Phaedra Beach Hotel

Phaedra Beach, Crete 70007, Greece
3.5 star
hotel photo

Stayed at Phaedra Beach Hotel?

Share your opinion.

Write a review

Average Rating

5.5  / 10
(32 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
7
Good
3
Average
6
Poor
8
Awful
8

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 6.5/10
Food: 6/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

« 1 2 3 »
not bad

"hotel was very clean, bedding and towels changed everyday!! staff were friendly especially bas off beach bar who been there 11 years always got a smile even though he works 10am till about 2am most of days. entertainment was poor not much on (only a few nights a week). the food was ok jst nothing was labled so you have to keep aking what is what. the pool was clean also. would stay in hotel again if i took my daughter but as me and my partner went we would of liked to be closer to the night life but the 20min walk wernt too bad with cafes and bars on your way!!"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: clean and friendly hotel
  • Good For: Beach
by ellie
6 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Had Better

"We just got back from the Pheadra Beach Resort last week 11/05/10,to say we asked for a sea view room we got a room about 10yard from the reception, and had to be the noisest room ever day and night. As for the A.I well thats a joke food not good at all but you wont starve,puds very nice,but all very limited,alcohol was a joke local beer,wine,raki,ouzo and brandy yep thats it all other spirits you have to pay for. Staff are fine not a problem from them, The private beach well you have to pay 4 euros a day for a bed lol.Entertianment none!.Its also a good 35min walk into Malia or 7 euro taxi ride,thats a long walk in the heat of Crete.we hired a quad and explored highly reccomend you hire. good look if your going."

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: hirer transport
  • Good For: Beach
by markb66
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

worst holiday of my life

"i have never been to a hotel where the staff are rude, and even though we paid to go all inclusive when we got here we found that we still had to pay for everything apart from wine, beer, brandy or raki. The food was awful and to get to the nearest town it was a 30min walk unless you wanted to pay 10 euros for a taxi. There was no entertainment at the hotel, and to sit on a bed on the beach the hotel charged you for that. The fridge in your room you are even charged to store anything in there."

by smurf
1 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Do not go there even if its free?

"2 weeks of absolute rubbish. Turned up at 22.00 hrs on the Friday night and could have quite easily left 18.00 hrs later. When I enquired about the air conditioning for the two rooms that I had paid for, I was told that there was a 5 Euro payment per night per room for the priviledge,needless to say we declined,( I come from Scotland and would like to see the owners faces if they came on a Skiing holiday mid January and were asked to pay for central heating), we then asked if there were any other additional hidden extras that we might encounter, the answer was, "only if you chose to use the sunbeds on the beach". Needless to say the sunbeds situated in the areas next to the pool were also to be paid for.

Breakfast consisted of bread , rolls , jam , a limited selection of cereal (3 types for the first week then for some reason 4 the second week), eggs, either poached , boiled or omelette but never at the same time, hams , tinned peaches, yoghurt , honey small hotdogs? a type of sponge,and CHIPS.

Lunch and dinner continued in the same vain ...

Entertainment for the children other than being in the pool, consisted of a pool table at a cost of 2 Euros per game, and an air Hockey game which was slightly cheaper at 1 euro a game, but with a time limit.

First ever all inclusive holiday when snacks were not served in between meals.

Drinks as previously mentioned by other poor souls was served in plastic cups. Questions were asked if you had the audacity to ask for more than 1 beer at a time, this was overcome if you could point to another person who was to receive the plastic cup which was not more than half full the majority of the time, funnily enough at exactly 23.00 this didn't seem to be a problem.

Information for trips were in booklets but unfortunately they were all in foriegn langauges and when approaching the receptionists for information they were more than willing to translate for you, and take time to recommend trips ..... NOT.

Obviously out to take as much money as they can in the short time that the tourist are at the hotel and with no scrupples in doing so.

I would strongly advise against staying at this Hotel if you plan to have an enjoyable time.
"

by GlasgowEdinburgh
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Dont Waste Your Time...

"Myself and a friend booked a last minute trip to this hotel after being granted time off together... whilst our holiday was fantastic the hotel was poor, the food disgusting and if we hadnt of met the friends we did out there i can honestly say we would have had a god awful time during the day!

I was disgusted to learn that we had to pay 5 euro a day each to sit on a sunbed by the pool, bearing in mind by about the second day there were 20 of us there we all refused and bought lilos instead.. we were then told we couldnt sit round by the pool with the lilos and we had to go elsewhere!

