Creta Maris Beach Resort

5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(20 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
9
Good
7
Average
1
Poor
0
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 8.5/10
Service: 9/10
Value: 8.5/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 9.5/10
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
A lovely resort for Grecophiles

"This is a hotel that is proud of being Cretan. In particular, it does not pander to British tastes. To me, this is a huge point in its favour. If you just want Britain with sunshine, don't book a holiday here. There are plenty of other places that will cater for your needs, but Creta Maris is much more suited to those of us who love Crete. The resort was one of the first hotels to open in Hersonissos, and I believe it is still owned by the same (Cretan) family. If you want all the advantages of an all-inclusive but would still like a holiday that is distinctively Cretan, it doesn't get much better than Creta Maris. The resort occupies the best position in Hersonissos. It's only a short stroll from the town, but far enough away not to suffer from any noise or nuisance. It has an idyllic position right on the beach, and unlike many hotels in the area, it is not separated from it by the rather scrappy coastal road. It's a large resort, with two main hotel buildings (Creta Maris and Terra Maris) and a 'village' that consists of small bungalows built in the traditional Cretan style. We found our bungalow room charming. It had not been renovated - the hotel is currently engaged in a program of renovations during the winter months - but it was still perfectly adequate for our needs. It was large, clean and had a generously proportioned terrace facing a garden full of old olive trees. Unlike many all-inclusive, Creta Maris did not charge us extra for the use of the room safe or air conditioning.

We spent a lot of time in the 'Romantic Bar' - a lovely outside area with seating overlooking the pool area and seaside. I can't think of anything nicer than enjoying an evening drink there while the sun goes down. We also liked the 'Steki' pool bar, which was run by the wonderful Popi. In fact, all of the staff at Creta Maris are excellent.

The food at the resort is very good, especially if, like me, you love Cretan cuisine. There are many choices, however, and you can take your pick from a vast array of Mediterranean dishes. We ate mainly in the main 'Cosmos' buffet restaurant, but also enjoyed Greek night at 'Cochlias', which is right on the water front.

It is worth hiring a car so that you can explore the island. Heraklion, Knossos, Agios Nicolaos and Elounda are all wonderful places that are worth seeing, as are numerous nearby hill villages. Hersonissos itself is a place that has grown up almost solely in response to tourism. It closes down almost completely in the winter months. But there are many nearby places where you can get a feel for the Cretan way of life. We are looking forward to returning to Creta Maris later this year.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2013, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Advice: Book a room with a sea view if possible. Garden rooms are fine, however.
  • Good For: Beach
by ClareC
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic !!!!!!

"wonderful, fantastic, spotlessly clean, friendly, efficient, great food, attention to detail.....Staff are great and hotel complex is really beautiful. Everyone went that extra mile in order to make this the best holiday experience that we have ever had.....and we have travelled to dozens of countries and stayed in dozens of hotels.

We booked for a week and stayed for 3....we just couldn't bear to leave such a wonderful place. I would say that if you want to go to the beautiful island of Crete, then you really, really couldn't do better than to stay at the Creta Maris. We are definately going back as I feel as though we had a holiday amongst kind and caring friends. Well done Creta Maris and our thanks to you all. xxxxx
"

  • Holiday details: May 2012, booked with Thomas Cook
  • Good For: Beach
by dpeek100
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

This is by no means a 5 star hotel

"We checked in today into this hotel, which was marketed to us a 5 star exclusive de-luxe hotel, and it turned out to be at most, a 2 star run down resort at most. We booked a regular room, but when we got here, we were “upgraded” to a bungalow, a few hundred meters away from the main building (mind you, its mid summer in one of the hottest countries in europe) , the so called bungalow, turned out to be an austere room, more fit for a convent that a “luxury convention center”. Ill try to post a few pictures online so you can see the difference between the advertised in the hotel’s website and reality. After protesting politely with the reception we were offered the regular room, which turned out to be as bad as the bungalow, but with a refurbished bathroom. still a suffocating room with really bad maintenance, by all means it cannot be regarded as a 5 star hotel room, more like a single star 2 stars at most (and I am being generous). After protesting again we were offered a different bungalow, closer to the building. This time it was the same poor setup, but with the benefit of the room be filled with cigarette stench and with broken tiles in the dirty looking bathroom, once again, unacceptable. We complained again with reception and opted for the regular room.

