Hotel Taurito Princess

Playa De Taurito, GC-500 Mogán, Gran Canaria 35138, Spain
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(80 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
41
Good
26
Average
8
Poor
2
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel Taurito Princess

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 37 »
TAKE NO NOTICE OF NEGATIVE REVIEWS

"W E STAYED AT The Taurito Princess for 21 nights the reason we stayed there was we couldn't get into the the Suite Princess where we have stayed 5 times we were nervous because of the negative reviews at the Taurito Princess but all unjustified we had a STUNNING TIME.

THE FOOD : Hot varied fresh something for everybody excellent value for money.

THE ROOM : Very clean linen changed regularly .

BATHROOM : Excellent Shower very clean

Balcony : Table chairs covered in balcony swept cleaned every day

HOUSE KEEPING :The Room was serviced every day to a high standard we requested extra they arrived straight away.

The Pool Area :To a very high standard very clean kept tidy through the day There is a sun terrace away from the pool area it gets the sun allday

very quiet if you want to sit read and be anti social

ENTERTAINMENT SHOWS ETC:Not our thing so couldn't comment.

THE RESTAURANT;Ran to a very high standard very clean tidy tables laid very nicely

THE BARS;Well run plenty off staff .

Pool Bar :Well run .

LUNCH RESTAURANT :Very nice clean

STAFF :Very nice helpful nothing to much trouble

RECEPTION :Excellent setup WI-FI for us very helpful nothing too much trouble.

THOMPSON REP ;The Thomson rep was the same lady we had at THE SUITE PRINCESS last year EXCELLENT LADY AS ALWAYS.

We had a lovely holiday VALUE FOR MONEY THERE IS NO REASON WHY WE WOULD NOT GO BACK .
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2013
  • Advice: Take NO NOTICE OF THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS go with an OPEN MIND
by CMB
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

does what it says on the tin

"returned on 21st may 2011 had a fantastic week here with my hubby both in our sixty's the hotel rooms and views did not dissapoint the staff were always ready to help or advise plenty of room on the sunbeds with wall to wall sunshine all week. the food was very good with something for everyone the bus service a short walk from hotel was very good but taxis cheap too a visit to mogan is a must so pretty would recomend this hotel and resort for anyone wanting a quiet holiday but also families as the lido in the centre of the resort has every thing for kids and adults alike will definatley be returning"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: find out as much information as possible not a resort with pubs or noisy bars
  • Good For: Beach
by iki kath
8 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

paradise

"hi stayed in the taurito princess with my wife and two teenager girls 19, 15, its our second visit went last july and just got back on 24/05/11 great weather 32c all burnt so be careful w all used at least factor 15 any way hotel is large clean all the staff are happy to see previous visitors again we had a bottle of wine left in our room every day from the manger as well as fresh fruit and chocolates dont know why we got this but it was a real nice of them the rooms are quite big we had two rooms buy the way the wine was left for our girls as well they were well impressed with the manager very clean our rooms had just been painted it was lovely and clean also the bathroom was clean bat with shower over it no bidget also a toilet the maid was spot on she did a great job. the restaurante very clean all staff spot on loads of food always something to eat whole salmons poached, chickens ,lamb ,beef,loads of salads ,pastas,pizzas, smoked salmons for breakfast full english nuts seeds yogs the lot,pool bars serves chips salads fresh pineapples melons anything you want,piano bar great staff drinks spot on clean but gonzalis is terrible ,princess club entertainment staff spot on great laugh but some of the entertainment iwas a bit naff but its like the all over three lifts holding up to 13 people the beech is 25 meters away its dark sand and it gets really hot so take flip flops, we went on the jet skis its 30 euro for 15 mins,50 euros for 30 mins we chated with them a couple of times and we got on for 20 euros for 30 mins because it was early in the morning so chat and be nice get a discount and the another day we got on for 25 euros for 45 mins late afternoon we showed intrest in going on the parasending this helps with the discount but we never did it its 100 euros for that and 10e for people to watch from the boat so it would have cost 130 euros for twenty mins also theres a huge lido 14 euros to get in loads of sldes etc we hired a car at the airport it was cheaper than the bus tranfers we always do this you will need a car because the resort is small great for one week but a car needed for two weeks

we stayed with thomson hayley is great big and bubbly always smileing we were leaving just as the ash cloud was covering scotland so we just got back to newcastle in time would we go again hell yes one down side to this holiday we all put on weight i gained 10 pounds so thats about it i am just checking the prices now to get back in september time fingers crossed hope this helps people ps there is the suite princess you can go in also mogan princess but this is closed for refurb we think
"

  • Holiday details: May 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: you must hire a car
  • Good For: Beach
by clio172
7 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just passable.

"We stayed at the Taurito Princess 27.11.10 to 4.12.10. We have stayed at the Fuencaliente Princess on Palma 3 times but unfortunately the Taurito Princess does not come close to it in terms of quality.

The hotel is in the best spot of the resort and has pleasant but small gardens (see pictures). Apart from the lobby area the rest of the hotel is getting tired, run down and in need of some decoration and refurbishment. It certainly does not merit a 4 star rating.

