Gran Amadores Apartments

Islas Afortunadas, 3, Gran Canaria 351 39, Spain
3 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

8  / 10
(51 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
31
Good
11
Average
2
Poor
1
Awful
6

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Gran Amadores Apartments

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 35 »
Great base for a great holiday. by S.Maher
9 / 10

Great value for your money. The Apartments are a very good size and very clean. Pool area also clean.

The Poolside bar is very good value and the entertainment was very good.

The Apartments are a 5 min walk to a lovely beach and only a 20 min walk into Puerto Rico which is a little bit more lively. A taxi to and from the town will cost just 4 euro.

  • Holiday details: Jul 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Each Apartment only sleeps 3 and a small child, Larger families may need 2 rooms.
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Cheap and Cheerful by Penny S
10 / 10

You get what you pay for!!! and at Gran Amadores I personally think you get that little bit more. Excellent location - friendly and helpful staff - pool area is great - bar has lovely food and cocktails at reasonable prices - apartments are basic but clean and well equiped (except a kettle which you can hire from reception) Overall an excellent place to stay, will definitely be returning next year!

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

amazing by cerysmerthyr
10 / 10

absolutely fantastic holiday. just got back tuesday night from a week at these apts, with my partner and two young children. pool spotless, dont listen to anyone saying its dirty 'cause its not!!! just booked to go again next year but this time for 2 weeks 1 week just not long enough at these apts!!!!

  • Holiday details: Sep 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

never again ,disgusting by Alison R
1 / 10

allison,glasgow myself and my 2 children returned from here on the 13th august 2012,i have never been so appoled with a holiday as i am with this one.the rooms were dirty and never polished,the beds were stained and smelly,the sofa bed in the living room was so uncomfy ,the pool area was never washed down the full 2 weeks we were there ,you could not see the bottom of the swimming pools as they were filthy,there is no first aider on the complex,cleaners putting towels down for there friend to come in and spend the day there,the first aid box out side reception was empty,i came out in a rash head to toe after being in the pool and so did my children ,I WOULD NEVER ADVISE ANYONE TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL especialy with young children as there is nothing for them to do .

  • Holiday details: Jul 2008, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: the beach and eating facilities at the front
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

DONT GO by margaret from glasgow
1 / 10

just returned yesterday (13.08.12) this hotel is a nightmare. no entertainment for 2weeks apart from 1 barbacue, the pools were cleaned 3 times in 2 weeks, sunbeds discusting, pool area filthy, spaniards allowed to use facilities from walking in off the street, cleaners resereving beds for non guests. The rooms were clean but matresses were full of urine stains, electric socket in the wall had been pushed through the wall, bed sheets were changed twice in 2weeks. Explicit behaviour in the pool area from the spaniards resulting in families removing children from the pool. The list goes on and on, would strongly advice anyone to avoid this hotel.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: no comment
  • Good For: Beach

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

curupt civil police by aussie1979
1 / 10

came to stay at this hotel for a week on the 25th june 2012 everything was great until the creepy old night watch man with the ginger hair called the civil guards after my partner left her key on the inside of the door and went to bed so i couldnt get in after knocking on the door he must of thought i was trying to break in when the curupt civil guards came the creepy pervert said something in spanish and they took my away locked me up for 3 days in the dark with no food and water took me to court and charged me 1000 euros or another 12 months in jail my partner and i missed our plane she was worried sick as she didnt know where i was till we met up at the airport this was the worst holiday we have ever had in the 10 years we have been comeing to the island we would not recomend this hotel to anyone because of that ginger haired pervert shame cause it was a good hotel and the rest of the staff was fantastic

  • Holiday details: Jun 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: watch out for the creepy ginger haired old security pervert night watchman
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Basic Apartments near to beach by Sun lover
7 / 10

We have had a wonderful holiday - October in Amadores is glorious - the weather and temperature both day and night are perfect! We stayed in the Gran Amadores Apartments. They are very spacious - but very basic! The cleaners came in 5 days a week and did a very good job. We got clean towels every other day but the beds were only changed once a week. The kitchen area consists of 2 electric rings and a microwave. No kettle! Oh and a coffee maching that was useless! There was plenty of wardrobe space but not a draw in sight! We got a good deal so I think the accomodation was fair for the price we paid. The outside was kept lovely. I noticed that the 2 large pools and 1 small pool was cleaned every day. The bar was handy - the bar man was a happy chap and most helpful - but the food left a lot to be desired!