They promised to move us to a better room tomorrow. Let’s see what happens, I am skeptic. The whole resort I quite rundown, and while boasting the pictures of a few renovated room, the majority of the hotel is so disappointing that we are thinking of moving to a B&B somewhere around, even though we paid for the hotel already. Just to avoid the feeling that we where cheated, and had our holiday ruined by our travel agent and the hotel that presented itself as an exclusive resort and turned out to be, well, much less than that to say the least.

Ill keep you posted on every development, lets hope somehow the creta maris people help salvage our vacation, as it looks right now, there is no way ill be back in this hotel, or in any of the mares chain hotel ever again.

Now it’s in their hands, in any case, ill keep reporting, and warning. Needless to say, we already changed our travel agent, anyone recommending this resort under this conditions makes a very poor service to his clients.

One final note, for an upgrade to a better room creta maris wanted us to add from 75 to 143 Euros a day, on top of the 200 euro list price of a double room per night, if anyone pays 200 euro per day for a room like we have now, he is paying roughly 200 Euros too much.

We still hope our vacation is not completely ruined, well keep you posted, as we will with any website reviewing this hotel.

Cheers,

Martine and Daniel
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, Half Board, booked with flying carpet
  • Good For: Beach
by JK_JAKO
2 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

beautiful hotel fantastic location...

"beautiful hotel fantastic location near a harbour and some tavernas and shops, swimming pools lovely bungalow pool suited us best as quiet and shallower for younger kids. food was outstanding - could not find anything to dislike or critisize. they looked after us and even got food out for my special needs son who only eats ham at every meal. everybody was friendly the building was beautiful. plenty of sunloungers on beach for free and around swimming pools lovely beach for kids, although a bit difficult getting into sea with the rocks"

by Lockington
10 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Israel, Aaron & Helga Roseman...

"Israel, Aaron & Helga Roseman

Date: 18-22 April, 2008

Creta Maris truly a 5* deluxe hotel. We arrived at 23:00 and reception asked us if we would like dinner in one of their outdoor restaurant Pithos, this is the first time such a gesture was afforded to us and a good start to our holiday. We stayed in the main building not in the bungalows and had a fantastic spacious room with balcony, very clean, equipped with all necessary comforts, red/white wine, water, coffee/tea and a complimentary Creta Maris beach bag. The hotel and complex very clean and architecture and facilities luxurious. An extensive buffet morning and evening in main dining room to suit all taste buds . The Cochlias restaurant overlooking the sea very romantic, most enjoyable Greek evening with delicious food and show and discount for guests. A romantic bar disco evening with music from 60s – 80s with participation of the Guest Relations staff or just relaxing in the bar with piano music overlooking the crystal blue sea are just one of the amenities. The Spa centre was not expensive, 15 Euro for the whole day for jacuzzi/sauna/ heated indoor pool and we were also able to enjoy the sun and outdoor pool overlooking the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and staff very friendly and helpful, we were always greeted with a smile and hello. The gardens are beautiful and one can relax on comfortable loungers in the shade and enjoy a drink. A 5 minute walk brings you to Hersonissos with cafes on the sea front and plenty of shops. Definitely recommend Creta Maris an experience you won't forget.
"

by Helga Roseman
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I can say that this is the best...

"I can say that this is the best holiday we have had! The hotel was fantastic and the staff were very friendly. I am planning on going back again soon. Children are catered for very well and there are plenty of things for children to do. The facilities are also very good including the fully equipped gym for those that enjoy exercising. Also included in the price are massage and hair salon.

There is also a great variety of food in the restaurant which caters for all appetites and tastes.

I would and have recommended this hotel as there was not one thing that I can be negative about.

It is great value for money.
"

by J  Clarke
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We were in a bungalow just off from...

"We were in a bungalow just off from the main hotel. The hotel staff were extremely warm and friendly. The hotel was excellent, what you would expect from a 5 star establishment.

The main pool I would say however would not be ideal for young children, as no matter how hard I tried I couldn't find a shallow end. There were just ridges around the edges of the pool where you could put your feet on.

The bungalow pool was quieter and was shallow.

The food was very good with different restaurants within the hotel complex to try, with theme nights as well.

