Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship

, Thomson Cruises
hotel photo
Check the latest prices for this cruise
Show Prices
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 312 »
Worst cruise ever

"We have been on cruises with Thomson before on both the Celebration & the Spirit, and have really enjoyed both ships, but the Thomson Majesty was the worst ship we have had the unfortunate experience of being on.This ship is supposed to have had a refurbishment- where?. We booked a deluxe cabin on deck 6, the cabin was disgusting, drawer fronts did not fit or close properly , air con broken, could not turn off and it was really cold all night, sink had been painted but it peeled off when my husband had a wash or shave, not very nice., but to top it all we did not have any hot water for 3 days so had to boil the tiny kettle to have a wash, could not have a shower. It took 4 Days to sort out, we were only on it for a week thank god. Strong smell of sewage in corridor on way to our cabin also. Food lukewarm and badly cooked.

Thomson should really listen to the complaints from it's customers because without them your ships would be empty, after all we have first class experience of our complaints and expect a lot higher standard from such a company.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Better maintenance
by J Taylor
1 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Another fabulous cruise on the Majesty.

"After returning from our cruise in June this year we decided to book again for the year after...however we ended up booking for two months later and we have recently returned from cruise number two on the majesty and yet again we were not disappointed.

As per the last time our transition from the flight to our cabin was seamless, our bags were first off the plane so we were off onto the coach to the ship. Check-in was quick and easy. Make sure you are photograph ready as soon as you've checked in photograph time (whether you want it or not).

On our previous cruise we were in room 907 which was a lovely spacious suite. This time were were in cabin 4056, an inside plus cabin. The cabin was kept perfectly clean by Anna and Nouby our housekeepers who were lovely. I stayed in the room with my parents and we all agreed that it was too small for three adults.

The entertainment on the ship was poor and and very cheap looking, however the staff talent show was fabulous and must be watched. We were supporting our the brilliant JD.

The food this time was not as good but still lovely, for breakfast and lunch we ate at cafe royal as the atmosphere was much more relaxed however at evenings we ate at Seven Seas. We had the same table reserved for us every night by our brilliant waiters Amro and Mohammed. All week they looked after us and made sure my dad was catered for as he has a gluten intolerance. We can not thank them enough for the fabulous service they provided and thank you to Raymond our wine waiter!

After dinner we always resided on deck 10, the atmosphere up there at night is very relaxed and its a good place to make friends. Our experience was made better by Aya a waitress on top deck and JD the bartender at the pool bar, both Aya and JD are hilarious and provided us with entertainment every night.

JD is a fabulous magician!

The excursions provided by Thom sons are expensive and seemed to be rushed I would not recommend going on them.

Our itinerary was Aegean Classics we visited some lovely places with Athens and Bodrum being the best.

We had a taxi tour around Athens which we organized ourselves - well worth it! We had an amazing day!

Due to the time of our visit there were lots of children on the ship but by evening most children had gone to bed.

We really enjoyed our holiday on the Majesty - yes the ship is looking tired but if you can see past this then I'm sure you will have a fabulous time.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014
  • Advice: Savour every moment and do your own trips!
by cruiser9320
9 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

adriatic explorer

"We gave 10/10 for this ship last year and felt very let down this year!the ship was out of commission for 3 months earlier this year for refurbishment.

We had an outside plus cabin on deck 6.We had diesel fumes coming into the cabin through the air con.After arguing the toss with at least 4 crew members it was eventually fixed! I don't know if any other passengers on deck six had the same problem- but it needs sorting!!! Diesel fumes are toxic, and Thomson you will have fatalities!! my wife and son are both asthmatic, so it was not very nice for them.Also the cabins were done out??? All the mattresses on the bunks were a foot too short-no kidding