The alcohol was shocking we went to save money as we were both on a budget but with only wine (tasted foul btw!) beer ouzo brandy or whisky on offer our dreasm of a cheap week were dashed!

we were placed right out the front of the complex away from everyone which suited us although i think the people below wish we were a million miles away!

otel over run by rude german people also who q-jumped!

the food was disgusting not much on offer for vegetarians at all!

Best bit was the beach views and watching the sunrise at 5am after 20 min walk from town! or 7 euros in a cab! The night time entertainement was also quite entertaining and not as tacky as what we expected!! Compared to 18-30 Hotels our friends stayed in it was quite plush but we didnt have the option of Air con etc and our shower leaked a lot too!

Great holiday but shockingly bad hotel!
"

by Kloeyp
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

All Inclusive = Second Class Citizens

"So disappointed with this hotel. We were a group of 3 women booked 'all inclusive' - what a joke!!! We could only drink beer, wine, raki, ouzo or brandy - vodka or gin etc., was 5 euros a drink. We were literally 'frog marched' out of the half board restaurant on the first night - we didn't realise there was more than one restaurant at the time. We were also given plastic glasses. We paid £172 EACH for the accommodation.

We booked a family suite which consisted of 2 separate rooms. We did get a free fridge but after 3 days of sweating decided to invest in the air conditioning which cost 5 euros per day. After paying for it they THEN tried to charge us double as we had 2 bedrooms. After and enormous arguement with reception, who were so rude to us, we went to the management.

The sunbeds were 4 euros a day to rent - even the ones by the pool. There was nowhere else to lay.

Although the hotel was on the beach it was a long way from the town itself, it cost 7 euros by taxi, and took at leas half an hour to walk which was hard work in the sun.

The staff were very friendly (except men on reception) and the hotel was very clean. There was just a handful of English people staying there and we had loads of trouble with RUDE Germans.

Would NOT reccommend this hotel to my worst enemy.
"

by handbagsue
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Poor service, staff rude, wouldn't recommend

"Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel 5th-12th of June 2009. We arrived to the hotel at around 4.30am and were greeted by a friendly male receptionist, who gave us a room key and showed us a way to a main restaurant where they had plates with some food prepared for those who arrive very late. The food must have been on the plates for a very long time, because the bread was rock hard, cheese didn’t look fresh at all and if you are a vegetarian you could not eat anything but an apple, as there was ham on the plate.

The room was fine and we did get a sea view as requested. The throws on the bed didn’t look very clean, but I didn’t expect them to be in 3 star hotel (I work as a housekeeping supervisor myself and I know that in most of the hotels they get washes once in few months). The linen on the bed was clean, there were only sheets on the bed with no blanket. There was one in the wardrobe , but I wouldn’t recommend to cover yourself with it as it wasn’t clean and had an unpleasant smell. The bathroom was ok, u get bath towel and hand towel each and 1 bathmat, also u get 1 small soap each. Towels supposed to be changed every 2nd night, which didn’t happen in our case and we had request fresh towels. The linen is changed every 3rd night.

There is air conditioning in the room, for which you have to pay 5 euro a day. There is also small fridge which costs 2 euro a day. We took a fridge for 5 days and a maid came to lock it on 4th day, after arguing with receptionist we did get it unlocked for the rest of our stay.

The maids are friendly, they smile and greet you, but they can’t speak English at all. One of the main problems we had with them is that when they come to clean a room they just knock once and open the door straight away, you don’t even get chance to react, so you don’t get any privacy. Even if you put DND sign on the door it won’t help as they just let themselves in. We did complain about this to Housekeeping Supervisor/Manager, who started shouting at us and said that as the maids have to clean 30 rooms a day they don’t have time to knock on the doors. Which is a very ridiculous excuse, as it takes only few seconds to knock at least twice and wait for a response.

Now the food…The breakfast was from 7-9.45am. For breakfast you get: ham, cheese, 3 types of bread, sliced orange, tomato, cucumber, canned apricot, yogurt, choice of very cheap cereal, sausages, potato bake and 1 egg dish (omelet with mushrooms, scrambled eggs with bacon or boiled eggs) and warm cake or pastry. For a drink you can choose from coffee, tea (only 3 varieties), juice (apple, orange or grapefruit). The juice was very sweet, so its quite impossible to drink.

