Continental Garden Reef Resort

Garden Reef Bay PO Box 186, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
4.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(17 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
8
Good
5
Average
1
Poor
2
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7/10
Location: 8/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Continental Garden Reef Resort

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Room 2110

"It is not a hotel for English people or should I say non Russians! We were constantly ignored by the reception staff, unbelievably unhelpful and rude. Only Russians were treated with respect. It is definitely not a 5 star hotel, I would rate it a 2 star.

Never stay in room 2110! The curtains were torn, rug on the floor was flirty and the bathroom had grime on the shower head and the tiles around the shower was all mouldy. The toilet seat always collapsed on you every time you sat on it. The smell of swage constantly from the shower plug hole. A 5 star hotel with no hot water? It was horrible and when we complained we were told to be grateful as we were upgraded to a sea view room. WHAT A LIE we paid for a sea view room ( what liars).

A 5 star hotel which does not offer free Wi-Fi ( unheard of), it took reception three days to sort out the Wi-Fi connect from the room.

The food! Disgusting the only good thing was the fresh juices. It’s a waste of time paying for all inclusive. Restaurant staff were very pleasent, wish the food was the same.

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, the beach is amazing and the ground staff were very hospitable but management and reception staff are rude and unhelpful ( their priority are the Russians). Without the beach our holiday with have been ruined.

I will never stay at the Continental Reef Garden Resort, my advice is to pay more and stay at a real 5 star hotel.
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2013, booked with Fleetway
  • Advice: Only the baech!
  • Good For: Beach
by McEwan111
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Perfect

"This was my husband and I's first trip to Egypt and also first time trying all inclusive. It was a last minute booking via our local travel agent and we were a little wary. But we couldn't have chosen better.

Clean, well furnished, large room - cleaned and towels replaced every day.

Helpful, hospitable and friendly staff.

Great choice of food at each meal.

Reception staff really helpful and friendly.

Animations could have been a big better but still quite enjoyable.

Free coach to other areas of Sharm really useful.

The staff in the restaurant really made us feel at home.

We will definitely visit this hotel again in the not too distant future. Definitely a good experience
"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
by Marygal
10 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

best holiday i have ever had

"we went to this hotel and could not say a bad thing about it,the holiday was the best holiday i have had. the food ,staff,hotel the, aquapark was excellent ,the quality and variation of food was excellent every thing was clean.anyone saying they did not like this hotel do not listen to them .this was the first time in years we have been away for 2 weeks dident think i would like it but it was my hubbys 60th and they made a cake and danced around him and sang happy birthday they did it to every one who had a birthday.the staff smiled all thie time and did anythig to help they would go out of there way to help ,ally barma was a lovey man got bit by mozzies and he went away and in 5 mins was back with a spray for the room the next night he had a spray to to put on my arms and legs and would not take enything for them but all the staff were exellent they work hard all day running after you and some people were not very nice to them, it made me so mad but this time it was not the english that were nasty. if you are going to this hotel you should love it we did and if you are going with kids they will love the pools with the slids but please take sun cream dont get it at the little shop at the hotel we got a facter 90 and i was puting on my grandson all day and used the bottle and he blisterd but he is ok thank god .we all had a excellent holiday ."

  • Holiday details: May 2009, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: it is a relaxing holiday or do something every day make it your holiday
by hepplewhite
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

I thought i had better add a more...