Tea/coffee makers in cabin-you had to pay £1.90 for your water! the piazza restaurant was enclosed-very nice- except all

the chairs were designed for midgets. I'm 5-10" and I had a job getting up and down.The guides on the trips think you are all teenagers and rush you round so you cannot enjoy the sights for fear of losing your group. All the guides say "we will have a nice easy walk" Well I'm not used to marching especially in 35-37 degree heat!On the plus side the crew members from last year were fantastic-not so the new ones.WE do not like having plates/cups taken away whilst still dining!Also we do not think half of them spoke English.WE thought the Postojna caves were brilliant-though the castle is only a photo stop-very scenic. We would all do this one again-been in caves before,never like this marvelous!!!Plitvice lakes is another wonder- but again rushed.Venice was ruined by arguments over the gondolas.The guide left us and we got lost-forgot to pick up a map on ship.We had a nice easy trip to Konavle a water mill in the woods and mountains.Made sure we bought some local wine.Montenegro-what can you say? the whole ship must have got up early to film/photograph the fjord-really,really worth it.All the Slavic people are very nice and all speak English.The scenery on this trip made up for some of the downs.If I were a schoolmaster I would put Thomson must do better-in fact CAN do better!
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Forgot to mention the shows were excellent.
by Robert T
5 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Terrible cruise

"After two lovely cruises on the Dream and Celebration this one was awful. Check in was a shambles and the girl who showed us to our cabin was surly and unwelcoming. The cabin was like a prison cell. The shower didn't work and was reported. It took four days before anything was done. The cabin smell of diesel as did the decks.the staff were very unfriendly apart from the ones from the Philippines. One waiter was down right rude, it was reported but nothing done about it. The food quality was very poor and lukewarm. The decor was shabby and the seating uncomfortable. The atmosphere on board was negative and unfriendly. But.. the entertainment team did a fantastic job. The housekeeping staff kept the cabins immaculate but you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear! I would not advise anyone to holiday on this ship. Get everyone off and then sink it because the bottom of the ocean is the best place for this wreck."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014
  • Advice: avoid at all costs
by Mrs. Jackson
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Was I on the same ship as previous reviewers?

"Ports of call were all interesting but the timings were a complete mystery !!! 12 hours in a port you could see in 1 hour and yet vastly reduced time in Venice where there was lots to see. I have to presume this also was about costs and berthing charges -- not acceptable.

The cabin was comfortable and the air conditioning worked fine, if not a bit too cool at times.

The food in the main dining rooms was sparse, served quickly and removed even more quickly -- the impression was you were on a conveyer and now was the time to get off. Which is why a good number of extremely 'large' people went up to deck 10 and had 2 or 3 breakfasts, lunches and dinners, no wonder the NHS has to cater for obese people.

The drinks in all bars had hugely inflated prices and I was tempted to test the strength of the spirits when I got back. Waiting staff seemed on a mission to sell sell sell.

The shows were very amateur and really not up to par as far as I was concerned.

Lastly the issues surrounding "disabled" people ( who actually wasn't disabled) a woman who boarded at Leeds and had the obligatory collapsible walking stick, seemed to always be at the front of all queues without the aid of her appliance on board the ship. 4 inch stilettos and the acceleration of a Ferrari on board were reduced to crawl when boarding bus's and aircraft - disgraceful.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: finbd another cruise line
by Adrian B
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Agean Classics - Another first class experience!

"We had such an amazing holiday on this ship last year that we decided to return! We stayed in a cabin on Deck 3, which was spacious with plenty of wardrobe space, tea/coffee facilities, fridge, flat screen TV and a hairdryer. A faulty bulb in the bathroom was changed within an hour.The cabin was spotless and remained so for the duration of the cruise. Attention to detail was excellent. The standard of cleanliness/hygiene throughout the ship was superb. The quality, range and presentation of food was first class. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. A talented entertainment team provided first class entertainment. The range of trips on offer were well organized with knowledgeable guides ensuring that each trip was informative and memorable.Sun beds were in plentiful supply on board ship. Our second visit on board the Majesty didn't disappoint and we shall definitely return!"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Take advantage of the range of organised tours available in order to experience a taste of different cultures. Cycle tours available for the more adventurous clientele!
by Fletch89
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice cruise, but...

"We had planned the cruise (Adriatic Explorer) celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary.

