Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship

, Thomson Cruises
hotel photo
Check the latest prices for this cruise
Show Prices
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 312 »
FAB MAJESTY

"Thumbs up Majesty 3rd oct to 17th oct 2014

Just returned from the Majesty:

Absolutely great cruise, really struggle to find any negatives.

review as follows

Cabin 428: Perfect (see Cruisin Linda was next door our week two). Plenty of room and looked after by the housekeeping team Joceryn/Margo.

The team: good to see some well known faces. Rose (know you now have link to the forum so safe journey home in November (see you next year) (from your friends from Scotland (Molly will miss helping you in Roundevouz)), Achuii, Brian (now promoted and heading home in two weeks, but back next year), JD (starman), Grace, Jun, Susu, Chen, Melvin and the boys in the bar of roundevouz you all made our holiday extra special. Delboy/Bien in Seven Seas, Leroy for getting us at table each evening and Matu who went the extra mile in Cafe Royale.

Restaurant: Seven Seas really good (we ate there most evenings, only one night we had an issue and Delboy/Bien fixed us out. Wine water Raymond made sure we were well topped up. House wines fine. San Marco has made a big difference (still could be slightly hotter). Cafe Royale also much better.

Bar: Further to earlier post (its not Mythos or San Miguel (although they use the tumblers branded by San Miguel). Lager is Magnos Majiester (its drinkable but better in a Glass tumbler), all branded spirits good and you now get glass of soft drinks. If you want a good brand of tonic ask for slimline its Schweppes. Not problem getting served.

Entertainment: Best yet, Muzzik Unlimited absolutely fabulous. Rhythm of three also very good. show team also excellent. Our little girl went to stage school, great value (£35 for almost 7 hours). Big thanks to the girls in kids club, who made our little girls holiday special.

Ship: Well maintained, kept very clean and tidy and have to say struggle to see how folks have any complaints.

Ports of call good and weather was exceptional. Booked for next year, be interesting seeing Albania. Also will be interested in how the slots work for Venice next year. (Ship not docking there this week, everyone getting bused into Venice and that means no sail away down Grand Canal. Not as much hassle in Kusadasi as its starting to get ready for winter (was much easier to haggle).
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2014
  • Advice: DECK FOUR GOOD FOR CABIN IN CENTER 428
by FIFE1
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Very picturesque cruise

"Just back from Adriatic cruise on Thomson Majesty. Loved every bit of this cruise from start to finish. All the staff on the ship work very hard to keep it clean , bar staff in the Polo lounge are great fun. Food was okay not as good as on the Spirit ship, but having said that everything was hot well presented and enjoyable. There were photographers everywhere, but that's up to you if I you want to buy them. What I would say is that on this Adriatic Explorer it would be best to gate a cabin with window, as sights in the early morning are exceptional.

Go and enjoy it's fab.
"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book middle floors outside cabins plus.
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by Vivento
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Worst cruise ever

"We have been on cruises with Thomson before on both the Celebration & the Spirit, and have really enjoyed both ships, but the Thomson Majesty was the worst ship we have had the unfortunate experience of being on.This ship is supposed to have had a refurbishment- where?. We booked a deluxe cabin on deck 6, the cabin was disgusting, drawer fronts did not fit or close properly , air con broken, could not turn off and it was really cold all night, sink had been painted but it peeled off when my husband had a wash or shave, not very nice., but to top it all we did not have any hot water for 3 days so had to boil the tiny kettle to have a wash, could not have a shower. It took 4 Days to sort out, we were only on it for a week thank god. Strong smell of sewage in corridor on way to our cabin also. Food lukewarm and badly cooked.

Thomson should really listen to the complaints from it's customers because without them your ships would be empty, after all we have first class experience of our complaints and expect a lot higher standard from such a company.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Better maintenance
by J Taylor
1 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Another fabulous cruise on the Majesty.

