Riu Yucatan Playacar

3.5 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Average Rating

8  / 10
(29 reviews)

Ratings summary

Brilliant
16
Good
7
Average
3
Poor
1
Awful
2

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 9/10
Food: 8.5/10
Value: 8/10
Cleanliness: 8.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Riu Yucatan Playacar

Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 3 »
BEWARE OF THEFTS FROM ROOM SAFES

"Stayed at Riu Yucatan in Room 2107 between 5.12.13 to 14.12.13. Decent holiday, good staff and good food but spoiled by theft of £160 cash from room safe. It seems from other peoples reviews and guests we met whilst there after the event that this is an ongoing problem but no forewarning of this was made by anyone. Cash taken in small amounts over period of holiday. Other items and remainder of cash untouched. Thief apprehended with some of our cash in pocket. At request of management and Thomson's we took this to the police but we lost two days holiday playing cops and robbers and sitting in a local police station only to be informed on return to UK that because we have officially reported this to police it is a criminal matter and therefore Thomson's have refused any further involvement. We must use insurance for recompense. This is totally unfair."

  • Holiday details: Dec 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Make sure your cash is safe. Do not trust room safes.
  • Good For: Beach
by Anita F
8 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Less than 5 star

"We were really looking forward to this luxury Caribbean holiday. There were 14 of us, 3 families, teenagers from 14 - 19.

Riu Yucatan had been refurbished and opened just before we arrived, reviews seemed great.

Upon arrival hotel looked very modern, clean and inviting, staff very friendly. Throughout the holiday, many features began to fall apart:- parts of ceiling collapsed in lobby, ceiling leaked and plaques on walls fell off.

In the bedrooms they had obviously received a lick of paint, this was evident in the drawers that kept getting stuck, one guest had many clothes ruined because of this. As a previous review stated the rooms were damp, this affected all clothes and bedding.

Unfortunately there was nothing for our teenagers to do in the evening, hotel entertainment finished about 10.30. The disco in the Tequila was open to over 18s.

BEWARE!!!! Mosquitoes in their millions, never before have I seen so many people suffering from severe bites and the number of bites, I don't think anyone escaped.

My final gripe- smoking everywhere. I had forgotten how unpleasant eating in a restaurant can be with a room full of smoke or even a coffee.

We did have a great time overall thanks to staff,family and friends. Beach was spectacular, miles of golden sand, you can walk down beach and visit other hotels or jut look.
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2013, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: Insect repellant.
  • Good For: Beach
by Karen P
5 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

A Relatively good family hotel

"This was a decent hotel for a young family, the evening entertainment was good for the kids aged 8 & 10. The pools where clean and safe and the beach is right next to the main pool.

The room s were basic but served their purpose, The food most nights was ok apart from the leak thing i found in a salad at the pool side restaurant. When i showed it to the restaurant manager he took my plate away but didn't do anything about the remaining salad that was still on display.

We did get a call from reception asking us if we wanted to dine out at the same restuarant that evening as a freebe (You can imagine what my answer was)

In all my family enjoyed the hotel and the resort we would recommend this hotel and also swimming with the dolphins, The diving centre was good, the staff were friendly.

We did have a couple of days of showers in the second week but the marjority of our stay was good sunny weather..
"

  • Holiday details: Aug 2011, booked with Hayes Travel
  • Good For: Beach
by wayne stanley
8 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Why we are going back

"Me and my Fiance went to mexico in JUne last year and fantasic time. The hotel was clean and fabulous to walk around and see such unusual wild life.

I've seen such a beautiful beach in all my life and the sea is so inviting.

The food was a little repeatative but we enjoyed sampling the local cusine.

The staff are very friendly and we found they couldn't do enough for us. The entertainment team are amazing and very talented. We had so much fun sat around the bar area as we found the bar staff very amusing as they enjoyed the practical joke with the tourists.

