Azura Cruise Ship

, P&O Cruises
hotel photo
 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
Canarie Islands 13 - 26 July 2014

"Our first time with P&O. We hadn't realized the size of the ship. There were too many people especially in the entertainment venues, We only saw a third of the shows due to not enough seats. The Coral swimming pool was manly cold or just aired with too much water. There were too many formal nights we were told three and there were 4 also we didn't realize that my husband would require a jacket so for 4 nights we ended up eating at the buffet, then we could not get in any of the bars except for Brodies where there was no where to seat. Not enough information given on disembarkation. Our cabin was very comfortable with a very nice cabin steward. We enjoyed the food in the Oriental restaurant, with good service from our table waiters and the restaurant manageress arranged some really tasty diabetic puddings."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Cut down on the number of passengers
by Karen P
7 / 10

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Azura June 2014 Norway

"We had high expectations of this ship and our visit to the Norwegian fiords.

The fiords didn't disappoint and we were so lucky to have had exceptionally lovely weather.

The Azura did disappoint us as it was nowhere near as good an experience as on the Oceania last year.

The good bits:-

Nice balcony cabin which was clean and kept tidy by the cabin staff.

The Headliners entertainment was excellent

The restaurant XV11 was fantastic but did have a cover charge of £28 pp

The bad bits:-

Food was generally of a poor quality and the self service restaurants were too busy, overcrowded, noisy and similar to being in a canteen - just not a good experience. The formal restaurants were not much better - noisy with the waiters clattering the plates and slamming drawers and a general feeling of 'quick, get them served and out asap'. Also not keen on being forced to sit at an table for eight- we avoided the restaurant for four nights and only went back when they agreed to us having a table for two.

The Sea screen is a brilliant idea - spoils in our case by the surly attitude of the deck staff as they ignored our request for lilo mattresses and blankets, only supplying them after repeated reminders.

The Glass House - again spoils by inattentive surly dismissive staff.

Silver Service and Gala dinner where has they gone?! What is the point of getting dressed up for 'black tie' nights when it is the same menu offered as on ordinary nights?

Photographers- please leave us alone, not everyone wants photos taken at every dinner and disembarkation and countless other times. The resultant snaps are amateurish and not worth buying.

Overall:-

There does seem to be an attitude problem in the whole of the ship - rude, unfriendly and disrespectful reception staff, waiters, deck staff, buffet servers - just two exceptions, absolutely no faults with the cabin staff and staff in XV11.

This attitude problem is in complete contrast to the Oceania where there was never a fault. This must be a management or leadership issue for the Azura and really needs fixing.

It is our intention to cruise in Australia next year. It is unlikely that we will choose P and O to take us there after this experience.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Check that P and O has resolved its problems before booking
by Sir Prunealot
4 / 10

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

benefit street boat azura

"Avoid at all cost here is why, smoking is allowed on the starboard side of ship in cabins with balcony and on deck with in 2ft of food preparation area and drifts all around the ship, so you are paying to use 75% of the ship if your a non smoker, Food is mostly bought in ping and sling style horrible packet soups bought in rubbish for desserts.The staff are 95% rude and ignorant at best,Bar prices are very expensive and the draft beer is horrid. Entertainment average/poor best acts mike Doyle / Paul Senson. This may sound snobby and maybe is but felt like the whole of benefit street were on board the boat.Back to celebrity solstice class for us."

  • Holiday details: Mar 2014, Booked Independently
  • Advice: dont go
by andy&jo
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

The ryan air equivalent of cruising - cheap but not even cheerful

"One of the most disappointing cruises ever ! Firstly the buffets are like a rugby scrum with people elbowing you out of the way to get to the food which is average at best . Secondly the buffet restaurants only serve water or coffee in the hope that you will pay for drinks to accompany your lunch or dinner - every other cruise line offers juice and sodas free but not p&o .

Elsewhere the sunbeds are all reserved even tho there is no sign of the actual people ( just their towels and a book) staff are supposed to police this but cant be bothered.

On that note most serving staff are surly as are the reception staff - only the cabin stewards seemed to have any enthusiasm; didn't quite get why but in the end it rubbed a little.

The boat is a little tired too and in need of TLC and the port side of the boat stank of stale cigarettes as did our balcony as p&0 have no policy for non smokers where balconies are concerned !!

We too suffered the con trick of vantage fares - these are clearly posted on p&o's web site as guaranteed best fares etc etc but when you ask for the promised upgrade, or credit against on board spend they just deny what is promised in black and white - bizarre really but that sums up p&o its a British bucket shop operation akin to Ryanair ie "we sold you it cheap what did you expect? " oh one other thing that annoyed was the short measures ( about 40% less than you'd get in a British bar on shorts ) but most people just brought on bottles of booze and carried it around bars/ restaurants like naughty kids at a youth club . If that's your idea of a luxury cruise then good luck - personally i like to be appreciated, smiled at occasionally and not ripped off ; if paying a little more gets you that i think its money well spent so wont be going with p&o ever again.

Do they care? Not one jot I'm afraid but seriously try princess cruises or any other and you'll see what a real cruise experience is like.
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Dont expect too much that way you wont be dissapointed
  • Good For: Beach
by Steve F
1 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Rip off Vantage Fare

"Booked Cruise last December on a vantage price of one thousand six hundred and £32 this is a swindle we thought it was a no brainier if price comes down you will get the difference in an upgrade or extra on board spending money our price hasn't come down but the sale away price is now thirteen hundred and ninety nine pounds a £263 difference for the same balcony cabins don't be caught out like us cruise is 21st march 2014"

by lynnegowlett
1 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Couldn't fault anything!

