Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship

, Thomson Cruises
hotel photo
Check the latest prices for this cruise
Show Prices
 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 411 »
Great Cruise, shame about the ship

"This was our first cruise, and we had a great time. We had an inside cabin which was fine, plenty enough space and storage. The ship was spotlessly clean but tired looking in places. Having said that I wasn't very impressed, take your own hairdryer, the one in the cabin isn't strong enough to blow out a candle (and ours was held together with tape), towels grey and flat, we had to have our shower mixer replaced as we had no hot water for 2 days. My mattress had a large dip in it, it took 3 days for them to change it so I had a bad back, the first lady I spoke to at reception just shrugged and said there were no more, until I pointed out there were 2 spare bunks in our cabin. The food in the restaurants was mostly good apart from the coffee in the evenings, I'm sure it was from lunchtime, and I sent it back many times. Every time we tried to go to a show we couldn't get in, as we went to the second show as we don't like to eat early. Contrary to above comments, during our trip there were not enough sunbeds! There were notices around saying any sunbed left for 45 minutes and the towels etc would be removed, I never saw this enforced. The Café Royale was like a staff canteen, and the food choice was the same every day unimaginative. Please leave the ice carving, vegetable carving and towel folding alone and concentrate on what matters. I liked that when you went for breakfast and dinner you sat at a large table with different people every time, we made some lovely friends this way, the trips and itinerary were great. We were told by veteran cruise goers, please don't judge all cruises on this one, this is the poorest ship we have been on. Not sure if we will cruise again"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013
  • Advice: don't go if the ship is full
by Jill R
4 / 10

9 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday

"This was our second holiday on the Majesty, and was again a fantastic holiday, we had an outside plus cabin, that was clean, and a good size, the cleaners did the room twice daily, and were very friendly. The main areas of the ship were always clean and tidy.

The food was great, buffet breakfast with a great choice, lunch time there was a choice of buffet or waiter service. Evening meal was open sitting, we never had to queue , the menus were brilliant with 5 courses.

The entertainment was great, although this year we only had one professional entertainer, (a comedian who was very good). Could have done with a professional singer as well.

What really makes this holiday is the staff, they work so hard, and give a fantastic service.

Well worth having the drinks package, really good value for money.
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: visit the al la carte restaurant. £19 per person was excellent,
  • Good For: Beach
by Christine W
10 / 10

27 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Pearls of the Aegean September 2013

"I often wonder do some people spend their holiday just looking for faults .It seems that some people will moan about the toilet paper.My wife and I have just had a superb week on the Majesty ,staff always happy and friendly, our cabin kept spotless by Maryna, food hot and varied, entertainment excellent. The cabin was adequate for us you only sleep in it not live in it.Shower had boiling hot water and was ok in size. The ship was constantly being cleaned AND THERE WERE PLENTY OF SUNBEDS. Do not take very large cases because you store them under the bed. All in all a great holiday on a good ship. All of us enjoyed our cruise so a BIG THANK YOU THOMSON MAJESTY."

  • Holiday details: Sep 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Stop looking for faults just enjoy yourself .Your holiday will soon be over
by vernon
10 / 10

29 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Return passenger

"First time cruisers in January around the canaries loved every part of it what do people expect get a life this ships excellent for the price if you want expensive then pay the price and stop the moaning due to o back on the majesty in two weeks can't wait well done Thomson"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Relax and enjoy
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by S glover
10 / 10

19 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

For Grown ups only!!

"First time on this particular ship and despite some negative reviews from previous passengers, our party of 4 were highly delighted with the Italian Flavours cruise.

There is no need to go into lengthy detail about how good everything was, as this is unnecessary. I do believe that because the minimum age group was 16, this fact greatly contributed towards the trip being enjoyed by us (very active and happy ladies 60+) and seemingly by 99% of the other passengers.

The perfect cruise, itinerary and month to go and the all inclusive package (which we booked free of charge in September 2012) makes it a cruise to remember for all the right reasons. We are hoping to return this September.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Malta is a place of old time traditions, history and very welcoming.
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by Margaret1947
10 / 10

32 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great cruise thomson majesty

"five star cruise. ship staff, crew, meals, entertainment, intinerys all fantastic.drink package is good value but wish they went back to cans of juce ie coke as pour from bottles goes flat"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: just relax and enjoy
by smokeys
10 / 10

22 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Thomson Majesty Junior Suite

"Last September we sailed on the Majesty on the Pearl of the Aegean.

