Crown Resorts Horizon

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

7  / 10
(57 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
19
Good
15
Average
11
Poor
7
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Crown Resorts Horizon

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
holiday by Robin S
9 / 10

We stayed at the crown horizon for one week as my daughter was getting married in coral bay and was happily surprised at the location of the hotel at the beginning of the strip,the food was excellent and varied the room was very clean,towells changed daily,the pool was spotless and most of the staff were welcoming the only problem we found was that with the temperature outside hitting 40C the air-con could have been cooler not only in our room but the hotel in general apart from that we will come again!

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: visit coral bay beach just a 5 min walk

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not Great for Kids by Marsha22
5 / 10

Not a great hotel for children pool area is dirty did not close pool when a child pooped in it just fished it out !!! Entertainment was poor just bingo everynight & the odd act. Location was good and rooms were cleaned everyday good choice of food but not the warmest. On a sour note my daughter was hospitalised whilst at this hotel due to a bacterial infection which caused her to get bronchial pneaumonia. No help from hotel staff what so ever didn't offer to get a doctor had to run a mile and half down the road to take her to doctors. Would not go back

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

wedding holiday by rog6718
6 / 10

the service and location were excellent. the rooms were kept very clean and tidy. the bar staff and restaurant and animation teams were all excellent and very helpful. we were there 10 days and was unable to get a bed by the pool, all beds had towels on prior to 0645hrs each morning. too many large pool toys (loungers and large rings in pool.

no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms. unable to use mini fridge as they were locked and there were no keys to open them.

only one ironing board in the hotel.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Value by Lorraine Gleeson
9 / 10

Food was excellent different every night. Good Breakfast. FREE Air con. This hotel is very relaxed rooms are large and clean. The pool is lovely with a pool bar. I think the location is suited to couples and families as it is not a lively area. The beach is only 5 minutes walk and as we were all inclusive, the hotel provided a packed lunch for us.

We were there for 2 weeks. The only complaint I do have is not with the hotel but the English. On our first week towels were put on the sun beds very early and not returning to the beds until lunch time!! There were a group in their 60's who had well 'camped out', with bags arriving to use the 4 sun beds and 2 umbrellas at 2.15pm. Fortunately the second week there was a much better clientele plenty of beds for everyone. The beds were occupied by people and not TOWELS.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book all inclusive
  • Good For: Beach

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

No good if you want to sleep at night ! by MrsGr
1 / 10

We found the hotel facilities, rooms & general amenities to be absolutely wonderful. That was until we tried to sleep. We had specifically requested an in-land view & had been given a room facing the pool & above the evening entertainment.

Thankfully, our little boy fell asleep before the entertainment began & my husband & I were settling down to a nice drink & some quiet time together. However, when the music started we couldn't even hear ourselves speaking to one another. It was impossible to watch the tv & it made no difference whether the patio doors were open or shut. The noise was unbelievable. We complained numerous times that evening & were told the music would stop at various times. However, when the music finally did abet, the music from up the road was almost as bad & kept us awake till 2.30 a.m.

It was awful. It ruined the whole day of rest that we had & obviously having no sleep & small child made the next day extremely stressful.

The hotel was ready for my husband the next morning & refused to refund our nights sleep (ha ha), saying that it was booked through a booking agency & therefore our contract was with them. However, we pointed out that they had not honoured the contact as we had requested an in-land view.

They offered a room for our second night at back of hotel, but by this point we did not want to have to endure another night & made arrangements to sleep elsewhere.

After complaining to the booking agency they offered us 2nights accomodation free - however when we tried to take this offer up, they said we had to book 7 nights & would get 2 of those nights free.