The entertainment staff were second to none, and kept both children and adults entertained with kids club, kid’s discos, themed evening nights in the hotel's nightclub, karaoke, and quiz night - something different on every night of the week.

I went with my mother and my 8 year old son and we had a fantastic time and would recommend the Creta Maris to anyone.

But a word of warning the older teenager might not enjoy it, as much at night as there isn't anything really for them to do.
"

by R Hill
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Lovely Pool & Beach, rooms a bit tired

"Our family, 2 adults, 15 year old & 8 year old boys, stayed at the Creta Maris for 2 weeks in July. We had two ground floor hotel rooms, one with a sea view and the other with a garden view. The rooms were an okay size, but are tired and need a revamp. Also, the heavy vegetation outside on the terrace made our room quite dark. The rooms were clean, but somewhat noisy with sounds audible from adjoining/overhead rooms.

The pool area is very nice with direct access onto a sandy beach with plenty of beds and umbrellas, pool bar etc. The hotel provide fresh pool towels everyday. We stayed on a b & b basis and breakfast was very good with the additional benefit of a late continental breakfast in another restaurant up to 11 a.m. We went to the hotel dinner buffet once and while the food was fine, we felt it was overpriced at €30 per adult - there is much better value and choice and many of the restaurants in the resort itself and we would recommend visiting the small villages in the hills where there are other excellent restaurants, particularly Myrtios in the square of Old Hersonnisos.

There is a lovely patio bar, bowling alleys, games room and disco etc. and lots of teenagers around for families with older children. The hotel entertainment was a bit hit and miss, but they host an excellent beach party on a Monday night. We had a look at bigger rooms in the hotel and the bungalows (actually two storeyed buildings) and once you are above ground level, the rooms are much brighter, but if you can, you should request the bungalows.

Overall, we felt that the location and general areas of the hotel were very good, but the hotel rooms need updating.
"

Management response from Korinna_Alexandri, 29 Nov 2007

Dear Trip Advisor Member Thank you very much for choosing Creta Maris Hotel for your holidays and for advising us of your comments and impressions that you had during your stay. We are delighted that you were pleased with most of our services and facilities. We would like now to take this opportunity to inform you that during the winter 2007-2008 we have scheduled a renovation of all the rooms and common areas in the main building of Creta Maris Hotel. Concerning your comments about the hotel entertainment, we would appreciate if you could send us more details and explanations at the e-mail kalexa@maris.gr. Be sure that we value your impression and we will consider your suggestions. We hope that we will have the honor of welcoming you back to the Creta Maris Hotel in the future. We remain at your complete disposal should you require any additional assistance and we look forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Korinna Alexandri Public Relations Manager

by TangirlDublin
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Outdated rooms with strong MILDEW smell!

"Pulled up at the hotel and proceeded to unload our own bags from the car, despite the very rude porter standing around a few feet away. We actually had to ask him to please help us and to tell us where we could leave our rental car. He never smiled or even said hello/welcome and then he proceeded to break the handle on one of our suitcases. We finally checked in and were shown our room, which was very musty and had only two beds, despite the fact that we reserved a triple. We complained to the porter and he called the front desk. We were told that a triple was not available, but may be available the next day. We explained that if our room was not available, we should be offered an upgraded room, not a downgrade! We were then offered a bungalow....same outdated furnishings, same musty smell. But it had three beds, so we moved the bags in and tried airing out the room. By this time it was almost 11:30pm, so there were NO restaurants still open on the property!! We went to town for a late dinner & then returned to the room.....it SMELLED AWFUL- the mildew smell was even worse than before. Once again, we called the front desk and told them the room smelled awful and that they should come to the room to see what was going on. They immediately said they would look for another room, but called back and said another triple was not available. We insisted on moving out of the room because the smell was unbearable and we suggested moving to the sister hotel, Terra Maris. They immediately made arrangements to move us to a bungalow at the Terra Maris, which was a much nicer property. Interestingly, they NEVER came by to smell the room.......because I am sure they know there is a problem with it!! Thankfully, they were accommodating with getting us moved to the other hotel, but it was a TERRIBLE experience!"

