Kyriakos Studios & Apartments

Irinis St., Crete 70007, Greece
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8.5  / 10
(15 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
11
Good
2
Average
1
Poor
0
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9/10
Value: 9/10
Cleanliness: 10/10
Location: 8.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Kyriakos Studios & Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
don't recommend by wojkat
1 / 10

tiny "apartment"(env. 6,5 x 2,5 m sq.)

small, unconfortable single beds

very noisy street just outside the window

unfriendly owners barely speaking english

swimming pool with not sufficiently cleaned water, that gave us a serieus bladder infection

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Excellent holiday at the Kiriakos (again) by pjk
9 / 10

Once again we returned to Crete and Stalis in particular, and this was our 4th time at the Kiriakos Apartments. We have stayed in other apartments in Stalis and they didn't compare to the standards that Mike, Maria, Kiriakos and "Mama" set at their apartments. The cleanliness of the rooms (cleaned daily by Maria), the pool and the bar area are first class and does the family great credit.

You do experience some noise from the main highway but in all honesty, and after several glasses of Raki, you tend not to notice this so much. The good side of staying near the highway is that it makes getting around the island very easy indeed as the bus stops are very close to the apartments and a regular bus service is a bonus.

All the amenities of Stalis are a short walk and there are numerous bars and restraunts within 5 to 10 minutes walk. The resort itself is quieter than it's close neighbour Malia and this obviously is more suitable to families or older couples or groups who just want to "chill out". Usual price for our group (4 adults) for meals was in the region of 40-50 Euros and that included some drinks so it was too bad given that Greece is undergoing severe financial difficulties. Not too bad in the bars either with beer between 1.5 and 2 Euros and Cocktails around 3.5 Euros.

Check the bars out for beach access as well because a lots of the bars also do sunbeds and umbrellas during the day and this costs about 3 Euros per person but if you go to CoCo's bar that price includes a lunch time snack. Good value. The beach itself is also a good place to chill out.

Good places to visit include, Lassithi Plateau, Aghios Nicholaos, Spinalonga and Knossos. Don't be pressured into booking through the Agents in the resorts because you can get to all these places via the bus routes and the price difference is tremendous. When going to Sinalonga you need to go to Ag Nik on the bus and you then book the boat at the harbour and the best one we found was the Venus. Car hire is also quite cheap and there are lots of deals at the moment.

You could safely say that we had an excellent holiday and this was made better having stayed at the kiriakos again. We would certainly recommend these apartments to family and friends. Top Tip " Just watch out for Mama with that hosepipe.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great Holiday by ds delight
9 / 10

Me and my partner stayed at the Kiriakos apartments in June and found them to be a friendly spotless place .The family were lovely and even though grandma was taken poorly and needed to be in hospital Maria still found the time to make sure our apartment was cleaned. There is road noise but like anywhere this dies down at night .we would certainly stop at these apartments again and would recommend them to friends.

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Stalis is a family friendly resort
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A Great Place to Stay by Lou
10 / 10

We had our first holiday in Crete last year (June 2009) and were fortunate enough to discover the delights of these apartments. Yes they are on a main road but that didn’t seem to trouble anyone. The family, Mike, Maria, son Kyriakos and Grandma were all brilliant and looked after us wonderfully well. The apartment we had was spotless and many of the other guests were had returned more than once which speaks for itself. The cooking facilities are basic as they always are in such apartments but I am not one to cook anyway especially when I can get a fresh, light breakfast at the pool bar with my morning coffee. The beach is only 5-7 mins walk down a quiet road and we found Stalis to be a thriving, but not overcrowded or rowdy, little place with a lovely beach, nice shops, sandwich bars and some excellent restaurants backing onto the beach where you could enjoy a lovely meal in quiet surroundings with friendly service at all times. We will return to Crete one day and this is the place we will stay again without any doubt.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Extra costs involved by derek.moult
5 / 10

The Kyriakos appts. although clean are very basic plus watch out for the cost for a safe in your room and exspensive air con. witch is essential if you want to sleep because the main road is very busy and noisey.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Self Catering, booked with Libra Holidays
  • Advice: Everything you require for a beach holiday
  • Activities: Georges taverna Great food Great atmosphere
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A predictably wonderful holiday by Myles
10 / 10

This was our second visit in consecutive years. We had chosen Kyriakos apartments by chance in 2007, and could not fault the holiday. So we chose to visit again in 2008, and our expectations were not disappointed. Maria, Mike, Kyriakos, and perhaps above all Granny, have become good friends, and cannot be more helpful. The cooking facilities in the apartments are basic, but adequate, and we found it easy to cook dinner, without going to the expense of eating out every night. The local restaurants are of good quality, and everyone we met was extremely friendly and helpful.

Like other reviewers, we can recommend Maria's barbecue.

Everywhere at the Apartments was spotless, and linen was changed with surprising frequency. The walk to the beach is short and easy, though if you simply want to laze around by the pool at the Apartments, that's good as well.

We can NOT fault it - we've been to several of the Greek Islands, as well as other Mediterranean and Atlantic coast destinations, including the Cape Verde Islands, and Kyriakos Apartments rates in our top two favourites - particularly as it's so reasonably priced.