"After returning from our cruise in June this year we decided to book again for the year after...however we ended up booking for two months later and we have recently returned from cruise number two on the majesty and yet again we were not disappointed.

As per the last time our transition from the flight to our cabin was seamless, our bags were first off the plane so we were off onto the coach to the ship. Check-in was quick and easy. Make sure you are photograph ready as soon as you've checked in photograph time (whether you want it or not).

On our previous cruise we were in room 907 which was a lovely spacious suite. This time were were in cabin 4056, an inside plus cabin. The cabin was kept perfectly clean by Anna and Nouby our housekeepers who were lovely. I stayed in the room with my parents and we all agreed that it was too small for three adults.

The entertainment on the ship was poor and and very cheap looking, however the staff talent show was fabulous and must be watched. We were supporting our the brilliant JD.

The food this time was not as good but still lovely, for breakfast and lunch we ate at cafe royal as the atmosphere was much more relaxed however at evenings we ate at Seven Seas. We had the same table reserved for us every night by our brilliant waiters Amro and Mohammed. All week they looked after us and made sure my dad was catered for as he has a gluten intolerance. We can not thank them enough for the fabulous service they provided and thank you to Raymond our wine waiter!

After dinner we always resided on deck 10, the atmosphere up there at night is very relaxed and its a good place to make friends. Our experience was made better by Aya a waitress on top deck and JD the bartender at the pool bar, both Aya and JD are hilarious and provided us with entertainment every night.

JD is a fabulous magician!

The excursions provided by Thom sons are expensive and seemed to be rushed I would not recommend going on them.

Our itinerary was Aegean Classics we visited some lovely places with Athens and Bodrum being the best.

We had a taxi tour around Athens which we organized ourselves - well worth it! We had an amazing day!

Due to the time of our visit there were lots of children on the ship but by evening most children had gone to bed.

We really enjoyed our holiday on the Majesty - yes the ship is looking tired but if you can see past this then I'm sure you will have a fabulous time.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014
  • Advice: Savour every moment and do your own trips!
by cruiser9320
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

adriatic explorer

"We gave 10/10 for this ship last year and felt very let down this year!the ship was out of commission for 3 months earlier this year for refurbishment.

We had an outside plus cabin on deck 6.We had diesel fumes coming into the cabin through the air con.After arguing the toss with at least 4 crew members it was eventually fixed! I don't know if any other passengers on deck six had the same problem- but it needs sorting!!! Diesel fumes are toxic, and Thomson you will have fatalities!! my wife and son are both asthmatic, so it was not very nice for them.Also the cabins were done out??? All the mattresses on the bunks were a foot too short-no kidding

Tea/coffee makers in cabin-you had to pay £1.90 for your water! the piazza restaurant was enclosed-very nice- except all

the chairs were designed for midgets. I'm 5-10" and I had a job getting up and down.The guides on the trips think you are all teenagers and rush you round so you cannot enjoy the sights for fear of losing your group. All the guides say "we will have a nice easy walk" Well I'm not used to marching especially in 35-37 degree heat!On the plus side the crew members from last year were fantastic-not so the new ones.WE do not like having plates/cups taken away whilst still dining!Also we do not think half of them spoke English.WE thought the Postojna caves were brilliant-though the castle is only a photo stop-very scenic. We would all do this one again-been in caves before,never like this marvelous!!!Plitvice lakes is another wonder- but again rushed.Venice was ruined by arguments over the gondolas.The guide left us and we got lost-forgot to pick up a map on ship.We had a nice easy trip to Konavle a water mill in the woods and mountains.Made sure we bought some local wine.Montenegro-what can you say? the whole ship must have got up early to film/photograph the fjord-really,really worth it.All the Slavic people are very nice and all speak English.The scenery on this trip made up for some of the downs.If I were a schoolmaster I would put Thomson must do better-in fact CAN do better!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Forgot to mention the shows were excellent.
by Robert T
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Terrible cruise