Thomson Majesty was the ship. A cruise consists of 2 things: the ports of call and the ship. Adriatic is a great choice to sail in tranquil waters and ports close to each other so you don't spend your time sailing. The ports (destination towns) very similar (except of Corfu and Venice) but Dubrovnik a steo forward. Scheduling the route was a little problematic, as we had to sail away from Venice at 5 pm! Life on board well planned and entertainment of good quality.

The ship a little old (1992) but meeting most of standards.

Except of one.

Cabin air conditioning.

When we entered our cabin (6027) it was freezing cold. We were told that the previous passenger wanted that way and they will “fix” it. We had to spend the night in that cold cabin and the next “afternoon” the technicians couldn't “fix” it. So they had to disconnect the A/C from the thermostat, letting us for the next 5 days WITH NO A/C.

Thank you Thomson Majesty.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Book for your dinners in "Seven Seas",
by Stepan P
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

First cruise and will be back

"Just returned from our first cruise, the Adriatic Explorer. We had an outside plus cabin on deck 3 which, though small for a family of four, served our purposes and didn't mar our enjoyment of the cruise. The cabin stewards (Angela and Med) could not do enough for us and dealt with any queries with the maximum responsiveness and efficiency. The daily pool towel animals they left were a nice touch too.

We tended to eat in the buffet restaurants, as it's easier to find something for the whole family and could not find any problems at all. Others have said they found the food to be not hot enough but that certainly wasn't the case with us. The bar staff and waiters were all first class and we even tipped a couple of them for outstanding service.

The entertainment was also top notch from the cruise director downwards. There is no way you could get bored on a Thomson cruise ship as there is always something happening. All of the entertainments crew very friendly and sociable and, again, couldn't do enough for you. We generally spent our evenings doing the quizzes (always a good laugh), then either the game show or one of the shows in the Jubilee Lounge.

The choice of ports to call at was also really good with perhaps the exception of Koper in Slovenia. Unfortunately, it was a Sunday when we called there and not a lot was open. Venice, Zadar and Dubrovnik were all magnificent but, for me, the best call was Kotor in Montenegro - an absolutely stunning harbor and the sail in was truly magnificent. I don't think I've ever seen a more naturally beautiful place.

All in all, a fantastic cruise for our first one and we have already booked our second for next April.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2014, booked with Planet Cruise
  • Advice: Book a plus cabin if you can - the extra space is worth it.
by Barry P
9 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Adriatic Explorer - First Cruise - can't wait for the next

"Our first cruise and will not be our last.

Yes the ship is quite old now but everything was clean and tidy. Food very good and plentiful. Drinks package booked early was fantastic value.

Mainly ate in Seven Seas. Rock and Matt were fantastic as was our wine waiter Sanjeev. They made every meal special!

We did an excursion every day, enjoying Lake Bled in Slovenia, Zadar in Croatia where we had excellent guides. Our personal favorite however was Kotor in Montenegro, the sail in and out is not to be missed.

Evening entertainment was excellent. The trick is to eat at 6.15-6.30 and afterwards go straight into theater to get a seat

Yes Corfu Airport leaves a lot to be desired but the lasting memories will be of the great time we had on this amazing holiday.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Savour evry moment, it goes too quickly
by Bob H
9 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Majesty 4/7/14

"Just got back from a week on Majesty

Fantastic holiday staff extremely helpful..food a little cool for my liking but that's personal choice,

The ship is great and the shows first class.

The only downside was ..the cabins on deck 3 are rather small and not enough wardrobe space...but after all you don't spend your days in the cabin.

You sleep in it and get showered and changed...excellent shower

So don't worry about some of the reviews ...but ...we are all entitled to our own opinion

I thoroughly enjoyed it ..

Jean clover
"

by JeannieC
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great first cruise on the Thomson Majesty (Adriatic Explorer)

"As a 21st birthday for myself, my mum and dad decided to treat us all and go on a cruise in May of this year, having never cruised before we were all apprehensive prior to our holiday.