I would rate our experience as bloody fantastic and thats why we are going back this year!!!! Can't wait!!! We love the Riu Yucatan and Mexico!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: xcaret is amazing and the pirate ship experience
  • Good For: Beach
by Chilli
10 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very Upsetting

"My Husband and myself went to the Riu Yucatan Playa Car in Mexico.

We went out on Thomson on the 14thJanuary and should of returned on the 29thJanuary.

My first inpression of the Hotel looked good,it was'nt untill we were walking down through the hotel gardens did we smell this awfull smell of sewage.

We got to the swimming pool's and found ourselves a lounger each,after a ittle while we had this awfull smell of diesel fumes which was coming up from the beach where there were jet ski were held,these fumes are totally unacceptable for the price we paid for our Holiday,and is a health risk to Adults and very young children.

The dining room was very close to the next table,which I did not like,also the plates which took our meal on were cold so when you got back to your table it was just warm which was not good.

The Fans which hung from the ceiling were full of dust,which is totally unacceptable asa this can fall down on your food while these fans are going round.

In our room there is a book to tell you what you can wear into the dining room in the evening,this was totally iggnored as holiday makers were walking in with shorts which had been warn round the pool and wearing flip flops,which lowered the tone of the Hotel.

WOULD I GO BACK THERE AGAIN NO THIS HAS LOWERED THE NAME THAT THE RIU STANDS FOR .
"

  • Holiday details: Jan 2011, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: No
  • Good For: Beach
by Elsa
3 / 10

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Not what you expect from Riu

"Myself, husband and daughter (age 12) went here over the Christmas and New Year period of 2010.

When we were picked up from the airport at Cancun we were given bottled water which was nice after a long journey. The rep (Wendy) gave a brief run down and we were whisked off to our hotel which took appx 1 hour.

At the hotel the staff were very efficient and friendly and the initial impressions were good.

However, after locating our room in block 3 I was a bit disappointed. The room was a bit lack lustre and tired looking and missing an all important bed for my daughter.

This problem was rectified within 15 mins (cannot knock the staff at all). As the room was very small though the additional bed left us with very little space so we enquired about changing rooms. All we were offered was a suite (very nice) but at an additional cost of £700 (not so nice), unfortunately we had to decline.

As the shower (sorry no bath) was located right next to the wardrobe, all our clothing remained damp for our entire holiday. The room itself had rising damp and it was not a pleasant experience to get into slightly wet sheets each evening. The room had a rather musty smell. Also, we had plug sockets hanging out of the wall and every time we wanted to shut the patio door you had to raise one side of it up to get it back on the runners. The room had optics in the bathroom and a small fridge, however no facility to make tea or coffee, and no room service. Not really what you expect from a Riu Hotel.

However, the rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily.

The hotel is set in a very nice location right on the beach, which I must say was extremely clean and tidy. Lovely warm sea and golden sands, fantastic.

It therefore came as a bit of a shock when entering the pool as the water was absolutely freezing. The pools need to be heated at this time of year, many other guests complained about this and therefore the pools were very quiet as no one wanted to go in them. The whirlpool bath was taken over my mothers and their small children (as this was warm), however, as the little darlings used it like an outdoor loo and a film appeared on the surface, needless to say we didn't go in, it was rather disgusting.

Breakfast in the main buffet restaurant was very good, lots of choice. However, the speciality restaurants were really disappointing which is probably why it wasn't very difficult to book a table at any of them. Lunch was fine if you ate in the main buffet restaurant, however the poolside restaurant was a let down. The same food was repeated every day of our stay, burger, hot dog, grouper (fish), small salad bar and pizza. Therefore, go to the main buffet restaurant as you get much more choice.

Evening meals again were fine, the best events were the Gala Dinners for Christmas Eve and New Years Eve. The food was fantastic and the staff had done a great job with the room and decorations. Only problem was as soon as the restaurant doors opened it was like attending a sale day at Harrods everyone running in like lunatics, why I am not sure as you were allocated a table based on your room number !!!!!