"After two lovely cruises on the Dream and Celebration this one was awful. Check in was a shambles and the girl who showed us to our cabin was surly and unwelcoming. The cabin was like a prison cell. The shower didn't work and was reported. It took four days before anything was done. The cabin smell of diesel as did the decks.the staff were very unfriendly apart from the ones from the Philippines. One waiter was down right rude, it was reported but nothing done about it. The food quality was very poor and lukewarm. The decor was shabby and the seating uncomfortable. The atmosphere on board was negative and unfriendly. But.. the entertainment team did a fantastic job. The housekeeping staff kept the cabins immaculate but you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear! I would not advise anyone to holiday on this ship. Get everyone off and then sink it because the bottom of the ocean is the best place for this wreck."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014
  • Advice: avoid at all costs
by Mrs. Jackson
1 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Was I on the same ship as previous reviewers?

"Ports of call were all interesting but the timings were a complete mystery !!! 12 hours in a port you could see in 1 hour and yet vastly reduced time in Venice where there was lots to see. I have to presume this also was about costs and berthing charges -- not acceptable.

The cabin was comfortable and the air conditioning worked fine, if not a bit too cool at times.

The food in the main dining rooms was sparse, served quickly and removed even more quickly -- the impression was you were on a conveyer and now was the time to get off. Which is why a good number of extremely 'large' people went up to deck 10 and had 2 or 3 breakfasts, lunches and dinners, no wonder the NHS has to cater for obese people.

The drinks in all bars had hugely inflated prices and I was tempted to test the strength of the spirits when I got back. Waiting staff seemed on a mission to sell sell sell.

The shows were very amateur and really not up to par as far as I was concerned.

Lastly the issues surrounding "disabled" people ( who actually wasn't disabled) a woman who boarded at Leeds and had the obligatory collapsible walking stick, seemed to always be at the front of all queues without the aid of her appliance on board the ship. 4 inch stilettos and the acceleration of a Ferrari on board were reduced to crawl when boarding bus's and aircraft - disgraceful.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: finbd another cruise line
by Adrian B
4 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Agean Classics - Another first class experience!

"We had such an amazing holiday on this ship last year that we decided to return! We stayed in a cabin on Deck 3, which was spacious with plenty of wardrobe space, tea/coffee facilities, fridge, flat screen TV and a hairdryer. A faulty bulb in the bathroom was changed within an hour.The cabin was spotless and remained so for the duration of the cruise. Attention to detail was excellent. The standard of cleanliness/hygiene throughout the ship was superb. The quality, range and presentation of food was first class. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. A talented entertainment team provided first class entertainment. The range of trips on offer were well organized with knowledgeable guides ensuring that each trip was informative and memorable.Sun beds were in plentiful supply on board ship. Our second visit on board the Majesty didn't disappoint and we shall definitely return!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Take advantage of the range of organised tours available in order to experience a taste of different cultures. Cycle tours available for the more adventurous clientele!
by Fletch89
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice cruise, but...

"We had planned the cruise (Adriatic Explorer) celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary.

Thomson Majesty was the ship. A cruise consists of 2 things: the ports of call and the ship. Adriatic is a great choice to sail in tranquil waters and ports close to each other so you don't spend your time sailing. The ports (destination towns) very similar (except of Corfu and Venice) but Dubrovnik a steo forward. Scheduling the route was a little problematic, as we had to sail away from Venice at 5 pm! Life on board well planned and entertainment of good quality.

The ship a little old (1992) but meeting most of standards.

Except of one.

Cabin air conditioning.

When we entered our cabin (6027) it was freezing cold. We were told that the previous passenger wanted that way and they will “fix” it. We had to spend the night in that cold cabin and the next “afternoon” the technicians couldn't “fix” it. So they had to disconnect the A/C from the thermostat, letting us for the next 5 days WITH NO A/C.