The dinner was from 7-9pm. The menu consisted from few basic salads (tomato cucumber, potato salad, coleslaw, cold boiled veg), there were local olives and feta, so you could have added them to your salad. From hot dishes there was pasta, tomato sauce, carbonara sauce, chips, fish in tomato sauce (had to be careful as it had quite few bones in it), few pork dishes, okra with potato in tomato sauce, and sometimes u get chicken and boiled veg. For dessert you get jelly, cake, vanilla mouse, melon, water melon, ice cream (strawberry, banana, chocolate, vanilla). So dessert was the best part of our meal most of the time. Drinks are not included, so you had to buy them from a waiter. Bottle of water costs 2.20 euro, 1 glass of apple juice 2.40 euro, coke 2.20, freshly squeezed orange juice 3.60. I don’t know about alcohol as we didn’t buy any.

Restaurant staff was ok, few people were very friendly, some always has a miserable faces, never said you are welcome if you thank them and never smile.

We didn’t get any problems with receptionist lady who works in the mornings, but the male receptionist in the afternoon was quite rude and unhelpful.

The location of the hotel is good, if you want to have a relaxing beach holiday and stay most of the day on the beach or near the pool. You do have to pay for a sunbed, which is 4 euro a day each. The pool was nice and clean, but its not suitable for children as its quite deep. The small part of it is 0.75 m deep, the rest ranges from 1.50 to 2.80 m. The beach is fine, but as you go into the water, there are a lot of stones with sea weed on the sea bottom, so its not nice at all to walk on them with bare feet.

If you are a non-smoker you might have a problem as there isn’t much fresh air around the hotel , people just seem to smoke everywhere, on the beach, near swimming pool, in the lobby…

The hotel does arrange some entertainment: there is BBQ every 2nd week, which costs 15 euro per person , they had Greek evening, with Greek music and dancing.

The also have air hockey (1 euro per game) and snooker/pool (2 euro a game) in the Beach bar.

The town of Malia is around 35 min walk. Lots of people rent bikes, so as you walking to Malia you will breath in a lot of fumes. You can take a taxi which is 7 euro one way. Malia is packed with bars and restaurants and also they have an old town with some traditional buildings in the north or the town.

If you want to visit Heraklion, you ca take a bus from Malia’s main road, it costs 3.50 euro per person 1 way. Taxi to Heraklion city centre or Heraklion airport is 50 euro.

If you are interested in history you can go and see the ruins of Malia Palace , the place is 15 min walk from he hotel (turn left), its open till 3pm and costs 4 euro per person.

Overall the hotel is fine, location is good, but the majority of staff isn’t very friendly so its not a pleasant atmosphere in the hotel or bar.

Guests consist of Germans, Russians, Dutch, Slovenian, Polish, few Estonians and English.
"

by marinarka
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

All Inclusive? I don't think so!!!!!

"When you book a holiday as "ALL INCLUSIVE" you expect certain things to be available to you. Local beers and spirits, Ouzo, Raki, Brandy and beer. Anything else you pay for, this includes water. All inclusive customers drink from plastic beakers but half board, "who pay" get proper glasses. Haven't I already paid? I expect to pay for beds on the beach, but not around the pool, all beds are €4 per day each. If you wanted air conditioning in your room, it would cost €5 per day. If you needed to keep anything cold in the fridge, that's €2 per day.

The food can only be described as disgraceful. If you were half board, you ate in a smart dinning room with staff to fill up your coffee. If you were all inclusive you had to eat in a building to the side of the hotel. In our seven days here we ate 3 times, 1 breakfast and 2 lunches. We went to have an evening meal and both my wife and myself looked at what was on offer and decided not to bother. This,of course, put a strain on our holiday money, so you can imagine these decisions weren't taken lightly. Everywhere we've been on holiday, we have always found something to eat at the hotels.

Mostly, the staff were friendly and helpful. But they do think that the british only eat junk food. With their quality of food it's not surprising. All through my short holiday there, I was made to feel like a second class citizen.

The hotel location is good. Right on the beach. The beach bar is nice and the barman makes everyone feel welcome.

Hotel entertainment is what you would expect at most hotels. A lively greek evening, disco and international dancing night.

In summary, Malia is a lovely resort for young and old. Yes I would go back to Malia. But definately wouldn't go back to Phaedra Beach Hotel.
"

by ldvrob
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Not as expected, staff not friendly

"Me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel 5th-12th of June 2009. We arrived to the hotel at around 4.30am and were greeted by a friendly male receptionist, who gave us a room key and showed us a way to a main restaurant where they had plates with some food prepared for those who arrive very late. The food must have been on the plates for a very long time, because the bread was rock hard, cheese didn’t look fresh at all and if you are a vegetarian you could not eat anything but an apple, as there was ham on the plate.