This was our first ever cruise and we decided to splash out on a Suite, this cost us another £1,800 on top of a standard cabin.

When we arrived at the ship we noticed it was a few years old but looked well enough from the dock side, we was greeted by a member of staff and taken up to deck 9 by to our suite, we noticed graffiti scratched on the inside of the lift doors, and when we saw our suite we was a little shocked.

The room looked dated, The radio did not work,the windows where dirty and scratched, the tv reception was poor, no dvd's to watch on the dvd player, the mini bar fully stocked but was not included in the extra charge for the suite, we had no his and hers robes throughout the whole week, the air-conditioning refused to work even after a technician had been to fix it, the so called breakfast in bed was for one day only and was just a small continental breakfast, the laundry service was for one free item of clothing only, yet they managed to ruin my trousers by shrinking them 3 sizes. the best bit was even though we had paid £1,800 extra for our room, we was still charged to get a bottle of drinking water brought to the room, yet we was on an all inclusive deal!!!!

We arranged for a celebration cake to co-inside with our Silver wedding anniversary meal, and it never turned up, we had pre-booked this with reception.

I'm not going to critisize everything, but when you spend that much money you at least expect something nice, the suites on the Majesty just are'nt worth the money, save your hard earned cash and book a standard room.

As for the rest of the cruise ship, the staff are friendly, and work hard, the food was fairly good though not very warm when served in the restaurant, the entertainment was good but got very boring after 3 days of seeing the same people doing simular shows night after night, it was a bit like Butlins to be honest.

The coach excursions at port are very expensive, and this is something we wouldnt do again, as we are doing the Italian Flavours this September we are going to use local transport and we have booked a standard outside room this time.

Sorry if I'm going on here, but I just didnt think the suite we had was worth no where near what we paid, and I would advise anyone to save there money. I would give the staff and crew 8/10 but the rooms and decor on the ship get a 4/10
"

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: book a room above deck 5, as very noisy lower down
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by Ian S
4 / 10

25 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cant wait to cruise with Thomson again next year

"This was our second Thomson cruise, we went on the Destiny in May 2011 and enjoyed it very much. We felt that the Majesty was a much nicer ship in more ways than one, the food was in both the buffet and waiter service restaurants was by far superior, we both commented on this. The service was second to none, the staff could not do enough for you. We chose to upgrade this trip to an outside plus cabin for extra room and rang up before the trip to ensure that we had a queen size and not twin beds which we had previously. This upgrade was well worth the money, more room to move about and plenty of storage, we both slept extremely well a the beds were very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the play during the day and musicals during the evenings, the actors and singers were very professional and as we booked early we had the free upgrade to include a drinks package, our glasses were never empty, as soon as a member of staff could see you were almost finished they would be there immediately to offer a top up. Our only minor gripes during this trip was the seating arrangements for both waiter services breakfast and the evening meal, although it states open seating, when we as a couple entered the restaurant asking for a table for two, the staff seem intent on sitting you on a table for 6 with other dinners, which is fine in the evening we have no problem meeting other people, but I am NOT a morning person and I had to insist every morning to the waiter directing passengers that we did not ant to share thank yu very much at breakfast, we were then pointed to a table for two somewhat reluctantly. Secondly the swimming pool was minute with very few sunbeds actually around the pool itself. All in all we had a fabulous time and enjoyed all the ports of call. We did our own thing and as before did not book any excursions, we have found it much much cheaper to get around yourself either by taxi, bus, boat or a hop on hop off bus."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Ideally choose an outside + cabin for more room
by Sue L
9 / 10

24 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A fantastic holiday

"We have just returned from a weeks holiday aboard the Thomson Majesty and have had a lovely holiday. The Ship exceeded our expectations, it was in good condition, very clean and had all the amenities we wanted.

