Angela Hotel

3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(23 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
8
Good
9
Average
3
Poor
1
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Angela Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Disappointed

"Booked the hotel as a adult only hotel only to find children booked in, told by rep that children were in the small print.On arrival dropped off 200yds from hotel with no porter assistance for luggage.The pool was a joke, far to small for the number of guests. 20 people in the pool and it was crowded. Had to queue for over half an hour for a sun beds only 30 parasols and 100 sunbeds for 500 guests.No daytime activities at hotel, some evening entertainment quite good but all ended at 10.30pm. Surrounding area crowded heavy sewage smells. food was good and rooms average. will not be returning. Hotel is not 4 star standard, at best only 3star."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013
  • Advice: Find alternative
by David Evans
3 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Hotel - pity about the 'Moaners' !

"Having just returned from our 10th visit to the Angela, I am at a complete loss as to the comments in the previous review! The staff at the Angela are the friendliest we have ever come across (and that includes 5 star establishments in Mexico and America!) - all you need to do is be polite and you will get whatever service you require.

Yes, the pool is small (it is one of the older hotels in Los Boliches) but it is being up-graded over the winter period. Also, the pool is cleaned EVERY morning before it opens at 9am.

Don't blame the Hotel for the cost of excursions - it you are unwise (a carefully chosen word) enough to book through the Tour operator (presumably Thomsons) before you check with local companies - one of which operates from an office withing 200 mtrs walk of the Hotel - then I'm afraid you only have yourself to blame if you feel ripped off!!

As far as the sunbeds are concerned, there are over 150 available around the Sun Deck, swimming pool and garden area. If these are full, there are very cheap rates available for the 'cabanas' on the beach opposite.

Agreed, the hotel is in need of a face-lift (the rooms have already been upgraded since last year with walk-in showers and FST televisions)but as the hotel is always so popular with it's regulars it need a complete 'closedown' to get the work done - and this is just what is happening between )October '12 and March '13.

Finally, the Restaurant is open from 7.30am to 10.30am for Breakfast and 5.30pm to 9.30pm for Dinner, so again it's not the Hotel's fault that guests choose to go for meals at the same time - apart from having set meal times, what do you expect the Hotel to do about it?

The number of people returning year on year are a testimony to how satisfied the majority of guests are and most of them, I'm sure, will be pleased that those who enjoy moaning will choose not to return - it leaves more space for us!

Graham - Stockport
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: make an effort to engage with the staff, and they will do all they can to make your holiday a happy one.
  • Good For: Beach
by Graham K
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

most boring hotel that I have ever experienced,

"From the moment we arrived ,i knew we had made the wrong choice. the hotel was in such need of refurbishment, so outdated. we have stayed in three star all inclusive hotels and payed less. we feel we have been completely ripped off by what it cost us. the trip to gilbralta 26 euros each, after booking it we noticed that we could of gone for 15 or 16 euros with other companies.

the pool area was awful , we could never get sunbeds, the pool was tatty and very small and poorly matained- never saw it been cleaned once.

the dining room was at a cattle market at times!!, best to go for breakfast at 10 am and evening meal at after 9.30pm. Then in the entertainment room we could never get a seat, the whole experience was a drag!, never thought i would say this about going on holiday but i couldnt wait to get home!!. we go on holiday at least twice a year , but never again to hotel angela fuengirola, AWFUL!!.
"

by kathy123
2 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely hotel, great location, Friendly staff, clean rooms and good choice of food

"Had a great time here with my husband, on our first trip to costa del sol. Hotel right on top of beach, there is a great little cafe on beach.Plenty of shops and bars. Recommend going up the side streets for night out rather than on sea front, some good karoke bars around.We would come again.They also have a new terrace cafe on the first floor which was lovely bright airy with good food and great service. our only moan was the entertainment is catered mainly for over 70! dated. If your over 60 and and like waltz dancing then this is for you.Hotel needs to vary their entertainment for all tastes."

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by sandyelstree
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Angela Hotel

"We have just returned from the Angela Hotel, can not fault this hotel, we went with 2 friends, the location is perfect, the food is buffet style and something to suit all tastes, rooms cleaned to a good standard, the entertainment was good, we will definately return. Our ages range from late 50s to late 60s, the hotel is geared more to our age group rather than for families or younger folk. English TV Channels BBC1 ITV1 and several more english channels."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2011, Half Board, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by 4 wiltshire friends
10 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great

"After reading the reviews was alittle concerned, but on arrival receptionist was helpful. Room was cleam with great seaview. Always plenty of sunbeds, food was great with loads of choices.

