Hotel Santa Monica

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(85 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
37
Good
24
Average
10
Poor
7
Awful
7

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 7.5/10
Food: 7/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Santa Monica

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 38 »
A great time had by all!!! by tom fox
8 / 10

I traveled with two of my grandsons (4 and 13) and we had a fantastic time.

Friendly, helpful reception, bar, cleaning and dining room staff, towels changed daily and rooms refreshed each day.

Fun entertainment day and night which the boys fully loved. Great pools in which my 4 yr old grandson swam for the first time without armbands!

The restaurant was light and airy and the buffet selection gave plenty of choice and options. There was never a meal time we didn't find something to enjoy. Clean and tidy the hotel was also well positioned for an easy walk to the beach or old town and nearby shops as well as public transport.

We've already booked to come back next year, this time joined by Grandma and three granddaughters as well.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013
  • Advice: With two football fanatics. the Neu Camp was a fantastic experience for us.

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

terrible two weeks by Dawn G
4 / 10

rooms clean, food not very good unless you like pork every night, staff ok, holiday rep brilliant helped us when we had some problems. be warned there is theifs operating in the hotel as i had my purse lifted out of handbag in the lift of the hotel and the staff at the hotel was not really bothered except the holiday rep who helped us in every way.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: the pool
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Awful hotel by crystal
2 / 10

The rudest hotel staff I have yet to come across anywhere. Three times I was shouted at, dictated to and told to go elsewhere if I didn't like it by different members of their staff. (receptionist, dining manager, barman) Customer service is non existent.

Food was extremely poor and nothing for vegetarians, even the salads are all laced with meat. Chips, chips, chips. Cakes for deserts, or ice cream.

Tiny pool that doesn't cater for the number of guests at all. No shade or grassy areas around pool.

Very basic room, first room overlooked a dump, Thomson rep got us moved. Dirty floors and paintwork.

Air conditioning good. Near to a beautiful natural sand beach with excellent beach bars. Town interesting and not too touristy.

  • Holiday details: Sep 2011, half board, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Don't go! Or just go room only and eat out. Excellent Italian restaurant very close by.. Use beach rather than pool
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

maria and christinas hol by christina and marias holiday
10 / 10

we stayed at the santa monica hotel from 31st aug 2010 until 7th sept 2010, we can honestly say that we had a fantastic time here, staff were brilliant , the food excellent and the rooms were spotless, entertainment was really good. Christina and myself go on holiday 3 or 4 times a year and this was totally the best in every way,thank you staff at the santa monica we cant wait to come back again xxxxxx maria and christina

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: definately worth the money
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

awful by ROON
1 / 10

Just come back today thank god this hotel is awful food was the same everyday with chips entertainment was awful so childish although jackson night was ok.we hate to complain but everyone said the same rooms substandard we have a little boy and our balcony was wobbaly was told if we wanted to move we could but would cost us another 5 euros a night on a plus the reception and bar staff were lovely hope this helps

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Avoid

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My Holiday In Santa Monica Hotel by Walkers, Lees and McCaughans
10 / 10

I am just back from the hotel.Went with a family of 9 and we all enjoyed it.

The children all really enjoyed the entertainment team and all the shows at night and were so sad to have left the hotel behind.

The rooms were very cosy with a big balcony on the 1st floor, the rooms were cleaned every morning and fresh towels, bed cloths and new shampoos and soaps everyday if needed.

during the day there was plenty to do with the kids and adult games to particapate in and winners get a diploma before the bingo at 9 oclock which was sutible for all ages.

Over all my family really enjoyed there holiday and are going back next year and every =year following.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Value for money by Malta
9 / 10

We booked 10 days at this hotel in June and didn't know

what to expect after reading some of the reveiws. It is very freindly the staff are all helpful and pleased to

assist in any way. The food was good with plenty of choice. All in all god value for money would go back again except we prefer Lloret wish we could move the hotel a few miles.

Older couple

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Small friendly Hotel
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Family Holiday. by Mik_v
8 / 10

Just got back from a 2 week stay at the Santa Monica. We were a group of 2 mid 30’s, 2 pensioners, a pair of 19 year olds and a couple of kids 10 and 12 so quiet a spectrum. Having read all the reviews let’s just say I was a little worried before I got there, however I booked a budget family holiday and I got a great family holiday at a good price. Ok the walls in the rooms are paper thin, However Fernando and his great entertainment team tire you out during the day, and then keep you up so late that you don’t even notice the noise, well maybe not but you do very soon adapt to it. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The food choice in the very nice restaurant is such that I don’t think even the pickiest of eaters will starve at this hotel. There is hotel entertainment day and night, and it is located a very short walk to the very busy Calella centre. There is a great Spar supermarket just across the road. The beach is also a very short walk away, and although a shingle sand that does hurt your feet to walk on we discovered that a pair of Asda £2 for 6 pairs of trainer socks sorted that problem out, so you can enjoy the full pleasure of the Costa Brava beach front. One of the best bits of this holiday for me was the friendliness of the people of Calella, this was no more true than with ALL the hotel staff, from the man who washes the poolside terrace down through to the hotel management team. The worst bit of the holiday for the entire family, was coming home. Would I go back to the Santa Monica, or another med playa hotel ??? Definitely .