"I thought i had better add a more recent review of this hotel since the only other one is a a bit out of date. We visited this hotel thinking that it would be the best for our honeymoon as it is rated a 5 star. unfortunately the hotel was not up to our expectations at all. First of all the hotel looks fantastic from outside grand entrance clean friendly security guards who unfortunately cannot speak any English to you it doesnt get any better from there on in. Your met at the gate by the hotel porters who come an take your luggage which we thought was fantastic thought that it would be great from there on in but we got to the reception desk and the staff could hardly speak a word of english to you apart from 2 of them. the porter who treks you round all the resort to your room expects a tip for taking your luggage but you have no choice but to let him take it as he wont let you take it yourself. We went to the olive tree resteraunt which serves breakfast lunch an dinner for all inclusive and its the only one that will serve guests for bed and breakfast. There we had the biggest dissappointment. there ws no variety of food at breakfast except eggs done 3 different ways toast or melon it was the same every morning we only went twice before we got bored so for the breakfast we starved--- the lunch menu consisted of 3 types of rice cold veg as a salad???? chicken but its only boned chicken no breast basically it would be the chicken that i would give my dog. and bread with soup and once i picked up a breadstick an you could have knocked someone out wiht it it was that hard. dinner was basically the same every night rice potatoes chicken or beef served cold and no variety for the kids whatsoever. the drinks ar even worse , inside the drinks are reasonable outside at the top pool bar they are served warm there is fridges but there not used. all the spirits are local and served warm . the beer is from draught but the glasses you get it in is cleaned in there local water which you are not supposed to drink the soft drinks are pepsi an fanta which are usually flat by the time you have your third glass as they are from bottles also, the staff at the bar dont speak much english either and are very slow althought they will try. After 3 days of upset stomaches and ear infections which was from the pool we gave up and spent the rest of the holiday eating from mcdonalds ( life saver) and pizza hut. we also didnt realise that the hotel was NOT within walking distance from naama bay it is a 15 mins bus journey which the hotel puts on 3 times a night starting at 20.15 pm and the last bus back to the hotel is at midnight . you have to book the bus that morning BEFORE 9 am as the bus fills up quickly if you dont make the bus then basically your stuck in the hotel with not much else to do as the so called disco bar doesnt start until 11.00pm and finishes at 1.00 am we wernt told about the bus it was another guest that told us they didnt tell us anything there was no welcome meeting no one knew about the reps where they would be anything not even where to get a taxi from should we need it. ALSO PLEASE BE AWARE that EVERYDAY there is aqua gym at the top pool they walk around pestering you to come an join in they have scouts that tout business for watersports and snorkeling and massage even if they have seen you the day before they still come an ask you if your there to relax they still try an talk to you if your sleeping!!! the resteraunt el Hamera i wouldnt touch with a ten foot bargepole there is 2 menus set menu 1 or 2 you get one visit per stay the soup was fine but the salad and mixed grill was appaling so much so that it looked like a roasted mouse and piece of rat on our plates we walked out when the main meal was served it was just disgusting. the standard of the rooms was great the housekeepin manager was excellent he could speak english but our fridge didnt work very well and 3 times they told us they would fix it it never got changed. the air conditioning leaked but was fixed that same day we reported it. the supermarket doesnt sell food or water you have to go to naama bay for that all they sell is perfume souvineers or handbags or shoes its awful. the only good thing about the shopping centre is the pharmacy he is excellent he knows exactly what to give you (maybe because every guest has been in for the same thing) the hotel is for russians who eat enything and drink everything without a complaint and thats where the standards lie all the staff presume that your russian an talk to you in that language i would avoid this hotel like the plague unless you want to try it for yourself the hotel looks beautiful in pics but its standards are as an egyptiaN shop keeper told us iT only a 2 star compared to the four seasons over there which is the best hotel apparently in sharm el sheik which is rated a 7 star.

for anyone who wants to try it the number for mcdonalds is 069 3602110 believe me it will come in VERY USEFUL and the pizza hut number is 069 19000

if you want any more details let me know id be happy to help please dont let this spoil your visit to sharm el sheik as its a beautiful place to visit and experience just not in this hotel.
"

by E Russell
3 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

best holiday ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"i only got back 2 days ago and i miss it already! i can honestly say that it was the best week of my life. Not only did i have fun i also want to go back after i have finished college and work out there i liked it that much. The staff are friendly and they make you feel at home and the scuba diving facilaties are amazing. i will never forget my time there and from my point of view it was a perfect week."

by louisa-j-h
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

A wonderful time and lovely staff

"My partner enjoyed a short (3-night) stay here mid-July and although the weather was hot and we are not normally fans of high temperatures the hotel, its facilities and staff made our time here really enjoyable.