The Riu Tequila which is just over the road has a good games room that you can use, you have to pay to use the pool tables, internet etc, however, you can get a drink or a sandwich and this is classed as part of your all inclusive as it is part of the same hotel chain. The Riu hotels that you cannot use your all inclusive in are the Riu Palace Riviera Maya and the Riu Palace Mexico.

We visited Playa del Carmen on a few occasions, took us about 25 mins to stroll to the centre from the hotel. Really enjoyed our visits, lots of bars and restaurants, shops etc.

Our best trip by far was spending Christmas Day on the Dolphin training day at Dolphin Discovery. This worked out at appx £120 per person but was a really fantastic way to spend Christmas Day. We got to snorkelling with manatees, swim with sharks and stingrays, and had a lovely time with the the dolphins. Only draw back is they photograph you all day long, and then the hard sell comes at the end, working out at appx £110 for a dvd with your photographs loaded on it. Depends on whether you think the photos are any good.

Also try the Jack Sparrow Pirate Ship which is a good evening out. You are taken to Cancun via minibus, (make sure you take some peso's for the tax you are charged for leaving......i.e getting on the boat and sailing out a little way.......yes they charge you even for this!!! and it isn''t included in the cost of the trip, it is about 100 peso's per person). The trip is a great evening out and the food was good.

Overall, we had a great time in Mexico, met some lovely people and the staff worked their socks off for you, it's just a pity the hotel was such a let down.

If you are trying to choose between the Riu Yucatan and the Riu Tequila, opt for the Tequila, although it doesn't have the beach location, it costs quite a bit less to stay here and the beach is only 5 mins walk away, you can even get shuttled over if you really don't want to walk.

Don't forget your exit tax when you get the the airport, this costs £38.00 per person and again isn't built into the cost of your holiday.
"

  • Holiday details: Dec 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Good For: Beach
by Olive
6 / 10

10 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

bloody marvelous

"me and my hubby went here in June 2010 the weather was a bit hit n miss but were always hot but we knew about the weather so it didn't bother us the food wern't the best but we got by the staff were fantastic were the friendliest we have ever met especially Mr Cruz the alcohol was the best all international no cheap crap never board entertainment in the day and at night spot on. we are thinking of going again for we have been to mexico before but this hotel is the best you can even go across the road to other hotels you wont be disapointed or you shouldn't we are the most finikiest trust me we didn't moan once.

sun lovers from Doncaster
"

  • Holiday details: Jun 2010, All Inclusive, booked with Thomson
  • Advice: execellentay
  • Good For: Beach
by Dibz
9 / 10

7 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

our holiday

"went to the riu yucatan .a bit weary what the reviews said ,no worrys it was great,have some small dollars when you arrive,as the bell boys like a tip,hotel is lovely,the beach is to die for,yes there are sand bags which look like whales,but it does it job,if you get an upset stomach go to the chemist very good tablets,and you need mossies sray called off,also no need to take an iron as they are in your room and hairdryer,you can visit riu playacar and lupitar,we done a few trips,my husband went to chichrn itza he said it was great ,we also went across to cozelmel by ferry and xcaret very nice there,our friend also swam with the dolphins its a good day there,the entertaines are brillant the work very hard the evening shows are the best ive seen the micheal jackson show is brill,the food is fine you can have mexican,asian,steak house or the buffetmeal,there are lizards,shrekkies they are a small rodent and cats they like bits of bacon and the monkeys also if you upgrade to premier be aware you may not sit togeather i was told we would but we didnt,not happy about that 10 hour flight sitting with strangers complaned to thomson they said it is in the small print in the back of the book that you may not seat together,if you can get it cheap enough it is worth doing there is drink given to you all the timethe leg room is good plenty to watch on telly so any one going have a great time,look out for martin the waiter he is always smiling Adios amigos the simms familly x"