We're hoping to return later in 2009, with all of our family and their partners - we'll be a party of 12!

  • Holiday details: Aug 2008, Self Catering, Booked Independently
  • Good For: Beach

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

can i also just say to mister golfer... by C Boardman
10 / 10

can i also just say to mister golfer and whoever else that while we was there we had a shower in morning and nights but never had a problem with the water, also the sun loungers and pool equiptment were never packed away, and as for going in the high season it was as good as it could be, i acctually didnt see any trouble or hear of any and everyone seemd to be genually nice to everyone there are MANY pubs/clubs/bars/resturants so you can find what you want when you wantand theres also somewhere to go, but i would recommend hireing a car, scooter or quad to go to other areas if you wanted to and trips were ruined by the germans and french who were extreamly ignorent and rudebut otherwise would have possibly been very good

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Our second year at these apartments... by J Cochrane
9 / 10

Our second year at these apartments and we were not dissapointed.The flight out with Air Viking was basic to say the least and after a 2hr delay we arrived at 7am where Maria the owner was up to welcome us and show us our rooms.The rooms are basic but very clean and the linen is changed 3 times a week and what a joy we had a kettle as well. The pool area is small but great for having a lazy day in the sun. Mike and Maria and their son Kyriacos go out of their way to be as helpfull as possible and the barbecue is something to be experienced fab food ,fireworks and lots of wine and greek dancing.Stalis resort is what you want to make of it ,great beaches and plenty places to choose from for food and drink if you want typical greek,english or anything else its there.Take a trip to the island of Spingalonga,you can leave from Agios Nikolas which is beautifull and the boat trip is lovely but watch it is extremely hot on the island.Try to get to the village of Mohos, one night a week the whole village square hosts a traditional greek night which is something to be seen.Old Malia is lovely but Malia itself not for the oldies.Heraklion town is very busy and you could really do with staying overnight to see all the museums,churches and shops.Would we go again YES ,great weather and good company what more could you want.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Just spent a weeks break with my wife... by K Douthwaite
8 / 10

Just spent a weeks break with my wife at the kyriacos apartments, we were very lucky with the weather as it was our first time to the greek islands we didn't quite know what to expect, but we wern't disapointed at all. The apartments were very clean, but basic, the facilities were very good and Maria and all the family who run the apartments couldn't do enough for you. The food is excellent and the kitchen and bar area are first class. The pool area is also well kept and clean> I would highly recommend these apartments for any body looking for a nice relaxing break, and the resort of Stalis has something for just about every taste in either food or activities.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

My wife, daughter & grandson (6)... by Keith Taylor
10 / 10

My wife, daughter & grandson (6) & I enjoyed a great weeks holiday at the Kyriakos Apts.

Although the owners english is very limited they are kindness itself. The apartments are spotlessly clean & just a short walk to the beach / village centre. Traffic was a little noisy but certainly did not spoil our holiday. We would definitely go back ! Stalis itself is a very nice little resort, excellent beaches, a good mix of restaurants & bars without being too developed. Access to neighbouring resorts & to the capital Heraklion are excellent & the boat trip to Spinalonga is a must.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fantastic holiday at Kyriakos... by Kevin Wheatley
10 / 10

Fantastic holiday at Kyriakos apartments. Accommodation was excellent, apartments were spotlessly clean and only 5 mins walk from the beach. The swimming pool and bar at apartments provided the perfect setting to unwind and enjoy the beautiful weather.

Mike, Maria and family provided a welcome as warm as the weather ( which was 45 degrees in the shade), they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Maria provided lovely food all day, her Greek salad is definitely the best in Stalis. the bar-b-que nites were great crack and not to be missed, loads of delicious food, Greek dancing, plate smashing, fireworks and reiki, what more could one ask!

The family atmosphere at the apartments made everyone feel welcome and Kyriakos ( Mike and Marias son) did a great job as bar man, a delightful young man!

There were plenty of restaurants within walking distance to cater for all ages and tastes, and loads of shops. We would highly recommend these apartments and cannot wait to get back next year!

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Me and my partner Andy have just come... by  Sue Horrocks
10 / 10

Me and my partner Andy have just come back (very reluctantly) from two glorious weeks in these lovely apartments, this has to be one of the best holidays we have had.

The owners were brilliant and could not do enough for us. The apartments were basic but spotless, the pool small but great for cooling off after a hard day sunbathing!

There were lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance, Creta was one of our favourites, a table by the sea was great.

The one downfall of Stalis was the far too many mopeds and quads, this sometimes got too much as you were constantly having to watch out for them.

We met some great people, hello to Kevin, Margaret, paddy, George, sue and Angela.

We would definitely come back here.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Kyriakos Studios & Apartments? Share your insight.

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Kyriakos Studios & Apartments
  • by Myles

    " We tried several restaurants - all were good. Themis Beach bar does good food for lunch. "

  • by pjk

    " This is more of a Chill out resort. If you want noise, hustle and bustle then go to Malia. "

Similar hotels around Stalis

Hotels near Kyriakos Studios & Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Kyriakos Studios & Apartments?