As if we'd risk 7 nights there ! Ridiculous

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with BookCyprus
  • Advice: Sleep in the day - you wont at night !
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

will definately go back by primrose
9 / 10

Went to this hotel in september 2011. Cannot fault the staff as they were very helpful & pleasant. Always time for a chat. Food was very good and plenty of it but week 1 was like week 2. Our room was spacious, with tv mini fridge and safety deposit box at a charge. Cleaned every day and clean towels too. Beach towels for hire. Evening entertainment was ok, bingo for 15 minutes and then a show. The ABBA tribute band was 2 girls, not lookalikes or sound alikes, don't know why they bothered. I have walking difficulties but there were ramps as well as steps to go outside, and 3 lifts. The downside was the pool is too small to cater for a full hotel and the only beds with umbrellas were by the pool. Appart from that, there are extensive gardens and plenty of shade and beds if required. We were in the shade for 2 weeks because the temperature was between 37 and 40 all the time. Away from the hotel the main street had plenty of eating and drinking places and the usual tourist shops. The local buses run very frequenly and a 2 euro ticket could be used all day and evening and took you to Paphos bus station where you could transfer to other services using the same ticket.

One big dissapointment was the beach. It was further than the 300 metres stated but was also down a steep hill. Once there the beds and brollies and jammed next to each other and for 7.50 euros a day, not worth it. Going down was a bit steep for me and coming back up meant we never went there after the first trip. The biggest tip I can give you is to go all inclusive. People we met there on half board or B&B were spending lots of money on things like drinks and food. In the hotel 2 coffees were 6.50euros each and a beer and shandy was 7.50euros. I think they are working on the fact that one pound used to equall about 1.50euros but now they are almost the same so stuff is very expensive. We saved loads of money by being all inclusive. The night flight back to East Midlands was terrible.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Take lots of sun cream.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic Holiday by rebel10
9 / 10

Don't believe all the bad reviews.

This was a lovely hotel the staff were very friendly.

The food was beautiful we never had one complaint and never had a upset stomach, we always tend to go all inclusive but eat out a few nights for a change of scenary we didn't have to here because the food was that nice.

The entertainment was ok there was a ABBA tribute band, a magician, fire eating man, karaoke and loads more what do people expect they are not going to a west end show.

The rooms were basic but who spends their holiday in the room you only sleep in it and it was big enough for the three of us.

If I had to say a down side to the hotel it would be to make it all inclusive so when you make friends and they are only half board it can be a bit embarrassing seeing them pay for their drinks which are pretty expensive.

All in all a lovely holiday.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Direct Holidays
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

not a 4* hotel or holiday by anonymous11
2 / 10

We booked this as a 4* holiday with Thomson. On arrival the staff were rude and un-welcoming. Our room was basic, run down and in desperate need of redecoration. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, and elements of our room were dirty and dusty. You were lucky to get a sun-lounger by the pool. The pool area was noisy and many people taking advantage of the all inclusive deal (free alcohol). Night tim entertainment is awful and there was nothing Greek about it. The resort is noisy at night and can be heard in your hotel room. The food was un-edible and we had to eat out on a regular basis as we got tummy upsets. Staff and hotel in general is rude and un-helful. The hotel is listed as 4* and this certainly IS NOT a 4* hotel. I would suggest this was a 2* maybe 3* hotel but definatly no more.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: get away from the hotel and resort and go to the beaches and paphos itself.
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The only fully inclusive hotel I have stayed in where water is not included!!!! by tweeny
5 / 10

My family have just returned from this hotel. The first time my husband and I have done a family holiday and the first time my children have done a fully inclusive holiday. The hotel was nice and always clean. The rooms were basic but cleaned every day. Food was good and plenty to choose from. Evening entertainment was the same as I have seen in many hotels and if you don’t like that the “Strip” just outside the gates (far enough away for people that like an early night) has a variety of restaurants, Tavernier’s, wine bars, karaoke and not forgetting “The real Elvis”. The bar for fully inclusive was the same as most hotels I have stayed in, therefore only the local wines, beers and spirits were included. However there were a few down sides. I would not describe it as a small child friendly hotel as there were many steep stairs that a child could easily fall down if you was not with them every single second (in fact a few adults had a tumble). Also it is the only fully inclusive hotel I have ever stayed in where you had to pay way over the local price for water!!! In fact between the hours of 12 midnight and 7am you could not even get it by paying for it!! That’s right you can drink wine and spirits till it comes out of your ears but NOT water. Also no tea and coffee facilities in your room unless you pay extra and at 3.50 euro’s a day I would recommend you take your own travel kettle and purchase your tea/coffee, milk and water at the local shop. Also you have pay extra for the fridge, which is actually on but locked with a key. This is my sixth year in Cyprus (coral bay) and I will be going back but NOT to this hotel I am sorry to say

