Da Vinci Hotel

244 West 56th Street, New York City 10019
2 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

6  / 10
(11 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
2
Good
3
Average
2
Poor
1
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 6.5/10
Service: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8/10
Location: 9.5/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Da Vinci Hotel

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

fantastic little hotel

"Me and mum went to New York for 5 days and were just looking for a cheap hotel to stay in. I came across this one as one of the cheapest and after reading mixed reviews i thought why not give it a go. Although my mum wasn't so keen as she is so hard to please i am please to say even she liked it.

You get a free complimentary breakfast which is tea/coffee and pastries saves you money on buying breakfast. The room we stayed in was quite small but very clean and up to date and even had a tv. In the Reception there are 2 computers with FREE internet and a phone which you can use for free.

Although it is nearer to central park it only takes 15mins to walk down to times square. I would reccommend taking a tour around central park as it is 6.2miles all the way round and there is no way you would be able to find everything unless you spent the full day there.

Overall great hotel, great value for money and best of all great location!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, Room Only, Booked Independently
  • Good For: , City Breaks
by lauren
9 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

No problems here!

"I have to admit that I was a little concerned (having read some of the negative reviews here AFTER making my reservation). I am happy to say that I encountered zero problems. All staff members were pleasant, and everything worked (radiator, TV, hot water). On top of that the rates were fair, and the location was astounding."

by A TripAdvisor Member
10 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Nightmare Hotel

"We stayed at the hotel in February. The toilet leaked, the radiator heater exploded and we were told we must have played with the knob. There were cobwebs on the ceiling, the maid never came to our room and to top it off when we checked out the receptionist insisted we never checked in!"

by A TripAdvisor Member
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Loved Da Vinci, WOULD STAY AGAIN!

"Stayed at Da Vinci 12/26/2004-12/29/2004. Loved it! Cute boutique hotel with FREE breakfast. Great restaurant and a 15% discount for being a guest. EXCELLENT LOCATION in Midtown...10 blocks from Times Square, 3 from Central Park, 1 block from Carnegie Hall. Had no problems checking in, it was a great place to rest!!! Woud definately stay again!!!!"

by A TripAdvisor Member
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Good Location

"Stayed at Da Vinci Hotel from 11/09/04 - 17/09/04. We booked through Expedia and felt we had a very good deal. The hotel is just North of Times Square and a few blocks from Central Park.

There were 4 of us staying in the one room, and we felt this would be very cramp, but for the amount of time we spent in the hotel we did not have any problems. Our room was clean daily and we had clean towels every day. (Even if the towels were a bit on the small side!). On reading other reviews - we did not really have any problems with the air-conditioning (apart from the fact we hadn't realised it had been unplugged - and thought we had broken it for a few days!) and had plenty of hot water - once we worked the tap system out.

The bonus of this hotel was the fact that a breakfast would be included (which is not the norm for an NYC hotel). The breakfast consisted of Rolls & Donuts, plus tea and coffee. Not the most substantial breakfast - but we were satisfied and it set us up till lunchtime.

We did try the restaurant in the hotel - and found the meal to be delicious. We would recommend it, if you want an Italian meal not too far away. In addition we received a 15% discount, as we were guests.

On the negative side - was the fact our room overlooked the street, and the noise started from aprox 5.30am. We were always awake by 6.30am. We did not consider this to be a big problem, as it meant we made the most of each day and with 4 of us to use the shower etc, it meant we were out of the hotel between 8.30 and 9.00am and not returning till 4.00pm or later to prepare for dinner or the theatre etc.

The staff we found to be abrupt, but helpful at all times, (we put this down to the New York attitude) and again for the amount of time that we were in the hotel it did not cause a problem.

Our main gripe was getting the car from the hotel to the airport. We were told it could fit 4 people and 4 cases in. It can - but only if the boot is open! If you need to get transport from the hotel to the airport - do not go with the recommendation from the hotel, if the is more then 3 of you!

We had come for a holiday and plenty of sight seeing - and spent very little time at the hotel - for us, it was just somewhere to put our head to sleep.

