Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

9  / 10
(16 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
9
Good
6
Average
1
Poor
0
Awful
0

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 7.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
just returned from here yesterday

"me and my husband returned from here yesterday, after a weeks holiday, weather was brilliant all week no rain what so ever. we stayed in the Hippocrates hotel and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was the hotel was immaculate, rooms very spacious and staff very polite. the food side was typical all inclusive, so if your not use to all inclusive it goes like this breakfast eggs bacon, cereals, toast, pancakes and much more. dinner can be chicken, pork, burgers chips, salads, soups, plenty of puddings, and dinner along the same lines, this is typical all inclusive and didnt have any complaint was plenty of choice for breakfast, dinner and tea.

the bar was run pretty well staff polite and even though it does get busy you will eventually get served,. which is the case with all inclusive as people rush to the bar before the allocated time to get there before all inclusive stops.

the pool area was clean tidy and plenty of sunbeds there was even a child pool, it did get busy while we were there because everyone from the other hotels had to use this one because it was early season and others not open yet.

overall this was a very nice holiday

the only down side is that there is nothing outside of the hotel other than one small shop which supplies usual stuff fags, papers, crisp etc, but run by a lovely lady.

to see any nightlife ect u need to go to kos town which is a short bus ride away 1.60 euro one way or taxi 9 euro one way. plenty of shops restaurants etc.

if you want to watch football we found a nice pub called shannaigans which is on far side of kos town off one of the side streets.

we hired a car for 2 days to visit surrounding areas cost us 70 euro for 2 days, we visited trigaki which has plenty of shops and restaurants, if want to eat out there a restaurant on the corner of main street near beach and it also has tables on the beach have to say the best greek food we had while we was in kos and not bad prices think it called scala may be spelt differently overall we had a nice relaxing break but would not go back as to isolated for us we like to go out and explore but ideal if wanna relax and just chill for the week,
"

  • Holiday details: May 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by lisa40
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic holiday!!

"Just back from a fantastic stay, the staff are friendly and helpful (a porter took our cases to our room at 3am and even though we were half asleep he was really helpful and chirpy!!) Fantastic room facing the sea, maid came every day to change the sheets and towels. The meals are lovely there's something for eveyone's taste every day. It's great that you can use the pool, restaurant,and entertainment at the maris hotel if you want a change of scenery which is joined by a walk way. Best trip for us was the lazy day cruise on a wooden boat hot but worth it, great fun!!! Only downside was the beach, there's not much to it although there are beechchairs to lounge on, did,nt botter us too much as we didnt go to the beech - too many other things to do! I would definately recommend this hotel to others."

by Jenny
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My family have just returned from the...

"My family have just returned from the Iberostar complex of four hotels.

I spent some time at the Hippocrates Hotel because this was the nearest hotel to mine that had some form of Kids Club.

There are four hotels on the complex- two five star and two four star.

The Hippocrates is on road level, appears a little tired at the edges, although not disastrously so, with a very small kids club. If you have a younger child who is quite sensitive then this is the club for you, if not then it is definitely the Kos Bay View on the upper level.

It is very quiet in the evening; however, it does fill a niche in the group of four.

The only issue here for me is that I had the choice of all four hotels having stayed at one of the five star ones. If you only had access to the Kos Bay View and Hippocrates it may be a totally different stay than the one that you had hoped for.

All that being said I do not want to be too critical. We really enjoyed the holiday and the cycle ride into Kos Town is a delight even for a non cycling family with a seven year old child.
"

by M103
7 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

a very pleasant hotel

"we have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Hippocrates.

All the staff were very friendly, the rooms were very clean, but a bit tired, the hairdryer was broken and one of the legs on the fridge was missing and therefore wobbled every time it was opened, bedding and towels were changed daily. All the public areas were spotless. We went half board and the food was very good although by the second week a bit repetitive. Evening entertainment was a bit limited but you can use the other 3 Iberostar hotels within the complex. I would think if you have young children one of the other hotels might be better, the Hippocrates is fairly quite and i would think more suitable to couples. Although the animation team do work very hard to involve everybody during the day and poolside is not that peaceful. Having said that we really enjoyed our stay and Kos is a fabulous island.
"

by BLUESKYSurrey_Uk
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our stay in psalidi

"Decided to visit Kos again after a nice stay 2 years ago. Arrived at the hotel 02.00 20 July with my wife and my two teenage children. The reception is open 24 hours a day and we were greeted by a very friendly and courteous chap who dealt with us very quickly and efficiently. We were allocated 2 rooms on the third floor overlooking the pool area. The air conditioning was not working in one of the rooms but after speaking to reception in the morning, within 20 minutes the control panel had been replaced and the system was fine. The reception staff were all very helpful whenever I had a query.