Thank you Thomson Majesty.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book for your dinners in "Seven Seas",
by Stepan P
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First cruise and will be back

"Just returned from our first cruise, the Adriatic Explorer. We had an outside plus cabin on deck 3 which, though small for a family of four, served our purposes and didn't mar our enjoyment of the cruise. The cabin stewards (Angela and Med) could not do enough for us and dealt with any queries with the maximum responsiveness and efficiency. The daily pool towel animals they left were a nice touch too.

We tended to eat in the buffet restaurants, as it's easier to find something for the whole family and could not find any problems at all. Others have said they found the food to be not hot enough but that certainly wasn't the case with us. The bar staff and waiters were all first class and we even tipped a couple of them for outstanding service.

The entertainment was also top notch from the cruise director downwards. There is no way you could get bored on a Thomson cruise ship as there is always something happening. All of the entertainments crew very friendly and sociable and, again, couldn't do enough for you. We generally spent our evenings doing the quizzes (always a good laugh), then either the game show or one of the shows in the Jubilee Lounge.

The choice of ports to call at was also really good with perhaps the exception of Koper in Slovenia. Unfortunately, it was a Sunday when we called there and not a lot was open. Venice, Zadar and Dubrovnik were all magnificent but, for me, the best call was Kotor in Montenegro - an absolutely stunning harbor and the sail in was truly magnificent. I don't think I've ever seen a more naturally beautiful place.

All in all, a fantastic cruise for our first one and we have already booked our second for next April.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, booked with Planet Cruise
  • Advice: Book a plus cabin if you can - the extra space is worth it.
by Barry P
9 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Adriatic Explorer - First Cruise - can't wait for the next

"Our first cruise and will not be our last.

Yes the ship is quite old now but everything was clean and tidy. Food very good and plentiful. Drinks package booked early was fantastic value.

Mainly ate in Seven Seas. Rock and Matt were fantastic as was our wine waiter Sanjeev. They made every meal special!

We did an excursion every day, enjoying Lake Bled in Slovenia, Zadar in Croatia where we had excellent guides. Our personal favorite however was Kotor in Montenegro, the sail in and out is not to be missed.

Evening entertainment was excellent. The trick is to eat at 6.15-6.30 and afterwards go straight into theater to get a seat

Yes Corfu Airport leaves a lot to be desired but the lasting memories will be of the great time we had on this amazing holiday.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Savour evry moment, it goes too quickly
by Bob H
9 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Majesty 4/7/14

"Just got back from a week on Majesty

Fantastic holiday staff extremely helpful..food a little cool for my liking but that's personal choice,

The ship is great and the shows first class.

The only downside was ..the cabins on deck 3 are rather small and not enough wardrobe space...but after all you don't spend your days in the cabin.

You sleep in it and get showered and changed...excellent shower

So don't worry about some of the reviews ...but ...we are all entitled to our own opinion

I thoroughly enjoyed it ..

Jean clover
"

by JeannieC
9 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 312 »

Average rating

7 / 10
(135 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
66
Good
29
Average
9
Poor
14
Awful
17

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 8.5/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Need a hotel before or after your Thomson Majesty cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Top traveller tips for Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship
  • by Linbob

    " Try to dine around 7.30pm then you wont have to wait on a table. "

  • by Andy Mills

    " If you like a drink, buy the drinks package. You will save a fortune "

  • by Amanda1

    " eat in self service restaurant food was better there "

  • by Jordane Keddie

    " Get round everything on the ship. If you are not a big walker, take advantage of all the things happening on the ship. Check the Cruise News for times and places of fun activities! "

  • by Terry Kershaw

    " Plan to eat before 7.30 if you want to miss the que at the 7 Seas restaurant. "

  • by EddieC

    " get into dining room before 7 45 and get to theatre after dinner to get a seat "

  • by Mull

    " Eat in the Four Seasons and sunbathe on Deck 9 as Deck 10 gets too busy. "

  • by d kilbee

    " Get on level 6 or above cabin mid ships to keep engine noise levels to minimum. "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship? Share your insight.