Due to the price we paid and the good location, we would consider staying here again.
"

by A TripAdvisor Member
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Avoid this place

"Our plane landed at LaGuardia at 12:30 and we made our way by taxi to the DaVinci with expectations of a 4 day holiday in NYC. We were immediately informed that although our room was ready, there would be a $20 "early check in fee". "Sorry, hotel policy for all check ins before 3 p.m". We could leave our luggage in the lobby, it would be safe and come back later if we wanted. Anxious to unpack and get started we paid the fee, even though I had never been asked to pay such a fee before. The rooms are small, very drab, not so clean, barely adequate. We had trouble with the hot water, until we were told it might be backwards...it was. On 2 of the 3 full days we stayed there, the room was not made up. We grabbed clean towels from the cart in the hall. The attitude was take it or leave it. When we got home, my wife thought she had left something in the room and called. Call back in the morning she was told, the maid had left. Fine, but if she found something maybe she left it at the desk. No effort to help at all. It turned out she hadn't left the item, thank goodness because I'm sure we would never have seen it again. The one good thing is that it is conveniently located near the Theatre District and Central Park. The "Continental Breakfast" is coffee and packaged donuts. We would never stay here again nor recommend this place."

by RonandKathy
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Brrrrrr!

"We spent the coldest indoor night at the Da Vinci. Even with 4 blankets, our room was so cold that we could not sleep, let alone attempt to take a shower! Although we requested and got another room the next night, the management would not give us any discount, and was not pleasant about it.

We'd never stay there again.
"

by youchoose
2 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

clean, comfortable, safe

"I stayed at the DaVinci August 25-26. It's not the Ritz but it's clean, comfortable, and safe and in a great location. Don't come here expecting four or five star service but it's decent considering what you paid for it. I, for one, will be back."

by A TripAdvisor Member
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Thank you!

"Dear Sir or Madam:

On July 23 we stayed at your hotel. We had originally intended to stay for 2 nights while we were visiting New York for the weekend. Our plans were changed because of a scheduling mishap with Hotels.com (they had us staying at your hotel on Monday and Tuesday night rather than the Friday and Saturday nights we had intended). When the conflict was realized your staff proved to be very understanding and helpful. Thankfully they were able to get us a room for that night and although were booked for Saturday, said they would inform us first thing in the morning of any cancellations. They also provided us contact information for Hotels.com in an effort for us to recoup our founds. We then were able to go out and enjoy our evening.

Unfortunately the next day there were no cancellations and we were not going to be able to stay at the Da Vinci for another night. Again your staff was very helpful in finding us a room at another nearby hotel. We were very grateful for their time and energy.

With the help of your staff our weekend trip was saved. Their patience and understanding were gratefully appreciated. The way we see it Hotels.com collected our fees for rooms we were unable to use, and you were unable to resell (this was explained to us by the manager on call at your hotel). We are upset at Hotels.com's inability to make our situation better as we had notified them of the situation once the conflict was understood.

My wife and I wanted to thank you and your staff for helping to save my wife and my weekend getaway.

Sincerely,

T and H C
"

by A TripAdvisor Member
6 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

We couldn't even flush the toilet!

"We didn't have the greatest experience at the DaVinci. When we checked our bags, they just left them unattended in the front lobby all day (twice!). Of the two front desk attendants we came across, one was incredibly rude and the other was not the least bit friendly, however she didn't say anything outright obnoxious, so this was a definite plus. Although the hotel is very conveniently situated and the room was very clean, the air conditioner (though it made a tremendous amound of noise, clicking loudly all night) never actually made the room any cooler. Then, we discovered a sign in the bathroom that told us not to flush any toilet paper down the toilet! There was a small trash can provided next to the toilet for all waste desposal. It wasn't pretty."

by A TripAdvisor Member
4 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Don't Believe the Bad Reviews!

"We stayed at the Da Vinci 6-04, in spite of reviews here. Clean, comfortable room. Oversize bath with amenities like hair dryer, infrared lamp. Well furnished room with substantial table and mirror. Cable tv worked fine. Staff was courteous and helpful. Good location. We'll come back."

by DanFox
8 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Read more reviews of Da Vinci Hotel at TripAdvisor

Explore area

Map for Da Vinci Hotel Closest airport: New York La Guardia (LGA) 5.7 miles

Travellers also viewed

Similar hotels around New York City

Hotels near Da Vinci Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Da Vinci Hotel?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Da Vinci Hotel? Share your insight.

Da Vinci Hotel is also called:

  • da vinci hotel new york
  • da vinci new york city
  • hotel da vinci

Address: 244 West 56th Street, New York City, 10019