The rooms are pleasant and big enough, clean and well laid out. A fridge is supplied (free of charge) and a TV though the english speaking channels are very limited.

Safety deposit boxes are available though not in the rooms but in an alcove at the reception ??? cost is 20 Euros for a week 35 Euros for 2 weeks. A shop is also available for drinks and the usual things open 7 days a week 0930-13.30 then 17.00-21.00.

The restaurant is huge with plenty of tables and quite a few outside as well. Breakfast is 07.30-10.00 and is buffet style, with plenty for everyone (no one will go hungry) dinner is 18.30-21.00 again buffet style with a varied selection from starters, main courses and puddings. One night per week you will be entertained with a "greek " themed night which will consist of music and dancing whilst you eat which was very nice. Later on the dancers will pass through the tables and ask you to join in.

A photographer visits the hotel once/twice a week and will take a variety of pictures for you (I preferred the 2nd week as the tan had set in by then)

Entertainment is provided by the resident "animation team" during the day this will consist of archery, rifle shooting, darts, football, beach volleyball, a daily "crazy game" aqua gym and bingo, at the end of the day all are invited to join in the "club dance" with the team, time to mention the girls Sylvia, Paula and Magda who work tirelessly to make your stay enjoyable. In the evening they and members from the other animation teams put on a show every night except Mondays (day off)

The pool is a good size, plenty of sunbeds are available and parasols. There is a poolside bar which is open from 11.00 serving the expected range of drinks and snacks.

Internet access is provided on one computer located near reception this is available at a cost of 5 Euros for 30 minutes.

Kos Town is a few miles North buses are frequent throughout the day and cost 1 Euro 50 cents though reception will book a taxi for you and this costs 7 Euros. Popular trips are Nissyros (volcano) Turkey,the recently opened Water Park amongst others.

The nationality of the hotel guests varied throughout our stay but were predominantly German/Dutch.

An option available to guests was to upgrade to All Inclusive which cost 20 Euros per day for adults and 10 Euros per day for children.

Not much for youngsters to do, the Animation Team provided a mini disco for them every evening (except Mondays) and provided a club of sorts in the day though this seemed to involve drawing a lot.!

Iberostar have four hotels very close to each other (Panorama, Kos Bay View, Maris and Hippocrates) all guests can use the facilities at any of the hotels but you must eat at the hotel where you are staying, this caused some confusion to some people when their Tour Rep did not explain things clearly enough.

All in all a nice place to stay for a relaxing holiday, temperatures during our stay ranged from 37-48 degrees even the locals thought 48 was a bit excessive.
"

by amarokChepstowWales
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Enjoyed the Hippocrates

"I and my husband stayed at the Hippocrates in July 2007, during a week.

The hotel is a beach hotel and you should be prepared for that. The rooms are big and comfortable. Although a bit old, the furniture was not very well taken care of, the air drier did not work and the curtains were a bit loose. It was very clean, with phone and TV, and a nice balcony with a table and some chairs. Our view was nice, since we could see the sea and Turkey.

The swimming pool was nice, because there were very few people. The hotel was not even half full. If the hotel would be full, it would have been too crowded since the pool is not big. Also, if you are travelling with children, who should pick one of the other nearby hotels, the kids pool is a joke, too small. As a couple it was a very nice stay and we could relax. Buffet dinner and breakfast were nice with nice friendly staff.

Wireless internet is expensive. And yes, you pay 6 Euros to stay in the beach, even if it is a private beach for the hotel chain. That is just incredible, since you pay 5 Euros on other beaches.

There is also a recreation team in the hotel, providing gym classes, bingo and other recreation. The bad point is that music never stops in the pool, so you cannot have a minute of silence.
"

by CSNunes
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

What a fantastic holiday, the hotel...

"What a fantastic holiday, the hotel is lovely, very clean and very comfortable.