If you go to the beach and want sunbeds go to the beach opposite the sister holel Yaramar where you can have 2 sunbeds and a sangria for 5euros for the two!

We didnt really eat out much as we went half board and it was ample for us.

local travel shops are alot cheaper than booking with a rep, we went to Gibralter shopping for a day and it cost 14 euros whereas it you go with the rep it cost 25 euros!

Cigarrettes range between 28 euros and 39 euros,

Take the little train it cost 5euros to go all aroung Fuemgirola and you can get off and one part and get on again with the same ticket in that day.

All in all we had a great time at the Hotel Angela and would reccommend it, although most of them did seem to be over 60 it did not bother us at all.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2010, half board, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by trudi
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

worst holiday in spain ever

"on arrival met by rep full off flue coughing and sneazing over every body water flooding dinning room food was terrabul but the cockroches liked it we both had upset tums for 3 days flue fore 2 weeks 4 days in bed thanks to rep in her words should have stopped at home but cant afford to gala meals a total joke moved tabeles four times fore christmas meal then spit from wife in the end went to indian accross the road best meal of holiday wife then just wanted to go home still not recieved appoligy for this total cock up new years eve got meal but not impessed this holiday was a total wast of £1.800 will never go with thomsons again ps how they rate this hotel as 4 star ??????more like 1"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2009, half board, Booked Independently
  • Advice: stay well clear
  • Good For: Beach
by not pleased from derby
1 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have only just returned from our...

"We have only just returned from our holiday to the Angela Hotel in Fuengirola, but unfortunatily it was not Brilliant. The service was not the problem, ANTS that's the problem, Nightly entertainment yes if you're 70 plus. The air con didn't work very well in tempatures that are reaching 38c. For those of you that read this we really do not enjoy telling you how it really is."

by P  Wimpory
5 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The Hotel Angela is quite good in...

"The Hotel Angela is quite good in most respects, the location is excellent with our (extra cost) full sea view balcony looking right down on the beach road and promenade. Lots of things to look at and the traffic was no bother at all really. Access to the hotel and rooms would be easy for less mobile guests as there are ramps everywhere and even the lift buttons are set lower down, nice touch!

Being early in March the wind was quite keen sometimes and you often needed a sweater in the day-time let alone the evenings. We didn't use the pool (because of the cool wind) but it looked lovely and clean and was presumably heated as some folk were in it for quite a long time. Even this early in the year the most favourably located sun-beds were snapped up early by some die-hards, lying there in their coats and scarves! The guests were mostly quite elderly, although generally of good humour and several seemed to have been there many times before.

Our room was neatly furnished and had air-con/heating if you needed either and was kept reasonably clean, apart from under the beds which looked as though they hadn't been swept for days. Towels were changed every day even if you chose to save the planet, as requested by a notice in the well-equipped bathroom. Hot water was noticable by its absence at some points during the day, around 9-10 am and 5-6 pm seemed to be the critical times. Coffee and tea in the room was replaced each day as was the shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom. The bedroom had an electronic safe which was free of charge. We didn't use the locked mini-bar so no comment on that.

Now the down side - the food! There was plenty of it but we both thought that it was absolutely tasteless. There was (allegedly) beef which they called veal or ox, pork, chicken and turkey on varying days but they were all quite tough and all tasted pretty much the same. One thing you could taste was the salt; whatever happened to herbs and spices? As for serving fillet of sole in gravy, come on...! On one occaision a curry was on offer, well it looked like curry but that's as far as it went. There were loads of hors d'houvres type salads (which were the same every day) and fruit, most of which was tinned with a couple of fresh choices, notably melon and pineapple. The vegetables were an absolute disaster! I have never seen so many tinned carrots, tinned mushrooms, tinned runner beans, tinned everything; they even served Smash type mashed potatoes!

But it's not all bad news! We found an absolutely delightful little bar/restaurant run by a charming and helpful English couple, Neil and Louise. The Hacienda Bar/Restaurant is on the Paseo Maritimo (the sea-front road) pretty much opposite the harbour entrance and breakwater. Give them a try, they serve good wholesome TASTY food and drink at reasonable prices, the tables are clean and the chairs comfortable - they deserve to do well.