Arriving at SSH airport the IC unlike some tour companies was unable to meet us air-side and we had to sort out the visa stamps for our passports ourselves; at $15 p.p. its not expensive and once through passport control we were met by the (pre-arranged) limo driver and taken to the hotel. Although I understood this was a charged for service we were not billed, either for the journey to the hotel or the return trip.

Once at the hotel the desk staff quickly ascertained our reservation details and summoned a "VIP welcome" which included some rather cool refreshing drinks, an explanation of the hotel facilities by the Guest Relation manager and an escorted trip to our suite. Our luggage arrived very quickly afterwards.

The 2-room suite had a decent sized bathroom off the bedroom, shower is over the bath, and another WC & washbasin in a room off the lounge. Each room had a separate balcony, the lounge one featuring a table and 4 chairs with parasol over, the bedroom one 2 fixed benches for sunbathing with more than adequate soft cushions, etc. There were also 2 occasional tables for drinks, etc.

I have read in other reports people comment on the furnishings, etc., criticising the fact they did not match. We had no complaints, there was a couple of pieces different from the rest but that adds character to a room; I for one don't want to wake up and think I'd fallen asleep in an IKEA warehouse!

The comfort cooling in the rooms more than coped with the 35 - 37C temperature experienced during the day and turning it down (or is that up?) in the evening ensured a pleasant temperature in which to sleep.

The suite was efficiently serviced each day of our stay and a large bowl of fruit and bottled water as well as a selection of sweets were provided on day 1 with the fruit and water being replenised daily.

The selection of restaurants more than met our requirements, each morning we ate breakfast in the Olive Tree and found both the attitude of the staff and selection on offer very acceptable. Indeed it is worth mentioning again that the attitude of all the staff really went towards making our stay enjoyable, they were without exception polite and helpful, certainly much more so than in any US and most European hotels we have visited.

In the afternoons we dined at the poolside Horizon Restaurant which is situated at 'lower pool' level and where the pizza, chicken, beefburger and pasta meals we had were all good and came in goodly portions, no worry about being hungry after one of those.

Evening meals were taken in the Food Court open-air restaurant where a wide variety of different menus are available and on our last night the Al Hamraa Lebanese restaurant which I suspect is the centerpiece / showpiece dining venue but is no better or worse than any of the others.

My partner took the plunge and had a massage at the health club, probably the single most expensive item on our final bill, and reported that she thoroughly enjoyed it...but did not accept my offer to treat her to another!

Worth stating this just has to be the cheapest IC that we have ever stayed at, and one of the most enjoyable into the bargain.

I could go on and on but probably best to answer the question...would we go again...YES...and it will not be long before we do.
"

by A TripAdvisor Member
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Ever so slightly disappointing but great location

"We are regular travellers both for business and leisure staying frequently in Intercontinental Hotel Group hotels in major cities worldwide though not for our “bucket and spade” holidays mainly because there are few Intercontinental Group hotels in bucket and spade destinations. On this occasion, we wanted a hot sunshine break for a fortnight in March but didn’t fancy flying halfway across the world. An enquiry posted on Trip Advisors’s Egypt forum resulted in several positive responses persuading us that Sharm el Sheik will meet our needs. With our high opinion of the standards at Intercontinental Hotels and also because we belong to their loyalty programme providing us with a number of privileges, the Intercontinental Garden Reef at Sharm el Sheik was an obvious choice.

We travelled independently booking our room off the Intercontinental Hotel Group’s website and arranging scheduled British Airways flights to avoid the discomfort on the chartered airlines. Interestingly, this worked out quite a bit cheaper on a like for like comparison for the same hotel and room category offered by packaged holiday operators. Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy - the hotel operates a free airport shuttle and their representative was waiting for us as soon as we stepped into airport terminal building. He shepherded us through immigration control, retrieved our suitcases off the baggage and saw us unto the hotel’s minibus which transported us directly to the hotel.