The staff are very friendly and couldn’t make you feel anymore welcome.

Food is lovely and the facilities are great, definitely will be going back again.

10/10
"

by A Skillicorn
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

you would have to pay me not to return!

"i was 16 when i went and so all a holiday was about for me was sun and meeting people and goin out at night!

lucky for me i met some teens also staying at the hotel when on the flight.

we were on a late night flight and so arrived very late but when we arrived we got greeted straight away by the receptionist jimmy.

when we got to our room they were spotless and very spacious and the bathroom was very pleasant.

the next day we went to breakfast and was i astounded with the selection of things to eat and drink. the breakfast was brilliant and even with not going to bed untill the early hours in the morning i still set my alarm to get up for it.

during the day round the pool the entertainment team are always asking people of all ages to get involved with the activities and competetions. they also did a club dance around the pool which i really enjoyed.

i found the evening meals supurb the selection was just out of this world. each meal or desurt had what is was translated in every language. which i fought was good too.

at night times there was a limited amount of activites, there was kareoke some nights but i ofund myself more attracted to the kos town ,,,, bar street which i fought was a really good night out. and a taxi from the hotel there was only 3 euros.

the beach was just across the road not far to walk at all, also they are two restraunts very near by. and a small shop. also for all the sports fans they was a sports bar about 1 minute walk down the road which also had the internet.

all in all it was the best holiday i had every been on.
"

by lhall88
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

A lovely holiday on a lovely island....

"A lovely holiday on a lovely island. The hotel staff were unbelievably friendly as were other local people. The hotel is a little "tired" but otherwise the facilities are fine. Pool was nice and the food was excellent. Negative comments would be

1. The air conditioning being switched off at 3-4am and then not coming on again until 3-4pm!

2. The airport - go to Kos if you don't mind spending hours in an overcrowded airport and having to queue outside the terminal for 2 hours to get your flight home!
"

by R Mumford
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Went to the Hippocrates as a couple...

"Went to the Hippocrates as a couple and had a very enjoyable time,

As far as entertainment goes this hotel doesn’t offer a great deal and neither do the surrounding hotels which are able to be used by all, the animation team however were very friendly and looked very eager to please.

Food was varied each night and international themes were used , overall a good selection and food was consistently good.

As for excursions I would recommend to go to Kos town and book them there with the companies on the harbour - remember these guys will barter with you and you can save yourself a few euros by going direct with these rather than booking through your rep ( we saved 25 euros each by booking direct for a boat trip to Bodrum).

At night we tended to use the Zorbas bar to the rear of the Hippocrates it was cheaper for the same drinks and staff friendly.

All in all a good place but for the more adventurous you could maybe look somewhere else.
"

by J Thomas
8 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Highly Recommended

"The Hippocrates Hotel was great. It was very clean, had exceptionally friendly staff and excellent food. When we visited, there was a nice mixture of nationalities of guests, age ranges and a fairly equal mix of groups, families and couples. The weather was fantastic the whole week we were there. We found Kos itself lovely and relaxing, with good restaurants and with just enough to do, inbetween relaxing in the sun."

by felicityma
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Excellent Hotel

"Not been back long from a week in the Hippocrates Hotel near Kos Town. The only disappointment for us as a family was there was hardly any other teenagers for my two to hang out with. Even though there is four hotels all connected in the same area the only one that had a lot of children was the Kos Bay View and unfortunately they were nearly all very small children. When the Animation team found out that my "lovely" teenagers were a bit fed up they did their best to entertain them as much as possible. Special thanks to Linda and especially to Kay. The hotel is a 4 star but even though the staff were more than 5 star there were a few places in the hotel that need updating. The food in the hotel is very good and the whole hotel has a lovely atmosphere which is very relaxing. While we were in Kos Town we had a day trip to Bodrum in Turkey for the day. We enjoyed it very much and now quite fancy going to Turkey for a holiday. Even though the children didnt meet many others of their age group we had a good holiday and would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break."

by Lopez21
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel Closest airport: Kos (KGS) 14.6 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel
  • by lisa40

    " need to explore as not much to do in the hotel area "

Similar hotels around Psalidi

Hotels near Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel? Share your insight.

Kipriotis Hippocrates Hotel is also called:

  • Iberostar Hippocrates Hotel
  • iberostar hotel kos town
  • iberostar kos town