Apart from one day when we had a great storm, the weather was mainly hot and sunny.

Whilst in the resort we spent an hour or so in the Morgan Princess. It is part of the same hotel chain and is more modern. However, if you are considering it you should be aware it gets no sun until lunchtime and the road leading to it is in such a poor state of repair it would be hazardous at night.

Good Points:

Friendly and helpful staff.

One of the two swimming pools is heated in winter months.

The food was reasonable and there was a good choice. However, all the veg was overcooked.

Range of All Inclusive drinks not too bad.

Loads of sun-beds although some people still feel the need to get up and put their towels on the best ones at 7am.

All rooms have a sea view.

Bad Points:

When it rains the water comes through the ceilings in various parts of the hotel. We were on the top floor so we had water dripping into our room. Also around the staircase, lift areas and reception. This made the marble floor very slippery.

Air conditioning very poor making it difficult to sleep in the heat.

Be prepared to wait a long time for the lifts.

No gym.

Very poor quality entertainment and no quiet areas were you can get away from the terrible music and singer they have in the piano bar each night.

Apart from the female member of the animation team who does the archery and riffle shooting, the rest of the team were lacking in enthusiasm, charisma and ability.

The free bus into Porto Morgan only runs once a day.
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Portland Direct
  • Advice: I'm sure you could fine a lot better.
by Jeffo
5 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Paradise

"we have just come back after a week at this hotel,i can't see why anyone would complain about this hotel. if i had to make a complaint it would be the air conditioning needs to be look into. the food was brilliant, weather out of this world, drinks very good entertainment fun. met a very good couple, that on our last ay gave up their sun beds up for us very thankfull to them. enjoyed the holiday so much we are off back in march 2011. nce you have been here you wont want to go anywhere else. all in all i would sum up with one word paradise."

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Portland Direct
  • Advice: yes
  • Good For: Beach
by Paul & Lyn
10 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic hotel and weather but ..........

"on 1st impressions this hotel looks snd is beautiful. the rooms are clean and spacious, the pool is gorgeous, but you have to be there early to get a sunbed and parasol.the pool bar is great and the girl behind the bar is really pleasant and friendly. the weather is fantastic-mid 30's to 40's all week! on the downside the food is edible(we never went hungry) but pretty basic and repetetive, same stuff on main buffet all week. The small themed area of the buffet did change every night, the mexican night was the one time we could say the food was fantastic. the daytime entertainment was ok if you wanted to participte, the night time was dreadful. kids stuff went on til 10 then it was the adults turn- what a joke. the only decent band was 'the tramps'-they were relly good. other than that we were in bed by 10-11 as there was nothing worth staying up for.also all inclusive drinks bit odd- all served in small plastic beakers and no bottled water. wish we'd stayed in puerto morgan-beautiful, loads of bars and restaurants. in all a lovely holiday marred by lack of entertaiment."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: only go to this hotel if you want a really quiet holiday
by debbie
7 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Disappointing

"Me and my partner (Early 20's) have just returned from our 2 week stay at the Taurito Princess.

overall we were quite disappoitned, The food wasnt great, Alot of fish which we disliked. Lots of variety of food but the quality was not to a 4* standard.

The hotel needed modernising and our room was not cleaned once in the 2 weeks we were there, the sheets were changed on a wednesday.

Lamps needed new bulbs and the t.v did not work. Night time entertainment for children was good but adult entertainment didnt start until 10pm and was quite repetetitive each night, alot of dancing and circus acts. The pool area was lovely although you did have to get up early to get a sunbed. In a few reviews i read no inflatables in the pool, we had a rubber ring which we were allowed in the pool and lots of children had other toys.

If you have young children, request to have a room on a low floor as the lifts are very unreliable!!

We found that there were not many British people there, mainly German.

We felt we were in the middle of no where, not many shops around, you have to get buses or taxi's everywhere. We went to Mogan on a Friday for the weekly market which wasnt very impressive, it was very busy and the stall owners were quite rude! We bought a few souveniers, Bracelets etc. Lots of Rip off T-shirts (Dolce & Banana)

We has a great holiday due to friends we made, and a free bar!

Bar staff were very friendly, as were the restaurant staff. Our Thomson rep (Gemma) Was always there if we had anything to ask. We went on the 4X4 Trip which was a good day out, If you are scared of heights this trip is not for you!!!!

On a good note the weather was FANTASTIC!!! There was a heatwave whilst we were there, 47 degrees towards the end of our 2nd week. definatley needed our factor 30!

And finally for the men that dont know, you need long trousers to wear at dinner, no 3/4 lengths, you will be turned away if they are not full leg.