First impressions of the hotel were excellent. It is situated over a kilometre or so off the main road with several security checkpoints before getting to the main building, the final couple hundred of meters or so being through beautiful gardens and then a pretty courtyard. The lobby area is pleasant enough though overshadowed by other hotels in the same class in terms of both size and luxury. Leading off the lobby were the main restaurant, bar and the ala carte restaurants. A small shopping mall consisting of a bank with ATM outside, jeweller, and a couple of others selling various souvenir items completed the picture.

The bedrooms were in separate buildings. We had an executive suite which consisted of a bedroom with a king sized bed separated from the sitting room by sliding doors – overall probably the size of two ordinary rooms. The bathroom was en suite to the bedroom while there was a separate toilet leading off from the sitting room. There were two large balconies and interestingly two front doors – every other suite we’ve stayed in at other hotels have had a single entrance. The seaview from the balconies was excellent.

The furniture and décor does not measure up to the standards normally found in Executive Suites in Intercontinental Hotels at in major cities worldwide but to be fair Sharm el Sheik is quite a bit cheaper. Another review has already mentioned the non matching furniture. In the bedroom we didn’t find this too bad as the quality of the furniture was reasonably good but the sitting room was some way from luxury with a rattan three piece suite, sideboard, console table and occasional tables all of mediocre quality.

We had breakfast delivered to our room everyday and had dinner from the room service menu a couple of times – the menu is a cut down version of that found in the main restaurant and the food was good. It was a pleasure eating on our balcony as the view could not be surpassed by any of hotel’s restaurants. Daily deliveries of complimentary fresh fruit and petit fours to our suite was a nice touch – we don’t know whether this is for all rooms, one of the priveleges of being in the Intercontinental Hotels loyalty scheme or just for suite guests. We also had a complimentary newspaper delivered through the door every morning.

We ate in the hotel regularly mainly to avoid having to venture to Naama Bay. The fish restaurant by the beach was particularly impressive serving freshly caught fish at reasonable prices - shame it closed at 18.00 each day. The Lebanese/Moroccan was also good while the Mexican and the main restaurant were disappointing. At the latter there was a choice of a buffet or an a la carte menu. We only went the once and ordered a la carte but we did not enjoy the meal. Maybe the buffet would have been a better option but we were not tempted to try it to find out. There was also a food court by the upper pool which we didn’t go to - while it was definitely open for business we never saw any customers there. In fact there weren’t many diners at any of the restaurants and yet the prices were competitive with those found in Naama Bay. The hotel’s bar also had few customers and was often empty in the evening – must have been disconcerting for the Russian female duet who sang there every night. Locally brewed beers were reasonably priced but the price of wine at 182 Egyptian pounds was exhorbitant for the poor quality. The price of these was 64 pounds in retailers in Naama Bay which is still dear for what you get. We suggest that you take your own from the UK. Spirits were also very dear unless you have the local variety we can’t imagine the quality to be particularly high.

For leisure, there was a reasonably equipped gym and a spa complex which offered a range of different types of massage. An outdoor massage facility could be found by the beach. There was also tennis coaching but the courts were of poor quality – certainly not commensurate with the class of the hotel. The small football pitch was similarly poor. There was a daily entertainment programme which consisted of volleyball, darts, aqua aerobics and petanque but there was nothing advertising what was on offer until a notice went up during our second week. The animation team was made up of two Russian girls and three local lads who were friendly after we managed to break the ice but they really catered for the Russian and Middle Eastern guests who were in the majority at the hotel by a long way particularly the Russians – there were only a handful of British, Italians and Belgians.

The swimming pools were impressive. The upper pool was empty most days probably because it was more exposed to the elements while the more sheltered lower pool was more busy though still not crowded. Similarly, the well sheltered beach was well attended and on some days crowded but the more exposed sun bathing terrace only attracted a handful of people. The upvc sunloungers were of mediocre quality and compared unfavourably with wooden framed ones at the beachfront hotels in Naama Bay. There were extensive and beautifully maintained gardens within the hotel complex. Other facilities include a dive centre catering for scuba divers which also hired out snorkels, masks and fins for 50 pounds. The quality of these were poor but diving around the nearby reefs is a must. A floating walkway leading to a pontoon made it easy to get to the reefs. On our first day, the sea was very choppy and there was a lot of movement on both the walkway and the pontoon which made it seem like a fairground attraction – certainly not but the most sure footed. Litigation conscious countries in the west will no doubt have closed it but standards are different in Egypt.

