Cavalieri Hotel

4 star
hotel photo More hotel photos

Average Rating

6  / 10
(15 reviews)

Recent traveller reviews — view all

Ratings summary

Brilliant
4
Good
2
Average
2
Poor
4
Awful
3

Rating by feature

Room: 7.5/10
Service: 7/10
Value: 7/10
Cleanliness: 7.5/10
Location: 9/10

Enter your dates to find the best prices for Cavalieri Hotel

Enter your dates:
Show Prices

Use our comparison calculator to compare hotel prices from these top travel partners

 

Traveller reviews

1 2 »
ok but by kathleen 17
4 / 10

stayed here in march hotel staff very nice room cleaned everyday towels changed daily. Breakfast not much choice burned bacon everyday . no ash browns. Evening meal terrible no choice .Meat dripping in blood, Coulndt have salads no cold meats. Hotel ok for b/b but eat out as the restrurants serve lovely food.

  • Holiday details: Mar 2013
  • Advice: change the chef
  • Good For: , City Breaks

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Super Holiday by Joannie
10 / 10

This was a return visit to Malta after many years and we could not have picked a better hotel for price and location. The hotel was spotless our bedrooms were very spacous with comfotable beds and maid service every day. Breakfast was adequate with food always hot and edible. The location was perfect with buses available from end of the road to most places on the island. Really enjoyable stay we would highly recommend.

  • Holiday details: Jan 2012, Bed and Breakfast, booked with Easyjet Holidays
  • Good For: Beach, City Breaks

2 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Avoid Avoid Avoid by Emms31
1 / 10

We were booked into this hotel with First Choice (Thomson holiday) from 17th May for 2 weeks for our honeymoon. After seeing the reviews on here regarding the hotel overbooking and claiming to have flooded rooms and therefore moving their guests to other hotels i was concerned that this would happen to us; I rang FIrst Choice who aparently contacted Thomson and the hotel and confirmed this wouldn't happen to us. When we arrived at 11:30pm we were informed that this hotel had overbooked and we were being moved not just to a different hotel but a different resort as well (The Waterfront at Silema) you couldn't get 2 more different resorts! VERY POOR SHOW Thomson!!

We were moved back to this hotel for the second week and we were very very disappointed in the terrible customer service we recieved! We had to sit in the hotel reception for 5 hours waiting for our room to be cleaned before we were allowed into our room, we were unable to go out during this time as the luggage room was full and our suitcases were left in reception ..... very secure i think not! We were originally told our room would be ready at 12:30pm and after asking several times if it was and at 3:15pm finally fed up of being fobbed off by the exceptionally rude reception staff some one in the party moved by Thomson asked for the manager.

Miracously when he arrived our rooms were ready! he spoke to us like we were idiots for disturbing him and that unfortunately the mix up the week before (the overbooking) was a rarity (in his words) and that these things happen! My husband was extremely unhappy with his and his reception staff's attitude and expalined how he felt they had ruined our honeymoon! He offered us a half board upgrade which i turned down as we had not come on holiday to eat in the hotel everynight but accepted 1 meal from him.

Breakfast was absolutely fine lots of choice and the waiting staff are fabulous particulary Natalie who works in the upstairs bar what a lovely sweet girl. The evening was absolute dog food for want of a better expression and i'm happy i declined half board, school dinners eat your heart out.

We decided at the begining of the week that we wanted a late check out as we didn't fly till midnight and was told by the reception from hell a couple of times that we would have to check availability on the morning of check out, lo and behold that morning we couldn't get a room and had to check out at 11am. People who had come from the other hotel who had booked the late check out with Thomson were also told they had to check out at 11am despite paying for it!

This hotel is only interested in corporate business this is evident as the reason they "overbooked" by 70 rooms (we were told) was they had the Maltese Fashion week booked in and the week we did actually get to stay there, there were 2 conferences taking place.

British guests are dealt with as 2nd class guests and unless you're booked in half board and they are guarenteed your bar business they don't give a toss about you!

On a good note the service staff (chamber maids, bar staff, restaurant staff and pool staff) are fabulous! polite, kind and know good customer service. Reception and Management wouldn't know good customer service if it whacked them in the face with a brick, they could learn ALOT from the service staff.

It's close to Paceville and some fab restaurants (The Avenue and Parpett to name 2)

On a final note if you decide to stay here then please be prepared for this to happen to you as i know for a fact this isn't and wont be a one off; thanks to the Cavalieri we have been put off one of our favourite holiday destinations for a long time. Thanks for ruining our Honeymoon Hotel Cavalieri and Thomson!