by gillykins
8 / 10

15 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

great holiday

"just returned from 2 weeks in riu ycatan with my husband, this was out 1st long haul flight & flew with thomson from manchester. I wish we now had booked the premium seats even tho they were expensive its just that you go get that bit extra comfort & complimentary drinks, but overall the flight was okay it took 10 hrs to get there & 9 to return. On arrival we passed riu lupita & this was nearly our 1st choice & im so glad we didnt stay there as it is a bit out of the way. We were met at our hotel by hotel staff & Thomson reps who toom our luggage gave us our bands & adv us where our rooms were & bell boys brought our luggage about 10 mins later, we tipped them 20 pesos (1$) tipping wasnt compulsary anywhere on the complex but everyone does work so hard. we tipped maid daily 50 pesos & occasionally bar & waiter staff as they were fabulous. i cannot find fault with hotel or staff anyway, the food was amazing in the buffet restaurants with enuff to satisfy the fussiest eater. there are 3 a la carte restaurants we prefered the asian. We visied Xl-Ha which is amazing we did the full day which stillwasnt enuff but beware of the mosquitos they are big & they bite!! we will definately be going back in 2010 but will go march or may as the weather on our 2nd week wasnt as good we had lots of rain & tended to cloud over on an afternoon. going in oct is quieter so suited us as not as many kisa about & plenty of loungers to chose from. please dont be put off from negative reviews about the beach its still there & is still beautiful & they work all day on maintaining it."

by bustervbrad
10 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Flight with Thomson ok as plenty of...

"Flight with Thomson ok as plenty of leg room, should have been warned to take food on the flight as we thought there would be plenty for a 10 1/2 hour flight ..never eaten so many pringles ......... worse on the way back ...... Arrival at the hotel was great .. no queues .. they were all ready for you with all your information and cases were taken to our rooms immediatly .. excellent service .... The rooms were good and air conditioning worked a treat as you needed it on all time .......... Food was fantastic ... lots to choose from and the quality was amazing .... the service from the staff was great ...... we were celebrating 3 birthdays during our stay and once they knew they made each birthday special .... The only issue we had was the sun beds !!!!! never thought it would be an issue but not sure what was going on .... Arriving down for a walk at 6.30am on our first day ... jet lag had kicked in .... the sunbeds were nearly all taken around the pool .... they were plenty on the beach but you had to get up early to have a shaded spot which you really did need ..... The activities and staff around the pool were very good ...... The beach was a disappointment as they had been hit by the hurricanes and huge sand bags were in the sea and we were not abel to use any of the water activities due to the bad waves ...... wasn't pleasant for children .. not sure it was the time of the year but you couldn't swim in the sea you had a problem just standing .... Overall a very good holiday and would visit Mexico again .. The Yucatan was excellent but the beach let it down for me although the rest of our party have booked for next year ....... The second week however they were hit by the tailend of Hurricane Arthur ... so glad we had gone by then ............"

by A BOOTH
7 / 10

5 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We stayed at the riu yucatan hotel...

"We stayed at the riu yucatan hotel and it was fabulous!!The rooms were super clean and the white sand they had there is unbelievable. This is my second yr At yucatan. The beach was eroded by a hurrican but it is still one of the best beaches in mexico. The food there was yummy and i would consider my self to book renovations at the steak house when you first get there because that restuant is overly packed and it is one of the best resuarant i had!. The room i stayed in was Superb! and remember to upgrade your hotel room, because there is nothing better then your own living area in your room. The beds are a bit hard but i would consider bringing your own foam mattres to overlap the beds they have there with. The pool was awesom and thank god for the all the palm trees they had there, cause it is HHOTTTT!!and do NOt forget to bring alot of bug spray cause the bugs there bite!!!. I did bargian a bit with the sellers at the gift shops and shopping areas they had there, but with out bargianing the sellers will rip you off bad!, and the price of a clock chime i bought there went from the price of 80 canadian dollars to 6 bucks after i bargianed with the seller. I would suggest this hotel to everyone, and i would DEFINITLYcome back to this hotel."

by .. ....kel
10 / 10

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

We've just returned from a family...