The room was fine and we did get a sea view as requested. The throws on the bed didn’t look very clean, but I didn’t expect them to be in 3 star hotel (I work as a housekeeping supervisor myself and I know that in most of the hotels they get washes once in few months). The linen on the bed was clean, there were only sheets on the bed with no blanket. There was one in the wardrobe , but I wouldn’t recommend to cover yourself with it as it wasn’t clean and had an unpleasant smell. The bathroom was ok, u get bath towel and hand towel each and 1 bathmat, also u get 1 small soap each. Towels supposed to be changed every 2nd night, which didn’t happen in our case and we had request fresh towels. The linen is changed every 3rd night.

There is air conditioning in the room, for which you have to pay 5 euro a day. There is also small fridge which costs 2 euro a day. We took a fridge for 5 days and a maid came to lock it on 4th day, after arguing with receptionist we did get it unlocked for the rest of our stay.

The maids are friendly, they smile and greet you, but they can’t speak English at all. One of the main problems we had with them is that when they come to clean a room they just knock once and open the door straight away, you don’t even get chance to react, so you don’t get any privacy. Even if you put DND sign on the door it won’t help as they just let themselves in. We did complain about this to Housekeeping Supervisor/Manager, who started shouting at us and said that as the maids have to clean 30 rooms a day they don’t have time to knock on the doors. Which is a very ridiculous excuse, as it takes only few seconds to knock at least twice and wait for a response.

Now the food…The breakfast was from 7-9.45am. For breakfast you get: ham, cheese, 3 types of bread, sliced orange, tomato, cucumber, canned apricot, yogurt, choice of very cheap cereal, sausages, potato bake and 1 egg dish (omelet with mushrooms, scrambled eggs with bacon or boiled eggs) and warm cake or pastry. For a drink you can choose from coffee, tea (only 3 varieties), juice (apple, orange or grapefruit). The juice was very sweet, so its quite impossible to drink.

The dinner was from 7-9pm. The menu consisted from few basic salads (tomato cucumber, potato salad, coleslaw, cold boiled veg), there were local olives and feta, so you could have added them to your salad. From hot dishes there was pasta, tomato sauce, carbonara sauce, chips, fish in tomato sauce (had to be careful as it had quite few bones in it), few pork dishes, okra with potato in tomato sauce, and sometimes u get chicken and boiled veg. For dessert you get jelly, cake, vanilla mouse, melon, water melon, ice cream (strawberry, banana, chocolate, vanilla). So dessert was the best part of our meal most of the time. Drinks are not included, so you had to buy them from a waiter. Bottle of water costs 2.20 euro, 1 glass of apple juice 2.40 euro, coke 2.20, freshly squeezed orange juice 3.60. I don’t know about alcohol as we didn’t buy any.

Restaurant staff was ok, few people were very friendly, some always has a miserable faces, never said you are welcome if you thank them and never smile.

We didn’t get any problems with receptionist lady who works in the mornings, but the male receptionist in the afternoon was quite rude and unhelpful.

The location of the hotel is good, if you want to have a relaxing beach holiday and stay most of the day on the beach or near the pool. You do have to pay for a sunbed, which is 4 euro a day each. The pool was nice and clean, but its not suitable for children as its quite deep. The small part of it is 0.75 m deep, the rest ranges from 1.50 to 2.80 m. The beach is fine, but as you go into the water, there are a lot of stones with sea weed on the sea bottom, so its not nice at all to walk on them with bare feet.

If you are a non-smoker you might have a problem as there isn’t much fresh air around the hotel , people just seem to smoke everywhere, on the beach, near swimming pool, in the lobby…

The hotel does arrange some entertainment: there is BBQ every 2nd week, which costs 15 euro per person , they had Greek evening, with Greek music and dancing.

The also have air hockey (1 euro per game) and snooker/pool (2 euro a game) in the Beach bar.

The town of Malia is around 35 min walk. Lots of people rent bikes, so as you walking to Malia you will breath in a lot of fumes. You can take a taxi which is 7 euro one way. Malia is packed with bars and restaurants and also they have an old town with some traditional buildings in the north or the town.

If you want to visit Heraklion, you ca take a bus from Malia’s main road, it costs 3.50 euro per person 1 way. Taxi to Heraklion city centre or Heraklion airport is 50 euro.

If you are interested in history you can go and see the ruins of Malia Palace , the place is 15 min walk from he hotel (turn left), its open till 3pm and costs 4 euro per person.

Overall the hotel is fine, location is good, but the majority of staff isn’t very friendly so its not a pleasant atmosphere in the hotel or bar.