I hope my review helped!
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach
by glew42
5 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

sensational

"fantastic 2 weeks will definitly go again food was top class besides the usual top quality there was also a theme each night eg mexico,china etc lunchtime meals were full range including good selection of sweets.freshly cooked full english every morning.couldn't fault anything in resturant.evening entertainment was pretty good,piano bar was also good entertainment,8-midnight with a good range of music to please everyone.beach is nice and sandy(don't know why it's advertised as shingle & sand)anyone who likes snorkeling will be made up on the right side of beach there are rocks and fish are brightly coloured,take a bit of bread in a plastic bag and you'll be well pleased.hotel is really spacious large balconys on most rooms.back to the food meats available were beef,pork,(steaks & sliced)chicken cooked in various ways,rabbit and turkey.fish of the day plus whole salmon,mussells and shrimps & prawns."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Portland Direct
  • Good For: Beach
by tscrivens
10 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A QUIET GET AWAY

"Just returned from a one week stay, and very much enjoyed it. Hotel was very clean, rooms cleaned daily. Food so much of it, and something for everyone. Beautiful view from the balconys, and the night entertainment was passable. If your looking for a quiet get away, somewhere to just relax then this is the place. Before you travel and your a CAT LOVER, then remember to pack some cat food and biscuits. There are 7 cats that sit on the bridge just outside the hotel, and besides most people feeding them titbits from the hotel, they really love their own cat food. This is highlight to our hoilday, feeding them and watching their tummys fill. If your a animal lover then you will understand. Overall a great place in the sun. The only downfall the flight and the hour coach ride from their airport to the hotel"

  • Holiday details: May 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by sarah71
10 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

OMG this like was the BEST!!!

"this was the best holiday I've ever had!!!!

my daughter (12) had sooo much fun and made alot of great friends!! the enterttainment was veri enterttaining (obviously) and it varied from night 2 nite X

the rooms were quite small but very nice and clean. the pools were a nice size and varied in temprature! the activitys were good but some of the stuff like archery you had 2 be over 16...

the food was awesome and You didnt have too que at all!! =]]

its not TOO big but not TOO small and its situated in a very peacefall and gorgus area!!!

all the staff are incredibly friendly and all spoken almost perfet english.

i would recomendd this to anyone with a family, teenagers, young children singles couples... anyone!!! this was the best holiday EVER!!!!!!!

GO THERE!!!!!! X

p.s: i wouldnt recomend the wata park trip ... its kinda a waste of money but it was funn i spose.... the ques are too long and the rides go quickly and the ques really are MASSIVEEEE
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2008, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: loved it!!!!!!!! so pretti and fun!!!
  • Activities: the market trip X
  • Good For: Beach
by niamh_33
10 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Christmas 08 at Taurito Princess

"We arrived on 22 Dec for 1 week. We have 3 children aged 4, 3 & 1 yrs old. Our transfer coach from the airport to the hotel broke down, so we had to wait an hour for the replacement coach!.

The hotel was clean and we had an adjoining bedroom with the kids which was a very good size and cleaned daily. We were on the 10th floor, so had to use he lifts for the pushchair and had to wait nearly every time, as lazy people called the lifts from the 1st & 2nd floors !!

The food was the same every night, it was fine but nothing special.

The gala Christmas dinner was bizarre...the waiters served to the tables rather than the usual evening buffet.

The kids had a massive plate of Spagetti bolognese followed by half a roast chicken & chips for main, then a sickly chocolate slice for pudding....all of this took around 2 hours to serve. They were definetly under staffed for the night, the kids were climbing the walls by the end of it.

The evening entertainment was boring, the kids disco wasn't til 8.30pm, only for 20 minutes, not really worth keeping young kids awake for. Adult entertainment didn't start til 10pm and was rubbish. The all inclusive wine/cava was horrible.

Most of the guests are pensioners and quite miserable. We definelty wouldn't return here, it was quite a depressing place especially around Christmas which should be a fun time !.

No where to walk so pretty much confined to the hotel unless paying out for taxi/bus else where!
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2008, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Would suit the over 60's.
by emma.couling
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

10/10 FANTASTIC HOTEL

"me my husband my son his fiance and there two children aged four months and seven years holidayed at the taurito princess on the 9th of october this year and had a fantastic holiday the hotel was spotless staff were very friendly and helpfull the food was fantastic pool brilliant plenty of sunbeds the entertainment was not brilliant for the children but they had an exellent time would recomend this holiday to anyone me and my husband are booking again for next year as its his sixtyth birthday in october also the weather was amazing red hot just what you want on your holiday mrs webb from swinton south yorkshire"

by REAGYROO
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 37 »

Explore area

Map for Hotel Taurito Princess Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 24 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hotel Taurito Princess
  • by sarah71

    " friday market at mogan, and always barter for the best deals "

  • by tscrivens

    " must go to mogan on the free bus,palmino park is a good day out but get a packed lunch from hotel, "

Similar hotels around Playa Taurito

Hotels near Hotel Taurito Princess

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel Taurito Princess?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel Taurito Princess? Share your insight.

Hotel Taurito Princess is also called:

  • Balcon De Taurito Apartments
  • Playa Taurito Princess Hotel
  • princess hotel taurito
  • taurito princess
  • taurito princess gran canaria

Address: Playa De Taurito, GC-500 Mogán, Gran Canaria 35138, Spain