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Half Board, booked with First Choice
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

miles better than i was expecting! by leah and tribe
8 / 10

on booking a two week half bored holiday to the Santa Monica i took time to look up some reviews! i was a little bit wary of what people where sayin and a little dissapointed so didn't expect much!

we arrived on te 25th May 2010 for 2 weeks me a single mother and 2 lads aged 10 and 5! we arrived late at night so didn't see much! woke up the followin morning to the sounds of building works going on rigt at te side of us but just gave it the benefit of the doubt!

we got changed and went down for breakfast, and was pleasantly surprised, with a variety of cereals fresh breads cooked meats, cheeses and cooked breakfast, there was something for everyone and all fresh and very clean!

The pool area was nice also clean and i didn't struggle with gettin a bed but it was early season leading towards the end of our second week you could see it fillin up a little but still there was no problem!

Tea time, food varied everyday but was also something for everyone and again fresh and clean! The staff at the Santa Monica are very helpfull and friendly Kate on reception is a lovely women! We had clean towles EVERYDAY! rooms cleaned everyday and clean beding twice a week, onestly you can not fault this place! yeah i can go with what people say about the paper thin walls but people tend to respect each other so you don't hear much!

As fpr Calella itself there isn't an awfull lot to do at all but found the Alcatraz bar with the owner John and staff very friendly and its a good place kids played bingo you can have a bet and the beer is resonable!

I could not get over the prices though i.e burger and chips 8.50€ gone really exspencive good job we was half bored!

but apart from that te holiday itself was lovely although i would say a week is enough! kids loved it as the animation gang where brill with them taking the off every hour to go and do something which was great for me ahhhhhh peace and quite! the transfere was 45 from te airport and the beach is gorgeous just it isn't sand its more like little pebbles a little gritty and ruff to the feet but it was easy enough to shake yer towel out!

hope you enjoy as much as we did but just remember one week is sufficent!

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, halfbord, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

it was enjoyable by walkers
8 / 10

This hotel is very nice i have been 2 years running and going back this year not for people who arent easy to please i liked the pool a little packed at times i liked the games during the day and the shows at night were very good except the parrot show the staff are very friendly (magda and fernando were brill) rep was ok barstaff were nice as u book ask for pool view room because back rooms are noisy as there is a main road made lots of friends german guest were very rude and liked to skip the queue at the restaraunt and bar

rooms are very clean and tidy u get clean towels every day

and would recommend to families with children

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Breakfast Included, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I WOULD AVOID THIS HOTEL - RESORT IS NICE by AngieEssex
5 / 10

Me, my boyfriend, 18 month old baby and my mum stayed here for a week on the 5th of september. On the transfer coach to the hotel I must say I was worried, it looked very baron with a lot of derelict buildings. Once at the hotel I was extremely disapointed. All the other 3 star hotels looked lovely, this one was very big, looked run down with a tiny pool that couldnt accomodate all of the people in the hotel. Once inside it looked even worse, it is in desperate need for a refurbishment.

Once inside the room I was pleased to see that there was air con, as you dont really expect to get that with a 3 star. The bathroom is nice, the room is very basic. Then my usually laid back boyfriend opened the curtains and we had the MOST horrible view you can imagine. It was facing a main road so everyone could stare in, with metal stairs and concrete (and I think the kitchens) beneith us. I went down and complained to the rep (who was gormless) and they offered to change my room to a pool view on tuesday. We didnt end up doing this as we would of only of had 3 days in there!

One thing I did like about the hotel is the buffet, the food was nice. Hotel entertainment was ok, drinks are quite cheap. I also like that the hotel is so central, very near to the beach. The resort itself is nice, lovely beach, some nice shops, a few good clubs and lots of bars. I recommend going to marine land, its as zoo and water park in one, also has a dolphin show. Food is expensive though so probably best to take your own. Also the little train you cath outside the hotel is really good, it goes all around the resort. I wouldnt really recommend the medieval castle trip, firstly its not even a medieval castle its a replica (which they dont tell you) and the fighting is all a bit staged and pantomine (plus its in spanish).

If I went again I would go to Santa Susanna which is right next to calella, it looks lovely there. Hope this review helps some people!

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lovely town bad hotel by mr redman
3 / 10

Went as a couple to what was described as a spacious friendly hotel in a good location. we went half board an elegant buffet style restaurant with local and international food .this was not the case the room was small with the hardest bed i've ever slept in. The food was basic and looked like it had been under heat lamps all day.if u liked pork u were ok no local food in sight every thing out of tins. Entertainment was poor, 4 people dressed in robes spitting water at each other, not funny the only good thing was it was clean and the bar staff were friendly .The town was beautiful, great friendly bars ,restaurants ,beaches great fun loads to do and see.apart from hotel great hol recomend Calella and Costa brava to anyone who wants to see real spain .

this was a poor choice of hotel from our travel agent, more suited to families with young kids not couples who enjoy good food and comfort .

  • Holiday details: Sep 2009, Half Board, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: lovely part of real spain
  • Activities: cruise along coast to tossa la mar .and beach bars.
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 38 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Santa Monica? Share your insight.

Hotel Santa Monica also called

  • santa monica calella
  • santa monica hotel
  • Address: Avda del Turisme 72 - 78, Calella 08370, Spain

Explore area

Map for Hotel Santa Monica Closest airport: Girona Barcelona (GRO) 21.4 miles

Travellers also viewed

Hotel Santa Monica photos (10 traveller photos)
Top traveller tips for Hotel Santa Monica
  • by clarejenkins1983

    " Great for shopping only an hour from barcelona by train.Plenty of markets nearby see hotel reception "

  • by gavinR

    " Marineland was excellent, if going to Barca give yourself plenty of time "

  • by walkers

    " good for families with kids "

  • by Mik_v

    " Great budget holiday destination. "

Similar hotels around Calella

Hotels near Hotel Santa Monica

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Santa Monica?