Naama Bay was about an hour’s stroll away but only a few minutes by taxi along a dual carriageway. We were lucky that the first cab we got charged 20 Egyptian pounds which seemed reasonable by our standards and this formed our benchmark for the rest of the stay. Subsequent cabs quoted 40-50 pounds but backed down quickly when we made it clear that we were only paying 20. We paid 50 pounds from Old Sharm which was considerably further but nonetheless we suspect this was over the top by local standards. It is clearly advisable to ask the price before boarding and be on you guard against overpricing. The hotel operates a shuttle bus into Naama Bay but it did not run at the most convenient of times – we didn’t bother with it as its easier to walk or get a cab.

Concluding, while the standards in parts did not quite match what we had come to expect from the Intercontinental brand elsewhere, it was still a nice enough hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay and we have no hesitation therefore in recommending it to anyone wanting a relaxing break.
"

by Shirley/John
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

My son aged 13 and I have just...

"My son aged 13 and I have just returned from a week here. We had a great time.

The food on half board was really good-buffet breakfast and dinner. Excellent quality and variation. The service was good- barring language difficulties but if you ask one of the waiters in red shirts they are good at English and sort things out.

We went for a warm break - temp 32 and gentle breezes -

And to do some further diving, having last done my open water course in 2004 at the ocean club in Sharm with a very miserable female instructor who, despite passing my open water with ease-made it rather an unhappy time for all of us.

My son had never dived before and did the 2 day junior scuba course which he enjoyed. The dive club had had some problems - don’t know what - but a new owner had just started the week we arrived so things were a bit hectic. However - I was VERY nervous about diving again having left it so long - but I was lucky to get a kind dive master - Sam - to who I shall always be grateful for getting me back into such a beautiful sport - as well as catching me a Spanish dancer - thank you. He gently reintroduced me to the spectacular garden reefs all just on the hotel beach.

The dive staff were lovely smiley helpful boys, who took the tanks down the jetty for you-helped you with putting on etc which made a big difference to me as I am tiny!

The snorkeling is superb.

The main drawback for us was that having booked independently we had no rep so didnt get to meet up with friends in the evenings as there was nothing really going on! We were so tired we usually went to bed around 9pm, but being on my own would have liked to have been able to join up with others in the evening for bottle wine/dancing etc. We went to Naama bay just for a change to eat at a restaurant I'd been to before-do try it- the Dananeer- just ask for directions! Excellent food and service.

Hard rock cafe very overrated- you need to book day before really or be prepared to wait ages and its just usual American/burgers etc- better to go to Maccy D's if you are desperate!

However I have to say I really don’t like Naama bay- just Blackpool on Egypt really and hard work avoiding the constant harassment as a woman!

Do have a massage from Sawsan - she is excellent.

I would love to stay at this hotel again but as a five star it is quite pricey when you add on all the drinks etc - I much prefer all inclusive. I would try to get a room nearer the beach and go with friends/family.

It is a very large complex so you have a lot of walking from the beach to reception etc so if you can’t be bothered ask for a room near the lower pool. The rooms are top class-excellent service and all the staff were so helpful smiley and kind.

I shall miss all the staff as they became like friends to me and Charlie that week so if you do go please tell Anwar, Sam, Sawsan and the boys in the Dive Club & the restaurant manager Kate & Charlie say thanks & how much we miss them already!
"

by  Kate Underhill
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Luxurious place- great diving!

"Charlie- my 13yr old son & I have just returned from a week here with a great tan and done some good diving.

I agree with all the previous reviews to save a lot of writing, but with a few tweeks this hotel rates highly for both of us and our needs.

