband needed some ear drops and he went to the local chemist and was told they would be £9.50 (no prices marked up) he declined as thought this was a ridiculous price, but then went back the next day and the same person told him they would be £10!!! and also watch out for the english on motorbikes ripping you off trying to say you had won the top prize... everyone wins!!! Despite the high temperatures we did have a lovely holiday, but it could have been a disaster if the hotel was poor and although we were all inclusive we had budgeted to eat out just incase the food was not good, but ate in the restaurant every day. Previous years reviews have not always been great but trust me I could not fault this hotel, just book it!!!!!

Simon, Debbie & the children
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
by Holiday time
8 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely Hotel! Relaxing!

"We stayed for one week all inclusive - June 2010.

Positives:

-great hotel - should be 4 star not 3 plus

-very clean rooms - serviced daily to high standard

-food well cooked and adequate variety. We enjoyed eating every day.

-nice and friendly staff

-location of rom, pool, restaurant and sea front all next to each other

Negatives:

- can be slippy round pool and sea front steps (we witnessed 2 slips whilst there)and no first aider availabe!

-limited evening entertainment for adults (could do with more shows)

-Although nothing to do with the excellent hotel, watch out for overcharging bars in rhodes town - 20 euroes for 2 lagers says it all!

Would go beck to this hotel

Best wishes John and Lynn, Derbyshire
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Great for family facilities, but no beach
by John and Lynn
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

excellent

"May 2010

A good hotel typical greek 4* very clean with very helpfull staff. We spent 14 days here the food is good with lots of choice and a manager that seems to work 24 hours. I have to say greek red wine is not my favourite but the white and rose were fine.There are lots of coctails to choose from, the beer is good and the measures are enormous.Artul and the animation team are great and keep those that wish to get involved busy with no end of activities inc the children. On the comedy evening the water sketch is one of the funniest things I have ever seen.Definitley recommended.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: if you want an enjoyable holiday guaranteed this is the place
by mark
8 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Explore area

Map for Avra Beach Hotel Closest airport: Rhodes Diagoras (RHO) 7.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Avra Beach Hotel photos (1 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Ixia

Hotels near Avra Beach Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Avra Beach Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Avra Beach Hotel? Share your insight.

Avra Beach Hotel is also called:

  • avra beach resort all inclusive

Address: Avenue Ixia Peraia, Rhodes 85101, Greece