"We've just returned from a family holiday and this hotel was partly booked on the basis of other people's comments on the net.

Thomson flight;

The aircraft was excellent. Loads of legroom for economy. The 8" LCD screen in the headrest kept all of my family entertained throughout the 10 hour flight, with films, TV shows, quizzes, CDs and radio. The staff were very efficient but sometimes appeared to be a little passenger weary.

Cancun airport

Is a joke! It took 3 hours from landing to getting on the transfer coach after queuing at passport control and customs, thus making it 22 hours from home to hotel!

Don't forget you'll be fleeced US$50 cash for LEAVING the country!

The Riu Yucatn hotel

Pros;

Lovely spacious hotel which is extremely well maintained.

Fantastic staff and it really is true that that nothing seems to be too much trouble. Entertainment was a great laugh, if a little bit Billy Butlins style sometimes.

Most of the evening shows were superb. These guys worked damn hard to produce this sort of quality.

The food I couldn't fault at all. It was fantastic in both quality and presentation.

There is also Chinese, Steak House and Mexican restaurants. These have to be booked on the morning of the day you wish to dine.

We met a lot of very nice people from all around the world and had a great time.

Special mentions to Daniel and Justin (entertainers), Andrea (glass collector), Moses and Armando (bar staff) and Jesus (porter). It would've been even more enjoyable but for the incidents mentioned below:

Cons;

My favourite restaurant would've been the steak house but this was marred a chain-smoking fellow Brit. Be aware guests are allowed to smoke in 95% of the resort.

Bon Appetit!

If you're lured by the fact the Riu Yucatan sits on a beach, forget it. What was once a beautiful beach (so I'm told), now looks in part to a buliding site. The battle against the sea is being lost (I don't recall this being mentioned in the Thomson brochure!). While we were there, a section measuring 100 feet wide x 20 feet deep, disappeared over-night. Unbeliveable.

I'm all up for a few beers and a good laugh on holiday, but the sight of an over-weight, over 50s American couple, covorting in the pool while loudly making suggestive comments nearly made me bring my lunch back up! This was not a one-off either!

Make sure you take some ear plugs for sleeping. Apparently we were in the 'quiet' part of the hotel (up towards reception). Unfortunately we were awoken on several occaisions between 1am and 5am by inconsiderate Saga louts.

Then there's guests arriving and departing at all hours (this can't be helped but you will get woken up to what I first thought was a woodpecker!).

The battle of the sunbeds is still on. I got down to the pool at 9am one morning and ALL beds were reserved with towels or bags. 8am....nope, 7am....nope, 6am....I don't think so, I'm on holiday. This is against their no sunbed reserving policy (yeah, right). There are beds available both in the shade at the back of the beach restaurant and on what's left of the beach.

The above few incidents could have been nipped in the bud if there was more of a Security presence. Apparently there is Security on site but I didn't see HIM until our last day when a German couple complained about other people reserving sunbeds!!!

The above review is exactly how I saw things over our recent 2 week stay. Your experience may be totally different. Enjoy!
"

by A Pugh
7 / 10

3 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

1 2 3 »

Explore area

Map for Riu Yucatan Playacar Closest airport: Cozumel (CZM) 12.2 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Riu Yucatan Playacar
  • by Olive

    " if you are after luxury this is not for you. "

  • by wayne stanley

    " It isn't really for the holiday maker that is looking for the party scene, but if you enjoy a drink with some entertainment its fairly good.. "

Similar hotels around Playa Del Carmen

Hotels near Riu Yucatan Playacar

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Riu Yucatan Playacar?

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Riu Yucatan Playacar? Share your insight.

Riu Yucatan Playacar is also called:

  • riu yucatan
  • Riu Yucatan Hotel
  • riu yucatan playa del carmen
  • riu yucatan playacar hotel
  • rui yucatan

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha Manzana 3, Lote 1, Playacar, Playa Del Carmen 77710, Mexico