My husband and two older sons are skiing again in April, but us two decided to go for some sun instead and more diving -

This hotel beach is situated on the renowned garden reef where I was taken from my cheap diving hotel 2 years ago to do my open water. Not having dived since then, I was very nervous that I had forgotten it all so was very lucky that Sam was such a kind dive master. He is a freelance instructor so you cannot guaruntee who you will get.

The dive club has just been taken over so was a bit chaotic but the staff- lovely smiley boys- were so helpful-did all the hard work like carrying all your gear to the jetty for you, helping to put it on, and generally making you feel welcome although they are not very good at english I kept smiling and managed fine!

The diving was superb- much warmer than feb-which was too cold.

My son went off for two days to do his junior scuba and then we went together as buddies for the first time-with Sam and others- a lasting memory for me-along with the spanish dancer-thanks Sam!

My main points which I feel would improve the hotel were;

- that it needs to be all inclusive/use any restaurant as most of them were empty which was a shame.

-Provide a central venue with music in the evening for dancing/meeting up with new friends etc-as i was on my own after Charlie went to bed there was nowhere to go-this was the biggest problem as I was alone, bored with MTV and would have loved to have mixed with all the different nationalities at the hotel-such a waste of resources!

-Heat the top pool and get things going on up there as it is a stunning area but wasted-no-one uses it.

However I had a thoroughly warm relaxing week surrounded by helpful smiley staff and do have a massage from SAWSAN-awsome!

-provide tea coffe making fac. in rooms

As Charlie put it just after our arrival-this is the best place I've ever stayed at-based on the stunning architecture and presentation- he would agree by the end of the week with my suggestions-plus the pizzas from the poolside are fabulous!

For a change of venue- do try the Dananeer restaurant in Sharm- excellent food and service, takes CC.

I personally wouldnt care if I never went into Sharm again as I always find it like Blackpool with constant hassle from Egyptians- the shuttle is not frequent enough and always full but the limo taxis are only 50le from the door-and reliable.Take your chance in the blue ones but they tend to end up singing to loud music and driving hands free much to Charlies amusement!

I agree there is a lot of walking but it got rid of my cellulite and I enjoyed the steps down-just got the lift up! After the enormous amount we ate for breakfast I needed the walk-double eggs on toast -tuns of good coffee!

Have good trip- wear a smile-and you will enjoy !

If you are going please tell the boys at the dive centre that Kate & Charlie miss their smiles and friendship and we will be back if we can get a cheapie!

Feel free to email any querries
"

by twinkle88
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Peaceful/relaxing holiday

"A good hotel to stay in for a weeks rest from the UK winter.

We chose this hotel for two reasons 1) the number of restaurants it had in addition to the buffet facilities in the Olive Tree restaurant and 2) heated pool.

On the restaurant side we found both the lebanese and mexican restaurants as well as the buffet fine but with limited choices in the mexican as things were not on the menu that evening. I also think that the half-board allowance should have been more flexible in the other restaurants rather than the alternative menu - a straight LE pound limit would have been better.

I had seen the comments on the disorganized restaurant at breakfast and have to agree - it needed a few managers walking around to keep the staff on their toes and the birds out of the milk jugs.

The On the Rocks restaurant was excellent and the greek salad fabulous.

On the heated pool well it may have said it was 24 degrees at the poolside but it was cold.

The other thing that was missing was an information pack on what happened when and where, there was nothing in the room or on the notice board - you had to guess when the aqua aerobics started etc.

Overall we had a great time but the hotel was not full so service was good (For some occasions it was 1 waiter a table so it should have been!)
"

by A TripAdvisor Member
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Loved it!

"went for a week at the end of January 2006 as it was my husbands birthday. We were met at the airport and upgraded to a sea view room and he was presented with a birthday cake on the day itself which was a lovely suprise.