That's pretty much it, we are not moaners but we have been all over the world and have stayed in all sorts of hotels and apartments so we think we know what we're talking about. Two further points. First, in our opinion the 'free' Blanket trip is a total waste of a day and second, the day-long trip to Gibraltar and the World War 2 tunnels should not be missed. (For the smokers among you, a packet of 20, yes 20, cigarettes at Fleet services on the M3 cost £5.17 more than the same product in Gibraltar!!!)

Finally, credit where credit is due, the Angela, in our opinion, is generally a good hotel badly let down by the mundane and tasteless food
"

by DM Barker
8 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have just returned from a week at...

"We have just returned from a week at the Angela Hotel.

The hotel was very well located for the beach. The room was very clean and the maid service first class. The food was plentiful but of average quality (especially the red meat dishes). The room has good air con and a fridge (15Euro a week). Nice bath/shower too.

It was quite noisy (outside in the street) from 7am to midnight.

The pool is small and has very few sun beds (about 20) this caused some friction. More sunbeds in the garden and sun terrace.

The hotel was built in 1973 and has had 2 refurbs but it really needs another one ASAP.

The entertainment was excellent 2 shows a night and a late disco.

Mainly elderly guests but some young couples too (no kids thank God!).

We would go back again if persuaded. I gave it a 3 star+ rating.

It took us over an hour from the airport and the roads/drivers are quite mad.
"

by R L Grimley
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just back from a week at the Angela...

"Just back from a week at the Angela hotel. Nothing very exciting to say about this hotel although seems to appeal to the disabled and elderly. Clash of zimmer frames at 9am prompt for sunbeds around the pool. Had to wait until nearly midday for sun on unattractive upper terrace but this did not deter people from lying in shade for 2-3hrs presumably having got up for the 9am dash and missed out on the pool area. Probably better to pay up and use sunbeds on beach - 4.5 euros.

Food ok but atmosphere slightly dreary so opted to eat out for all meals as many good local restaurants. As we left a family with teenagers had just arrived but was trying to arrange alternative accommodation as the Angela was "not for them". Sorry but not for us either!
"

by nej
5 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very impressed with the hotel and its...

"Very impressed with the hotel and its location, not intended for children. The atmosphere is very relaxing for the more 'mature' holiday-maker.

The cleanliness, food and location are all excellent, during our stay the Angela had 3 happy-hours a day, not bad at all.

We chose a winter break, although pleasantly warm [60ish] during daylight it can turn cold in the shade & evenings with a sneaky wind. Cross your fingers for a south facing room in winter.

Avoid Time-share touts by either splitting up as they approach or answering them like an American or German, they only target British, the Africans selling belts, watches, Cd's DVDs etc are plentiful but not pushy.

For sight-seeing, have a variety of trips for free! go on the Blanket trips, endure a 45 minute sales pitch, no pressure at all, and a nice day out, total cost is a mid-day meal. Plus they pick up at the hotel.

The train is easy & cheap, Tivoli park & ski lift are by the station round the next bay, you can't go wrong when returning from a day out, only one line and Fuengirola is the end of the line. Noddy train by the harbour is a bit of a dead loss, but do visit the zoo, its unique and very photogenic.

Dont miss the two big Fuengirola markets near to the hotel, but watch your purse, there are pick-pockets about.

There is noise around 5am each morning, refuse men and street cleaning, but the resort is very clean & tidy as a result.

To sum up, I would choose the Angela were I to return to the Costa Del Sol, as many do, but would avoid high season as I imagine street noise would be intolerable.

There are plans in 2007 to introduce a single occupancy supplement which many re-visiting guests are up in arms about, it may or may not be implemented
"

by John Holmes
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Angela Hotel Closest airport: Malaga (AGP) 10.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Angela Hotel
  • by 4 wiltshire friends

    " Bus ride from Bus Station 1 euro 25 each way to Mijas ten minute bus journey, lovely Spanish village, stunning views of Fueringorolo. "

  • by sandyelstree

    " Take a trip to rock of gilbraltor, Brilliant day out.And talk to the reps ( very helpful) "

Similar hotels around Fuengirola

Hotels near Angela Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Angela Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Angela Hotel? Share your insight.

Angela Hotel is also called:

  • angela fuengirola
  • angela hotel fuengirola
  • hotel angela
  • hotel angela fuengirola

Address: Calle Jaen 2 Paseo Rey de Espana, Fuengirola 29640, Spain