  • Holiday details: May 2011, Breakfast Included, booked with First Choice

4 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Holiday Malta by Honest
9 / 10

Resently returned from or holiday in Malta, the hotel staff were excellent in every way. The sea veiw room was nice and the maid Antonia was very good at he roll. For adults the hotel is good, but there is little for the children other than a small pool which is shared by all guests. Getting a sea veiw room was nice but at night the hotel had further funtions one of which went on till 3am, but most finished by midnight. The meals were very nice and presented well at the buffet and the staff were on hand if you needed a glass of wine. On arrival we were told that due to the hotel being fully booked we were to be accomodated in a room for one night and moved to our room the next day, they did the move and it went well.

On the whole I think this is a very good three star hotel, but not four. We went with Chevron, they were good.

  • Holiday details: Aug 2010, Half Board, booked with Chevron Holidays
  • Advice: A good location and hotel for adults
  • Good For: , City Breaks, Skiing

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Suprisingly good hotel!! by wiffy0
8 / 10

As friends of ours were getting married in Malta we thought we would use it as a cheap 4 day break having never been to Malta before. As it was an impromptu break we wanted to go as cheap as possible. When going through available hotels, the only affordable 4* hotel was this one. We were a bit unsure having seen the pictures and mixed reviews, but chanced it anyway.

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was quite modern, very clean, centrally located, had indoor and outdoor pool, free sun loungers and parasols provided by a pool boy , shop with english papers, free internet access in the lobby computers and the food and drink was reasonably priced and above all only a 5 minute walk to the main shopping street with at least 20 restaurants/bars.

The rooms we had both had 2 double beds and a balcony. We had one room with a full bay view and one with a partial bay view. We had the latter. In hindsight we should have asked to move as there was no sun on our balcony, it looked out over the carpark with the related noise, especially early morning when deliveries take place....

We had one day of rain and the rest was very good, about 27 degrees, so a recommended place for post summer trips.

We found an Irish pub 'The dubliner' which was reasonably priced and had great food with mammoth portions for on average 8 euro per meal. They have won the pub food award in both 2007 & 2008 and they are well deserved based on our experience. For the men, they have sky, so you don't need to miss any sport whilst you are away!! The onluy draw back is that they are on the main road and only have about 3 tables outside.

When using taxi's ask the hotel to book them as they have fixed prices to most places preventing you being ripped off as friends of ours were charged 3 different prices for the same trip during their stay.

We would NOT recommend booking the breakfast as it was terrible. It is the only drawback to the hotel.

Book your airport transfer online before you go as we managed to pay only 18 euro each way between 3 of us. They picked us up on time on both trips. The transfer time from the airport is about 25 mins.

We flew with Easyjet. No problems really, bit of a delay going back, but nothing major. With a flight time of only 2h40m it is ideal if you don't want to go too far away, but have nice weather.

All in all if you are going to Julians Bay in Malta, stay at this hotel (room only). It won't let you down.

  • Holiday details: Oct 2009, Bed & Breakfast, Booked Independently

8 readers found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Wonderful time in a lovely hotel by LittleGadding
10 / 10

I don't understand how people can rate the food at this hotel as awful. It is absolutely delicious. The vegetables were sometimes overcooked, but this happens a lot in hotels, and I think sometimes people like them this way. The roasts were absolutely great, the fish dishes original and lovely. The desserts are out of this world and too too tempting. I had a room with a marina view, and it looked over the marina to the sea and was really wonderful. Because it is on a peninsula there are lovely views wherever you are in this very comfortable and clean hotel, and it is quiet at night although close to many great bars and clubs. I really recommend it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

Absolutely DISGUSTING food, I am cancelling my second booking by seremily
2 / 10

This is a very nice hotel ...the staff are pleasant and helpful BUT ...the catering department lets the whole hotel down. The food is absolutely awful....badly cooked, unappetising and not at all worthy of such a great hotel.

It was such a bad experience that I have cancelled my 3-week stay in January 2008.......I would much rather lose my deposit of £90 than return .