Amadoras beach is magnificent! If you are a beach lover - come here! There are enough restaurants to keep you fed - Cias Cias an Italian restaurant was particularly good! The only pub type restaurants shut on a night!

The resort of Amadoras is kept to a high standard - the floral displays are quite beautiful. The walk to Porta Rico is a must- we walked there every morning - great way to walk off the calories from the night before!

The sea was warm - great to swim in. There are more than enough sun beds and brollies - 3 euros each.

The taxis were very cheap to visit other resorts and there is a very good bus service.

Try to dodge the time share - they now are trying to sell you "holidays" not time share?

All in all for a winter holiday this takes some beating!

  • Holiday details: Oct 2010, Room Only, booked with Jet2 holidays
  • Advice: Great Beach
  • Good For: Beach

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

lovely 2 weeks by mary mcguire
8 / 10

my partner and i have just returned from 2 weeks in these apts. we found them very clean inside and out. two large pools, one small childrens pool and a jacuzzi for use at 1 euro for about 15 mins. the island we found was very quiet, so there was never any que's at restruants or pubs. our pool bar had 2 happy hours, but not many customers. around the corner was a spar which was handy for stocking up the fridge.

the only down side of the holiday was the pool bar closing at 5pm on the sat we left, and the reception being closed. we had to pay 25 euro's to keep our room on, as we weren't being picked up till 8.30pm.

to round it off on a good note the cleaners were great, the very talented barman, come chef was a diamond and made the best pizza. (nacho you are the man)

  • Holiday details: Aug 2009, Self Catering, booked with Flyglobespan
  • Activities: san miguel, brilliant food, fast and friendly staff and very reasonably priced. afrikat boat trip.
  • Good For: Beach

13 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Holiday Ever ! by jay_geex
10 / 10

This was the best holiday i have ever been on !

All scottish in the appartments which means it was a good laugh & relaxed .

The walk to the town centre was short & taxi's were cheap.

Everyone became close friends & i still keep contact with them the now.

I really recommend !

  • Holiday details: Jun 2007, Self Catering, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Go to Mogan

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The complex and facilities are... by M Willingham
8 / 10

The complex and facilities are excellent value for money. It is all kept very clean and it is in good position in a small and attractive resort that is within an easy walk of Puerto Rico.

The on site pools and local beach are both really good and the staff are most helpful.

My wife and I would certainly go there again.

Travelling around the area is quite easy and reasonably priced by reliable bus services.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We have just returned from the Gran... by Jj Windsor
8 / 10

We have just returned from the Gran Amadores apts and can reliably say that this accomodation gave my family and I a throroughly enjoyable holiday.The rooms themselves are basic,bright and clean,the notable absentees are air conditioning and a kettle.They were cleaned to a good standard every other day,and fresh towels were supplied on the same timescale.There were no incidents of drunken rowdiness and the vast majority of fellow residents were very friendly.

The pool area was clean and well kept with absolutely no problem securing sun loungers and plenty of room for everyone to relax.The pool bar/eaterie'SCOTCH CORNER' was staffed by friendly people and served good british grub(Bellybuster breakfast is a must).The apartments are located 5 minutes from amadores' superb beach and nearby bars/restaurants.Nearby Puerto Rico is a 25 min walk along the promenade or a €3/4 taxi ride.Puerto Rico is well worth a visit offering countless bars,shops and restaurants.

Based on our experience we would highly reccomend these apartments and would have given 9/10 had much needed air con been availiable,the fan we rented just did'nt do enough.Gran Amadores apts are not 5 star but,offered us good,clean,value for money apartments.£954 for a family of 4 for a week in the school holidays,inc flights and transfers.enough said!

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We had a fabulous holiday at the Gran... by A Britton
9 / 10

We had a fabulous holiday at the Gran Amadores. (family 4). The aptms were basic but very comfortable. Maids came in every second day and cleaned the place.

Kids loved the pool area, had to drag them up at 8pm!!!!! Scotch Corner was ok, however couldn't sit there every night. 5 mins away in taxi to Puerto Rico thats where the night life is.

Amadores beach is beautiful and loads of places to eat and drink.

Highly recommend it.

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 35 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Gran Amadores Apartments? Share your insight.

Explore area

Map for Gran Amadores Apartments Closest airport: Gran Canaria (LPA) 22.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Gran Amadores Apartments
  • by mary mcguire

    " avoid scratch cards at all costs. and just say no to the looky men. "

Similar hotels around Puerto Rico

Hotels near Gran Amadores Apartments

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Gran Amadores Apartments?