The staff were really helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

We had an outside cabin with a window in the middle of deck 4 and it was compact but large enough for what we needed. The only tip I would give is that the cases needed to be stored under the beds so don't have one that is too chunky, as it may not fit. We had hard cases and the larger of the two was about 1cm too deep so it had to stand on it's end near the dressing table, it wasn't in the way but if both had to go there it would have been a nuisance. The cabin was quiet and in a good location and always had hot water in the shower and a good hair dryer.

The restaurant had an open dining system which we liked it was flexible and nice to sit with different people. The food was good and we were really pleased with the inclusive drinks package, it was good value and cheaper booked with the holiday compared to on board prices. There was no skimping on drinks and our wine glasses were topped up before we emptied them in the restaurant.

The entertainment was very good, the team were all excellent singers and put on a professional show each night.

We went on 3 excursions, which were a bit pricey but we found them very good, the guides were very informative and everything was planned well and organised.

The only thing we could say negatively is that the pools were on the small side, but that is all.

We found a variety of people on board and there was something for everyone, different ages and some people who wanted a relaxed casual holiday and others that liked to dress up and be more formal.

We would love to go again and would recommend it.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2013, booked with Spalding Travel
  • Advice: Book a drinks package when booking the holiday and also book excursions on line as they can get booked up.
by Karen P
9 / 10

30 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

very bad customer care.

"we are elderly holidaymakers.recently returned from cruiseon the majesty.

on entering ship was told viris was on ship via newsletter.many times we came by lift and carpets had been washed.never get ill on the majesty.i came down withgastro enteritis,day due to fly home.doctor promptly put me in a wheelchair and took me off ship,put in taxi sent to hospital.left to look after ourselves best we could.no english was spoken in the area.afterwards we had to pay full hospital bill.as now i feel the people were unable to contact insurance company.buy new flight home.bank put stop on our bank.then my mobile phone went dead.if only we had had a rep from thomsons to help us.if we had been unable to get in touch with our daughter

to send her card no to pay what would we have done.we were in northern tenereffe no monet no phone no english spoken.thomsons do not want to known.this as made my husband very ill.all i can say .be careful when going on cruises with thomsons.you write no reply.even recorded delivery.never again.no excuses for them the ship was in the area to 12 at night.
"

  • Holiday details: Apr 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: make sure you never get ill
by Bert W
1 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great ship and crew

"My wife and I have just spent seven very good days on the Thomson Majesty when it sailed from Corfu to the top of the Adriatic and stopped at various ports including Venice, Dubrovnik, and another three ports.

We are experienced “cruisers” having travelled with Cunard, Costa, and this was our third time with Thomson’s on a seven day cruise.

Having read some of the other reports, some of which we agree with but some of the other complaints mystify us.

Arriving at the ship is very well controlled without any major delay and we were taken to our cabin on the 8th deck and our luggage was already there waiting for us. This was the only disappointment for us during the seven days as the cabin which was meant to be a double was in fact a twin and was very small. I expressed our disappointment with the reception Team the next day and was told that the cabin was 10 square metres in size. They offered to push the two beds together to make a double bed, but I pointed out that it wasn’t the beds that were the problem but the small size of the cabin, and I said that 10 square metres is only approximately 6 feet by just over 15 feet. They made a note of our disappointment and the next day offered us an upgrade to a much bigger cabin at an additional cost of £120. I agreed to pay this as the new cabin was much bigger and the problem was solved. The Reception Team have to be congratulated for their friendly and quick help to solving our problem. Could I suggest that Thomson’s make it very clear about the size of the cabins as having to pay an extra £120 wasn’t the best way to start a cruise. This was the only slightly bad part of the cruise and it did not spoil it for us.

CABIN – After upgrading to a larger cabin this was very good. The bathroom/shower all always had hot water and was kept very clean – as was the rest of the cabin. The towels were changed daily and the pool towels were also changed daily. There was a fridge, hairdryer, safe and soft drinks available. No tea making facilities are in the room.

RESTAURANTS AND FOOD – There are two waiter serving restaurants which do not cost extra and the service was very good indeed. We used to eat at about 8 in the evening and never had to wait too long for a table to be free. If you just wanted a table for two, they would ensure you could have this, but we preferred to sit at a different table for six so that we could meet other passengers and we never had a dull table. The food in the evening is a six course menu if you wanted it and the choice and quality of the food was excellent at all times. Ample choice for the fussiest of eaters unless you were the type of person who just wanted chips all the time which you could always get at the self service restaurant.