Although this hotel is classed as a 5 star it is very nice indeed with lots of space where ever you went. I would put the bedrooms as 4* the furniture was a bit mis-match and there was no table and chairs to sit at. Having said that the beds and pillows were probably the best I have ever had when travelling. Dressing gowns provided. Breakfast was excellent and taken on the veranda overlooking the sea. The evening restaurants were Mexican which was quite poor and very bland, a Lebannese/Moroccan and the continental. Unfortunately the Italian Restaurant was closed during our stay. They also had a small outdoor souke area with 4 small bars selling light meals. Unfortunately as it is quite chilly in the winter evenings I prefer to sit indoors! Room service offered good menu choice at very reasonable prices. Alcholol like all Egypt is very expensive - local wine between 14-17 GBP per bottle. Since I was last in Sharm 12 months ago, they have opened an off licence in Naama Bay. Wine can be bought for about GBP 4.50 so take your bottle opener for that night cap!!

A hotel courtesy bus service is provided into Naama Bay 3 times each evening giving you 2 hours to spend there. If you miss the return leg then a taxi will cost about GBP 5.00. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in Naama Bay to pass the time.

The hotel is built in tiers of 2-storey buildings so plenty of steps to keep you fit. There are lifts for the needy. 2 large swimming pools - 1 heated in winter. The beach / pools provide a free towel service. Staff are all extremely helpful and could not do enough for you. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitations returning myself.

There are two jetties, one plastic wobbly one which I could not walk on as it gave me motion sickness and the other was concrete underwater which you can wade in up to your thighs which was nice as the fish swam around you. Access to swim/snorkle was via the jetty because of the coral. Around 4-6 boats would dock each day in front of the hotel bringing divers as this is reportedly the best site in Sharm for diving so if you like diving this is the one for you. They have their own diving school also.

The hotel is just next door to the Hyatt Regency and there is a promenade to walk along. They have a lovely Thai restaurant which you can eat at. If you continue passed the Hyatt you come to what is like waste land. just continue walking and you will see how beautiful it is with the rugged bays and then it opens out to reveal Naama Bay in the distance.

Perfect for a chill out holiday.
"

by A TripAdvisor Member
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Earthqake

"Got back yesterday from Sharm, stayed at the InterContinental Garden Reef Resort. It is a lovely hotel, very grand, lovely grounds, nice big room with balcony looking out to sea. The staff very polite and friendly. Weather was hit and miss, even when it was sunny it was cool by 3ish. The nights were very cold you certainly needed a coat. We found the hotel had no atmospher as it was very quite with only a few people around, drink was very expensive which probably did not help. There was no international coffee shop, which we found unusual in a 5 star hotel. We found ourselves having to go out every day, costing around £7 per day by taxi, the hotels bus times are not good to get people down to Narma Bay, many people complained about it. There is a lot of security driving up, and getting in to the hotel, a bit unsettling really but a way of life it seems at Sharm. Sharm Bay is not quite what we thought, we have lived in Bahrain and Dubia in the Gulf and had them in mind. It was very difficult to shop as we were constantly hasseled to the point of not going any more. Wish the locals would understand that we would have bought many things if they had not made us want to run a way from them, enough was enough. We had three tremours, the second one was very frightening. The cleaner and I were talking in my room when we hear a banging sound coming nearer and getting louder, there was a huge bang, then the whole place shook. We thought is was a bomb and ran like hell with the floor shaking beneath us, I called to my husband to get out of the bathroom, ran down the steps and into the garden. Our friends were running up towards us, very frighten as were the staff too. It was the talk of the hotel and Narma Bay during the next few days, it seems it was unusual, but we had another scare a few days later. We really wanted to come home, it was very unsettling not knowing if it could get worse. Lets hope they were, unusual, and it won`t happen again."

by bahrain
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Explore area

Map for Continental Garden Reef Resort Closest airport: Sharm El Sheikh (SSH) 4.8 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around Sharm El Sheikh

Hotels near Continental Garden Reef Resort

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Continental Garden Reef Resort?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Continental Garden Reef Resort? Share your insight.

Continental Garden Reef Resort is also called:

  • continental garden reef hotel
  • Garden Reef Resort
  • hotel continental garden reef
  • IntercContinental Garden Reef Resort Hotel

Address: Garden Reef Bay PO Box 186, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt