Hotel San Luis

Urbanisation S'Algar, Menorca 07713, Spain
4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

7.5  / 10
(42 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
16
Good
17
Average
1
Poor
7
Awful
1

Rating by feature

Room: 8/10
Service: 8/10
Food: 7.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 9/10
Location: 7/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Hotel San Luis

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 4 »
Holiday spoiled by wrong information from travel advisor

"Nice hotel good food not Much away from this hotel though! beach non -existant had a walk to next beach along but a very rough path with a pram not a good idea . Don't advise 3 in a room very cramped! Went with 16 year old daughter and she was squashed in-between our bed and glass door, when we complained receptionist just smirked. All the rooms are only suitable for couples."

  • Holiday details: Jul 2012, booked with First Choice
  • Advice: Good for couple and one small child but still cramped
by Gallagher
5 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Okay Hotel

"Visted San Luis from 24th Aug - 3rd Sept 2012 - Found the staff and service excellent you couldn't fault them. The lifeguard went around in a morning and folded up towels after 30 minutes on sunbeds that were not in use - I found this service brilliant because it stopped people putting towels out the night before and not getting up till 11 or going out for the morning - we never had a problem getting a sun bed. Food okay but does get a little repetitive. Asian restaurant very nice but make sure you book at reception straight away as it does get booked up during busy periods. There were 3 of us and we had a room with a sea view that was nice however it was only a twin room. They had put a roll out bed directly next to the single bed for my teenage son this wasn't ideal but we managed - we had to push it up during the day so we could get out onto the balcony. I should have complained having paid full adult price for him but didn't want to lose the sea view. Hotel goes quiet after 11pm as all inc ends so you do get a good nights sleep. The All Inc doesn't start until 11am in a morning but we found you can go across to the sports bar from 10am and get a drink over there, also you can play tennis, bowls, crazy golf and table tennis. Quiet place and very clean. Enjoyed our holiday but not sure we would return think the Hotel is more 3 Star than 4 but still a nice little hotel and if you want a quiet holiday then this is the place for you."

  • Holiday details: Aug 2012, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Coast to Coast & Treasures of Menorca
by allilaw
7 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best holiday!

"he food is good and there are loads f things to do - tennis, giant chess, table tennis, miniature golf all free. We went right at the end of season but they kept the entertainment going. Friendly staff, good food. We never go back to the same hotel but we would definitely go back again - just tried to book but they're already full!"

  • Holiday details: Oct 2011, Booked Independently
  • Advice: La Mola (castle - not sure of spelling!))
  • Good For: Beach
by aliby
9 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not a 4*

"Good service, good food, reasonable entertainment.

Good value all inclusive, but bars do not open until 11am in that heat I need a cool drink before that.

Rooms NOT 4* no fridge no tea making facility, you have to wait for breakfast before you can have a hot drink, by that time I have been up for some while, you must have a sea view room or look over the car park or kitchens.

Must say fab staff all very nice and helpful, the poor guy I gave a hard time about my room seemed very used to moving people to a new room if you are used to the usual 4* in Spain this is not for you.

However I would go again now i know what to expect, pretty good value with Thompsons.

Final tip, take a jar of instant coffee the machines there deliiver what can be described as paint stripper
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Sea view room
by Big al
7 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A lovely holiday

"We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the hotel San Luis. The hotel was lovely, the staff were really friendly and the food was excellent - plenty of choice. Salgar is a very quiet area so be mindful of this when booking. However, there is plenty to do in the surroundings areas and the island itself is absolutely gorgeous and definitely worth seeing. The sports centre offers a wide range of activities which we took advantage of - personal choice of course! The only negative i would have is the entertainment - some nights were brilliant and others were a bit iffy but again i think this is personal choice. We will definitely return to the San Luis in the future as it was excellent value for money."

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
by Gill
10 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A good stay

"a well equipped hotel but there are a few points to consider, up early because all the sunbeds go early, not a lot in the town, and quite a few older people!!!!! but a vet clean hotel with good food, we went A.I but they always ask for your room number, quite annoying. short transfer, aircon included. very hot, sitting in the sun as i type, i.e free WiFi.

The entertainment i very poor on alternet days.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomas Cook
by Mike
7 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Best Place Ever! 5*

"San Luis Hotel is one of the best places ive bean to in my life !! it has a range of acctivatys near by about a 2 minnit walk from hotel

1. kids club

2. Crassy golf

3. Snack Bar

4. boals

5.tennis

6.basket ball

7.foot ball

8. massarges

so a lot of things outside the hotel as well as inside the hotel.Down the road form San Luis there is a cope of shops witch you can get your news paper from. We have bean 3 times to San Luis and would still go egen becouse of the rocky beach down the road also pontie prema beach 5 minnit drive down the road.Fpr the kids at night time there is a train witch drives round salgar wich is very fun for the kids. Also a mini disco where the kids can dance and play allong untell the intertainment begins :)

The swimming pool's (x2) they have deffirent deths now the redone it so the kids pool is deaper than the addult pool! so it is very Sceary if your childern think its shallow but it realy deap. I would Deffently go egen.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: Lovely
by Lucey
9 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

holiday to celebrate 44 year anniversary

"We booked with Portland who were very helpfull.we arrived 8th may 2010 hotel reception staff were very helpfull and polite. checked in and up to room within five mins. we knew that the resort was going to be quiet, but it was a bit too quiet for us, and you couldn't walk very far, as we like to walk from resort to resort but that couldn't be done as no pathways due to the area being protected for animals, plants and such like. (We travelled about quite a lot on the buses to other resorts,but you had to go to Mahon first, which if you worked out the connections then you were OK to get back for dinner.)No beach only bathing platforms, but very nice area to sit and watch the waves.Hotel overall was nice but food a bit to be desired, not a lot of variation.(but thats our opinion)Breakfast for us was a big letdown.(not a hashbrown to be seen)Evening entertainment wasn't bad, we felt sorry for some acts as it was there first time at the Hotel and probably their first Gig, The Jacksons had trouble to get started and after about 45mins they got sorted and started singing, then it was an enjoyable evening. We don't need other people to make our holiday, but while we there for the 11 days we did meet a lot of nice people who were very friendly and a good laugh. Even though the dress code at evening dinner was supposed to be informal proper dress,

there were quite a lot of Men & Women still wearing shorts and t/shirts,(some football)but were still let in the restaurant,we don't dress in dinner jackets and ballgowns, but to us they didn't look right to go to dinner. Last but not least, Pascal the animation entertainer was a very nice lad and encouraged you to join in the day games if you wanted to,but he wasn't pushy,and always had a smile even if he was feeling a bit down.
"

  • Holiday details: May 2010, All Inclusive, Booked Independently
  • Advice: nice scenery, but very very quiet
by likeable people
7 / 10

11 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A good but not great hotel

"I have just returned from the San Luis and this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. If you want a quiet holiday then this is the place for you as you are out of the way and everything is shut by 11.30pm. Car hire is very expensive, we were quoted 95 euros for a day!!

The food is ok but after 10 days I had had enough. I would recommend the Asian restaurant though. We were all inclusive and you are allowed to go once during your stay but we liked it so much we paid extra to go another time.

If you want a sunbed then you need to get up early. People were putting their towels down from 6.45am in the morning which was ridiculous. I normally went down at 8am and could get the 3 beds we needed. I hate doing it but if you don't, then getting a bed is difficult.

Overall this was a great break, but we love the quiet and knew what to expect. I spoke to a lot of people that found it too quiet initially but got used to it in the end.
"

  • Holiday details: Jul 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
by CR19
8 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

fantastic holiday !!

"Arrived home yesterday to a very wet UK, wishing we were still at San Luis hotel.The hotel very clean, maids working until 11pm at night keeping the hotel spotless. The food was excellent, great choices available and the show cooking a must. The salmon was cooked perfectly and the omlettes at breakfast are very good.

The poolside pasta/pizza bar was also very good, daily pasta and pizza option.

The sports facilities excellent, especially as we had a very sporty 14 year old with us !

The staff were very polite and helpful.The restaurant has an inside and outdoor area and on our last evening we requested a table outside, the area was full but the restaurant manager soon found us a table outside. The evening entertainment a bit cheesy at times but game for a laugh!

On the whole a quiet, relaxing holiday with good food and excellent facilities, but this is typical menorca, if you dont like a quiet tranquil holiday then avoid menorca!

Looking forward to returning next year.
"

by bateson family
9 / 10

12 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

San Luis is OK

"2 Adults and an infant traveled.

The hotel is nice the rooms are a bit small and the beds were uncomfortable.

The all inclusive was good although the poolside snacks weren't as good as other all inclusives I have stayed at before so we went to the dining room at lunch time as well.

The food was as expected plenty of fresh fruit and salad. The omlettes at breakfast were excellent.

The resort of S'Algar is tiny there is nothing apart from a supermarket. No beach in this area Punta Prima further down the coast was better and a bit more lively.

For a first holiday was a 9 month onld the San Luis was perfect all quiet by eleven very clean and other small children to mix with.

Trip to Mahon was excellent really lovely city worth a visit.
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2009, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Activities: Port of Mahon
  • Good For: Beach
by ianj.townsend
7 / 10

6 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Aviod in October

"Our visit was 20th October for 1 week, it was like entering the Village of the Damned, streets abandoned, villas empty, hotel graded 3/4 star, what a joke, it had no facilities expected nowadays even its own mini market was closed, we went half board, to survive you need full board as the village seems to pack up well before end of season. The well priced local bus had its last run to the hotel at 6.30pm from Mahon, meaning you were stranded in S'algar with only a 300 yard water frontage for an evening stroll as darkness dropped, any thoughts on a relaxing drink or meal in the village was only possible in one bar sandwiched in a residential area with no views. The nearest 'beach' was about a mile away reached via a rocky foreshore, no go for prams or those with walking difficulties.

Fancy a day out of San Quentin- sorry San Luis, do not entertain the Reps trips, if you ever see the Rep, they are a total rip-off, the local but is good but plan in advance for the last bus back.

Even as the last batch of holiday makers was arriving, tables & chairs were being cleaned and put into winter storage, poolside snackbar was emptied & closed and food got more repetitive to lower the kitchen stock.

On the whole I was happy to return home, at a different time of year the Hotel & Resort may be more alive, but my experience of the October booking was the pits, it has put me off ever visiting Menorca again, this tim of year it will be mainland Spain or Madeira in future
"

by picasso123
2 / 10

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 4 »

Explore area

Map for Hotel San Luis Closest airport: Menorca (MAH) 4.1 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Hotel San Luis
  • by CR19

    " Go to the Asian for a meal "

Similar hotels around Salgar

Hotels near Hotel San Luis

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Hotel San Luis?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Hotel San Luis? Share your insight.

Hotel San Luis is also called:

  • san luis hotel
  • san luis s algar

Address: Urbanisation S'Algar, Menorca 07713, Spain