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: take your own travel kettle and buy your water at the local shops.

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Want a good holiday by Pat
10 / 10

Just returned from our 3rd visit to this hotel, as usual a great time, lots of the staff still there, and always smiling and chatty. Unfortunately Cayleigh and Klara the animators, are moving on later this year,they were great fun and the evening entertainment was better than last visits, anyone who could find anything to complain about would be hard pushed or extremely fussy. Food was buffet style but always a very good selection and good quality - definitely recommmend this hotel and will return again - make sure you go all inclusive as drinks due to the euro rate are expensive,

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: dont listen to any bad reports

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best holiday ever by kate
9 / 10

Just got back from a 2 week holiday at crown resort coral bay..We were a large party of 14 attending a family wedding in pahos bay,,We went all inclusive (which is a must as the drink prices are sky high) But if you leave the hotel there are plenty of bars just outside with pretty low priced drinks,,Right back to the hotel its a very clean place with plenty of staff to see to all your needs,The food was brill but after the first week became a bit boring so we all decided to eat out alot on the last week,The 2 girls behind the bar are lovely to specialy manula she was really good with all of our kids,The only downside i could find with the hotel was the beds were very hard felt like i had broken my ribs every morning lol,,,The hotel enetertained was really hit and miss but the 2 entertaiment girls was really friendly and again great with the kids,,,The holiday overal was fab 9/10 would recommend to anyone a great place,,PS And for those in the above comments if you dont like screaming kids book an adult only resort SIMPLE...

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: 100% yes

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

what a waste of hard earned money by sasskippy
3 / 10

Just returned from a two week holiday at crown resorts horizon with my wife.we were on a half board basis and had we realised that this was a thomas cook all inclusive hotel we would not have booked this hotel.The hotel is pleasant enough but was truely spoilt by a large number of the all inclusive clientel,who were only happy in ther large gangs around the pool and bars,once they had finished their drinks they found it impossible to place their (plastic)glasses in the numerous bins provided instead just dropped them on the floor or into the pool!there behaviour was distgusting and sadly all were british.if you like lots of uncontrolled kids and tatooed larger drinking louts then this is the place for you!

the rooms were basic standard,the beds were hard and the bedding had seen better days,the maids did there best each day.

oh forgot to mention the rats(vermin)in the hotel gardens.

we saw two and there were more,the hotel were aware,but were not unduly concerned.

coral bay is described as having the best beach in cyprus,forget it there are many more unspoilt beaches in cyprus.

many people we spoke to were pushed towards this hotel by their travel agents,the hotel in paphos are much better,do not be sued.

this hotel is not a 4 star,barely a 3,give it a wide bearth!!

  • Holiday details: Sep 2010, half board, booked with Portland Direct
  • Advice: stay well clear

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Crown Resorts Horizon? Share your insight.

Crown Resorts Horizon also called

  • crown horizon
  • crown hotel horizon
  • crown hotel paphos
  • Horizon Crown Resort Hotel
  • Address: Coral Bay Avenue PO Box 62727, Paphos 8068, Cyprus

Explore area

Map for Crown Resorts Horizon Closest airport: Pafos (PFO) 11.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Crown Resorts Horizon
  • by samift

    " Rent a car to get around the island "

  • by rog6718

    " take your own kettle. "

Similar hotels around Paphos

Hotels near Crown Resorts Horizon

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Crown Resorts Horizon?