My advice is...find another hotel, the food is really bad !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

If You Get the Chance - Don't by Kusel_Travelor
4 / 10

This was our first time on Malta and the Cavalieri was the only 4 or 5 Star hotel with rooms available on short notice. We were there from 7 to 13 August 2007. Now I know why they had rooms available. But, first the good news about the Cavalieri. The recently renovated hotel is beautiful, a great location on Spinola Bay with the best restaurants on the island within walking distance. The housekeeping staff was great and that is where the good news ends. The bad news? Well, the reviewers who complained about the terrible manager, the very surly, angry, bitter front desk staff are perfectly accurate. The restaurant staff acted just like the front desk staff. It's difficult to describe just how difficult is is to get a civil answer to a question, accurate information, a cup of coffee or the bill from the waitress. My biggest mistake was not to give enough weight to reviews from others who stayed at the Cavalieri. Fortunately I only had one dinner at the Cavalieri because the hotel submitted the charge twice to my credit card. If you get the chance to stay at the Cavalieri - Don't. There are too many nice hotels with pleasant people on the island of Malta.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

surly staff by woody928
4 / 10

CAN`T understand how people can say this is a friendly hotel,staff were surly tothe point of rudeness, being all saga did not work for me, to many old folk.The food was not that bad.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

Very hot in Malta by DGEEsussex
6 / 10

We have just returned from a VERY HOT week at the Cavalieri over 100f most days.

We were aware that the food standard was not good from previous reviews but could not imagine how this Hotel can have 4 stars with such poor food BADLY presented. We have been on board ship with Buffet meals which were presented properly.

The Cavalieri has no excuse.

In fairness the Hotel itself and the rooms are excellent well up to 4 star standard. The pool and surround areas could have been cleaner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

more like Joe Lyons Corner House by restel
2 / 10

As other people have said, the food in this hotel is awful. Nice rooms spoilt by poor quality food. If you eat with your eyes, come in here blindfolded or you might starve. I have eaten food on death row in America, it tastes a million times better. Offr now to find a bar with edible food.

Management response from maltese-nomad, 10 Sep 2007

As Director of Catering Operations at the Cavalieri Hotel I feel I must comment about some of the misleading ‘reviews’ posted on your site. The Cavalieri is one of Malta's top 4 star hotels and caters exclusively for SAGA guests from Sept till June each year. In fact we are one of the busiest hotels in winter and produce in excess of 280,000 high quality meals in 10 months. We do not claim to serve the best cuisine in the world, but as far as Buffet Meals are concerned I can honestly say that what we offer is of extremely high standard both in quality of the produce and in presentation. I fear that many guests simply do not understand that buffet food, especially on the hot section can NEVER be the same as 'a la carte' food cooked specifically for the individual diner - For obvious reasons. I trust that your readers are intelligent enough to see through some of the silly comments such as the man who preferred the food on 'Death Row' in America! I do not claim that everything is perfect all the time and every restaurant has its off days when something or other goes wrong, but when one considers the volumes (literally) of wonderful comments in our guestbook and the high scores we achieve with the SAGA guest questionnaires, I think that we must be doing something right.

1 reader found this review helpful. Did you? Yes

What a let down by fussyBlackpool
4 / 10

Good modern hotel with excellent facilities very comfortable and well positioned, but the food is a complete let down. The catering staff are really letting the side down in this otherwise very good hotel. The school dinners comment in another review is doing a disservice to school meals. Trevor & Lyn Holt. Blackpool.

Management response from maltese-nomad, 10 Sep 2007

Your readers may be interested to know that our Chefs and Restaurant staff were awarded the GOLD MEDAL in the 'Parade Des Chefs' competition at the MEDITERRANEAN FOOD FESTIVAL in May of this year. The competition was judged by a panel of top internaltional chefs, and we were the only 4 star hotel competing against a formidable list of 5 star hotels, many of which form part of top international chains. Our 'school dinners' are therefore of quite a high standard it must be said !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes

1 2 »

Travellers also viewed

Stayed at Cavalieri Hotel? Share your insight.

Cavalieri Hotel also called

  • cavalieri hotel malta
  • cavalieri malta
  • hotel cavalieri
  • hotel cavalieri malta
  • malta hotel cavalieri
  • Address: Spinola Road, St Julians STJ 3019, Malta

Explore area

Map for Cavalieri Hotel Closest airport: Malta International (MLA) 2.3 miles

Travellers also viewed

Top traveller tips for Cavalieri Hotel
  • by wiffy0

    " Irish pub the Dubliner "

  • by Emms31

    " Go to the Avenue and Parapett excellent restaurants "

  • by Joannie

    " We stayed in January and it was quiet but still plenty to keep us busy and the weather was warm but not overpowering for walking etc. I'm not sure if it would suit families with children as there did not seem to be any amenities for children. "

Similar hotels around St Julians

Hotels near Cavalieri Hotel

Share your opinion with other travellers. Write a review.

Do you own Cavalieri Hotel?