Guests consist of Germans, Russians, Dutch, Slovenian, Polish, few Estonians and English.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, Half Board, booked with Monster Holidays
  • Good For: Beach
by marona222
3 / 10

24 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Nice location, rubbish value for money

"We booked this hotel after looking specifically at Crete for a relaxing cheap getaway before our main holiday later in the year. On arrival at 4am we were greeted by a very nice receptionist (male) who gave us our room key. Our room was in a block at the very front of the hotel which was obviously the old part of the hotel. Our room was worse than basic, on the ground floor with a small balcony overlooking a small patch of waste ground which was obviously used for dumping rubbish, when we had asked specifically for second floor and pool or sea view. Now, we know that it is not always possible for a pool or sea view but being off ground level was important to us and the room itself was in very poor condition. I would have accepted this if the holiday itself was cheap but we paid over the odds therefore I expect at least a nice room to sleep in. We went immediately to the receptionist who said he could not do anything to change our room then but if we came back at 10am the following morning we would be able to move. By this point we were so tired after our journey that we just accepted that. We then spent a very restless night as our room was the one that everyone walked past, singing and shouting at 5am when coming back drunk from Malia. The next morning we went straight to reception as instructed. There was already a group of young girls who had the same problem as us and the receptionist, who was now a woman, argued that the room they got was what they paid for and she was not interested in giving them a new room. They argued for a couple of minutes until eventually the receptionist gave them a new room. We asked her to move us and she responded by saying that it was our own fault as we had booked a 'cheap' room and she was not going to help us. She was very rude and very sarcastic. It took two days of repeated sarcasim and shouting (from her) for her to move us. The new room was better but still not what we were expecting from the pictures. On this subject the pictures on the internet are mock ups and not how this hotel really looks. It is quite dated but they do have a very nice new looking block that they clearly reserve for members of their family or royalty - as no one seemed to be staying there! Everyone we met had problems with the daytime lady receptionist, she has to be the rudest person I have ever come across. She really doesn't like to help at all. On day 7 after a week or her nonsese I had a stand up row with her after she accused me of lying that the vending machine I had just put money in had stolen my money. The most important thing about this hotel is that there are many hidden expenses. You will be expected to pay 4 euros a day EACH for a sunbed either around the pool or on the beach and this is charged even if you put a towel on the ground to lay on. There is also a 5 euro a day charge for air conditioning , 3 euros a day for your fridge to be unlocked and 20 euros a week for a safe. On the poistive side however, the bar staff are lovely and the location is good. The beach really is next to the pool but there isn't alot to do locally unless you go into Malia where there are a lot of bars and restaurants. The food was ok but I really recommend all inclusive at this hotel as the drinks prices are very expensive at about 4 euros each for alchohol. All inc customers can only get lager, raki or ouzo on all inc so steer clear if you don't like those. Room not cleaned daily and towels only changed every 3rd day. Would go to Crete again but not this hotel. This hotel has very few English guests and is tailored really for German and Dutch guests. I travelled with my partner and we are both in our mid to late 30's with lots of foreign holiday experience."

by J7410
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Lovely Place

"This hotel is located in a perfect location, malia is very nice but the fact that the hotel is 20mins walk away from the centre is definatly a plus as it means it is less noisy. The private beach is lovely and great for everyone, for all inclusive guests it is great as the beach bar is right on the beach so drinks are there for you! The staff are all lovely and very freindly and able to speak a wide range of langugages which is good as there are many different nationalitites of guests. The whole hotel including the rooms is kept very clean and tidy, maids come in the rooms every day and even the pools which are very nice are cleaned very regually. The food was good, loved the wide range of fresh salads every day, breakfasts are the only downside which not much to chose from but you can live with that. Also word of warning take insect repelent as lots of mosquitos! We had a lovely holiday and for a 3 star hotel this is brilliant and I would definatly go back!"

by Snapzpy3210
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great Holiday

"We really enjoyed our holiday in "Phaedra Beach". We had a room with a fantastic sea view. Staff and the owner of the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. We especially enjoyed dinners with a variety of Greek and international food. One of the main attractions were events at the hotel - Cretan nights with fantastic music and dancing ( even around the swimming-pool :-) and international dancing."

by Marita_M
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

« 1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Phaedra Beach Hotel Closest airport: Nikos Kazantzakis (HER) 24.4 miles
Phaedra Beach Hotel photos (3 traveller photos)

Similar hotels around Malia

Hotels near Phaedra Beach Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Phaedra Beach Hotel?

Stayed at Phaedra Beach Hotel? Share your insight.