"Don't need to go into a lot of positive or negative detail. This was an amazing cruise. First one we've done and certainly not the last! There is nothing I could fault about any of it. go and enjoy it and accept it for what it isThe scenery is breathtaking. None of the negative observations in some reviews were experienced by either my wife or myself. It was an exceptional experience and I imagine hard to beat. Got this at a getaway price which made everything even more fantastic."

  • Holiday details: May 2013
  • Advice: Just go without a nit picking mentality - everything was first class.
by Lazerbeam203
10 / 10

24 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Caribbean cruise

"Just returned as singl traveller of 40years old nice ship but more the the elderly or couples, came last year and the standard much lower this year, went buffet every night and all but one was foreign food last year again standard better. Reception staff absolutely awful no personality and felt like you putting them out disgusting service by them on front ofoffice, as I was travelling alone I wasn't happy that staff new my cabin number several time had them knocking

on cabin late at night, or phoning cabin in end unplugged it.

Sea days it wa like a cattle market too many people on board and most people recommended other cruise ships other than p&o they are giving themselves a bad name as most of them said never again come on p&o I think like a floating butlins camp. Why as one show finishes another one starts so everyone is legging it to next venue why don't they stagger the show so it's not rushing about to get to see one crazy.

But must say the layout and the ship itself very nice its just the ways it's ran, and the goa staff will go out there way to help.

About the destinations all fantastic all but st Vincent twice been there why utter dump
"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2013, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Cheer up staff, reduce people, stagger the shows times
by Paula C
6 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Fab holiday on board Azura

"We spent 7 days aboard Azura visiting the Norwegian Fjords and had a perfect holiday! We could not find fault with anything. Service, food and cabin cleanliness were first class. The staff were friendly and always cheerful with nothing too much trouble . Our daughter, son in law and 16 year old grandson travelled with us for their first cruise and they cannot wait to sail on Azura again. She is a beautiful ship and I can highly recommend her."

by Charlies Angel
10 / 10

26 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Good Value for money and an excellent crew

"Just returned from 14 days in the Med (Cabin R625) and despite missing a port in Gibraltar due to bad weather, we found this cruise excellent value for money. The food was exceptional, the crew top class, and the ship clean and bright. Been on 26 previous cruises and would rate P&O in the top three. Two tribute acts - Elton John and Freddie Mercury - were fantastic, although the onboard resident company a bit mundane and boring. One observation though - the Azura's outside areas are almost entirely in the open, and the ship really isn't fit for purpose in the Med in November, especially the open air pools and cinema. Would certainly cruise P&O again, but if you can wait to do a last minute booking you will save £££££s!"

  • Holiday details: Nov 2012
by Mervyn H
9 / 10

19 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Appalling !!!

"Our first and without a doubt our last cruise with P&O !! Disgusting food, terrible "entertainment" and rude and disinterested staff !! Been waiting since March for a reply to our complaints !"

  • Holiday details: Mar 2012, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Don't book it !!!
by suep555
1 / 10

37 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Great cruise but could be better

"Just returned from a 7 night cruise on Azura to Norwegian Fjords. This is the second time we have sailed with P&O and had an enjoyable holiday. We are not what you would call experienced cruisers but have tried several with different companies so have a good all round experience to compare. If this was my first cruise then I would say it was fantastic but having tried other ships with Princess, Royal Caribbean, Celebrity we can see where things are not quite as good as other ships. The cabin, a standard balcony cabin was nice as this is a recently built ship but on Celebrity they are bigger. The breakfast buffet, although fine was far better on other ships and less hassle finding tables. Sun loungers are a big problem but this can happen on other ships. The entertainment was average when we compare to other cruises. This isn't to say we didn't enjoy it but we have seen better and had a more varied choice. We tried Shindu's restaurant as we had heard good reviews and paid £20 per head extra for the privilege. I have to say I was disappointed. It was nice but I didn't get the Wow! Factor we were expecting and although we didn't expect your typical local Indian food we found the food to be bland and could have been cooked in any reasonable restaurant. We didn't taste any dish that had an Indian influence to it. Very over rated and not worth the extra cost. Overall I think P&O appeal to the majority but don't have that extra special feeling."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
by Ship Ahoy
7 / 10

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

first & last cruise !

"We were 3 ladies in our cabin E517 , no sleep for night 1, 2, & 3 due to knocking sound on night 3 at 1.30 am they tryed to find sound wedges of wood banged in also wd40 but didnt help, had to drink more so to try & sleep.was told theres no other rooms free so had to put up with it ship was full,

Cabin was small with pull down bed on wall not suitable for a mature lady had to sleep on floor,

Torn sheets, dirty food stained vallace, mirrors dusty ,drink stains down front of units,

Food in seventeen was top class as staff ,

other dinning staff not very nice did not care much.

Steam rooms one didnt work, as also heated pool & hot tub only was in use one day in retreat.

I never got the layout of ship dead ends every were, didnt flow ,

Entertainment was A+ so cant fault that.

Getting to breakfast though puddles always wet deck only way there,then after walking around several times before finding space to sit ever morning.

Both the ladies with me had done 9-10 cruises before this was a let down will never go with P&O again, most we spoke to not happy with things.

So my first & last cruise thanks p&o :(
"

by westgategirl
2 / 10

26 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 »

Average rating

6 / 10
(15 reviews)
Write A Review

Ratings summary

Brilliant
5
Good
3
Average
1
Poor
1
Awful
5

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 7/10
Food: 7/10
Value: 6.5/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 7.5/10
Top traveller tips for Azura Cruise Ship
  • by Ship Ahoy

    " Balcony cabin for peace and quiet and views "

  • by Mervyn Hancock

    " Freedom dining is far superior to club - eat when you are hungry and at the time to suit you. "

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Azura Cruise Ship?

Stayed on Azura Cruise Ship? Share your insight.