From getting off the coach at Corfu port until leaving for a home a week later everything was seamless. We have a fantastic holiday, so much so that we came home and booked another cruise on the majesty in August this time doing a different itinerary.

Our cabin was situated on deck 9, room 907. We have a junior suite with a balcony which was fabulous as we have no idea that we would have one. Our view was completely unobstructed, however the cabins next to us both had obstructed views.. saying this though the passengers on either side of us still seemed to get fantastic views and didn't seem put off by the lifeboat.

As mentioned in other reviews the ship is old but nevertheless still a great one! We could not fault the cleanliness, although tatty in some places this is expected due to the age of the ship. However I was not put off by this.

The food on the ship was fantastic, our personal favorite was the seven seas, as there was a fabulous atmosphere every night at dinner with plenty of laughing and the opportunity to meet new people each night. The food in San Marco buffet restaurant was also great + afternoon tea at the Cafe Royal buffet is a must. There is plenty of choice and food to suit everyone taste. My dad is gluten free and every morning and night he was given gluten free bread to accompany his meal, each night my dad was also given the next days menu so he could choose what he wanted and a gluten free option would be made.

The entertainment on the ship is ok, however we preferred to spent our evenings on deck 10 with friends we had made, the bar staff were also great JD and Aya and provided us with laughs every night. When we were on the ship there was a guest comedian, who was hilarious. There is plenty of entertainment during the day also.

The excursions offered on board where quite expensive, we paid for the cable car tour in Dubrovnik however we felt it was very rushed and we didn't have enough time to explore. My advice is to do your own thing rather than tours.

Our housekeeping staff were absolutely fantastic (Anthony and Rocky, they could not do enough for us and kept our room spotless.

All in all we had a fabulous time, some people have complained previously about the Majesty being shabby and tired, however we never experienced this. The dress code is quite casual (men have to wear long trousers at night) and suited us fine.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2014, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Do your own trips and book early to get a free drinks package!
by cruiser9320
9 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best time ever

"Just returned yesterday from a brilliant week around the Adriatic and as a frequent cruiser I can honestly say this has to have been my best yet.

We found the bar staff on deck 10, especially Omar who could not do enough for you, nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff and all deserve 10/10.

The staff on reception very helpfully and very polite and my very small query was dealt with within minutes.

Leroy who was the maître'd is in the perfect job, and he even recognized two lady's wearing the same dress on Captains night and made sure they were seated opposite sides of the dinning room as not to cause any embarrassment. To me I thought that was a lovely thing to do and neither woman knowing about the other.

Our cabin was on deck 3 outside plus and it was lovely, flat screen television and a good hairdrier, which does make all the difference to a woman. The shower was very powerful and constant hot water, air con worked well which was very much needed on this cruise. I would recommend outside plus just for that bit of extra room.

We could not complain about the food as there was too much choice for there not to be something you did not like.

All in all brilliant cruise and already booked our next one.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Eat in the 7 seas restraunt on the evening for a special experience.
by Jury
10 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 312 »

Average rating

7 / 10
(134 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
65
Good
29
Average
9
Poor
14
Awful
17

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Need a hotel before or after your Thomson Majesty cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Top traveller tips for Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship
  • by Linbob

    " Try to dine around 7.30pm then you wont have to wait on a table. "

  • by Andy Mills

    " If you like a drink, buy the drinks package. You will save a fortune "

  • by Amanda1

    " eat in self service restaurant food was better there "

  • by Jordane Keddie

    " Get round everything on the ship. If you are not a big walker, take advantage of all the things happening on the ship. Check the Cruise News for times and places of fun activities! "

  • by Terry Kershaw

    " Plan to eat before 7.30 if you want to miss the que at the 7 Seas restaurant. "

  • by EddieC

    " get into dining room before 7 45 and get to theatre after dinner to get a seat "

  • by Mull

    " Eat in the Four Seasons and sunbathe on Deck 9 as Deck 10 gets too busy. "

  • by d kilbee

    " Get on level 6 or above cabin mid ships to keep engine noise levels to minimum. "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship? Share your insight.