There is a smaller bistro type restaurant which had an additional cost of £19 per person which we did not use, but we were told by people who did use it that the food was excellent.

The self service is a 24 hour restaurant which had dishes ready for you to make your own salads, and it had hot food as well which always had the chips for those who felt they need them. The quality was good and you could also have hot drinks at no extra cost.

ENTERTAINMENT – The entertainment Team was very very good indeed and was of West End standard every night. There was an early show at 8.30pm and the same again at 10.30pm for the late diners. Prior to the show there was a small band with two singers who again were excellent. Well done to all the entertainment Team for all your friendliness and excellent performances.

Other entertainment around the ship consisted of a Casino, various bars with either a pianist or another small band who you could dance to. During the day, if you wanted, you could join in various other games or displays put on the entertainment Team, or do as we did, just chill out on a sun bed after your visit ashore. No problem about getting a sun bed as they had a rule that if one had a towel on it for more than 45 minutes without being used, you could take it for yourself.

THE QUALITY OF THE SHIP – The Majesty is a smaller cruise ship i.e. not a block of flats on water and has 1460 passengers and a ratio of two crew per passenger. It is kept very clean on both the outside as well the inside, and in our opinion it did not seem to be looking “tired”.

CREW – All the Crew are very friendly and will always smile and talk to you if you want them to. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them

CONCLUSION – A very happy crew on a very good ship, and certainly meets all you would wish for even if this is your first time cruising – none of the passengers we met had any bad complaints about it which must mean something.

Hope this helps if you are worried about what you have read elsewhere.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2013
  • Advice: Make sure you know the size of your cabin.
by tommolt
9 / 10

110 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic value - what more do you want?

"Cruised the Canaries over Easter and honestly had a fantastic time. This was our 4th Thomson cruise, our first time on the Majesty having already been on the Destiny and the Celebration and have to say that this cruise was excellent value for money.

Ship - a fabulous, happy, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Spotlessly clean. Our cabin was on deck 4, at the back of the ship...were deffinatley not disturbed by any drumming, vibration or engine noises.

Staff - outstanding in every way!! From the "tidy up fairies" in your cabin to the bar staff and the restaurant waiters....can't do enough for you and so very happy to do it...without needing to be tipped!!!!

Restaurants - Buffet - plenty of choice...although do have to agree with others that was not always the hottest. lovely outlook at front of ship, but not the biggest of areas. Having said that, there was lots of room to eat outside if you wished.

- Pool gril - "fast food" ish type menu - burgers, hotdogs, chicken, jackets, etc lovely to sit in the sun for lunch.

- Seven Seas - let's face it...you're not going to get nouveau cuisine...but what you do get is very tasty, well cooked food served on hot plates in a lovely room with excellent and extremely attentive staff who make you feel very special. Never had to queue for a table although it did get busy around 8 pm.

Drinks - Ok...being honest...we like a drink so had the drinks package. Yes, we absolutely did get our money's worth...coffee's, soft drinks and alcoholic drinks all included...and no worries about a hefty bill at the end of the holiday. Was lovely to have branded spirits too...shmirnoff, gordons etc.

Cabins - yes, they are small but have everything you need - you're only in there to shower, change and sleep!!! The "tidy up fairies" are amazing!!!!

Entertainment - Great - all the staff worked so hard!! Something for everyone - from being serenaded by a violinist and pianist to karaoke.

All in all...had a great time, went to see some different places had fun meeting lovely people...isn't that what a cruise holiday is all about?
"

by napoleon09
10 / 10

84 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

« 1 2 3 411 »

Average rating

7.5 / 10
(126 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
62
Good
28
Average
8
Poor
13
Awful
15

Rating by feature

Room: 7/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 8/10
Value: 7.5/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 8.5/10

Need a hotel before or after your Thomson Majesty cruise?

Check out these recommendations in ports for upcoming itineraries

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Thomson Majesty Cruise Ship? Share your insight.