Management response from Korinna_Alexandri, 29 Nov 2007

Dear Trip Advisor Member You hope you had a safe journey back and thank you very much for having stayed at our hotel. We would like to express you our truthful sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your last visit in our hotel. We hope to have reacted quickly enough and have offered you a pleasant stay to the sister hotel Terra Maris. We hope that we will have the honor of welcoming you back to the Creta Maris Hotel in the future in order to have the chance to offer you unforgettable holidays. We remain at your complete disposal should you require any additional assistance and we look forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Korinna Alexandri Public Relations Manager

by hotelreviewerchicago
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

This is an absolutely fantastic...

"This is an absolutely fantastic holiday. There are fantastic restaurants within the hotel, that are included in the all inclusive deal.

The staff are extremely friendly and cannot do enough to help. There is room service throughout the night that is also in with the price and a mini bar that’s restocked daily.

I cannot praise this hotel enough to do it justice.
"

by  C Craddock
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Relaxing or sightseeing

"A friend and I stayed at the Creta Maris the last of May for three nights. The hotel is ia large resort type hotel with over 500 rooms. We got to the hotel about 9 PM and were showed to a ground floor room that was supposed to have a mountain view. Instead it looked up at a rental car agency. Because we were two single women traveling together, we were very uncomfortable in a ground floor room with large patio doors. We contacted the front desk but they said they were booked and had no rooms with two beds available but that they would attempt to move us the next day.

We contacted the front dest the next morning at 8:30 AM and were advised there was a room with a partial ocean view available and the second floor. We moved out things and found the partial ocean view with a partial construction area view, but felt safe. The rooms are OK, although nothing spectacular. We were pleased to find a balcony with chairs and a table until we realized there are a lot of mosquitos on Crete. Unfortunately, the windows and patio door had no screens so we were unable to leave them open.

The hotel is obviously a busy convention hotel with very nice pool and beach area. If you are interested in relaxing and enjoying the sun and beach, this could be the place for you but if sightseeing is your thing, it's location is just so-so. The town itself has a lot of shops and cafes and it's a 10 minute walk to the local bus station.

Lunch and dinner consist of a very large buffet which was good. There is a lovely patio bar, four lane bowling alley, billards room, etc.

We heard from others on the bus that some of the hotels in Crete don't turn on the air conditioning until June 15th, so beware!
"

Management response from Korinna_Alexandri, 29 Nov 2007

Dear Trip Advisor Member Thank you very much for choosing Creta Maris Hotel for your holidays and for taking time to write your comments and impressions that you had during your stay helping us improve the quality of our services. In the framework of our attempt to exceed your expectations, it is very important for us to continue to upgrade our facilities and services and to provide highly educated personnel. We would like now to take this opportunity to inform you that during the winter 2007-2008 we have scheduled a renovation of all the rooms and common areas in the main building of Creta Maris Hotel. Regarding the mosquitoes you mentioned, please note that the hotel provides in every room devices for mosquitoes and that the reception is always willing to assist you, providing you with extra devices should you require them. In addition, referring to the air conditioning, we would like to specify that all rooms in Creta Maris are equipped with individual air condition which is operating from April to November. We hope that in the future we will have the chance to host you again in the Creta Maris Hotel. We remain at your complete disposal for anything you should require. Yours sincerely Korinna Alexandri Public Relations Manager

by HBCATraveler
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Great place !

"We stayed here from 11th-21th in a seafront bungalow and it was just wonderfull.

Great view, the sound of the sea while you trie to fall asleep...

Very friendly and helpfull staff!! Rooms were allways clean.

The food in the restaurants was very good. Breakfast at the seafront restaurant is exellent, if you like a quiet champagne breakfast that is...

Pool was a bit cold but once you got in it was ok. Allways plenty free chairs and umbrellas so no " towelreservations" necessary...But there are always muppets that do it anyway...

Great value for money!
"

by wimair
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Creta Maris Beach Resort Closest airport: Nikos Kazantzakis (HER) 11.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Creta Maris Beach Resort
  • by dpeek100@sky.com

    " This destination is perfect. In the weeks that we stayed, we never went further than a walk to the town.....we never needed to. "

Similar hotels around Hersonissos

Hotels near Creta Maris Beach Resort

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Creta Maris Beach Resort?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Creta Maris Beach Resort? Share your insight.

Creta Maris Beach Resort is also called:

  • Creta Maris
  • creta maris convention hotel
  • creta maris hotel
  • Green Cretan All Inclusive
  • Terra Maris Hotel

Address: Limin Hersonissou, Crete 70014, Greece